Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

World hurdle, 15-03-12

• 13-02-2012 11:26pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭

World hurdle 3m Grade1 Staying Hurdle

The Ladbrokes World Hurdle is a Class A Grade 1 hurdle run over three miles. It is open to horses aged four years old and upwards. The total prize fund in 2011 was £260,000. A race won by Big bucks for the last three years with many expecting a fourth.

Latest odds:

Big Bucks (4/7) , Oscar Whisky (5) , Thousand Stars (11) , Dynaste (14) , Bobs Worth (16) , Mikael Dhaguenet (16) , Quevega (16) , So Young (16) , Voler La Vedette (16) , Zaidpour (16) , Carlito Brigante (25) , Mourad (33) , Our Father (33) , Poungach (40) , Bobby Ewing (50) , Celestial Halo (50) , Featherbed Lane (50) , Five Dream (50) , Restless Harry (50) , Smad Place (50)

Will not be taking the machine that is Big Bucks on, But for me this year he has his most credible challenger for a while in the shape of Oscar Whisky who looks a class act.

Who will win the World Hurdle? 32 votes

Big Bucks
    0%
    Oscar Whisky
    90%
    TheMilkyPirateWoddleColonel SandersJohnerGavin "shels"premierstonedotsflanUnknownSpeciesrobertpattersonLuapUrbanSeahucklebuckEl Ninotorres[Deleted User]CSFMick990sonnkyshrewdnessft9Getoffmytrain 29 votes
    Thousand Stars
    3%
    mccarte2 1 vote
    Mourad
    0%
    Dynaste
    3%
    HigginsJ 1 vote
    So Young
    3%
    kksaints 1 vote
    Quevega
    0%
    Other (please specify)
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭ste2010

baraca wrote: »
    World hurdle 3m Grade1 Staying Hurdle

The Ladbrokes World Hurdle is a Class A Grade 1 hurdle run over three miles. It is open to horses aged four years old and upwards. The total prize fund in 2011 was £260,000. A race won by Big bucks for the last two years with many expecting a Hat-Trick.

Latest odds:

Big Bucks (4/7) , Oscar Whisky (5) , Thousand Stars (11) , Dynaste (14) , Bobs Worth (16) , Mikael Dhaguenet (16) , Quevega (16) , So Young (16) , Voler La Vedette (16) , Zaidpour (16) , Carlito Brigante (25) , Mourad (33) , Our Father (33) , Poungach (40) , Bobby Ewing (50) , Celestial Halo (50) , Featherbed Lane (50) , Five Dream (50) , Restless Harry (50) , Smad Place (50)

Will not be taking the machine that is Big Bucks on, But for me this year he has his most credible challenger for a while in the shape of Oscar Whisky who looks a class act.

Have already backed thousand stars in the hope he'll go there. They seemed to be aiming towards the champ hurdle a dew weeks back but nor sure if anything has changes since

Each way I might add :-)

Big bucks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 436 ✭✭Huntey

You know a horse is too good when you forget how many times he has won the race.

Number 4 is a foregone conclusion. OW will travel like a dream and find absolute nothing off the bridle. I have heard people think his "turn of foot" will win it for him, no such thing as a turn of foot after 3 miles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Oscar Whisky
    Huntey wrote: »
    You know a horse is too good when you forget how many times he has won the race.

Number 4 is a foregone conclusion. OW will travel like a dream and find absolute nothing off the bridle. I have heard people think his "turn of foot" will win it for him, no such thing as a turn of foot after 3 miles.

Woops! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭RichieLawlor

His most credible challenger THIS YEAR, but not anymore credible that Grand Crus, less so in fact, and Punchestowns and Kasbah Bliss aswell.

You hardly think Ruby is going to let OW sit behind him and do him for speed at the end of a crawl do you? If there is no pace I'll bet Ruby will make it and draw the sting out of everything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,173 ✭✭✭hucklebuck

Oscar Whisky
    Huntey wrote: »

I just call it the Big Bucks race at the festival.

The only way Big Bucks might be beaten is if Ruby moonwalks him around the course and even then he will take some beating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭TheMilkyPirate

Oscar Whisky
    His most credible challenger THIS YEAR, but not anymore credible that Grand Crus, less so in fact, and Punchestowns and Kasbah Bliss aswell.

You hardly think Ruby is going to let OW sit behind him and do him for speed at the end of a crawl do you? If there is no pace I'll bet Ruby will make it and draw the sting out of everything.

