Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bowing out of car ownership?

• 22-02-2012 1:44pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭

My car costs about €400 a month on average to run, including insurance, tax and fuel but excluding repairs and servicing. That's about a quarter of my net pay.

That said, I could remove the expense by not having a car at all. That wouldn't leave me without a car, as my girlfriend has one and it's used about three times a week, an '02 Corsa 1.2 auto. My share of running the Corsa would equate to about €1700 a year give or take, a saving of around €3000 a year. I'd probably buy an electric bike for the fair-weather commute.

So bowing out of car ownership for a few years is good financial decision. I get my first year's NCD in a month, coincidentally.

Thoughts?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

I'm waiting for a karate kick to come your way

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

johnos1984 wrote: »

Eh?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Confab wrote: »

Eh?
    If you don't get it I'm not explaining it

I don't think I could be without a car but if your happy with the reasoning them go ahead

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭thewintermute

If I could make that kind of saving I would.If you're city based a scooter is the way forward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

If you can live without it why not? Sell the car and save the money every month or at least some of it and go on a holiday in the summer! Sure ya always have the girlfriends car if ya's need to go somewhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭650Ginge

Good luck to you. You will get a more positive response maybe in the cycling forum.

BTW the cost difference between running the Alfa and Corsa is somewhere in the region of €700 a year, which is hardly worth worrying about.
    I don't think I could be without a car but if your happy with the reasoning them go ahead

I won't be without a car as the GF doesn't use hers much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

If you don't have a need for it then there's no reason to hang on to one.
    For longer journeys, just rent one for the weekend unless you want to use the GFs car.

I've been toying with the idea myself but haven't calculated anything yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

If you can get along with one car then off you go.

Me, I couldn't. I never did like sharing.

............. a saving of around €3000 ................

Thoughts?

Savings of €3000/annum are not to be sniffed at :)
    That equates to lots of meals out, a decent holiday, new telly and other nice to haves. Decent amount to actually save too.

I see no reason at all why it would be deemed a bad idea as such.
    I'm not going to mention the recent MX5 fad

And neither am I :D

I can always convince the GF to buy one in a year or two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭ants09

€400 pm savings not to be sniff at tbh.
    But if you decide to give up your car then later on you be starting off again from scratch in relation to insurance etc.
    What ever you do hope you wont regret it in time but good luck ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,987 ✭✭✭ottostreet

So...in other words...

cars aren't an interest of yours? ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 715 ✭✭✭ants09

My NCD would expire after 2-3 years so not too bad.

Ah ok batman

But from a petrol heads point of view omg what you thinking off :eek: you need a good slap around the head to knock some sense into you :p

But from a economic's financial point off view it makes financial sound advice ;)

ottostreet wrote: »
    So...in other words...

That's stretching it a bit. I'm interested in cars, but I need the money more then I need to own car atm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭doopa

If you live in Dublin or Cork - could be worth considering this lot for the second car:

http://www.gocar.ie

Or do the maths on just renting at the weekends with the likes of enterprise. I reckon it averages around 120 a weekend (Friday to Monday) plus petrol/diesel.

I suppose it depends on how often you need two cars.

Really depends on your situation, if your tight on cash then it may be a good idea.

At my age, with a decent job, no dependents i can justify blowing money on driving a thirsty clk across town to work all week. I'm cosy, warm, have my tunes and a bit of power under my foot which makes it enjoyable.

I look at people in the rain at the bus stops looking miserable as i drive by, i could also get a bus/luas combo to work but i would be suicidal after a month.

Have you worked out the cost of your girlfriend? ;):D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭monkeypants

Bit of a misleading thread title; you're not bowing out of car ownership really, you've just decided to make do with one car.

Myself and the missus share a car and she uses it more than I do.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,202 ✭✭✭Rabidlamb

OP, perhaps you should work harder & be able to afford a car like the rest of us.

