Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Myths about Epilepsy

• 13-02-2012 11:35am
    Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

Today is the 2nd annual European Epilepsy Day, and Brainwave are campaigning to shed some light on the condition. Over half of the people with epilepsy have experienced stigma and prejudice in a recent survey, and this can only be combated with knowledge and insight. I'm hoping this thread will get people talking about the condition, and maybe people with epilepsy and friends/family members of people with epilepsy can chime in to give their experiences about it :D

So to begin, here's a few myths about epilepsy, and the truth about them.

Myth - It's contagious.

FALSE. It's not contagious. You cannot "catch" epilepsy

Myth - It's a mental illness.

FALSE.
    It is a neurological condition, and has nothing to do with mental health. It's not like you can "catch" it it either from having a mental illness.

Myth - You should put a spoon/rolled-up sock/tea-towel in their mouth to stop them biting or swallowing their tongue.

FALSE.
    NEVER EVER EVER DO THIS. It can cause serious injury to the person having the seizure and in extreme cases could kill them if they suffocate on it. Never put anything on/in/near the person's mouth. If they appear to be choking on their tongue, try to roll them onto their side or put them in the recovery position/

Myth - You can stop a seizure.

FALSE. This is an extremely dangerous myth. NEVER try to restrain someone having a seizure. Clear a space around them and let them come out of it in their own time.

Myth - It's extremely rare.

FALSE.
    It is the most common neurological condition in Ireland. There are many types of epilepsy and no two cases are the same. There are also many types of seizure, the main 2 being Grand Mal (the stereotypical thrashing around on the floor) and Petit Mal (looking "spaced out" and being unresponsive for a few seconds or minutes).

Myth - All epilepsy is caused by blinking lights

FALSE.
    This type of epilepsy is called photosensitive epilepsy. Not all people diagnosed with epilepsy will have seizures triggered by lights.

I'm sure there's a few I've forgotten, so feel free to add or change anything in this list. Here's a link to a bunch of short videos made by people with epilepsy to talk about their experiences.

Lastly, here's an article from RTÉ:
    RT&#201 wrote:
    'Negative' attitudes to people with epilepsy

Half of the people with epilepsy in Ireland have experienced persistent negative attitudes because of their condition.

The Irish Epilepsy Association has said that half of the people with epilepsy in Ireland have experienced persistent negative attitudes because of their condition.
    Brainwave released its findings as part of the second annual European Epilepsy Day.
    According to Brainwave, there are 37,000 people with epilepsy in Ireland and despite advances in the treatment and care of the condition, many people continue to be stigmatised.
    Brainwave Chief Executive Mike Glynn said: "The results of our national survey would indicate that for over half of them, stigma is an ongoing social reality.
    "Despite advances in the treatment and care of people with epilepsy, many of the old myths around epilepsy linger on, with the result that people with epilepsy are still subject to negative attitudes.
    "Despite the fact that epilepsy is the most common serious neurological condition in Ireland, public awareness and understanding of the condition remains poor."

So people of After Hours, what do you think about epilepsy? Have you ever met someone with it? What did you know or assume about epilepsy if you have never had first-hand experience of it? What would you think if you saw someone having a seizure on the street?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I've known two people with epilepsy, and I fail to understand how you could have prejudice against someone with it. That's an odd and really specific prejudice. "Grr, I hate epileptics, with their inability to go to discos."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭lastlaugh

Can someone who has epilepsy ever legally drive a car or are you automatically banned?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

lastlaugh wrote: »
    Can someone who has epilepsy ever legally drive a car or are you automatically banned?

Pretty sure you're unable to get a drivers licence if you have epilepsy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Myth - You can stop a seizure.

You can bring someone out of a seizure by administering diazepam rectally. If you wanted to of course.

Anyone who ever thought that it was contagious is suffering from a severe case of stupid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 427 ✭✭scotty_irish

Once a doctor/neurologist deems you safe to drive you can drive. I think you need to be seizure free for a certain length of time and the doctor must believe that your epilepsy is stable.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 8,490 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fluorescence

I'm not sure this is a fitting thread for AH.

It's a news item - DeV had his thread on depression to raise awareness so why not? :)

EDIT: Only just noticed the pun :pac:
    Cianos wrote: »

Not necessarily. If a doctor can certify that your epilepsy is completely under control then you can drive.

i can't believe anyone actually thinks it's contagious or a mental illness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Well done.

