Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please keep your butts in..!

• 17-02-2012 10:10am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭

Just want to say I hate hate hate butt flickers - those who most carelessly flicks the cigarette butts out the window. I hated it when I was driving cars all the time, and I hate it even more so because I am on a motorbike.

If you one of those who enjoys smoking while driving, please be considerate to others leave the butt in your car's ashtray. If you keep flicking, I don't know, I may pick up the habit and start flicking random things like stones, spanners and what not..!

/rant over

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,208 ✭✭✭keithclancy

Thats the least of your worries,

I was driving the Mallow - Cork road and some guy started throwing phone books out the Window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I have been at the other end of butt flickers, bouncing off my screen. I wasn't very impressed to say the least! :mad:

Could be worse, I saw a van driving at night in the bog letting tyres out the side door as it was driving along being one example :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,357 ✭✭✭Fiona

I will be totally honest, going to hold my hands up I am guilty of this offence.

I don't do it however when there is a person on two wheels behind me. I know that doesn't make it any better but I can understand how it would be more dangerous to do it with a motorcyclist behind me rather than a car.

I will probably be more wary of doing it now in case a boards member spots me doing it and makes a show of me :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

positron wrote: »
    I may pick up the habit and start flicking random things like stones, spanners and what not..!

Because that's the same as flicking a cigarette butt....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Don't any of you know that cigarette butts just disappear when they hit the ground? They dissolve?
    Smokers may be accused of damaging their own health but they never, ever, litter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,644 ✭✭✭SerialComplaint

If the car in front of my brother dropped a butt at a traffic light, he used to hop out, pick up the butt, throw it back into the driver's lap and drive off.

Nice. When's his court case for assault and damage of private property. Also, how could he drive off if it was the person in front of him and they're stopped? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

mrs crilly wrote: »
    I will be totally honest, going to hold my hands up I am guilty of this offence.

I don't do it however when there is a person on two wheels behind me. I know that doesn't make it any better but I can understand how it would be more dangerous to do it with a motorcyclist behind me rather than a car.

I will probably be more wary of doing it now in case a boards member spots me doing it and makes a show of me :o

Ewwww, a smoker. :(

:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Wouldn't want to spoil your nice car with buts, eh?

Sure just toss em out on to the road, the place is a kip anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Veloce

smash wrote: »
    Also, how could he drive off if it was the person in front of him and they're stopped? :rolleyes:

I'd say his car had a steering wheel that enabled him drive around the car in front- I'm no expert though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Smoking is funny, it changes how people see things. I'd never have thrown a sweet wrapper out of a car window, but I used to drop butts when I smoked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

Perhaps the council could use the butts to fill all the potholes.

dar83 wrote: »
    Ewwww, a smoker. :(

:P
    I know was off them for years and stupidly went back on them.
    pajo1981 wrote: »
    Wouldn't want to spoil your nice car with buts, eh?

Sure just toss em out on to the road, the place is a kip anyway.
    No quite the opposite my car does not have an ashtray up front as there are engine gauges in its place. Shove that in your pipe and smoke it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,099 ✭✭✭muckwarrior

No quite the opposite my car does not have an ashtray up front as there are engine gauges in its place. Shove that in your pipe and smoke it.

I assume it doesn't have a jacks either but that doesn't give you the right to get out and take a shit in the middle of the road.

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone. I assume your not perfect. We all have our faults and this is one of mine so ya can say what you like! People do worse things on the road like drink drive and talk and text!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

Excuses, excuses.

http://www.halfords.ie/webapp/wcs/stores/servlet/product_storeId_11101_catalogId_15551_productId_154420_langId_-1_categoryId_212595

Let he who is without sin cast the first stone. I assume your not perfect. We all have our faults and this is one of mine so ya can say what you like! People do worse things on the road like drink drive and talk and text!

So, because people drink drive, etc..., throwing crap out your car window is OK?

Lets bet clear here:

People who throw crap out their car windows are assholes/morons, no butts!

seamus wrote: »
    Its a 21 year old car mate. There is no cup holder in it but thats a pretty handy invention all the same!

So, because people drink drive, etc..., throwing crap out your car window is OK?

Lets bet clear here:

People who throw crap out their car windows are assholes/morons, no butts!

Mate tell me where i said it was ok? I didnt. I said people do worse things. I would viewing texting while driving as a worse offence than chucking a fag but out the window. Its still wrong. I know that. Attack me all you want to make yourself feel better!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,122 ✭✭✭✭Jimmy Bottlehead

Nice. When's his court case for assault and damage of private property. Also, how could he drive off if it was the person in front of him and they're stopped? :rolleyes:

Probably the same time that the smoker would be getting charged for littering.

Nice. When's his court case for assault and damage of private property.