Where did I say Oscar Whisky was going to win?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,774 ✭✭✭Big Daddy Cool

Well for what its worth (which is not alot) i'm hoping to see Big Bucks and Oscar Whiskey start at each other coming down the hill, only for Mikael D'haguenet to sweep past them on the turn in and cruise up the hill to win on the bridle :D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭El Ninotorres

Oscar Whisky
    Dynaste E/W for me in this..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

If Celestial Halo was going for this the 50/1 EW would look value, but im not sure he is going to run in this. He is a tough horse and may be difficult to knock out of the places..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭prettyboy81

Mikael D for me e/w in the race & think he could trouble BB more so than Oscar Whiskey....

Oscar Whisky
    going to win

Oscar Whisky
    aidankkk wrote: »
    If Celestial Halo was going for this the 50/1 EW would look value, but im not sure he is going to run in this. He is a tough horse and may be difficult to knock out of the places..

He may do, although Andy Stewart might want to keep them apart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

Hope people keep thinking this is the year BB wont do it.

Love some more even money this year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Oscar Whisky
    Nick Mordin has updated his site for the first time in yonks.

He thinks Big Bucks is vulnerable to Oscar Whisky

I've a feeling I know the reaction he's going to get on here!

Nick Mordin has updated his site for the first time in yonks.

He thinks Big Bucks is vulnerable to Oscar Whisky

I've a feeling I know the reaction he's going to get on here!

I think he might be vulnerable if he lets OW stalk him around and do him for speed but no way Ruby lets that happen. I can see him winding it up from a long way out.

Also Mordin is trying to unsettle people over BB and snaffle some odds against for himself

Read an interesting article about Big bucks betting in running on betfair.
    The guy who wrote it noted that because of the occasional flat spot big bucks hits, you can generally get a better price on him in betting.

Also really hoping Mullins sends Thousand Stars for this... surely the temptation is to have a craic at it...Its fair to say Thousand stars may land in the money in the Champion Hurdle but that chance is there for the world hurdle also..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,007 ✭✭✭kksaints

So Young
    Any market for betting without Big Bucks? Also Dynaste each-way is tempting.

kksaints wrote: »
    Any market for betting without Big Bucks? Also Dynaste each-way is tempting.

When betting w/o Big Bucks you need to find a horse that will run for second rather than one who will try to win and get his heart broken

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,172 ✭✭✭NaiveMelodies

When betting w/o Big Bucks you need to find a horse that will run for second rather than one who will try to win and get his heart broken

Very very true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,339 ✭✭✭convert

Poll added.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭ft9

Oscar Whisky
    Big Bucks surely here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Oscar Whisky
    Think Dynaste is a nice each way price at 14/1 given that the two ahead of him in the market have question marks over the distance, plus Thousand Stars may be Champion Hurdle bound

UrbanSea wrote: »
    Think Dynaste is a nice each way price at 14/1 given that the two ahead of him in the market have question marks over the distance, plus Thousand Stars may be Champion Hurdle bound

TS won the French champion hurdle over 3m 2f so no questions on the distance for TS. I'm hoping he goes the world hurdle route but your prob right about being champ hurdle bound. I think he's overpriced price for champ hurdle and could easily see him landing in the money in both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,335 ✭✭✭✭UrbanSea

Oscar Whisky
    I didn't realise that, cheers ste

UrbanSea wrote: »
    I didn't realise that, cheers ste

No worries. To be honest I'd love to see him take a crack at big bucks. At that distance he's not only a participant in the race. Wouldn't blame Mullins If he wanted to wait until French CH again to send him over longer distance seeing as though he would be taking on an absolute machine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,838 ✭✭✭Nulty

Jessica Harrington says shes been told Thousand Stars won't be going to the World Hurdle. I cannot back up he claim. He'd be shorter than 17/1 on Betfair if there was confidence that he would be going.

They already have Mourad, Mikael D and So Young going. It makes sense to save TS for another day. It gives the impression that So Young is the one they hope to give BB the best race. The others won't.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,669 ✭✭✭Colonel Sanders

Oscar Whisky
    6/1 Oscar Whisky with Hills tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Hulk Hands

6/1 Oscar Whisky with Hills tomorrow

Yep. Not for me but a good price for those who were interested in him. A decent e/w bet at that price perhaps

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Oscar Whisky
    What price is Oscar Whiskey without BB? that could be a cracking bet.

Johner wrote: »

7/4 best price I think. Don't really fancy him, So Young in that market for me.

