Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Creepy voicemail

• 18-02-2012 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

I've been hooking up with the same guy a couple of times now. We are texting a bit etc. We're keeping it casual (fine by me) I last saw him on the early hours of Saturday morning when I stayed in his.

I was checking my voicemails this morning, as I got a missed call during the night and ended up playing ones that I haven't listened to. There was one from the guy literally about 2 minutes before I met up with him. I hadnt got a missed call from him so it was a bit weird.
    Anyway I thought that his phone was in his pocket as it was muffled but as the vm went on he was whispering fast saying repeatedly:

I'm going to get you, I'm going to get you, I'm going to get you
    I'm going to hurt you, I'm going to hurt you, I'm going to get you
    I'm going to ride you, I'm going to ride you, I'm going to ride you
    I'm going to rape you, I'm going to rape you, I'm going to rape you

Literally this was 2 minutes before I met him, it could not have been anyone else.
    We spent most of the day together then

I'm completely freaked out by this. I know that I do not want to see him again. I'm torn between never replying to him again or sending him an MP3 of the vm and be like what the fcuk is your problem?

Guys, this is not normal behaviour, right? My flatmates listened to it and they were freaked too. My male flatmates wants to call him up (which I don't want)

Advice please!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 666 ✭✭✭A0

I've been hooking up with the same guy a couple of times now. We are texting a bit etc. We're keeping it casual (fine by me) I last saw him on the early hours of Saturday morning when I stayed in his.

I was checking my voicemails this morning, as I got a missed call during the night and ended up playing ones that I haven't listened to. There was one from the guy literally about 2 minutes before I met up with him. I hadnt got a missed call from him so it was a bit weird.
    Anyway I thought that his phone was in his pocket as it was muffled but as the vm went on he was whispering fast saying repeatedly:

I'm going to get you, I'm going to get you, I'm going to get you
    I'm going to hurt you, I'm going to hurt you, I'm going to get you
    I'm going to ride you, I'm going to ride you, I'm going to ride you
    I'm going to rape you, I'm going to rape you, I'm going to rape you

Literally this was 2 minutes before I met him, it could not have been anyone else.

I'm completely freaked out by this. I know that I do not want to see him again. I'm torn between never replying to him again or sending him an MP3 of the vm and be like what the fcuk is your problem?

Guys, this is not normal behaviour, right? My flatmates listened to it and they were freaked too. My male flatmates wants to call him up (which I don't want)

Advice please!

Why do you need advice? You have all you need to make a decision (see in bold), it's obvious... just text him or tell him to sod off and get lost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

Ask him what it was about before doing anything rash. You say it sounded like the phone dialled by accident in his pocket, he couldve been messing with a friend..or not. Just ask first, has he done anything else that worries you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

What kind of music does this guy listen to?
    Is there any chance that you were picking up on his mp3 player through the phone or something? Sounds reminiscent of a lot of death metal lyrics? Just a suggestion...

No he hasn't. He seems pretty normal.

I've tried downloading that app that means you can save messages. But it can't download on my crappy phone

Should I text him and ask what the craic is? It was a week ago.... I'm just freaked out by it

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

:eek: That would totally freak me out.

I wouldnt even give him an explanation, just block his number and dont contact him or see him again. If he does contact you tell him not to or you are giving the voicemail to the Gardai. He can explain to them the threats he made.

It's a casual relationship anyway, you are losing nothing but a potential nutjob.

No he doesn't listen to heavy metal... maybe it was a song he was listening to, but why would he call my voicemail?

When i saw him then after he was perfectly normal but a bit drunk.

I literally don't know what to do.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

No he hasn't. He seems pretty normal.

I've tried downloading that app that means you can save messages. But it can't download on my crappy phone

Should I text him and ask what the craic is? It was a week ago.... I'm just freaked out by it
    You know what? I think you should. This is too damn peculiar. I mean, I know there are crazy people out there, but THAT crazy? To send you blatant threats 2 minutes before seeing you, then behave normally for a full day? If he really did that, then he is beyond unsafe. Either way, I would avoid, but to be honest, I would want to know what the hell that was about.