<snip>

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,784 ✭✭✭Superbus

Myth: it is the devil himself possessing you and you need to be cleansed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

bluewolf wrote: »
    i can't believe anyone actually thinks it's contagious or a mental illness

Nay, they be blessed by the Gods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,850 ✭✭✭Cianos

If someone has a seizure, how can you tell it's epilepsy and not something else, that may require intervention?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Once a doctor/neurologist deems you safe to drive you can drive. I think you need to be seizure free for a certain length of time and the doctor must believe that your epilepsy is stable.

It used to be 12 months, that may have changed now.

smash wrote: »
    You can bring someone out of a seizure by administering diazepam rectally. If you wanted to of course.

Also if you have a VNS, but I was referring to the notion that you can hold down a person to "snap them out of it" which can be quite damaging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

I don't think anyone actually believes any of these myths though!! I'd say a far more common myth is that you can catch epilepsy by playing computer games for more than an hour at a time, which I'd be reasonably confident is bollocks. My mam used to time me playing the Playstation when I was younger because the instruction manual said that if you played any longer you'd start having regular fits. When she used to turn it off sure I'd have a fit anyway :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,050 ✭✭✭token101

If someone has a seizure, how can you tell it's epilepsy and not something else, that may require intervention?

Throw holy water on them and start shouting about the power of Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,485 ✭✭✭Thrill

Anyone who ever thought that it was contagious is suffering from a severe case of stupid.

Is that contagious?

token101 wrote: »
    I don't think anyone actually believes any of these myths though!! I'd say a far more common myth is that you can catch epilepsy by playing computer games for more than an hour at a time, which I'd be reasonably confident is bollocks. My mam used to time me playing the Playstation when I was younger because the instruction manual said that if you played any longer you'd start having regular fits. When she used to turn it off sure I'd have a fit anyway :D

You'd be surprised :rolleyes:. Some people are really ignorant and fearful when it comes to something they know nothing about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭nibtrix

Thrill wrote: »

Is that contagious?

Based on the amount of Reality TV shown these days, I'm going to guess "Yes".

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Do you know where i can get treatment for that terrible disease you talk of? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Poor form with most of these jokes lads.

Thrill wrote: »
    Is that contagious?

That's a tricky one, I'm sure it could rub off on you, like if both your parents are complete imbeciles chances are you might show signs or symptoms of being an idiot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭Bipolar Joe

I dunno, the leper one made me laugh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,753 ✭✭✭davet82

Poor form with most of these jokes lads.

its monday morning we're just warming up ffs :rolleyes:

token101 wrote: »

I used to play a lot of computer games when I was young, I had all sorts of ticks and twitches, used to feel to the compulsion to make noises aswell!

My mother didn't know what the hell was wrong with me so she put it down to the computer games, although it wasn't epilepsy, she was probably right in that the games caused me to have twitches...

Tbh I'm not entirely sure. Some people with epilepsy wear a necklace or wristband to identify their condition in case they've a seizure in a public place but not all do (my brother doesn't, for example). :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Does epilepsy not have advantages, like being able to shake your tic tacs at rude misinformed people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Don't cinemas have to display warnings about strobe lighting?

I remember when Titanic was released every cinema had warnings

I assumed it could trigger a seizure, that was the reason
    But I know very little on the subject

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've been present during seizures twice and also had some training on how to handle them (back at college).

It's pretty frightening stuff to watch but if you understand it's just a seizure and it'll pass it's not so bad.
    Just make sure the head isn't on the ground - hold it gently or put a jacket underneath and just wait.
    Check if you see a bracelet or card.
    Ring for an ambulance (unless you know the person).

Seizures will drain the energy from the person so let them rest on the ground once it's over. Don't rush them to stand up or move about.
    Just be there really, it's comforting knowing someone is there to check on you until the ambo comes.

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Don't cinemas have to display warnings about strobe lighting?

I remember when Titanic was released every cinema had warnings

I assumed it could trigger a seizure, that was the reason
    But I know very little on the subject

They do, to warn people who have photosensitive epilepsy. The same way video games etc have to have a warning in the manual.

In fact, there was a bit of uproar lately about the newest Kanye West video which contains a lot of strobe lighting but no warning at the beginning. Article here:
    MTV wrote:
    'N---as In Paris' Video Warning Not Enough For U.K. Epilepsy Group

'The warning won't necessarily work for everybody,' Epilepsy Action spokeswoman Louise Cousins says.

A year after getting called out for the seizure-inducing potential of his strobe-tastic "All of the Lights" video, the Throne's Kanye West clearly got the message and preemptively put a warning on the "N---as in Paris" clip.