What's really annoying me is every member of the media saying its big bucks toughest challenger to date. It's not. If you gave me Grand Crus vs Oscar Whisky over hurdles tomorrow id be all over GC like a rash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,787 ✭✭✭d-gal

Nulty wrote: »
    Jessica Harrington says shes been told Thousand Stars won't be going to the World Hurdle. I cannot back up he claim. He'd be shorter than 17/1 on Betfair if there was confidence that he would be going.

They already have Mourad, Mikael D and So Young going. It makes sense to save TS for another day. It gives the impression that So Young is the one they hope to give BB the best race. The others won't.

25/1 for thousand stars for the CH is a crazy price so, surely a great chance to get in the money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,224 ✭✭✭jimjamcos

Hulk Hands wrote: »

What's really annoying me is every member of the media saying its big bucks toughest challenger to date. It's not. If you gave me Grand Crus vs Oscar Whisky over hurdles tomorrow id be all over GC like a rash

Totally agree with you!! I'll be very interested in Thousand Stars if it lines up?

Johner wrote: »

That's cos grans crus has run over 3m and is proven. If Oscar whisky was you mightn't say this, truth is we won't know until the day. I want to see Thousand stars go and have backed him already. Think Mullins is aiming for French champion hurdle again.. One point to consider for Oscar whisky is he a grade 1 consistent horse who could easily be in this years champion hurdle and land in the
    Money and possibly go to aintree and win the champion there again...so why send him over 3? They must be sure he'll stay the trip

ste2010 wrote: »
    That's cos grans crus has run over 3m and is proven

Exactly. Which is why it's annoying me that everyone keeps saying it's Big Bucks biggest and toughest challenge. I think GC had better form going into last years race.

On Thousand Stars, I had heard a rumour he's gone off the boil a bit. Either way I think So Young has the potential to easily be Mulllin's best horse over this trip, so i'd rather side with him at a bigger price

It's funny, you could have a decent World Hurdle with Mullins horses alone. Mourad, Thousand Stars, So Young, Mikael D'Hagunet, Quevega, Fiveforthree and Zaidpour

GC maybe had slightly better relative form but they are both rated 167 over hurdles so its close.

OW Aintree hurdle is better than anything GC has done.

Oscar Whisky
    Scu reckons Dynaste is as good as Grands Crus from twitter

hucklebuck wrote: »
    Scu reckons Dynaste is as good as Grands Crus from twitter

But we knows BB can beat him.
    We didnt know if he could beat GC this time last year.

Plus hes wrong in thinking that. :)

Yeah, GC ran a serious race in last years renewal. I honestly think that's the furthest we could see BB pushed while in his prime, until age/injury loses him a race. Going to the last it looked as if GC could win and only BB's staying power say him home by a few lenghts (granted Ruby's dropping of the whip had an effect).

ste2010 wrote: »
    That's cos grans crus has run over 3m and is proven

On Thousand Stars, I had heard a rumour he's gone off the boil a bit. Either way I think So Young has the potential to easily be Mulllin's best horse over this trip, so i'd rather side with him at a bigger price

It's funny, you could have a decent World Hurdle with Mullins horses alone. Mourad, Thousand Stars, So Young, Mikael D'Hagunet, Quevega, Fiveforthree and Zaidpou

Hopefully not I have him for the value bets in both WH and CH :-)

Mullins has some collection of horses. It will be the same next year..would love to see who goes chasing next ywar

Oscar Whisky
    I don't agree either, Grands Crus was a machine and his Cleeve was all I needed to see to take Big Bucks on.

That said I think they got it tactically wrong the first time where they tried make it from the front. They would be a lot closer if they kept him under wraps until just before the second last and sent him on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭Sammo13

Did they not try that at Aintree and got beaten further, BB was more impressive that day... BB is a pure stayer like Inglis Drever, on and off the bridle but finishes strong... very hard to see anything getting near him... Betting w/o looks the market in this race, So Young at 7 or 8/1 looks interesting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭sonnky

Oscar Whisky
    Mullins has a strong team in this and Thousand stars looks the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 878 ✭✭✭Huntley

I thought Katie Walsh did Ruby a favour there when she kept the gallop up when those up front wilted, sacrificed her place claims as a result.

It is utterly hilarious how much Big Bucks finds off the bridle. Absolutely stones.

Oscar Whisky
    Huntley wrote: »
    It is utterly hilarious how much Big Bucks finds off the bridle. Absolutely stones.

Hasn't been fully exploited yet either, it's a shame in a way that age rather than a rival looks like beating him in due course, obviously a rival will finish ahead unless they retire him.

I think he will win 7 World Hurdles barring injuries.

Its amazing how good he is, he is impossible to pass.