Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2012 All Ireland Club Semi Finals - Sat. Feb. 18 2012

• 14-02-2012 9:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭

AIB GAA FOOTBALL ALL IRELAND SENIOR CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP SEMI FINAL
    St Brigid's vs. Garycastle
    Glennon Brothers Pearse Park
    Referee: Joe Mc Quillan
    Extratime playable
    Throw in 2 00 PM

AIB GAA FOOTBALL ALL IRELAND SENIOR CLUB CHAMPIONSHIP SEMI FINAL
    Dr Crokes vs. Crossmaglen Rangers
    Portlaoise
    Referee: David Coldrick
    Extratime playable
    Throw in 2 00 PM
    TG4 is showing one game live and the other deferred straight afterwards.
    Anyone have an idea of which game is live?

Cross are not taking kindly to the Kerry wishes to pen them in with barbed wire have the first ever GAA game with proactive segregration of fans and it could be a big game from them if they show up on Saturday with a point to prove.
    Examiner: "McConville: Players motivated by Crokes remarks"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,789 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

Another sad milestone in Irish peoples' ever ongoing struggle to be as outraged as they can as often as they can.

Crokes vs Crossmaglen is deferred as far as I know.

EDIT: Supposedly Crokes vs Cross was initially scheduled to be deferred but they've changed that to the live game now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

So, poor Cross outraged over something that wasn't said?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,921 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

Gophur wrote: »
    So, poor Cross outraged over something that wasn't said?
    here is what was said by Crokes
    Club chairman Vincent Casey also called on the GAA to ensure a greater garda presence in Portlaoise in light of the events which marred the All-Ireland JFC semi-final between Dromid Pearses and Derrytresk last Sunday.

"We are looking for a block of tickets for our supporters so they can sit together in a particular area of the stand and therefore both sets of supporters can cheer on their team, without interfering or upsetting each other," he said.

"It's basic common sense and good practice really because we want the 30 players on the field grabbing the headlines afterwards unlike the coverage our games have been getting over the past number of days.

"We are also looking for adequate stewarding, and in view of what happened there on Sunday they increase the number of stewards at the venue and that also they have a bigger Garda presence than last Sunday.
    http://www.herald.ie/sport/dr-crokes-look-for-segregation-of-fans-3000566.html

indeed the word segregration wasnt used, but they wanted blocks of tickets organised in such a fashion so that "supporters can cheer on their team, without interfering or upsetting each other"

i.e. the ticketing arrangements be made so that fans are not intermingling in any way
    i.e. segregration

here is what was said by Crokes

http://www.herald.ie/sport/dr-crokes-look-for-segregation-of-fans-3000566.html

indeed the word segregration wasnt used, but they wanted blocks of tickets organised in such a fashion so that "supporters can cheer on their team, without interfering or upsetting each other"

i.e. the ticketing arrangements be made so that fans are not intermingling in any way
    i.e. segregration

Logical fallacy yo

without interfering or upsetting each other != not intermingling in any way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,706 ✭✭✭premierstone

keane2097 wrote: »
    Logical fallacy yo

without interfering or upsetting each other != not intermingling in any way

Still you have to admit Keane it was a stupid thing for the chairman to say, they have enough to be worrying about preparing for an AI semi final than coming out with this inflammatory stuff.

8 teams involed in the AI senior semis this weekend and last and he is the only one who felt a need to ''advise'' the GAA and Gardai on how they should officiate the game, he hasnt much to be doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,113 ✭✭✭lukin

What I can't unserstand is that Crossmaglen are from Armagh but Derrytresk are from Tyrone? Think Mr. Casey is a bit geographically confused.

Still you have to admit Keane it was a stupid thing for the chairman to say, they have enough to be worrying about preparing for an AI semi final than coming out with this inflammatory stuff.

8 teams involed in the AI senior semis this weekend and last and he is the only one who felt a need to ''advise'' the GAA and Gardai on how they should officiate the game, he hasnt much to be doing.

Of course it was a stupid thing to say. It was an ill-advised statement, the sentiment of which was clarified within hours of realising it was likely to cause offence.

The reaction to it is your standard lolworthy disproportionate moral outrage, Crossmaglen fans posting pictures of cages and banging on with the sort of "barbed wire" drool we see in the OP.

It's pathetic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭J Cheever Loophole

The reaction to it is your standard lolworthy disproportionate moral outrage,

Which was quite ironic, given that it was linked to the Dromid v Derrytresk cataclysm match.

