Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

s on licence

• 24-02-2012 10:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭

can anybody tell me where the s on a rifle is cant see it on my substitute licence just changed the gun last week ,i had it on my last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

davekangoo wrote: »
    can anybody tell me where the s on a rifle is cant see it on my substitute licence just changed the gun last week ,i had it on my last one

It should be on the same place as the last one. If its not there you'ld better get on to your firearms officer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Bottom left

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 437 ✭✭lee70

It should be on the same place as the last one. If its not there you'ld better get on to your firearms officer.
    What if he didn't have it on his old licence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 77 ✭✭davekangoo

just noticed also expiry date is 01/01/1000
    ****ed up or what
    is this because its a subtitute licence

****ed up or what
    You need to go back to your FAO ASAP and get it sorted I've never herd of a fook up such as this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,393 ✭✭✭✭Vegeta

lee70 wrote: »

In the OP he said
    i had it on my last one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭Savage93

****ed up or what

****, your license is 1,012 years out of date, I'd say they'll throw away the key when they catch you:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Vegeta wrote: »
    In the OP he said
    OOOOOOOOOPS Am I in trouble again:eek:?

yez are really ****in helpful lads

OOOOOOOOOPS Am I in trouble again:eek:?

Yeah you seem to be going blind or having difficulty reading :p

is the expiry date wrong because i changed my gun mid ways through my previous licence and it will be back to normal next time round
    fao is not very helpful

Vegeta wrote: »
    Yeah you seem to be going blind or having difficulty reading :p
    I think I could have aixelsyd.

is the expiry date wrong because i changed my gun mid ways through my previous licence and it will be back to normal next time round
    fao is not very helpful
    If you think this is the case then ring The Firearms Policy Unit 01 6661911,they may be able to sort it for you.

fao is not very helpful

No the expiry date is wrong because something went wrong in the process. You have a license which has incorrect details on it. Call to the station with it asap, you could be in serious trouble if ever stopped by a Garda and asked to produce the license.

They can fix that type of thing in days. I once had my licenses re-issued in 2 days.

As lee70 says, if the FAO is not getting the job done then ring the FPU

rang the fu before i opened my mouth about the expiry date he was able to tell me that it was an i.t. error and new licences will be reissued next week auto for those with the prob

Thats a handy munber to have keep hold off. You never know you may need it again especially if your FAO can be a bit of a tool.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

He said he had.

thanks lee very handy number to have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

My mate had a rifle checked and the guard said you better have a permit for the silencer, They dont issue permits for mods but he had no ''S'' on his licence but when they looked into it not a thing they could do as he had the box ticked on the application form so that was enough they said. I know loads with no ''S'' on their licence around Leitrom area including myself even tho we have box ticked for a silencer on gun application. So if you have it ticked not to worry and another thing which i was told by a solisitor he's also big into shooting,he said no guard can lift a firearm of you if you have your licence on you if you were caught shooting from the road. The guards think they have the power but they dont. You have a right to tell the guard that you agree to leave it in any gun dealer and they have to agree to that as a dealer is licenced to hold firearms. They are not licenced to hold your gun as its only licenced to you or they are not insured to hold a fire arm that you are licenced to.Now I think he may be right on this.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

4200fps wrote: »
    My mate had a rifle checked and the guard said you better have a permit for the silencer, They dont issue permits for mods but he had no ''S'' on his licence but when they looked into it not a thing they could do as he had the box ticked on the application form so that was enough they said. I know loads with no ''S'' on their licence around Leitrom area including myself even tho we have box ticked for a silencer on gun application. So if you have it ticked not to worry...............
    Not sure what solicitor you're using, but get a new one. As bad as only having a letter of permission is, it still stands as valid authorisation. however ticking the box on an FCA1 is not authorisation. So if you tick the box, and recieve a license with no "S" you ARE NOT licensed to own, possess, and use one. All you do by ticking the box is apply for permission it is not the actual authorisation. There have been cases of the box being ticked, and authorisation being granted, but no "S" on the license. This can be easily checked by your FO on PULSE. If it was a printing error s/he can reprint the license and you'll have it in a few days.
    ............. and another thing which i was told by a solisitor he's also big into shooting,he said no guard can lift a firearm of you if you have your licence on you if you were caught shooting from the road. The guards think they have the power but they dont.
    Seriously, get a new solicitor.