What 'damage' are you referring to here? I guess that the prospect of being charged for littering might have deterred anyone from trying to charge him, but I'm not too sure. He certainly never got reported to the Gardai for it. I think he's given it up now as he's got older. Maybe I should take up the gauntlet?

Pissy excuse for anti-social behaviour. Each butt that you drop takes 12-15 years to degrade. Splash out on one of these and do yourself and all of us a favour.

Its a 21 year old car mate. There is no cup holder in it but thats a pretty handy invention all the same!

Really pissy excuses - Try this one. PM me your address and I'll pay for it.
    Attack me all you want to make yourself feel better!
    The purpose of the attack is not to make the attackers feel better. It is the make the attackee (you) understand the anti-social nature of your behaviour. Then you will change your behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

mrs crilly you will slowly learn never admit that you do something wrong on boards. Every single high horse arsehole will come out and make you feel teeny tiny, because they're all perfect!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭dilallio

I was following a taxi in Galway one night and they pulled up without indicating.

I indicated and started to carefully manouver around the taxi when the back window opened and some young wan projectile-vomited out of the window all over my bonnet and windscreen. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

I once had a 4x4 driver in front of me empty his ashtray - hitting my windscreen at 120 km/hr on the M1. Not a pleasant experience.

To me it's simple - a cigarette butt is rubbish. Keep it in your car until you can throw it away cleanly. In return I'll keep all my rubbish in my car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,106 ✭✭✭dar83

mrs crilly you will slowly learn never admit that you do something wrong on boards. Every single high horse arsehole will come out and make you feel teeny tiny, because they're all perfect!

Who are YOU to call me perfect?!?! :mad:

Every single high horse arsehole will come out and...

That's priceless, the people giving out about butts being tossed out of cars are the assholes :rolleyes:

It's ok Limerick man, I have a set of balls and I have no problem admitting when I am wrong, if more people could do it then the world would could possible be a nicer place!
    Really pissy excuses - Try this one. PM me your address and I'll pay for it.

The purpose of the attack is not to make the attackers feel better. It is the make the attackee (you) understand the anti-social nature of your behaviour. Then you will change your behaviour.

Now that I know there is such an invention that can help save me from this dreadful anti social behaviour.....

(I know what ASB is like I was forced to move home because of it, I would not class this as the same thing but how and ever!)

......and not being one to pass up the chance of a freebie serialcomplaint pm is on it's way with my address ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,430 ✭✭✭positron

Okay, lets' just assmue most fag sucking butt flingers are ordinary decent people who are otherwise preoccupied to notice that they are most definitely littering and possibly putting someone else life in danger (imagine you are riding a motorcycle behind and the butt landing inside your helmet, or down the jacket, or sticking to any of the expensive gear and burning into your skin..! It could very easily cause the biker to crash!), what should be a reasonable standard response to warn the fag flicker of the crime he just committed?

I would love to use a paint ball gun on their car but at more realistic levels, I am definitely going to beep at them, but the bike has a crappy little horn, so may be flash the high-beam at them as well perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

That's priceless, the people giving out about butts being tossed out of cars are the assholes :rolleyes:

We all do things wrong, it's just everyone here makes themselves out to be Peter Perfects and mouthing off at someone who has the guts to stand up and admit it.

That's like an Alcoholic going to a meeting and everyone pointing and geering at them, calling them a disgrace etc. rather than helping the matter.

We all do things wrong, it's just everyone here makes themselves out to be Peter Perfects and mouthing off at someone who has the guts to stand up and admit it.

That's like an Alcoholic going to a meeting and everyone pointing and geering at them, calling them a disgrace etc. rather than helping the matter.

Not the same thing.

I do lots of 'bad' stuff -including smoking- but I don't throw crap out my car window.

Veloce wrote: »
    I'd say his car had a steering wheel that enabled him drive around the car in front- I'm no expert though.

So what then? He assaults someone by throwing a cigarette at them while at the same time possibly burning their clothes or their interior which is criminal damage, and then he gets back in his car and pulls an overtaking or undertaking manoeuvre to get away?

Sounds like a real scumbag thing to do if I'm being honest. I'd take him to court if he did it to me!
    What 'damage' are you referring to here?
    See above.
    I guess that the prospect of being charged for littering might have deterred anyone from trying to charge him, but I'm not too sure.
    littering is what these days, maybe €100 fine? Assault and criminal damage is a lot more expensive, with a permanent record.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,515 ✭✭✭RosieJoe

positron wrote: »
    Okay, lets' just assmue most fag sucking butt flingers are ordinary decent people who are otherwise preoccupied to notice that they are most definitely littering and possibly putting someone else life in danger (imagine you are riding a motorcycle behind and the butt landing inside your helmet, or down the jacket, or sticking to any of the expensive gear and burning into your skin..! It could very easily cause the biker to crash!), what should be a reasonable standard response to warn the fag flicker of the crime he just committed?