Meh, I'm only ribbing, I'd love to be able to get rid of our family 2nd car but I need to commute & the wife needs to do things with kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

And neither am I :D

I can always convince the GF to buy one in a year or two.

Sounds like you'd be using the Corsa more than she does but with an inequitable share of the costs???

Marcusm wrote: »
    Sounds like you'd be using the Corsa more than she does but with an inequitable share of the costs???

Paying his own insurance and fuel usage along with some tax contribution and maintenance presumably, seems fair enough.

Marcusm wrote: »

I pay half of the tax, I pay my portion of the insurance and pay for whatever fuel I use.
    cisk wrote: »
    Really depends on your situation, if your tight on cash then it may be a good idea.

Have you worked out the cost of your girlfriend? ;):D

TBH I'm not that strapped for cash, but an extra €300 a month would make a significant difference. I'll always have the option of taking my GF's car to work.

Thanks for all the comments lads!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

So will we expect tha 156 on done deal soon? Pity as you were sorting the cambelt. Could you both use that? Best of both worlds...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,844 ✭✭✭Jimdagym

Where you not lookIng for something more powerful last week confab?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,683 ✭✭✭✭Owen

I don't use my car now nearly as much as I did, if I'm popping into town, I'll get the bus unless I've something big to bring home. I'm going down the 2 wheel route too with some sort of road/hybrid bike soon enough. If you are into electric bikes OP, no harm to PM Paulryanmini on here, his family own goeco.ie!

Jimdagym wrote: »
    Where you not lookIng for something more powerful last week confab?

Yup. Have come to my senses now.
    So will we expect tha 156 on done deal soon? Pity as you were sorting the cambelt. Could you both use that? Best of both worlds...

Fairly shortly, maybe a month. Taxed to May, cambelt isn't done and it's popping out of third. I'd be very happy with €600. Corsa B is going too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

I've spent most of my life being obsessed by cars but have come to view them all as bottomless money pits and have increasingly lost interest. I rarely get any pleasure out of driving as all roads around here are either congested, full of potholes or some combination of both. I have increasingly considered getting rid of it. I generally cycle any journey less than 10 miles now, my commute is too far to cycle everyday but there are bus alternatives (which cost more than the petrol tbh) but the real reason I would miss my car is at the weekends as I like to get out an about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,960 ✭✭✭creedp

That's stretching it a bit. I'm interested in cars, but I need the money more then I need to own car atm.

Well how about persuading your GF to get rid of her Corsa and stump up for half of your costs! Make this agreement before you repair the car!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,628 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

I pay half of the tax, I pay my portion of the insurance and pay for whatever fuel I use.

Sorry didn't mean to touch a nerve, just think it's a fortunate posiiton to be in. She'll have to recover the depreciation in kind!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,885 ✭✭✭✭MetzgerMeister

I can see Confab arriving at the next motors @ midway on a scooter :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,912 ✭✭✭galwaycyclist

650Ginge wrote: »
    Good luck to you. You will get a more positive response maybe in the cycling forum.

I wouldnt count on it - be lost without my car me.

creedp wrote: »
    Well how about persuading your GF to get rid of her Corsa and stump up for half of your costs! Make this agreement before you repair the car!!

Nah the car's being repaired right now. I might as well use it until the insurance runs out. Besides, the Corsa is an auto, handier for city driving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

Are you putting a new box into it?

EPM wrote: »
    Are you putting a new box into it?

Nope, the box stays, the cutting out was a sensor problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Why not buy a smaller engined, more reliable car that you won't need to put money into every month

Cheap tax, petrol, insurance etc

Tallon wrote: »
    Why not buy a smaller engined, more reliable car that you won't need to put money into every month

Cheap tax, petrol, insurance etc

I have a 1L Corsa sitting in the car park, it'd only make a difference of about €700 per year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,565 ✭✭✭✭Tallon

Only? That's a lot of money!