I guess we have different ideas of what constitutes irony.

My guess would be that our ideas of what constitutes irony are identical.

It's what we feel constitutes 'standard lolworthy disproportionate moral outrage' is where we're likely to differ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭dartbhoy

2 games on Saturday with the potential to be very good games. St Brigids v Garrycastle is somewhat of a local derby with both teams near the vicinity of Athlone but alas in different counties and provinces! I reckon Brigids will win this.

As for Crossmaglen v Crokes this game is taking up the sports pages much to do with the ill advised comments by the Crokes chairman and the media are quick to use this as a method to stir the emotions! There seems to be bad blood between these 2 ever since the 2 finals back in 2006. This is a hard game to call IMO but I reckon Cross might edge it but wouldn't be surprised to see this one going to extra time and possibly a replay it could be so close!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 bcb1

Keane, the issue is that there were numerous comments after the last AI final win. There were allegations of a Crokes player being hit (the player had his hair ruffled by a woman who I know after being sent on and the comment was along the lines of that'll teach ye, hardly an assault). The previous chairman made disparaging comments about the fans and team about intimidation despite the fact that I was personally witness to being called a Brit ****er who should go and bow to the Queen!!!! Intimidation? Also the current chairman said that there needed to be extra stewarding around the subs to prevent a repeat of what happened in the Derrytresk/Dromid game. Now unless he feels his own teams subs can't be trusted there is a clear intonation in that comment that our subs can't, given the nature of the comment and the context. Not lolworthy moral outrage but a clear slight on a great club and if the wheel was turned I would like to see what the reaction would be like. In fairness to our club we have made no real comment as we will play the game on the field not through the papers or WhineLine and whatever happens in the game stays on the field.

Anyone have any interest in talking about the actual football or will I just find a picture of a concentration camp to post or something?

Cut that **** out and I am happy to talk football. I reckon that although we are favourites to win our game there will be very little between the two teams. Obviously the focus is on the 'battle' between the champion and the pretender to the throne, Cooper and Jamie. Neither player will have any real impact though without the ball therefore the battle in the middle third will be key. Much will depend on how the respective half back lines develop through the game. In Brosnan Crokes have a real driving force from centre back and a real onus will sit on his shoulders. If he drives forward that is all well and good but the fact is that SK and Aaron Cunningham could cause real damage if left unmarked. AK can run all day from no 5 and his runs into the Crokes half can cause a lot of problems. The reality is that whoever attains more than 60% of possession in midfield will win.

As regards the other game I reckon that Garrycastle may spring a surprise. I have a sneaking feeling that St Brigids may have half an eye on the final and a potential revenge game against us. Dessie Dolan is a top class forward who can win the game on his own with the right possession. I have a feeling that Brigids will lose the run of it given the local rivalry and they will have at least 1 red card. Garrycastle to win by 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭68Murph68

Regarding the last final between Dr Crokes and Crossmaglen, part of the bad-feeling on the Crokes side is down to the fact that Crossmaglen were extremely lucky to get a replay the first day - the number of steps McConville took to get the equaliser was somewhere between the order of 8 and 14 steps from what I remember. (sometimes a player gets a way with a few steps but this was clearly in the realms of over-carrying but the ref bottled it because it was an equaliser)

In addition to that there was the fact that a Crossmaglen player didn't leave the pitch when sent off in the replayed game. From what I remember it was something like 10 minutes before the player in question left the pitch.

This combined with Crossmaglen's physical approach to a Dr Crokes team which while never the most physical would have had a very low average age for a club in an All-Ireland club final (it was really the case of men vs boys in the physical stakes and Crossmaglen weren't slow in using this to their advantage) have all set the scene for an interesting encounter.

There was talk of Dr Crokes appealing the result the last time due player not leaving the pitch but they let it go, taking the moral high ground.

I would imagine that nearly all of the Crokes team playing the next day would have been involved last time around, but would have developed physically.The only one who has declined in terms of the physical stakes is probably Eoin Brosnan and to be honest I doubt that's going to be a problem. As such I can't see Cross having the same sort of physical advantage as they did last time around.

Overall I think the Crokes of 2012 are a better outfit than the 2007 outfit and I think their attack will win it. The other thing is the Crokes bench is much stronger and they have serious options off the bench which I don't think they had to the same extent last time around.

I've heard Shane Myers is out with an injury which is a shame as he's been playing some great stuff but I presume it will be Fionn Fitzgerald starting in his place and he's a lovely footballer.

Fingers crossed for a fine day.