How would I word it in the text?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 317 ✭✭Casillas

Lyrics? wrote: »
    What kind of music does this guy listen to?
    Is there any chance that you were picking up on his mp3 player through the phone or something? Sounds reminiscent of a lot of death metal lyrics? Just a suggestion...
    That occured to me too. My own phone is a touchscreen and is a bit wanked as of late. It dialled a recent contact yesterday when in my jacket, it happens. OP you say otherwise he's normal, dont jump to conclusions without talking to him, you really dont know what the voicemail was yet.

• Subscribers Posts: 19,425 ✭✭✭✭Oryx

How would I word it in the text?
    Oh god dont text. Phone!

Oryx wrote: »
    Oh god dont text. Phone!

OK. He's away this week but back next week. Should I leave it till then?

Reading the message about the phone being fcuked could make sense.

Should I try to save it to MP3 and send it to him?

Still quite freaked about the whole thing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 126 ✭✭Katy89

op, what makes you so 100% sure it was him who did this call? you're not saying anything in your original post you saw his number or anything.

it sounds all too weird to me, him phoning you 2 minutes before you see him and then acting completely normal. and you haven't noticed anything weird about him before..
    I would say check again if it was really him.

When I hit the call caller back option it called out the number first and it was his no.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,894 ✭✭✭Chinafoot

Katy89 wrote: »
    op, what makes you so 100% sure it was him who did this call? you're not saying anything in your original post you saw his number or anything.

it sounds all too weird to me, him phoning you 2 minutes before you see him and then acting completely normal. and you haven't noticed anything weird about him before..
    I would say check again if it was really him.

Well I would assume that the OP recognises his voice?

For me, if it was just a casual scenario that I wasn't entirely invested in, I'd probably just stop contact.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Sounds a bit odd that he'd send that, then be totally normal in person.

I'd ask him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,192 ✭✭✭Lola92

I would run in the other direction, fast. That is just too wierd a message to take a risk on in my opinion OP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

That's one f**ked up message to receive from anyone. I think you have got to ask him about it, some people have insanely dark sense of humours where almost any joke goes but i think by anyones standards thats a different level of weird.

the hairs on my neck actually stood up on my neck reading this.....this is like something you would see in a horror film. if i was you i would go to the police with the voice mail and make sur they have a report about it just incase anything happened (not just wiht you but with a future girlfriend etc)

then i would ask him about it in person so i could see his face. maybe do it in a place where other people are nearby? like in your house with other people in another room.
    i would want to see his face when he heard it as it would tell me alot about what was going on.

maybe his phone did go off in his pocket but if it was him speaking....why was he saying this at all? if you met him out and he was drunk i have an image of him in the toilets of the club getting excited as he knows you are on the way.

or if he knew he was ringing you and said it as a joke or whatever well then weirdo. full stop. end of. that is the end of that.

the only other explaination i can think of was it was a friend who thought it might be funny. and yeah uts not funny at all so would be seriously wondering about my boyfriends company and wouldnt be bothered with that either.

please go to the police first though, maybe it is something he has done before or will do something worse in the future.

ugh i am weirded out by this, cant imagine how you feel.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 208 ✭✭SineadMarie

Has he not been in touch since you met up? I would want to know what it was about, but i would steer clear from him, its insane that someone would leave a msg like that! Even if it was a joke its not funny! If you get nowhere i would threaten to report it to the guards. Might make him cope on, but i would go nowhere near him after you've got your answer. He sounds like an oddball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭thefeatheredcat

I hadnt got a missed call from him so it was a bit weird.

Sounds like someone dialed directly into your voicemail off his phone and it could be him or could be someone else... even if a joke, or reference to a horror film or lyrics it's a pretty sick one at that.

I would err on the side of caution and report it to the Gardai. If it was a friend of his having a laugh at your and his expense, it is a pretty cruel and nasty thing to do, given that he is also away and I assume that for the day together he had his phone and wasn't just stolen or left behind at wherever he was drinking.