Also, maybe if it wasn't sitting up, you might be a few hundred quid up again?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

@ Confab - What exactly is the extra benefit to you of having your own car rather than borrowing the gf's one? The more exactly you can nail that down, the easier it'll be to choose between it and the extra money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭ciotog

I wouldnt count on it - be lost without my car me.
    It's funny I've been thinking about a thread - 'Weekend car' for a cyclist. Wouldn't give up my daily bike commute but wouldn't mind a car for some weekend journeys. That and I'll be 35 soon and haven't held a licence :) (lots and lots of work travel abroad since Uni and lived in Singapore for 7 years - not anti-motoring reasons)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 66,122 ✭✭✭✭unkel
    Chauffe, Marcel, chauffe!

ottostreet wrote: »
    So...in other words...

Spending a quarter of a low income on something you don't really need is lunacy imho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,309 ✭✭✭✭Quazzie

So you went from a Corsa, to an Alfa, and now back to your Girlfriends Corsa. Was it worth it?

Also the image of you on a scooter just makes me giggle uncontrollably.

Anan1 wrote: »
    @ Confab - What exactly is the extra benefit to you of having your own car rather than borrowing the gf's one? The more exactly you can nail that down, the easier it'll be to choose between it and the extra money.

A good question. Thinking about it, the only real extra benefit is that I can get up 45 mins later and I can get to the shops in 7 mins instead of 20. I don't travel long distances and don't carry heavy or bulky stuff. The illusory befits are much longer, but in reality it's a big and costly toy.
    So you went from a Corsa, to an Alfa, and now back to your Girlfriends Corsa. Was it worth it?

Not really.
    Spending a quarter of a low income on something you don't really need is lunacy imho

As much as I hate to admit it, you're bang on the money. Literally.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

If you can cope with just the Gf's car then do it. The fact you were killing the Alfa by not being able to afford basic maintance means that that wasn't a car you should keep. Also I think your Corsa was past its use by date and was costing a bit in maintance too so get rid of them and try it for a while with just the GF's car and see how you go.

Quazzie wrote: »
    So you went from a Corsa, to an Alfa, and now back to your Girlfriends Corsa. Was it worth it? ...............

Not really.

Worth it for the experience alone I reckon :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

Mother. Of. God! :eek::eek::eek:

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

I think everybody thinks about this from time to time.. I put a full tank in the 325 most weeks and the tax is €25 a week so you could say it costs nearly €500 a month to keep the car on the road. Then I start thinking of all the things I could buy with this €500, but I wouldn't have €500, I would drink it, spend it on consumer electronics I dont need and buy expensive lunches everyday and have no car! I used to go out every single saturday night and spend 80 euro or more on drink and spend all day sunday nursing a hangover.. Having a nice car and not feeling shíte every single sunday is great!

Every time I put the shoe in on a nice twisty road it makes me smile and its worth every penny :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,912 ✭✭✭I Was VB

TBH if i didnt need a car for work chances are i wouldnt have one i'd be back on the bike. The two sorepoints for me are motor tax and petrol.

161.9 for a litre of petol is criminality, as for motortax if my motor tax wasnt 88pa i wouldnt tax it, as for me paying the best part of €700 for a year for a 2.0 car makes my blood boil the roads are in ****e too.

OP if ya can do it do it. More money for taxi fares too. The motorist in this country gets lubed and bent over over a table more times than eastern european in a appartment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

Confab, if you want to do that, I say go ahead! I mean, cycling will improve your health, less worries in general and the only problem with your plan is that if the lady and you break up (heaven forbid) you will be left without a jammer.

All the same, I've started to cycle in and out of town recently to the tune of 40km a day. Just a fair bit of warning, get a comfy seat on your bike. It hurts like hell if you don't got one!

One more thing, do you have your full license yet? That makes a big difference. I can't remember if you have one or not now that I think about it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

What happens if you and the gf break up though?

If himself and herself break up he can buy something again, little point in spending €3000/annum on a car on the off chance that his relationship breaks up chaps. Just don't spend too much of the savings on herself Confab :pac: