Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Guy sells locked safe on ebay for 123 bucks, the buyer finds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Sky King

nuxxx wrote: »
    hes looking for a cut

The welder should help him out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

why didn't original seller do this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,041 ✭✭✭Seachmall

Fair play to the guy who bought it. Tough titties to the guy who sold it.

That is all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

danniemcq wrote: »

because he's a f*ckin idiot

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

Who did the seller steal the safe from? Someone's down 26 grand.

Anyway, sickner for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,573 ✭✭✭✭yabadabado

tough **** on the seller.he looks like a asshole now going on TV asking for a cut of the 26,00.What did he expect the buyer to do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

They could both get done for handling stolen goods? Unless there are people who give away 26 grands for thrills.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

My ol' Ma always said 'a fool and his money are easily parted'*

*Shortly after she cleaned me out in a game of poker.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

Seachmall wrote: »
    Fair play to the guy who bought it. Tough titties to the guy who sold it.

That is all.

Apparently The welder had Acetylene tits.:pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 482 ✭✭Jim_Kiy

Sounds fake tbh
    Who the hell would buy a locked safe just to cut it open?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

Marketing ploy probably for some dude selling old safes on Ebay. Story sounds like bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 381 ✭✭INEEDANID

People used to buy old safes from the big country houses that are no more here in Ireland.

Without the key.

There was one in a field near my house but had no key and was too heavy to move without a digger or something.

Owner took it away recently. Nothing in it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Was thinking that in a way, story is pretty unbelievable

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,489 ✭✭✭sh1tstirrer

Why did the buyer go public with the story? If it were anyone with an ounce of sense they would keep their trap shut unless it's a baloney story.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,583 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

LOL

he should have shaken the safe to see if there was anything inside first :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 923 ✭✭✭Johnny Foreigner

Urban myth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,281 ✭✭✭donegal_road

26,000$ inside! Wouldn't you be sick. The buyer brought it to a welder who opened it and the money just fell out. The guy who sold it sounds pissed! Who wouldn't be, hes looking for a cut :pac:

Link to video : http://thechive.com/2012/02/23/guy-buys-safe-on-ebay-finds-26000-inside-video/

the buyer and the seller are the same person, it was done so as to create a eye catching news story, the story was then sold to the press.. the people who swallow this are ..... *fill in blank with appropriate*

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

That's nothing, in my local charity shop a woman bought a pair of shoes for €10 euro I believe and turned out to be 5 grand hidden in one of them. Trying to see if it made local news but can't find anything on it. Anyway, I think the money was returned.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 6,522 Mod ✭✭✭✭Irish Steve

Strange things get sold on E-bay all the time.

Do a search on motherboards, and see how many faulty motherboards are being offered.
    Empty boxes are a regular scam.
    Broken laptop computers with no keyboard or display screen.
    Mobile phones with cracked screen or other broken bits

Who'd be prepared to bid for Britney Spears discarded chewing gum???

Yet they sell.

I've just done a quick search on E-bay for "broken". 40626 items, and that's without searching the descriptions as well

One mans junk is another mans gold

For sure, if I'd bought the safe, I wouldn't be talking about what I was now doing to it, and if I'd found that sort of cash, I'd be keeping very stum.

Shore, if it was easy, everybody would be doin it.😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

This falls under the "Finders, keepers / Losers, weepers" law.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 118 ✭✭jay phelan

Sounds like a load of BS :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

123 bucks?
    Well godammit ill be darned.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Yakult wrote: »
    That's nothing, in my local charity shop a woman bought a pair of shoes for €10 euro I believe and turned out to be 5 grand hidden in one of them. Trying to see if it made local news but can't find anything on it. Anyway, I think the money was returned.

I bought a Wonka Bar yesterday and there was a golden ticket inside.

Now I get to go on a guided tour of the chocolate factory.

Can't wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Go to the seller's page on ebay.com and the buyer only claims $6,000 and then admits it was only a practical joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

danniemcq wrote: »

For a combination of reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

26,000$ inside! Wouldn't you be sick. The buyer brought it to a welder who opened it and the money just fell out. The guy who sold it sounds pissed! Who wouldn't be, hes looking for a cut :pac:

Link to video : http://thechive.com/2012/02/23/guy-buys-safe-on-ebay-finds-26000-inside-video/

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,588 ✭✭✭2ndcoming

I once went to the shop and bought a pack of frubes, as I was after having a few spliffs and quite desired their fruity softness. When I peeled open the packaging of the 3rd one, to my amazement the frube tube contained not a delicious yoghurt snack, but a large quantity of uncut diamonds.

Naturally I was disgusted with this, I mean I nearly swallowed one of the jaggedy little buggers! So I sent the offending tube back to Yoplait with a strongly worded letter, and guess what?! JACKPOT!!! They sent me a full box of Fruit in the Forest (my favourite, as I mentioned in my letter) flavoured Frubes!!

Only tough part was getting all the lads around to help getting through all 256 frubes in the 2 days before they went off, but it sure was a happy time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭The_B_Man

Sure people do this the whole time. You ever watch Storage Wars?

Also, in this case if it was reall the buyer would have kept his mouth shut!