Thats the worse adivce i've ever heard any legal professional give. Whether they try and do you for the "firing from a road" or not is irrelevant. They can do you for reckless discharge of a firearm, and endangering public safety. Both offences mean they can take the firearm from you immediately for the reasons stated.

As for An Gardai NOT having all the power.

/sigh

YES THEY DO. An Gardai are the issuing authority. Whether its the "garda on the beat" or the Chief Super firearms are not an entitlement, they are a privilege. They can be removed/taken from you at any time under a number of reasons/circumstances. The Garda on the beat can remove it immediately under the reasons above, or if necessary report to his superior, who reports to the Super/Chief Super who then sends out the Garda armed unit to remove the firearms from you.
    You have a right to tell the guard that you agree to leave it in any gun dealer and they have to agree to that as a dealer is licenced to hold firearms. They are not licenced to hold your gun as its only licenced to you or they are not insured to hold a fire arm that you are licenced to.Now I think he may be right on this.
    As i have said already. In some circmstances that may be true, but if the Garda deems your actions a breach of the conditions of your license, and deems you to be a danger to public safety, etc he has the authority to take the firearms from you there and then for these reasons. He is hardly going to tell you "You're a danger, but when you get a minute store them with a dealer like a good lad".

Seriously lads. Know where you stand legally. I can tell you horses balls are lemons, but its your neck on the line and not mine so what does it matter to me if i'm wrong. Same with others "advice".
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Ezridax wrote: »
    Not sure what solicitor you're using, but get a new one. As bad as only having a letter of permission is, it still stands as valid authorisation. however ticking the box on an FCA1 is not authorisation. So if you tick the box, and recieve a license with no "S" you ARE NOT licensed to own, possess, and use one. All you do by ticking the box is apply for permission it is not the actual authorisation. There have been cases of the box being ticked, and authorisation being granted, but no "S" on the license. This can be easily checked by your FO on PULSE. If it was a printing error s/he can reprint the license and you'll have it in a few days.

Seriously, get a new solicitor.

Thats the worse adivce i've ever heard any legal professional give. Whether they try and do you for the "firing from a road" or not is irrelevant. They can do you for reckless discharge of a firearm, and endangering public safety. Both offences mean they can take the firearm from you immediately for the reasons stated.

As for An Gardai NOT having all the power.

/sigh

YES THEY DO. An Gardai are the issuing authority. Whether its the "garda on the beat" or the Chief Super firearms are not an entitlement, they are a privilege. They can be removed/taken from you at any time under a number of reasons/circumstances. The Garda on the beat can remove it immediately under the reasons above, or if necessary report to his superior, who reports to the Super/Chief Super who then sends out the Garda armed unit to remove the firearms from you.

As i have said already. In some circmstances that may be true, but if the Garda deems your actions a breach of the conditions of your license, and deems you to be a danger to public safety, etc he has the authority to take the firearms from you there and then for these reasons. He is hardly going to tell you "You're a danger, but when you get a minute store them with a dealer like a good lad".

Seriously lads. Know where you stand legally. I can tell you horses balls are lemons, but its your neck on the line and not mine so what does it matter to me if i'm wrong. Same with others "advice".
    Well here you go you go and tell them that an S is needed on a licence. They told me and others that as long as box is ticked.0719650510 Thats Carrick-on-Shannon garda station. Also how do you know for fact that they are insured to lift it? A ranger is. Also this is law,a dealer cant shoot any of the firearms outside the address he's based in only a firearm he may be licenced to in his name

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Garda can take the firearm lad that i know for sure but your average guard on the street would be more likely to shoot them self or you in The foot than make it safe!

Guards and military are the only people who do NOT need to have a licence to handle or use a firearm in The course of their duties

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act 1990. Under that act, if you have your firearm on you, a Garda can technically arrest you without warrant, confiscate your firearm and chuck you in the cells. Your licence will go a long way to proving you had authorisation to have the firearm with you, if it doesn't in fact prove it outright, but you have to prove that in a courtroom.

And this is one of those lovely areas of Irish Law where you are presumed guilty and have to prove that you're innocent.

Have a read of the Act. It's a lovely insight into why you don't piss off the local Garda if you want a quiet life, and just how little in the way of legal rights you have (ie, none at all) when it comes to firearms in Ireland.

your average guard on the street would be more likely to shoot them self or you in The foot than make it safe!
    Maybe so... but if you handed them a firearm knowing it wasn't safe and didn't tell them, I get the feeling you'd be facing a lot more charges in the courtroom afterwards.

