Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Elimination Chamber Aftermath/Results Thread *SPOILERS*

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

It was OK. One of the EC matches should have had a title change. Still happy to see Bryan retain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,838 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

Happy to see Bryan retain, and for Punk to retain without actually beating Jericho.

Very annoyed with how Cena won, he won without embracing the hate, without doing anything particularly heelish. He didn't need to lose, he just needed to win by going berserk. A wasted op, again.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,788 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Gave it an 8.

I enjoyed both chambers, and both had the best result for the Mania card and ramifications. I liked how they had Punk win without actually beating Jericho, cause that means Jericho has his way into the title match at Mania. The Smackdown chamber was fun and Santino gave everyone the hope spots. Bryan vs Sheamus is a good Mania match imo, given their history from last year.

Beth/Tamina and Swagger/Gabriel were grand filler matches and served their purposes.

And for all the hate Cena/Kane got as a story, I felt the match was ok. Granted, having Cena dancing afterwards hardly sold it as the brutal match they were making it out to be. But considering the stip, it was a decent match.
    Very annoyed with how Cena won, he won without embracing the hate, without doing anything particularly heelish.

Cena was NEVER going heel, or even near to it. WWE, quite frankly, will never turn him heel in any way. They'd be too afraid of the merch sales they'd lose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

Worst ec ever. Wasted 4 percent on the sky box with that rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,028 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

I take it Jericho's chamber exit was a work, I thought it might have been legit as even Punk looked worried at one stage, would have liked Ziggler to have lasted longer perhaps in the final over Miz would have been better

As good as it was to see Christian back, him posing in a photo with Del Rio looked wrong and where was Riccardo, when Henry called Teddy a bully I expected him to follow it up with be a star show tolerance and respect etc :p

No one was a treat to DB in the SD chamber it was obvious he was always winning that would have preferred if Cody have lasted till the end over Barrett and Santino myself

Rock or Ryder showing up for Cena V Kane perhaps costing Cena the win might have made the match some bit watchable

AmEAuFSCEAEkqSR.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,101 ✭✭✭MitchKoobski

otunga.jpg

Haha, oh God, we need a new topic for "Otunga injects himself into historic moments!"

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,135 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Watching this now, just towards the end of the Raw EC, I thought Jericho taking out the cameraman when Punk kicked him out of the chamber was pretty funny.

Didn't really expect a title to change, I'd figured they'd want to keep the champ going on the Mania, not having it change up too much really.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,196 ✭✭✭Ridley

Thought it was a big fat meh, especially compared to last year's PPV which was even more predictable.

Most of this year's PPV felt like it was dragging and the crowd didn't help. Thought the match order made sense, liked the way they avoided having Jericho lose to Punk (was wondering how they'd do it) and the WHC match thankfully picked up after Big Show broke into Bryan's pod as did the crowd. The other highlight was the Laurinaitis segment and I'm glad Swagger/Gabriel got onto the show. Phoenix and #Ta-Min-a was fine.

I'm going on the assumption that the Kane match was the last hurrah of face Cena (for now) and it's disappointing that They've sucked the momentum out of the build toward WM at the last moment with that match and the kissing Eve shenanigans. For a storyline that's building since Survivor Series they were doing really well with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,101 ✭✭✭NUTZZ

Very disappointed and underwhelmed at this PPV, some of the match ups were like watching a regular Smackdown show. Glad I Sky plus'd it after the Swagger match was announced, nothing worth staying up for up.

Hopefully Undertaker tonight can make up for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

oh how i wish i had Sky +...

Raw chamber was decent though unspectacular, i could have lived with missing it. Wrong man won and Jericho's elimination with nothing done about it makes me suspect a botch and concussion on his part.

Didn't watch the Divas, don't usually and the storylines they're in now are seriously cringe.

The Johnny Ace segment with ADR, Christian and co was ****ing stupid and belonged on Smackdown or tonight's Raw at best, not eating up 20 mins on ppv. I mean, paying money to watch Johnny Ace get in a picture with some heels? Jesus wept, Vince would want to cop the **** on if that's what he's charging money for over in America.

Swagger V Gabriel: Was there any point to this? Standard squash that was a waste on the card.

SD chamber: Started slowly and i will be the first to admit that i expected **** all from it. Once Khali went however, it exploded into life and was a match of the year candidate by the end. Several excellent spots, Show was used well, Cody pinning show was an excellent creative move, it ended the Show/Bryan feud opening up Bryan for Sheamus at Mania and Santino completely stole the show, Orton pulling out with injury was the best thing that could have happened to this match. Excellent match, WWE making something out of nothing in an event where they often made nothing out of something.