68Murph68 wrote: »
    Regarding the last final between Dr Crokes and Crossmaglen, part of the bad-feeling on the Crokes side is down to the fact that Crossmaglen were extremely lucky to get a replay the first day - the number of steps McConville took to get the equaliser was somewhere between the order of 8 and 14 steps from what I remember.

In addition to that there was the fact that a Crossmaglen player didn't leave the pitch when sent off. From what I remember it was something like 10 minutes before the player in question left the pitch.

This combined with Crossmaglen's physical approach to a Dr Crokes team which while never the most physical would have had a very low average age for a club in an All-Ireland club final have all set the scene for an interesting encounter.

There was talk of Dr Crokes appealing the result the last time due player not leaving the pitch but they let it go, taking the moral high ground.

I would imagine that nearly all of the Crokes team playing the next day would have been involved last time around, but would have developed physically.

The only one who has declined in terms of the physical stakes is probably Eoin Brosnan and to be honest I doubt that's going to be a problem.

I think the Crokes of 2012 are a better outfit than the 2007 outfit and I think their attack will win it.

I've heard Shane Myers is out which is a shame as he's been playing some great stuff but I presume it will be Fionn Fitzgerald starting in his place and he's a lovely footballer.

Fingers crossed for a fine day.

First things first, Oisin took a lot of steps but there is a question about whether he was being fouled at the time and I think the ref gave advantage. Anyway, that had nothing to do with us, it was to do with the ref.
    As for the John Mac being sent off in the replay, it was in the refs report that he made a mistake and issued a card when he only meant a tick in the first half and therefore John was legitmately only booked the second time and not sent off and that is why no replay was demanded. John Mac did not "leave the field" like you suggest, he was taken off as a substiture by the management. he was never sent off therefore he stayed legitimately on the field. You really need to get your facts straight.

As for our "physical approach" to the young Crokes team, get over it, it's a mans game and whatever age the player is if they walk onto the field they will be treated as physically fit for it. If they are not because they are too young thats their own problem and don't expect others to hold back.

I don't see anywhere in the previous post that Crossmaglen were derided for their physical approach.

But there is a suggestion that the young Crokes players couldn't cope with our physical play. I am just saying that if they are on the field it makes no odds what age they are they have to play the game.

bcb1 wrote: »
    But there is a suggestion that the young Crokes players couldn't cope with our physical play. I am just saying that if they are on the field it makes no odds what age they are they have to play the game.

Of course they do.

Just try not to be so defensive in your posts or you'll end up in arguments instead of discussions which is no fun for anyone, bit of friendly advice is all.

Maybe you should read it again Keane because it is certainly implied, he starts saying the bad feeling originates from the steps issue, then the alledged dismissal and then adds ''This combined with Crossmaglen's physical approach'' - now to me that seems to be including that in a list of reasons for bad blood between Crokes and Cross.

So in summary

McConville took a few steps too far, and didnt pull himself up for it even though the ref deemed it fine :rolleyes:

A player didnt leaver the field after being shown a second yellow, but was never shown a red, again the ref at fault not Crossmaglen.

And finally Crosmaglen were bigger and older and in proper game management used this to their advantage.

The result of which is 5 years later Crokes are still bitter and have bad feeling towards Crossmaglen, now that is fcukin laughable to be fair, come on take off the Kerry glasses and call a spade a spade.

Of course they do.

Just try not to be so defensive in your posts or you'll end up in arguments instead of discussions which is no fun for anyone, bit of friendly advice is all.

I discuss with people in whatever fashion I like and don't need your patronizing attitude. As for being defensive, whenever someone posts up something about my club which I see as wrong of course I will be defensive, ie defend against what I see as wrong.

You asked if anyone wanted to discuss the games at the weekend. I gave my own views on both games so if you want to discuss the games like you said why not look at what I posted and see if there is anything you would like to 'discuss'.

Maybe you should read it again Keane because it is certainly implied, he starts saying the bad feeling originates from the steps issue, then the alledged dismissal and then adds ''This combined with Crossmaglen's physical approach'' - now to me that seems to be including that in a list of reasons for bad blood between Crokes and Cross.

So in summary

McConville took a few steps too far, and didnt pull himself up for it even though the ref deemed it fine :rolleyes:

A player didnt leaver the field after being shown a second yellow, but was never shown a red, again the ref at fault not Crossmaglen.

And finally Crosmaglen were bigger and older and in proper game management used this to their advantage.