Also, a surprisingly high number of Gardai are checked out on firearms. Our "unarmed" police force has something like two-thirds of its uniformed members qualified to sign out pistols from the station if required to do so, according to the last parliamentary question I read on the topic.

Reckless discharge of firearm.

8.—A person who discharges a firearm being reckless as to whether any person will be injured or not, shall be guilty of an offence, whether any such injury is caused or not, and shall be liable—

(a) on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding twelve months or to both, or

(b) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding five years or to both.

Is that the part about it or is there more?

Sparks wrote: »
    Firearms and Offensive Weapons Act 1990. Under that act, if you have your firearm on you, a Garda can technically arrest you without warrant, confiscate your firearm and chuck you in the cells. Your licence will go a long way to proving you had authorisation to have the firearm with you, if it doesn't in fact prove it outright, but you have to prove that in a courtroom.

And this is one of those lovely areas of Irish Law where you are presumed guilty and have to prove that you're innocent.

Have a read of the Act. It's a lovely insight into why you don't piss off the local Garda if you want a quiet life, and just how little in the way of legal rights you have (ie, none at all) when it comes to firearms in Ireland.
    I thought i did say if you had your licence on you they cant?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Maybe so... but if you handed them a firearm knowing it wasn't safe and didn't tell them, I get the feeling you'd be facing a lot more charges in the courtroom afterwards.

Also, a surprisingly high number of Gardai are checked out on firearms. Our "unarmed" police force has something like two-thirds of its uniformed members qualified to sign out pistols from the station if required to do so, according to the last parliamentary question I read on the topic.

If a a member of the Garda were unsure on how to handle a firearm they can request the RSU to attend the scene and handle things from there.

As Sparks said as well, Ireland has a serious number of Guards trained in the use of firearms, afaik more than the UK, taking into account ERU,RSU, detectives and an assortment of other members.

Anyway, why cause hassle for yourself? Work with the Guard in a situation and deal with the legality of it after.

Reckless discharge of firearm.

8.—A person who discharges a firearm being reckless as to whether any person will be injured or not, shall be guilty of an offence, whether any such injury is caused or not, and shall be liable—

(a) on summary conviction, to a fine not exceeding £1,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding twelve months or to both, or

(b) on conviction on indictment, to a fine or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding five years or to both.

Is that the part about it or is there more?
    I might have read it wrong but it doesn't state they have the power to lift it if its licenced and you only get imprisonment IF found guilty. They have to prove these things before anybody is convicted in court of law

just rang the fu again because i was meant to pickup the new rifle in the morning he said to carry on and if there was any trouble just give them his details ,im still covered

If a a member of the Garda were unsure on how to handle a firearm they can request the RSU to attend the scene and handle things from there.

As Sparks said as well, Ireland has a serious number of Guards trained in the use of firearms, afaik more than the UK, taking into account ERU,RSU, detectives and an assortment of other members.

Anyway, why cause hassle for yourself? Work with the Guard in a situation and deal with the legality of it after.
    You may be right lad but me personally i would not let them take my gun. I be leaving it in with a dealer as im sure i've a right too also If i did loose my licence well at least i could take sight of it or sell it or something. It be a lot better than leaving it in for good in a garda station.

just rang the fu again because i was meant to pickup the new rifle in the morning he said to carry on and if there was any trouble just give them his details ,im still covered
    So i'm right about the ''s''?

if you dont play ball with the guards they have no problem getting proof
    unless youve really ****ed up ,the first few minutes talking with a gaurd is a personality test if you dont pass that forget it

I thought i did say if you had your licence on you they cant?
    Nope. Your licence can prove in court later on that you were in fact not breaking the 1990 Act; but out there on the side of the road, you're coming with the Garda and you're doing so in handcuffs if you give him or her any grief. That's the way the law is worded:
    Section 9(5) is what you could be arrested under:
    (5) Where a person has with him in any public place any article intended by him unlawfully to cause injury to, incapacitate or intimidate any person either in a particular eventuality or otherwise, he shall be guilty of an offence.
    Section 9(6) essentially states that you have to prove your innocence in a court:
    (6) In a prosecution for an offence under subsection (5), it shall not be necessary for the prosecution to allege or prove that the intent to cause injury, incapacitate or intimidate was intent to cause injury to, incapacitate or intimidate a particular person; and if, having regard to all the circumstances (including the type of the article alleged to have been intended to cause injury, incapacitate or intimidate, the time of the day or night, and the place), the court (or the jury as the case may be) thinks it reasonable to do so, it may regard possession of the article as sufficient evidence of intent in the absence of any adequate explanation by the accused.
    And Section 14 says you can be arrested on the spot on suspicion of breaking 9(5), no warrant needed:
    14.—A member of the Garda Síochána may arrest without warrant any person who is, or whom the member, with reasonable cause, suspects to be, in the act of committing an offence under section 9 , 10 or 11 .