But even with the notice that precedes the live performance collabo with Jay-Z — which uses dizzying, flashbulb-like psychedelic effects similar to the "Lights" video — the same group that called for the previous warning is urging caution.
    "Epilepsy Action was not consulted about this video, although we now know that watching it does pose a risk to people with photosensitive epilepsy," said Stacey Rennard, campaigns manager for the U.K. charity in a press release. "We are pleased to see that a warning has been put in place to make people with photosensitive epilepsy aware that the video may be harmful. However, the warning does not go far enough and the video is still potentially dangerous. Many people with photosensitive epilepsy, especially young people, do not know they have it until something triggers their first seizure."
    The new warning came because of concerns that those most vulnerable to experience seizures from the video may not be appropriately shielded by the disclaimer. "Photosensitive epilepsy is most prevalent in those aged 7 to 19," Louise Cousins, a spokeswoman for Epilepsy Action, told MTV News. "Everybody has a 'seizure threshold,' but somebody may have a tendency to have seizures but not come into contact with anything that has so far triggered it in them [until they view the video]."
    Cousins said the warning is fine for people who know they may suffer from the disorder, but those who are not aware may view the "Paris" clip even after reading the warning because they have never experienced a problem before.
    The organization was pleased that the Throne decided to proactively add the caveat — after Epilepsy Action campaigned to have one amended to "Lights" last year — and so far, there have been no reports of any problems.
    However, Rennard said that it was "very disappointing that, despite the concerns raised last year about the 'All of the Lights' video, Kanye West has knowingly made another video which could be harmful to some fans watching it. We would like to see the music industry show much more responsibility by not commissioning videos that contain potentially dangerous imagery."
    For now, Epilepsy Action is not concerned about any potential problems in England, where such videos are barred from airing on TV unless they are edited into safer versions.
    A spokesperson for the Throne could not be reached for comment at press time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,059 ✭✭✭Buceph

Myth - It's a mental illness.

FALSE.
    It is a neurological condition, and has nothing to do with mental health. It's not like you can "catch" it it either from having a mental illness.

I don't get this. It's of the brain and it's in the DSM, which is a pretty good definition of mental illness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭noodletop

Another urban myth is to place a spoon on the tongue of the person, to stop them swallowing their tongue.Doing so is not advised as the person can bite very hard during the turn and cause them to break their teeth in the process usually it is advised to try turning them on to their side to avoid this happening.
    My father has had Epilepsy since i was a child and regularly had several seisures,His Epilepsy was caused by a fall in which he hit his head on concrete.
    He has seen nearly every doctor out there about it and is like a walking pharmacy every day but nothing seems to help stop the seizures.
    If you know someone suffering from the condition its best to get proper advice and do some sort of first aid course to help you understand the situation.

ps i am over with my da now and told him the few jokes that i saw on thread he nearly pissed himself laughing:D

Buceph wrote: »
    I don't get this. It's of the brain and it's in the DSM, which is a pretty good definition of mental illness.

Here's a quote I pulled from epilepsy.com to try to answer your question:
    We now understand that epilepsy (commonly called 'the epilepsies') is a group of disorders that occurs as a result of seizures that temporarily impair brain function. Epilepsy is not a 'one size fits all problem'. It can look, feel and act differently in different people. It is much more common than previously thought and is one of the more common neurological problems affecting people of all ages..

<snip>

People with epilepsy are not mentally ill.

Epilepsy is not the same as mental illness and in fact, the majority of people with seizures do not develop mental health problems. Yet recent research is showing that problems with mood, such as anxiety and depression, may be seen more frequently than previously thought. The causes are not always known. In some people, the cause and location of the seizures may affect certain brain areas and contribute to mood problems. In others, side effects of treatments and the challenges of living with epilepsy may affect a person's feelings and behavior. If these problems occur, a variety of treatments are available.

I don't know if this answers your question or not, but epilepsy is not considered a mental illness. The main reason I can think of is that most mental illnesses are caused by chemical imbalances and such, whereas epilepsy is caused by too much electricity in the brain at a given moment in time that overpowers the senses.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

mattjack wrote: »
    ]

Is that contagious? the stupidity ? very

Believe it or not - it is actually possible to suffer from epilepsy and have a sense of humour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

If the person is on medication and had been seizure free for two years they can get a drivers license,
    but it gets reviewed.

Here's a quote I pulled from epilepsy.com to try to answer your question:

I don't know if this answers your question or not, but epilepsy is not considered a mental illness. The main reason I can think of is that most mental illnesses are caused by chemical imbalances and such, whereas epilepsy is caused by too much electricity in the brain at a given moment in time that overpowers the senses.

Not really. Mental disorders aren't just about "chemical imbalances" but are to do with the entirety of the brain. I can see why a patient lobby group would want to separate themselves from the broader "mental illness" stigma, but it doesn't make it so. The definitive book on "Mental Disorders" is the DSM, and that includes epilepsy in it.

