Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

running routes near newlands cross

• 17-02-2012 3:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭

I will be staying in bewleys hotel newlands cross next week for a few nights and dont want to miss out on my scheduled runs, I was wondering if anybody knows of any routes in the area? In the region of between 10 and 15k and easy enough to navigate without prior knowledge of the area.

cheers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

mdlb wrote: »
    I will be staying in bewleys hotel newlands cross next week for a few nights and dont want to miss out on my scheduled runs, I was wondering if anybody knows of any routes in the area? In the region of between 10 and 15k and easy enough to navigate without prior knowledge of the area.

cheers

Just run in Corkagh Park. Right beside you. Nice 2-3 mile lap and different routes you can take.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mdlb

cheers,

that might just do the job!!

any idea if there are lights there as it will be evening before I will be heading out...
    could always pack the headtorch though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

mdlb wrote: »
    cheers,

that might just do the job!!

any idea if there are lights there as it will be evening before I will be heading out...
    could always pack the headtorch though!!

There are no lights but I'd often round around it with a head torrch.

Another run would be to head down towards Lucan and join the canal towards the city centre. It's pretty nice and flat and well lit. You'll only have to cross a few roads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭thirstywork2

Corcagh is a class park and tymon park is about 2.5-3miles from there also.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,598 ✭✭✭shels4ever

menoscemo wrote: »
    Just run in Corkagh Park. Right beside you. Nice 2-3 mile lap and different routes you can take.

or they can run the men's route thats 4.7 miles ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

shels4ever wrote: »
    Sneaky repeat of the football pitches. Real real men do laps of the knacker's fields.

Yep , did that a few time one day there was some motocross going there never felt more at risk on a run in my life :).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,905 ✭✭✭misty floyd

Real real men do laps of the knacker's fields.

Not exactly PC. You mean 'Members of the Knacker Community' fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,550 ✭✭✭✭Krusty_Clown

Not exactly PC. You mean 'Members of the Knacker Community' fields.
    Knackers, as in 'those who take old animals (e.g. horses) for rendering, for food or glue'. The knackers use those fields for their horse and trap races. So to the OP: stay away from those particular fields. They're full of knackers. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 202 ✭✭McWotever

Grand canal way is not too far either, nice paved and lighted path along the canal, can be accessed at several points, I would suggest fonthill rd, or the new lucan/n7 link.

Canal on your left side will bring you towards town and you'll even get to pass knackers at labre park!

Or canal on your right side will bring you out towards lucan, which is probably more picturesque, and the knackers you pass will be of the settled variety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 211 ✭✭TJC

Easy Lads....ur man will be shi***ng bricks wen he steps outside the hotel door...
    On the plus side, it could be one of his fastest ever training runs!!

Thanks for all the replies

Seems like there is gonna be knackers wherever I go!!
    canal route sounds like a winner to me, will give it a go and see how i get on

thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Condo131

Corcagh Demesne is fine, I regularly run there when in Dublin. You have a choice of running on grass - nice big lap around the perimeter, or on the (largely) tarmac paths.

If you want to run on the road instead (due to dark, etc), this route is about 5 miles: Head along the footpath towards the Green Isle Hotel, then swing a little right onto the road to the Green Isle. This road continues parallel to the Naas Road & Corcagh, until you come to a roundabout - continue right to traffic lights. Turn right and continue to roundabout (ovalabout??) swing right and continue back up to Bewley's. Grand flat route. might be a bit short for you, but you can always add a bit somewhere along the route. Sorry too lazy to put it up on one of the run mapping utilities :cool:.

+1 for the canal route
    brisk 14k from newlands cross to the black horse pub and back.

Even saw a few knackers along the way ;)

might try out Corkagh tomorrow evening or maybe go the other way along the canal.

probably undone any good done though with a big feed in the hotel bar :o