Now you ought to be able to prove your innocence in the DC a few days later, but that won't stop the Garda arresting you out on the road. So this idea that you don't have to surrender your firearm while out on the road is wrong.

However, all of this relates to when you've been caught doing something wrong (ie. shooting from a road). If the firearm is taken off you when you're doing nothing wrong, a quick call to the station usually sorts it out; but here's the thing - even then, you can't stop the Garda taking it in the first place out on the street.

Basicly, just get through the initial encounter with the Garda calmly and politely, and sort it out later when everyone's calmed down. Don't be bolshie at a traffic stop over a firearm. It's just not worth it.

Iinstead of a long drawn out debate on the finer points of law, why not ring your FO, ask him/her to check on PULSE as to the status then request a reprint of the license if the authorisation has been granted. If not put the mod away, and submit another FCA1 requesting it.

Its cheaper, and easier.
    You may be right lad but me personally i would not let them take my gun. I be leaving it in with a dealer as im sure i've a right too also
    You have NO choice in the matter.
    So i'm right about the ''s''
    ARRRGGGHHHHH:eek:

No. He was covered under his old license, and the new license did not have the "S" on it, but after a phone call his FO checked PULSE, seen he was still authorised to have the mod, and will reprint the license with the appropriate "S" in the corner.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

That'll work...

...right up to the point where someone looks at your licence, sees it hasn't got the S and hauls you up on it. Your FO can say "erra it's grand" - but that means the square root of feck all because your FO hasn't got the legal authority to do so, and the AGS have said this in public in the past, both for cases where the FO says you can't have something and for cases where the FO says you can.

Only your super can give you permission to have that silencer and if it's not on your licence or your letter of authorisation, you don't have it.

Nope. Your licence can prove in court later on that you were in fact not breaking the 1990 Act; but out there on the side of the road, you're coming with the Garda and you're doing so in handcuffs if you give him or her any grief. That's the way the law is worded:
    Section 9(5) is what you could be arrested under:

Section 9(6) essentially states that you have to prove your innocence in a court:

And Section 14 says you can be arrested on the spot on suspicion of breaking 9(5), no warrant needed:

Now you ought to be able to prove your innocence in the DC a few days later, but that won't stop the Garda arresting you out on the road. So this idea that you don't have to surrender your firearm while out on the road is wrong.

However, all of this relates to when you've been caught doing something wrong (ie. shooting from a road). If the firearm is taken off you when you're doing nothing wrong, a quick call to the station usually sorts it out; but here's the thing - even then, you can't stop the Garda taking it in the first place out on the street.

Basicly, just get through the initial encounter with the Garda calmly and politely, and sort it out later when everyone's calmed down. Don't be bolshie at a traffic stop over a firearm. It's just not worth it.
    But Sparks it says nothing about the guard having the right to lift your firearm also he may arrest alright but shooting from the road that only is a conviction if proven in court. Thats what i'm saying.

That'll work...

...right up to the point where someone looks at your licence, sees it hasn't got the S and hauls you up on it. Your FO can say "erra it's grand" - but that means the square root of feck all because your FO hasn't got the legal authority to do so, and the AGS have said this in public in the past, both for cases where the FO says you can't have something and for cases where the FO says you can.

Only your super can give you permission to have that silencer and if it's not on your licence or your letter of authorisation, you don't have it.
    Well they let my friend go as they said it was ok. I'm not a guard. Thats what i'm saying and some wont believe me but my story came right after all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

You may be right lad but me personally i would not let them take my gun. I be leaving it in with a dealer as im sure i've a right too also If i did loose my licence well at least i could take sight of it or sell it or something. It be a lot better than leaving it in for good in a garda station.