The result of which is 5 years later Crokes are still bitter and have bad feeling towards Crossmaglen, now that is fcukin laughable to be fair, come on take off the Kerry glasses and call a spade a spade.

The post reads pretty clearly as follows:

There was controversy in the last game, which combined with the fact that the Crokes players will be better equipped to handle Crossmaglen's physicality on this occasion makes the upcoming game an interesting one.

If you hadn't gone deleting half the sentence your reading of it would have probably improved.

Anyway keane, what about the game?

I actually only know Cross by reputation to be honest with you. Never really took much notice of the club competition because we never usually have clubs involved in the later stages.

Obviously Cross's record is incredible, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how Crokes fair out against them. It's borderline unbelievable that there could be a team out there that Crokes are almost 2/1 against because they as a club are just a machine.

Can't wait for it, just wish I could get over to see it.

The post reads pretty clearly as follows:

There was controversy in the last game, which combined with the fact that the Crokes players will be better equipped to handle Crossmaglen's physicality on this occasion makes the upcoming game an interesting one.

If you hadn't gone deleting half the sentence your reading of it would have probably improved.

Certainly not my interpretation of what Murph said and I have read it again and I certainly feel,and obviously bcb feels, he is suggesting that Crossmaglen were overly physical in the previous AI and that this has contributed to the bad blood between the clubs, I guess we need the man who made the post to clarify exactly what he meant :D

I actually only know Cross by reputation to be honest with you. Never really took much notice of the club competition because we never usually have clubs involved in the later stages.

Obviously Cross's record is incredible, and I'm really looking forward to seeing how Crokes fair out against them. It's borderline unbelievable that there could be a team out there that Crokes are almost 2/1 against because they as a club are just a machine.

Can't wait for it, just wish I could get over to see it.

The odds may be skewed a small bit and no one in Cross see this as a banged on certainty. The reality is that both clubs are 2 of the most consistent in the country over the last 5 years and much will depend on who settles in earliest. We have played exceptionally well in patches this year and could hand out the mother of all beatings to a team when we click but that won't happen on Saturday. I think it will be a 2-3 point win max either way depending on what happens in the middle of the field.

I salute yet again Crossmaglen Rangers. Yet another absolutely heroic victory against the odds, from seven points down, chasing it while playing into the gale, having a man sent off (and I would hope that is overturned) and shipping an equalising goal at a vital time. Nerves of steel the lot of them, and in Oisin McConville they possess an absolute all time great. Consider also that is almost a different team from the one that was victorious in 1997 - I doff my hat.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,972 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

I salute yet again Crossmaglen Rangers. Yet another absolutely heroic victory against the odds, from seven points down, chasing it while playing into the gale, having a man sent off (and I would hope that is overturned) and shipping an equalising goal at a vital time. Nerves of steel the lot of them, and in Oisin McConville they possess an absolute all time great. Consider also that is almost a different team from the one that was victorious in 1997 - I doff my hat.

Well, after 15 years you expect the team to have changed.

Very good win for Cross, showed all the battling qualities you would expect from them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭liogairmhordain

Obviously the focus is on the 'battle' between the champion and the pretender to the throne, Cooper and Jamie. Neither player will have any real impact though without the ball therefore the battle in the middle third will be key. Much will depend on how the respective half back lines develop through the game. In Brosnan Crokes have a real driving force from centre back and a real onus will sit on his shoulders. If he drives forward that is all well and good but the fact is that SK and Aaron Cunningham could cause real damage if left unmarked. AK can run all day from no 5 and his runs into the Crokes half can cause a lot of problems. The reality is that whoever attains more than 60% of possession in midfield will win.

As regards the other game I reckon that Garrycastle may spring a surprise. I have a sneaking feeling that St Brigids may have half an eye on the final and a potential revenge game against us. Dessie Dolan is a top class forward who can win the game on his own with the right possession. I have a feeling that Brigids will lose the run of it given the local rivalry and they will have at least 1 red card. Garrycastle to win by 2

fair play bcb1, nail on the head in both cases!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,299 ✭✭✭spiralism

Cut that **** out and I am happy to talk football. I reckon that although we are favourites to win our game there will be very little between the two teams. Obviously the focus is on the 'battle' between the champion and the pretender to the throne, Cooper and Jamie. Neither player will have any real impact though without the ball therefore the battle in the middle third will be key. Much will depend on how the respective half back lines develop through the game. In Brosnan Crokes have a real driving force from centre back and a real onus will sit on his shoulders. If he drives forward that is all well and good but the fact is that SK and Aaron Cunningham could cause real damage if left unmarked. AK can run all day from no 5 and his runs into the Crokes half can cause a lot of problems. The reality is that whoever attains more than 60% of possession in midfield will win.