Kane v Cena: Supercena goes over cleanly. Yawn. Some good spots to be fair and was an alright match but standard "Smiling Cena goes over without doing anything that isn't sqeaky clean" :rolleyes: No ryder either, so this whole eve angle was ****ing stupid because Cena clearly cant be involved in such an angle after last night with the Rock next on the horizon. Makes one wonder why they even ran the storyline in the first place, especially since I'm pretty sure Cena is even Kayfabed as happily married. Continuity fail there...Ended early too yet no bombshell, no rock, no surprise angle with Jericho. I do wonder who writes this **** sometimes.

In all, night of the wasted spots... Jericho in an elimination angle, Johnny ace coming out ... to talk about teddy long and be in a picture, both champions retaining "against all odds", swagger squashing gabriel, supercena going over, no reference to the ryder/eve storyline, no bombshell ending. If i paid for that i would have been livid. Even still i'm pissed i cost myself a few hours sleep. SD chamber was the only quality match(and how), rest was horribly disjointed and generally botched.

4/10 - I'm giving that off the Smackdown chamber match alone, the rest of it gets a big fat nought. Granted, the Raw match was decent but too forgettable to raise the bar enough for the rest of the ppv. Must try harder.

Going back to Jericho-I'm calling botch:
    - He hit the light so hard it flicked off (those things are hard plastic at best and have good weight)
    - Punk called for the X symbol, he looked genuinely confused if not concerned and didn't go back on the attack with Miz for a few minutes, even holding back initially when he did
    - Kane and Cena dragged on a bit and the PPV still ended 15 minutes early, they were probably told to buy a bit of time.
    - Jericho wasn't interviewed after suggestions he may be - chances are he was hurt legit, wasnt in much of a state to do so and creative was having to salvage a storyline from this. He was left there receiving treatment for concussion from EMTs, they didn't want to get a stretcher out as it would hurt credibility going into a WM main event feud with Punk.
    - If Punk v Jericho is the WM match, having them anything other than last two does not compute.
    - The thrown out of the chamber onto the ground spot was clearly planned so that he could come back in and take Punk out after Miz was pinned. That he couldn't would indicate something had gone wrong.

If Jericho doesn't wrestle tonight, it would prove that he's hurt legit and wasn't medically cleared to perform tonight. I'd say Vince is absolutely bulling over in Stamford.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,943 ✭✭✭Machismo Fan

Very good Raw chamber, good Smackdown chamber (with some cool moments and, putting aside the fact that it was Santino, an awesome final two), good main event, other two matches were filler and a great Cena video with Creed in it (I popped huge for him). Good show, people who might have been expecting big returns, massive story developments and huge surprises might've been disappointed but the wrestling was all good and I didn't feel miserable after it for staying up (which is always a bonus). 7/10.

Oh yeah...was I the only one who thought Eugene was back when the first Santino bit started up :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,116 ✭✭✭starviewadams

6/10

Raw chamber was fairly boring,I think having Jericho surprise Punk as he was celebrating and stealing a title victory would've made more sense,and would've sparked a bit of life into the Punk/Jericho feud as opposed to the me'h finish we got.

Beth/Tamina was quite good,and Tamina comes out of it with a bit of credit despite losing to Beth.

Funkhouser/Mizark/Del Rio/Christian segment wasn't great,but was salvaged somewhat by Otunga's picture taking.Bit of a waste of Christian's return too,but at least he's finally back.

SD! chamber was fantastic,Big Show worked his ass off,Barrett performed well,and Santino put in the performance of his life,which the crowd lapped up.Bryan was excellent as usual,I'm really glad that he's going to Mania as champ.He and Sheamus have the potential to steal the show in Miami.

I paid literally no attention to Gabriel vs Swagger because WWE have given me no reason to care about either of them.Spose they did they're job of bringing the crowd down after the chamber match though.

Cena vs Kane was okay,thought there might have been a twist or turn involving Eve or Ryder,but I spose the match was designed to end the feud,so probably better that there wasn't any.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 730 ✭✭✭Hygro

I too thought that the ending was supposed to have had jericho run in and pin punk after he pinned miz ... maybe he was hurt after all? :confused:

total balls up ending to the match.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

First EC match was very meh.
    How many times can you have Ziggler go over the top rope onto the metal? I nearly fell asleep before Jericho came in, and then they botched the ending, making it very forgettable.

Divas match (from what I picked up fast forwarding through it) wasnt as much of a squash match, and did it's job to fill in til the Beth/Kharma fued starts, but still pales in comparison to the TNA Knockouts matches.

Swagger Vs Gabriel was as big a waste of space as Brodus at the rumble, squash matches like that don't belong in a PPV.

The whole John Laryngitis segment belongs on RAW, and wasted two returns that could have been done so much better on RAW/SD. Was also hoping one of them might turn face.

Smackdown's EC just about saved it, even though you knew D-Bry would retain. Cody & Barrett saved face with elinimating Show, and Santino really got going what up til then had been a dead crowd.
    Sheamus coming in at the end was a bad idea, they'd just had Bryan win cleanly for the first time in ages, and then have Sheamus flatten him to make it look like dropping the title at Mania is a foregone conclusion.