But if convicted your firearm could be destroyed. Afaik, at least in my local area and with my RFD the Guards send him rifles and shotguns to be kept on his premises while they wait to be destroyed.

As Sparks said the law lies favourably with the state with regards firearms and "offensive weapons" It is a Guards interpretation I would assume in when a firearm becomes an offensive weapon. After that I would say it is kept for evidence while waiting for the case to be resolved.

I would be annoyed at having to hand my rifle over but if, god forbid, that I was involved in a situation where I was ordered to I would, the last thing I want when I apply for another license is the Super asking me why the armed response unit was called to handle a dispute I got in with one of his officers!

But Sparks it says nothing about the guard having the right to lift your firearm also he may arrest alright but shooting from the road that only is a conviction if proven in court. Thats what i'm saying.
    Lad, when you're bent over the bonnet, handcuffed and peppersprayed with an ASP baton in the small of your back, what do you think is preventing him from confiscating your firearm?

Look seriously. Stop trying to win a debate with a cop on the side of the road. It's stupid.

Heck, even Chris Rock thinks so:

In the meantime they have your guns, and you'll pay for it both financially, and mentally to get them back.
    Well they let my friend go as they said it was ok. I'm not a guard. Thats what i'm saying and some wont believe me but my story came right after all
    I don't "not" believe you. I am saying you are wrong, the person that told you so is wrong, and irrespective of who told you what IT'S WRONG.

It's your license, and your gun. You will loose it not them. So for the love of God, listen to what you are being told. A simple phone call will sort this out. Ring your FO, and ask him are you covered on PULSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

I ticked the box for moderator on my .223 application.

License comes, no S :rolleyes:

Rang Garda, it's on Pulse, you're covered.

Me, not happy.

Why? Because if something happens, whatever, then Pulse can be changed and I have NO evidence I was granted my S. None, whatsoever.

But, would Pulse be changed? I don't know, but go read the thread on the pistol licenses............. I'm not taking the chance.

After a LOT to toing and froing I eventually got it re-issued, now I've the S on both rifle licenses, and I feel a damn sight better now than before.

Anyone going looking for hassle off the Gardai will be sure to find it.

Work away lad and enjoy the new rifle.:D:D:D:D

johngalway wrote: »
    I ticked the box for moderator on my .223 application.

License comes, no S :rolleyes:

Rang Garda, it's on Pulse, you're covered.

Me, not happy.

Why? Because if something happens, whatever, then Pulse can be changed and I have NO evidence I was granted my S. None, whatsoever.

But, would Pulse be changed? I don't know, but go read the thread on the pistol licenses............. I'm not taking the chance.

After a LOT to toing and froing I eventually got it re-issued, now I've the S on both rifle licenses, and I feel a damn sight better now than before.

Anyone going looking for hassle off the Gardai will be sure to find it.
    Well thats same as my story about the S on license but Ezridax said: I don't "not" believe you. I am saying you are wrong, the person that told you so is wrong, and irrespective of who told you what IT'S WRONG.

That's ok with me that he doesn't believe me but i did say when my friends rifle was inspected by a guard from a different location he said you better have a permit for that silencer. He said its covered. He rang the local station and they said he's covered as he had box ticked and it was on pulse and there was no problem from there. Yes there's lots of people asking should there be an S on licence but we don't have them and not a hoot do i care about the ''S'' as long as i know its on pulse. You did say along with another guy that your guards said the same that its grand so who's telling lie's if you get my drift

In the meantime they have your guns, and you'll pay for it both financially, and mentally to get them back.
    I don't "not" believe you. I am saying you are wrong, the person that told you so is wrong, and irrespective of who told you what IT'S WRONG.

It's your license, and your gun. You will loose it not them. So for the love of God, listen to what you are being told. A simple phone call will sort this out. Ring your FO, and ask him are you covered on PULSE.
    Ezridax i must have rang them 5 times about it and it was gone to the stage i was pissing them off. They said i'm covered and no more i can argue. As i did mention already they will check it out and they did on my friends and no problem what so ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

if your carry your licence a gardai can not lift your firearm without arresting you in the process . and shooting from a main road is warrant enough to get your self arrested . but a gardai can not lift your firearm from you with out cause : eg you cant be stopped and garda see you firearm in the car and say im taking that ! if ya have your licence.

a garda is not insured to do this with out arresting you in the process.

also note you are not insured in a garda car with out being arrested and been giving rights .

and ive spoken to few lads in south leitrim that all applied for mod and dont have the s on licence most of them are looking into it now that i have brought it to there attention . il post up the out come .

