Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ive a question?

• 15-02-2012 9:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭

How in holy hell is Salsify not favourite for the Foxhunters at Cheltenham?

Pulled way too hard to win at Leoparstown last weekend yet still had enough in the tank to pull away from the second last. The foxhunters normally is run at a ridiculous pace and can only see him settling better, and much like Zemsky last year come through the pack on the bridle. (no Baby Run this year)

I cannot see how he isnt at least a 4 points shorter than On The Fringe, and I have him 9/2 shot at best for the race.

Raced like the best hunter at the end of last year, and jumped brilliantly quick last weekend. Looks to have developed and has been brought forward from his first race this year, hopefully to have him spot on in March. 7years old and improving. If he settles, I think he has another half stone of improvement in him. Ive taken 12s that were offer after the race. I really dont know why he is 10/1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 295 ✭✭mccarte2

Morgans wrote: »

Pulled way too hard to win at Leoparstown last weekend yet still had enough in the tank to pull away from the second last. The foxhunters normally is run at a ridiculous pace and can only see him settling better, and much like Zemsky last year come through the pack on the bridle. (no Baby Run this year)

I cannot see how he isnt at least a 4 points shorter than On The Fringe, and I have him 9/2 shot at best for the race.

Raced like the best hunter at the end of last year, and jumped brilliantly quick last weekend. Looks to have developed and has been brought forward from his first race this year, hopefully to have him spot on in March. 7years old and improving. If he settles, I think he has another half stone of improvement in him. Ive taken 12s that were offer after the race. I really dont know why he is 10/1.

Did they ever give a reason why he pulled up on his previous run?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Something was obviously amiss, he had been well supported that day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 188 ✭✭Stewie Griffin

Lads, what makes a horse qualify for a foxhunter chase? Are they poorer quality horses or what? Are they all point to point horses? Like, could a top quality chaser enter it? I'm following racing about twelve years now and I never thought to ask.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 349 ✭✭shy-tall-knight

Lads, what makes a horse qualify for a foxhunter chase? Are they poorer quality horses or what? Are they all point to point horses? Like, could a top quality chaser enter it? I'm following racing about twelve years now and I never thought to ask.

They have to have a hunter certificate. To be eligible to get one the horse has to spent at least 4 days on the hunt the previous season.
    So yes they tend to be poorer quality horses as jocks must be amateurs and obviously you are not going to use a horse with graded quality out on the hunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

I reckon they have to have had at least one run in hunter chases

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Not sure Morgans, he won very well at the weekend alright, is he definitley going for the Foxhunters?

Is Baby Run retired now?

Zemsky hasn't run since either, looks like a no brainer alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Morgans

http://www.irishracing.com/v5newsitem?prid=58903

Baby Run out for the year. Not sure about Zemsky, but would expect him closer to the top in the betting if he was right.

Thanks for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Zemsky was ruled out earlier in the week I think!

http://www.p2p.ie/news.php?news_id=10505

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

They have to have a hunter certificate. To be eligible to get one the horse has to spent at least 4 days on the hunt the previous season.
    So yes they tend to be poorer quality horses as jocks must be amateurs and obviously you are not going to use a horse with graded quality out on the hunt.

Not any of them would have 4 days hunting done. A trainer can get hunters certs for his horses for the P2Ps no problem from his local hunt secretary. None of them are too strict regarding the amount of hunting done.

Care to elaborate so finbarrk? Does this mean better horses can get entered? And do they get entered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

It depends on the owners and trainers.

Some horses are very good, but the owners just want them to stay point-to-pointing and hunter chasing - Elegant Lord was an example of a really good horse who stayed in the 'amateur' field rather than going up the ranks.

There are still some good pointers that hunt - All our horses are hunted regularly (and they benefit from it because they learned how to look where they put their feet and watch what they're at rather than simply following what's in front), and I know some others down home who are hunted, too. Elliot used to bring Silver Birch out with the Wards to keep things interesting for him.

Ok, so does that mean that it is theoretically possible to see a high-class chaser in a hunter chase?

Usually unlikely as to get into some hunter chases they have to have run in a couple of point to points. Most trainers won't take a chance running a high class horse in a P2P as you never know what the conditions will be like.

But there's a distinct increase in the quality of horses running in P2P's this year - Backstage, Hangover, Footy Facts, Vic Venturi for example probably the pick on the Irish circuit. Barbershop is going down the hunter route in the UK as far as I know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

mccarte2 wrote: »
    Barbershop is going down the hunter route in the UK as far as I know.

Ran and won easily today at 8/13 in a 3 horse race at Fakenham.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭bit of a bogey

Basically a hunters chase is a point to point. But no horse can enter if they have run under rules in that season . If the horse is eligble, theres no hassle getting a cert.

You could put a high class horse in the hunters chase at cheltenham but they couldnt have run on the track prevously for the season (hunters chases and X-country excluded).