Cena vs Kane was a case of 1 step forward and 5 steps back. All of the storyline involving Ryder/Eve was ignored, no hate was embraced, and was just more of the bland Cena that everyone is long since bored with.

3/10, would have been 2/10 were it not for Santino.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,028 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

First EC match was very meh.
    How many times can you have Ziggler go over the top rope onto the metal? I nearly fell asleep before Jericho came in, and then they botched the ending, making it very forgettable.

Divas match (from what I picked up fast forwarding through it) wasnt as much of a squash match, and did it's job to fill in til the Beth/Kharma fued starts, but still pales in comparison to the TNA Knockouts matches.

Swagger Vs Gabriel was as big a waste of space as Brodus at the rumble, squash matches like that don't belong in a PPV.

The whole John Laryngitis segment belongs on RAW, and wasted two returns that could have been done so much better on RAW/SD. Was also hoping one of them might turn face.

Smackdown's EC just about saved it, even though you knew D-Bry would retain. Cody & Barrett saved face with elinimating Show, and Santino really got going what up til then had been a dead crowd.
    Sheamus coming in at the end was a bad idea, they'd just had Bryan win cleanly for the first time in ages, and then have Sheamus flatten him to make it look like dropping the title at Mania is a foregone conclusion.

Cena vs Kane was a case of 1 step forward and 5 steps back. All of the storyline involving Ryder/Eve was ignored, no hate was embraced, and was just more of the bland Cena that everyone is long since bored with.

3/10, would have been 2/10 were it not for Santino.

Yes I thought Henry or Christian or both were going to turn face more so Christian considering Edge being inducted into the HOF by him or will Christian being heel matter for this?

I'd prefer if Sheamus made his decision tonight on Raw who he will facing at Mania like if it was ever in doubt it wouldnt be Bryan anyways

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

I thought the whole show was tripe. Poor Ziggler seems to have only been stuck into the Chamber match to take bumps.

The Santino vignettes were horrible, they could have used better montage music than that recycled Eugene music.

The Kane / Cena feud - what the hell??? What an unbelieveable end. I was really hoping Kane would Choke Slam Cena off the top of the ambulance... Nope, SuperCena lives to fight another day.

Best moment of the whole event... Otunga's photo antics, hands down!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,944 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Jebus lads how ****ing dyer was that

From santino actually in a main event match to farting to midgets, it doesnt get any lower than that

Again the farting, its an embarrassment to wrestling as a whole for me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭The Showstopper

Not surprised SD chamber was better than the Raw one. For some reason the SD match always seems to be the better one whether its a MITB or EC match even though Raw always has the more star power.

Apart from the SD chamber I thought it was dire. Hated the finish to Cena and Kane and the Natalya farting angle is an absolute disgrace. The Swagger Gabriel match was also pointless. Can't believe they had that Cena Kane feud with all the stuff with Ryder and Eve so close to such a big match at Mania.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,751 ✭✭✭newballsplease

Id like to know why this meaningless feud between Cena and Kane was the last match/main event(i suppose). Its like the card was upside down?!

Really punk retaining should have been last match.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 18,520 Mod ✭✭✭✭DM_7

Some of ye need a break from WWE!

anyway - I enjoyed the PPV and I thought the Raw chamber match was really good. Bumping on those steel grates and onto the metal chains must hurt like hell. Thats why I had no problem with some of the more 'simple' looking bumps even if they were repeated.

I particularly liked the Kofi Tornado DDT off the cage to Dolph, Dolph moving as Punk and Kofi crashed into each other after sprinboarding off the top rope and how Jericho was kicked out of the chamber instead of being pinned. Best part was Punk kicking out of Miz finisher as for some reason I though he wouldn't!

I also enjoyed the Smackdown chamber match. Big show was good but I was really impressed with Wade. He came across as a serious Bad Ass with some of his offence. I thought his work tied the whole match together. Santino played his part to perfection as did Bryan.

I though it was interesting to note the differance between Wade and Miz. Both guys showed agression during the matches but Wade looked really believable while poor ol Miz just doesn't carry himself likw wade.

The rest of the PPV felt more like a weekly smackdown.

so I would give the chamber matches a 9 and the rest a 6. Averge of 7.5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,364 ✭✭✭paddyismaddy

i preferred sd's chamber match only saving grace for me and that should have ended the ppv not kane v cena

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,025 ✭✭✭smallerthanyou

Went for a 4/10. Just finished as was on holiday all week. Pretty disappointed. Midgets and farting? What did the diva do to deserve that storyline? The Bryan chamber was good. Big fan of both Punk and Jericho and was looking forward to a great ending to the match with both of them going for it. Totally expected Jericho to come back into the ring after KO when Punk had won. They lost two points for that not happening!