Even if it was him just having a laugh, well it shows a darker side of humour imo and even if it is explainable he needs to realise not all people share that kind of humour and he has to take responsibility for his actions and how it affects others.

If some other random person had left this message that you didn't know and he knew about it, and heard it, surely the first thought would be to go and report the message and its content?

In short there's too many maybes and possibilities, but the one thing that does matter is your safety. Even if him having a laugh or some nutter friend of his left a message like that even in jest it has malicious undertones and I think you should put your safety and piece of mind first ahead of any what ifs or maybes.

I met him this morning for a coffee and played him the voicemail. He says it was one his flatmate who thought it was a joke, as he is in the background. He was very embarrassed and apologetic. I told him not to contact me again and that that was the end of it.

Thanks everyone for your help!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

nothing wrong with a bit of dark humour but if its something you find too offensive then just tell him you arent interested any more. cant believe people are honestly suggesting reporting him to the guards without even having the decency to ask him about it first. we cant even be certain that it was him that did it. at the very most it is a cut and run situation but to suggest contacting the guards is just beyond ridiculous. they would only look at you like you had two heads anyway. unless people think they are going to post a squad car outside her door just because she got a voice mail then there isnt really any point

indough wrote: »
    to suggest contacting the guards is just beyond ridiculous. they would only look at you like you had two heads anyway. unless people think they are going to post a squad car outside her door just because she got a voice mail then there isnt really any point

Yeah you're right, everyone who gets voicemails threatening rape should just assume it's all a big joke :rolleyes:

OP, sounds like you made the right decision. Good for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

I met him this morning for a coffee and played him the voicemail. He says it was one his flatmate who thought it was a joke, as he is in the background. He was very embarrassed and apologetic. I told him not to contact me again and that that was the end of it.

Thanks everyone for your help!

I'm confused OP - was it FOR his flatmate?

If so, doesn't sound too bad, my ex and his mates were always carrying on like that, pretty funny really but one day I got a text by accident saying something like "I'm in the shed" or something, I knew what the story was but if I didn't know them or it was very early days I would have thought 'what a WEIRDO"

Katgurl wrote: »

I read it that it was the boyfriend's flatmate that did it, with her boyfriend's phone, as a joke and the boyfriend was in the background of the voicemail while the friend did the "I'm gonna rape you" nonsense. So he was fully aware that his flatmate was doing it. Regardless of content, I'd be pretty pissed off myself if my boyfriend let his mates use his phone to leave me stupid messages. The fact that it was "I'm gonna hurt/rape you" just makes it worse.

Maybe the OP can clarify.

Chinafoot wrote: »
    I read it that it was his flatmate that did it, with her boyfriends phone, as a joke and the boyfriend was in the background of the voicemail while the friend did the "I'm gonna rape you" nonsense.

Yes that's it (cept he's not my boyfriend!). Just seemed to be some sort of drunken joke apparently. He can play it on the next girl he's with cos he wont be seeing me again!

Katgurl wrote: »

I read it that it was the boyfriend's flatmate that did it, with her boyfriend's phone, as a joke and the boyfriend was in the background of the voicemail while the friend did the "I'm gonna rape you" nonsense. So he was fully aware that his flatmate was doing it. Regardless of content, I'd be pretty pissed off myself if my boyfriend let his mates use his phone to leave me stupid messages. The fact that it was "I'm gonna hurt/rape you" just makes it worse.

Yes that would definitely be weird.

But if he was dialling into voicemail he was probably dialling number from memory to put 5 in and may have phoned her by accident. She did say he was very embarrassed.

Anyway we are only speculating but I wouldn't be giving up a bloke that I liked (if she likes him) for getting caught in the crossfire between two blokes having a laugh.

I read it that it was his flatmate that did it, with her boyfriends phone, as a joke and the boyfriend was in the background of the voicemail while the friend did the "I'm gonna rape you" nonsense.

Yes that's it (cept he's not my boyfriend!). Just seemed to be some sort of drunken joke apparently. He can play it on the next girl he's with cos he wont be seeing me again!

Oh sorry, I see.

Defo right decision to get rid. What a kn0b.