He rang the local station and they said he's covered as he had box ticked and it was on pulse and there was no problem from there. Yes there's lots of people asking should there be an S on licence but we don't have them and not a hoot do i care about the ''S'' as long as i know its on pulse.
    That is the first time you mentioned PULSE. Look at every post i wrote and others telling you to check PULSE. Not once did you mention that you done so. All you said was;
    They dont issue permits for mods but he had no ''S'' on his licence but when they looked into it not a thing they could do as he had the box ticked on the application form so that was enough they said
    So here is where i told you what you repeated/said, and what you were told was wrong. You must have either a letter of authorisation (not ideal) or the "S" on your license.

As said before ticking the box is not a guananteee you are authorised and you never once in this whole thread have mentioned that you rang and confirmed you wre covered on PULSE. So when you say;
    That's ok with me that he doesn't believe me
    Perhaps giving the entire story would have saved alot of people posting things for your benefit when it was unnecessary. Had you said you got your FO to check on PULSE and he confirmed you had authorisation on the PULSE system the only post you would have gotten from me would have been to advise you to get a license reprint with your "S" on it. i mean if you are covered there should be no problem with your FO hitting 2 or 3 buttons to reprint the license. Of course if you have no authroisation then he cannot reprint it with the "S" can he?

Here is where i am refering, again, to what you were told as being WRONG. There is a permit for a mod/silencer. Its the "S" on your license.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

but to save the hastle id just remove the bolt and mag , and say there ya go gardai and id ring my local station straight away . or even ring it while im standing with the gardai there and then

Ezridax i must have rang them 5 times about it and it was gone to the stage i was pissing them off. They said i'm covered and no more i can argue. As i did mention already they will check it out and they did on my friends and no problem what so ever.
    I know for a fact that Gardai prefer a person to have the "S". Over "you'll be grand" and even over the letter of authorisation from your Super. Why? Because the "nod" from your FO is not legally binding, and if he is wrong you'll be in trouble not him. Secondly the letter from your Super does not get entered onto PULSE.

Point being if you are away shooting, away from your local area, and a Garda from another district checks your license and sees no "S", then as far as he is concerned you do not stand authorised to have a mod. Now a check on PULSE can sort this, but if he didn't bother to check PULSE immediately or wanted to be awkward, he could seize the gun as a you have an unlicensed firearm on your person - ie. the mod. As under Irish law it stands as a firearm in it's own right.

Everything i have said on this thread is correct. I say it not to try and "prove you wrong", but to inform you, and anyone else reading this thread. If you are authorised then get the "S". If your FO won't reprint it then contact the FPU. They are very good, and will get it sorted for you.

That is the first time you mentioned PULSE. Look at every post i wrote and others telling you to check PULSE. Not once did you mention that you done so. All you said was;

So here is where i told you what you repeated/said, and what you were told was wrong. You must have either a letter of authorisation (not ideal) or the "S" on your license.

As said before ticking the box is not a guananteee you are authorised and you never once in this whole thread have mentioned that you rang and confirmed you wre covered on PULSE. So when you say;

Perhaps giving the entire story would have saved alot of people posting things for your benefit when it was unnecessary. Had you said you got your FO to check on PULSE and he confirmed you had authorisation on the PULSE system the only post you would have gotten from me would have been to advise you to get a license reprint with your "S" on it. i mean if you are covered there should be no problem with your FO hitting 2 or 3 buttons to reprint the license. Of course if you have no authroisation then he cannot reprint it with the "S" can he?

Here is where i am refering, again, to what you were told as being WRONG. There is a permit for a mod/silencer. Its the "S" on your license.
    Well if paper work is done for a licence isn't the system pulse same thing its recorded? No one on this is 100% its just talk,i may be wrong,you may be wrong we are just debaiting

I am 100% on this because in the last 2.5 years i have made it my business to find out by contacting FO, Super, and the lads in the FPU, and i got the answer striaght form the source.

You said you ticked the box on the FCA1. Thats all. As i have said at least 3 times now when you say that to me i only know you ticked the mod box, and thats where the story ends. Plenty of people have ticked the box, but not gotten the "S" nor have they gotten the authorisation on PULSE.

The idea behind the "S" is if you are authorised it's printed on your license for all to see. Its part of the license printing procedure.