I would love to use a paint ball gun on their car but at more realistic levels, I am definitely going to beep at them, but the bike has a crappy little horn, so may be flash the high-beam at them as well perhaps?

You need to get a Stebel Nautilus air horn so!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

............ I'd take him to court if he did it to me!

:D Under what pretence? The lad was only returning a possession they had dropped, obviously in error.
    It couldn't have done them any harm seeing as it wasn't going to do the environment any harm. ;)

Gophur wrote: »
    :D Under what pretence?
    I already stated how you could bring him to court.
    Gophur wrote: »
    The lad was only returning a possession they had dropped, obviously in error.
    It couldn't have done them any harm seeing as it wasn't going to do the environment any harm. ;)
    Bit of a cop out reply there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 376 ✭✭LK_Dave

Will someone please think of the environment!!!:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭ShatterProof

Anan1 wrote: »
    Smoking is funny.............

and cool

and sexy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,044 ✭✭✭Wossack

Because that's the same as flicking a cigarette butt....

catch one in the neck, or open visor, and by the time you slow down and pull over to get it out, which do you reckon would have done more damage?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,908 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I do it all the time and I don't give a f...

The person who buys my cars after me will have an as-new ashtray

Seven Worlds will Collide

So what then? He assaults someone by throwing a cigarette at them while at the same time possibly burning their clothes or their interior which is criminal damage, and then he gets back in his car and pulls an overtaking or undertaking manoeuvre to get away?

Sounds like a real scumbag thing to do if I'm being honest. I'd take him to court if he did it to me!

See above.

littering is what these days, maybe €100 fine? Assault and criminal damage is a lot more expensive, with a permanent record.

You don't get to 'take him to court' for assault or criminal damage. You get to make a report to the Gardai. The Gardai get to laugh at you, clip you round the ear for littering, crumple up your statement into a ball and throw it you, clip you round the ear again for littering their interview room with a crumpled up statement and kick you out of the station.

The chances of anyone ending up in Court over an incident like this are infinitely small.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭cpoh1

Lads if you see someone throw a cigarette butt out their window take their reg number with a description of the car and report it to your local county council.

I was stuck in traffic before and a woman dropped her cigarette out the window and lit another. I got out, picked up the butt and handed it back to her explaining that she must have dropped it in error. Drove on and watched in my rear view mirror and she just tipped it out the window again so I reported her and got an email back a few weeks later to say she had been sent a fixed penalty in the post. From then on if i ever see someone littering like that ill report it. It may be petty but it might make someone think twice about what is a manky thing to do.

A cigarette butt may be a small thing but there are thousands of them being thrown around every day and its bad for the environment and disgusting to have to look at. Makes a filthy habit even worse.

You could be the person who really triggers my addiction - which is to lick clay bricks as I ride. Of course my bike has no 'brick tray' to hold licked brick-ends, so I will just fling it over my shoulder. Wait what, brick I wrecked your windscreen, well, you see, I don't give a f...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,129 ✭✭✭coolbeans

Can't abide littering. Can't abide those who litter. There's never any excuse for it.

The person who buys my cars after me will have an as-new ashtray

You're a dirty bugger.

cpoh1 wrote: »
    A cigarette butt may be a small thing but there are thousands of them being thrown around every day and its bad for the environment and disgusting to have to look at. Makes a filthy habit even worse.

Of course, on top of that, more than the size, sight or stench cig but it's the fire that could cause a biker to crash if he/she is unfortunate enough to have one land and lodge itself inside the jacket, into the helmet, on the crouch etc. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 523 ✭✭✭piston

I will only start to worry about people dropping cigarette butts after someone has done something about all the discarded mattresses, toilet bowls, TV sets and bags of rubbish I find in the hedges along the country roads.

piston wrote: »
    I will only start to worry about people dropping cigarette butts after someone has done something about all the discarded mattresses, toilet bowls, TV sets and bags of rubbish I find in the hedges along the country roads.

Couldn't the flicking of cig butts be the thin end of the wedge? You can't really compartmentalise like that. If one becomes less acceptable then I'd imagine the same would follow with the other. By extension not "giving a ****" about cig butts would probably mean you're more likely to have a similar attitude to the acts you've just described.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭time lord

Who is the someone? Whats most important too is realising who put the trash there.

You don't get to 'take him to court' for assault or criminal damage. You get to make a report to the Gardai. The Gardai get to laugh at you, clip you round the ear for littering, crumple up your statement into a ball and throw it you, clip you round the ear again for littering their interview room with a crumpled up statement and kick you out of the station.

The chances of anyone ending up in Court over an incident like this are infinitely small.
    Actually it would be very easy to do! :rolleyes:

The folk who drop the mattresses, toilet bowls and TV sets often say "I will only start to worry about my littering when somebody has done something about all the cigarette butts...."