But as covert says, some owners prefer to have a pointer. Mainly because much lower cost, still get the enjoyment whilst otherwise they might have a poor handicapper never winning a race.

But yeh I say the last two seasons, weve had some of the best pointers we've ever had in the open races. Mostly because people dont have the money to go to the track!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 takeone92

Would you prefer salsify was a favourite ?you want less money when he wins is that it !best way to make money in this game in my opinion is to ignore the odds!

takeone92 wrote: »
    Would you prefer salsify was a favourite ?you want less money when he wins is that it !best way to make money in this game in my opinion is to ignore the odds!

You have to consider the odds, if you do your own tissue and compare it to the bookies, then you find where the value is and what to back.

takeone92 wrote: »

No. The only reason I put this up is to alert people to what I believe to be a big rick in the market.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,404 ✭✭✭mr.jingle

Chapoturgeon has to be a decent bet in the Foxhunters at Cheltenham. Has some good course form when romping the Jewson a few years ago and gave Cloudy Lane a serious beating last time out on his first run in nearly over a year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 484 ✭✭AldilaMan

mr.jingle wrote: »
    Chapoturgeon has to be a decent bet in the Foxhunters at Cheltenham. Has some good course form when romping the Jewson a few years ago and gave Cloudy Lane a serious beating last time out on his first run in nearly over a year

I agree. He was very impressive last time. My question is how does he qualify for the foxhunters. Paul Nicholls still has a share in the horse and stated after his last race that they'll try to qualify him. Does that mean he has to win another hunter chase? I checked the Racing Post and there are no entries for him?

Anybody know the story?

mr.jingle wrote: »

He won it well alright but Cloudy Lane must be 12 or more by now.

and Cloudy Lane wasn't as impressive as I thought he would be at Ayr last week. I think Chapoturgoen is one of the most viable dangers but I have strong reservations about him staying 3m2f

AldilaMan wrote: »
    I agree. He was very impressive last time. My question is how does he qualify for the foxhunters. Paul Nicholls still has a share in the horse and stated after his last race that they'll try to qualify him. Does that mean he has to win another hunter chase? I checked the Racing Post and there are no entries for him?

Anybody know the story?

Think he has to win one more race to qualify. Not sure if P2P's count though and RP mightn't have those entries in advance.

He is also ultra inconsistent, they go some clip in that race so I reckon he would need to be able to see out about 3m4

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37 takeone92

a rick to who though?if anything its the bookies mistake that they underestimate the ability of the horse!im taking the odds and running :)

Backstage out of the Foxhunters now. A monumental cock up by the stable means he was never eligible for the race having won too much prize money.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

Some well informed guys in the uk are very sweet on MONKERTY TUNKERTY and he has been backed recently, still some 12s around ;)

Who premierstone?

Salsify now top price 8/1. Morgans he may well be favourite yet.

I take it ante post bets on Backstage will be refunded now rather than a n/r

Salsify actually 5/1 fav with VC

Also, Betfair, Coral and PP are refunding bets on Backstage. I'd imagine the rest will follow suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Who premierstone?

Trained by Jessica Westwood, won a hunter chase in Warwick 3 or 4 weeks back very impressively, the guy who tiped it to me is a well known owner who has alot of contacts in various yards.

Thought he was good. Young, bold jumper, and a horse to keep on the right side of. Would be ideal for Statford and maybe even Aintree, leading and staying out of trouble being a big thing. I think if Salsify settles, he wins, and the more front runners the better. Anyone betting on the race, needs to take the jockey's ability into account as well. Its more of an issue than normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Trained by Jessica Westwood, won a hunter chase in Warwick 3 or 4 weeks back very impressively, the guy who tiped it to me is a well known owner who has alot of contacts in various yards.

Was ultra impressive at Warwick.

Clear favourite now in most books. Only has to go and win now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Only has to go and win now.

Yeah, that's all - not a big ask at all!! :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,783 ✭✭✭handsomecake

Some well informed guys in the uk are very sweet on MONKERTY TUNKERTY and he has been backed recently, still some 12s around ;)
    cant see a horse of that name anywhere

He doesn't go

I've a question................................

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 650 ✭✭✭preddy

Is it why didnt i see this thread before i bet today :(

Fair play, Morgans.

Great shout.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Well done Morgans. I take it you cleaned up on him!

Yeah, biggest win since Peddlers Cross Neptune. Chapoturgeon ran a great race. Festival form is such a guide. Its not just the cash, but ante post wins are sweeter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,232 ✭✭✭meriwether

Super work, congrats.

Congrats to the Colonel on his Salut Flo bet as well, outstanding work.

Cheers Morgans, I took him at 10's when you flagged his price was willing to wait until the day given the nature of the race but 10's was too good to be true.

Only got 15/2 on the day but was confident all he needed was a clear round, lovely ride by Colman too.