Edit: It's not Epilepsy that's in the DSM, it's the seizures themselves. My mistake.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,242 ✭✭✭liliq

Limit in Ireland is 6 months now...

There's an oral spray now as well. Had it for my ex but I can't remember the name of it. They only recommend anything like that once the seizure has been going on for 5 minutes,

You can't... a very high percentage of people (can't remember the exact number, it's probably on the Brainwave website) will experience a seizure at some stage during their life for various reasons.

"Grand mal" seizures- the shaky ones, are now called "tonic clonic"... apparently calling a seizure "big bad" is not PC ;)

AH mode/ what do you do if someone is having a seizure in a bath?
    Throw in your washing.

What do you call an epileptic in a wheelchair?
    A transformer. /AH mode ;)

It was my ex with epilepsy (in hospital after 3 bad seizures yesterday :( ) that told me those jokes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,427 ✭✭✭Morag

The DSM is out moded and needs to be up dated to reflect the rapidly expanding field of neurology and the advances it's made due to better diagnostics.

Not really. Mental disorders aren't just about "chemical imbalances" but are to do with the entirety of the brain. I can see why a patient lobby group would want to separate themselves from the broader "mental illness" stigma, but it doesn't make it so. The definitive book on "Mental Disorders" is the DSM, and that includes epilepsy in it.

Edit: It's not Epilepsy that's in the DSM, it's the seizures themselves. My mistake.

I'm not a medical professional so I can't say why exactly epilepsy is not categorized as a mental illness. All I know is that my brother is treated by neuroscientists and not psychiatrists ;)

Nice ninja edit there :P

I'm not a medical professional so I can't say why exactly epilepsy is not categorized as a mental illness. All I know is that my brother is treated by neuroscientists and not psychiatrists ;)

Nice ninja edit there :P

Nah, it's only a ninja edit if the time stamp doesn't appear and I leave out the "edit:" part. ;)

I had the tests for epilepsy done. Brain scans, modules connected to my skull, flashing lights, the whole lot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,041 ✭✭✭cocoshovel

Wait, why would anybody look negitively at anybody who suffers from it? People really are gigantic díckheads.

cocoshovel wrote: »
    Wait, why would anybody look negitively at anybody who suffers from it? People really are gigantic díckheads.

Seizures can be very distressing and disturbing to watch for people who have never seen one before. It's pretty frightening.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,441 ✭✭✭old hippy

I suffered from epilepsy from the age of 18 up until around 29. It was mild, I'd only ever have one or 2 seizures a year; brought on by tiredness/stress/not eating/over indulgence. I was on medication which made no difference whatsoever, so I stopped taking it. I'm in my 40s now and I've not had a seizure in such a long time. My heart does go out to those who suffer seizures everyday of their lives. It's a condition that can exhaust you and leave you very depressed, to say the least.

I looked at an old medical journal from around 140 years ago; the treatments for epilepsy were then: incarceration in an asylum, minor lobotomy or castration :eek::eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

One of my brothers used to take seizures it was very frightening the first time. But its best to give them plenty of space and let them trash it out so to speak.
    I wouldnt like to have it myself though, it would be terrifying thinking it could happen at any moment.

old hippy wrote: »
    I suffered from epilepsy from the age of 18 up until around 29. It was mild, I'd only ever have one or 2 seizures a year; brought on by tiredness/stress/not eating/over indulgence. I was on medication which made no difference whatsoever, so I stopped taking it. I'm in my 40s now and I've not had a seizure in such a long time. My heart does go out to those who suffer seizures everyday of their lives. It's a condition that can exhaust you and leave you very depressed, to say the least.

I looked at an old medical journal from around 140 years ago; the treatments for epilepsy were then: incarceration in an asylum, minor lobotomy or castration :eek::eek:

They were also separated from the other patients in an asylum because it was believed to be contagious, or a religious curse of some kind that might taint those around them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,219 ✭✭✭woodoo

Everybody knows its really people possessed by evil... stone the witches.

They were also separated from the other patients in an asylum because it was believed to be contagious, or a religious curse of some kind that might taint those around them.

Although I am sometimes convinced we are living in an age of unprecedented superstition and ignorance, I am certainly pleased not to have been around back then, lest I be left brainless and ballsless in bedlam...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

All the "funny" jokes have been removed.

I don't want to see anymore.

All the "funny" jokes have been removed.

I don't want to see anymore.

Ach, they'll only head over to that Jeremy Clarkson thread to offend someone else...

I have a great sense of humour; I laugh at idiots who reckon epilepsy is a source of amusement :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Are people consious when having a seizure?