Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New Ren Skincare Advertisement - Softcore Porn

• 21-02-2012 12:35pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

I was shown this new advertisement last night by a mate.
    It has been broadcasted in Norway / Sweden, about to be broadcasted in the UK but has been banned from TV in Ireland.

Here is the vid, possibly NSFW.

What do you think ?
    Is this add a bit much for TV
    Would you want your kids to see it ?

or are the Irish just massive prudes hence why we're the only one that banned it ??

Possibly NSFW - you've been warned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

What is it with you and p0rn?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭mysteries1984

Christ, that's a stupid ad. Note to self - never buy REN skincare, ever.

A bit much for tv? Nah, I'm okay with it. It doesn't show anything it shouldn't.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,536 ✭✭✭Stiffler2

Christ, that's a stupid ad. Note to self - never buy REN skincare, ever.

A bit much for tv? Nah, I'm okay with it. It doesn't show anything it shouldn't.

I thought it was maybe a bit much for TV but maybe I'm just a prude.
    we're the only ones to ban the add so far in Europe AFAIK

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

ooo you get to see her ass briefly

and then they kiss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,136 ✭✭✭✭How Soon Is Now

Seen worse on Eastenders.

Jaysus people just love to give out and ban stuff dont they....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

All this ad tells me is that if I want to be clean, all I have to do is jump into a lake, naked...

Stiffler2 wrote: »
    I thought it was maybe a bit much for TV but maybe I'm just a prude.
    we're the only ones to ban the add so far in Europe AFAIK

Well, I'm very much the opposite of a prude so maybe I'm the wrong person to give my answer. But it doesn't surprise me that Ireland banned it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,180 ✭✭✭Interceptor

Thats fairly harmless. My semi even left...

'cptr

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

Look at them, irresponsibly dropping their clothes in the water like that.

I just don't know with people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

I wish people (women mainly) would stop complaining about sexist/provocative adverts. Really if you don't like it fúck off and change the channel or don't buy the product. Stop p!ssing and moaning about it.

Call the wambulances

'cptr

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

When I see Stiffler2 I think Porn.

Oh and the ad is a pile if ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

'cptr

(.)(.)

better now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,259 ✭✭✭downwithpeace

There are other ads that show more skin, this has a sexual element more then those which is probably why it was banned.

Anyway that water looks to cold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭CardBordWindow

They're gonna catch their death of cold!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

it's no different than the usual crappy perfume ads imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Stupid ad.

Glad it's banned.

All ads which are pointless, stupid or **** all to do with what they are advertising should be banned.

So basically all ads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭flanders1979

Very hard to put on a johnny underwater.
    She said she was clean so maybe no need anyways

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Pretty harmless ad, don't see how it could be considered "a bit much"? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,207 ✭✭✭longhalloween

He wouldnt be able to do much in cold water like that. Its difficult enough in a swimming pool :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

NSFWanking

fyp

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Thanks for getting my hopes up... there was zero to do with porn in that ad! :mad:
    danniemcq wrote: »
    (.)(.)

better now?

( • Y • )

That's better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,535 ✭✭✭Radharc na Sleibhte

They were right to ban it, if the reason was its shiite.

Otherwise, what?
    Bit of a spitty kiss though, i could almost see the diseases being transferred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭ghostchant

This is the edited version. The NSFW version is on youtube though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,264 ✭✭✭✭jester77

eh, what was wrong with this ad :confused: (apart from it being crap)

I was expecting something dodgy with softcore porn being in the title, or was that an edited version?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,758 ✭✭✭✭TeddyTedson

What does NSFW mean?
    The ad is harmless. Why is it banned exactly?

What does NSFW mean?
    The ad is harmless. Why is it banned exactly?

NSFW = Not Safe for Work

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

How do you feel?

Clean...

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Jaysus Christ! Clean? Clean? :D

Sindri wrote: »
    How do you feel?

Clean...

:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D:D

Jaysus Christ! Clean? Clean? :D

Did you just wash your hair with Herbal Essences ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

It has been broadcasted in Norway / Sweden, about to be broadcasted in the UK but has been banned from TV in Ireland.