Talk about spot on. I'm from just outside Athlone, neither Brigids nor Garrycastle but wanted the latter to win. Brigids are a better team but they have the reputation around here as being...well a pretty arrogant shower to say the least.

Couple of Garrycastle lads I know went to it and they overheard the Brigids lads in front of them talking about plans for the final and how they were not only going to beat Clann Na nGael's local record of four AI finals in a row but win a couple too and get one over Crossmaglen in the process. They completely overlooked Garrycastle, who, fair play to them, kept the heads down and got it done. Best of luck to them in the final though I cannot see them being anywhere near good enough to take down the Crossmaglen machine, they are just a class apart.

ShamoBuc wrote: »
    Well, after 15 years you expect the team to have changed.

Yes, you're right. I'm afraid I didn't explain myself too well originally. I think there is still a tendency for people to think of this Rangers team as going for their sixth All Ireland Title, on the basis that these titles have been accumulated in such a relatively short space of time. However, only Oisin and Paul Hearty that I'm aware of, transcend this period.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 128 ✭✭Lord Ned Stark

spiralism wrote: »
    Talk about spot on. I'm from just outside Athlone, neither Brigids nor Garrycastle but wanted the latter to win. Brigids are a better team but they have the reputation around here as being...well a pretty arrogant shower to say the least.

Couple of Garrycastle lads I know went to it and they overheard the Brigids lads in front of them talking about plans for the final and how they were not only going to beat Clann Na nGael's local record of four AI finals in a row but win a couple too and get one over Crossmaglen in the process. They completely overlooked Garrycastle, who, fair play to them, kept the heads down and got it done. Best of luck to them in the final though I cannot see them being anywhere near good enough to take down the Crossmaglen machine, they are just a class apart.

talk about tarring people with the same brush i know a lot of brigids people who knew garrycastle would be a tough game as they proved with a deserved win which could have been by more than 2 imo . dont think brigids went in thinking they were going to hammer garrycastle they just didnt perform on the day wasnt complacency . and in all fairness if brigids people did say that they were obviously very clueless about football as anything coming from the brigids camp was nothing but respect for garrycastle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,966 ✭✭✭Syferus

spiralism wrote: »

Way over-board. Every Brigids man or woman I've met have been fantastic and friendly and you need only look at the set-up in Kiltoom to see how passionate and professional they are.

They've won five of the last seven county titles; four Connacht finals in six years, winning three, including the last two seasons back-to-back. They've won huge numbers of underage titles, even their B team almost won the Roscommon Intermediate Championship in 2010. They remain among the very best clubs in entire country.

They have plenty reason to be confident in their abilities.

Calmed down a bit now and have watched the game a few times in the calm of victory. For 20 minutes, as has been said by everyone, Dr Crokes were very good. Their game plan of holding the ball up and having Buckley, Daithi Casey, O'DOnovan and in particular Brosnan making driving runs through the centre was very effective. However, the reality is that this game is very is very labour intensive and the repeated tackles that the runners take means that they are worn out very quickly. The 2 MFs and Caey in particular faded very badly and once Titch came on the launch pad for this was lost. The reality is too that in that period the Crokes got 3-4 very crucial refereeing decisions, the square ball goal, Ambroses excavation to pick up a ball which let to a point and there were 1-2 very dubious frees which allowed the to keep the ball in the Cross half, one in particlular against PK. We were fortunate once or twice as well, in particular a jersey pull by Titch should have afforded a 21 yard free which would have been scored.

Of course we all know what happened in regards to Oisin taking responsibility. I want to ask a very simple question, why could Cooper not do what Oisin did at the end of the first half when the Crokes needed him? We often see lists of the greatest forward of the last 30 years etc etc. Invariably the top 5 generally are Canavan, Maurice, Gooch, Joyce, Trevor Giles. You will then have the mentions for Mattie Forde, Dessie Dolan, Donnellan but rarely Oisin is seen as the top class forward in the same class as these men. I know I am biased, and I know he has been surrounded by great players, but he has been the fulcrum of the county team and the club team for years and is far from simply a free taker. His point to kick start our comeback was brilliant. He took it on himself to drive at the Crokes defence and was noy afraid to do it. This is a man of 36 with probably over 400 games at all levels to his name and he still has the drive and ability to do that. I have read on numerous forums that Crokes had better footballers but we were just a better team. I personally believe that if you went man for man on ability wise we would come out on top in over half the positions.