Meh. A pretty girl wades into a lake and the guy gets a glimpse of her shapely arse. Jaysus, we can't let people in Ireland see things like that. If the sky fairy wanted us to see women's arses, it would never have created clothes. :rolleyes:

What does NSFW stand for? "Not something for ****" perhaps?
    What do you think ?

Is that the same TV where there are programmes showing all kinds of violence, killing, swearing? I can't see how this would affect my or any other kids in any way. Apart from them, perhaps, learning the Swedish word "ren", which means clean or pure.
    or are the Irish just massive prudes hence why we're the only one that banned it ??

Don't generalise about the Irish as though we were all the same kinds of tossers as the waste-of-space TV bosses who decide on matters like this in our benighted island.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,878 ✭✭✭irelandrover

The full ad is softcore porn IMO. The edited version shown on this thread should never be banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 88,972 ✭✭✭✭mike65

Worst sort of soft focus-golden hour pretty nonsense. Hard to see why it would be banned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,814 ✭✭✭✭JPA

What do you think ?

Possibly NSFW - you've been warned

NSFW? Where? A monastery?

The non edited version I could understand being banned in this country but that one? :confused:

JPA wrote: »
    NSFW? Where? A monastery?

The non edited version I could understand being banned in this country but that one? :confused:

I know ye lol
    I don't make the rules though, I just start the threads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,231 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

I know ye lol
    I don't make the rules though, I just start the threads

Pervert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Big Steve wrote: »
    I wish people (women mainly) would stop complaining about sexist/provocative adverts. Really if you don't like it fúck off and change the channel or don't buy the product. Stop p!ssing and moaning about it.

Women mainly, yeah right! I've met far more mealy-mouthed, mass going, whiny, mammys' jackets of Irish men who would be more likely to complain about that ad than the average Irish women.

The only thing that I can see wrong with it is that it would give all those little girls out there watching it rose-coloured spectacles about how sex was going to be for them rather than reality of some pimpled youth rummaging about in her knickers with his badly cut nails snagging her tender bits while he tries to figure out where everything is. :D:D

Still trying to figure out whats the ad for ? Skin care what ? Wouldnt make me want to buy it cause does it only work when you wash in a lake and then a creepy bearded guy follows u in ?

Seems a bit much given our climate here

Right, so I've just watched the full version and it is NSFW

It's on youtube if anyones interested.

There's yer man suckin on yer wan's tits and even a cock-shot in it (a soft one). So yeah, probably not suitable to be shown before 9 pm or so if it was to be aired.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,028 ✭✭✭✭--LOS--

nsfw = not safe for work

welcome to the internet guys

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭texidub

Yer one is a bit of a bowler though.. I'd have let her drown.

There's yer man suckin on yer wan's tits and even a cock-shot in it (a soft one).

This is just like reading erotica :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

chin_grin wrote: »
    What is it with you and p0rn?

Look at the OP's username, there's a clue there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭RichieC

****test **** ever.

This is just like reading erotica :P

You only see his willy for a second, but you get the idea father.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,037 ✭✭✭Nothingbetter2d

i didnt consider that softporn

but this is humorous porn :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,861 ✭✭✭IrishEyes19

I'm glad we banned it............not because it's over the top and a bit too much. But because it seriously just wasted a full minute of my life. Pointless add

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Edited version...

Meh.

Full version...

Woah!!!!! Had to check was still on youtube!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Big Steve wrote: »

Call the wambulances

b..b...b.but. The OP isn't a woman, and the people who don't like the ad on this thread so far, aren't either. So I guess their disapprovals are legit coz dey aint fat whores with nothing better to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

...it's as stupid as any other, but with added sexy ass woman.

WindSock wrote: »
    b..b...b.but. The OP isn't a woman, and the people who don't like the ad on this thread so far, aren't either. So I guess their disapprovals are legit coz dey aint fat whores with nothing better to do.

Nope, I'm a woman and I was one of the first to respond.

This ad has universal non-appeal.