The sending off was wrong and frankly if, for talk sake Aaron Cunningham did what the Crokes man did, which he nearly did against St Galls (ie coming through late and frontal), there would have been uproar with the dirty cynical northerners tag being thrown up. The reality is that in a fairly clean game that didn't have a bad tackle the only instances of "cynical" play that I saw were this follow through on SK and the Gooch going down like he was shot when Oisin fouled him. It was a fould but why did he feel the need to tuck his legs under himself and spin around other than to emphasize the fall and draw a card.

The Crokes,by the time the game was really in the melting pot, were a spent force. The had no leadership in the forward line, outside of Brosnan there was no drive around the middle and he was noticebly less forceful in the second half, and the defence were chasing shadows. They were overkicking balls into the forward line and we were picking up a lot of lose ball and you'd swear we had the extra man. On several occassions Skinny, PK and Paul McKeown picked up stray passes. Gooch dropped balls, and on at least one occassion O'Leary was in his own full back line picking up the ball. This was of no benefit to Crokes.

Anyway, onto the final. Garrycastle have a very tight unit and play a very simpl style. Leave room for the 2 Dolans in the forward line and work the ball into the best position for them and Mulvihill to pick off scores. They work exceptionally hard and in Dessie have a special player. We will need Danny O back, Titch fully fit and SK to have his card lifted. We will of course be favourites and that in itself can bring problems but the management are the best I have ever seen at taking boys down to the ground after a big win. Another factor is the experience of playing in the Final. That in itself is invaluable. So long as we focus on playing our own game and do not underestimate Garrycastle then we can win but not easing up as some have suggested.

i just want to highlight a couple of incidents in the garrycastle and st brigids game if anyone has the a recording and can playit back like i do . 16th minute of the game watch dessie dolan after ball is played and again around the 23rd . was pointed out to me by a friend who is a referee interesting watch i must say

In another match Dessie would have been sent to the line before half-time. One of those was when he horse collared his marker after the ball had been played. He's a cute hoor of a player.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 donaloriain

Anyone know where I can watch a replay of the Garrycastle V Brigid's match online??? I'm stuck in South Africa and haven't even seen the game.

http://www.tg4.ie/en/tg4-player/tg4-player.html

Full game is under the sport section. You'll have to get an Irish proxy IP to view it, though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2 donaloriain

Syferus wrote: »
    http://www.tg4.ie/en/tg4-player/tg4-player.html

Full game is under the sport section. You'll have to get an Irish proxy IP to view it, though.

Thanks but I've checked this link already but the latest programme that I'm seeing in the Sport section is Seo Spoirt from the 17th Feb. Perhaps I'm not seeing the link for the Garrycastle game because I'm not through an Irish proxy? Have you seen the link is definitely there?

I can register for an Irish Proxy no problem but I don't want to pay for it unless the game is actually available.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,145 Mod ✭✭✭✭bruschi

i just want to highlight a couple of incidents in the garrycastle and st brigids game if anyone has the a recording and can playit back like i do . 16th minute of the game watch dessie dolan after ball is played and again around the 23rd . was pointed out to me by a friend who is a referee interesting watch i must say

just wasted 5 minutes there looking at those " " " incidents " " "

talk about absolutley nothing. First one was a bit of a tussle and he came into contact with another player, the referee saw it and waved play on.

the second one was him being tackled to the ground, and both him and his marker started grappling with each other. again, the ref saw it and waved play on.

Nothing in either of them, at all. Just run of the mill tussling that happens in every game. If you want yellow or red cards for that you'd be looking at an empty pitch fairly quickly.

You sound like you are a Brigids man, and to be honest, there is no point looking at nothing incidents like that after the game. There was nothing between the sides, and it could have gone either way.

im not a brigids man at all and the first incident is more than just a tussle

Thanks but I've checked this link already but the latest programme that I'm seeing in the Sport section is Seo Spoirt from the 17th Feb. Perhaps I'm not seeing the link for the Garrycastle game because I'm not through an Irish proxy? Have you seen the link is definitely there?

I can register for an Irish Proxy no problem but I don't want to pay for it unless the game is actually available.

The entire tv coverage is there, it's in two parts under 'GAA Beo' dated 18/02/11:

brigidsgarrycastle.jpg

It''s some brand of geo-lock that's causing you not to see the entire catalogue!