Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Road rage against the wife - don't know reg But

• 12-02-2012 9:27pm
    Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Folks
    Missus was driving up a narrow road today there with the young lad, its a road where only 1 car can pass and the usual thing to do is that the car coming against u if u are 1/2 way up the car coming against pulls in.

Anyway herself was near the top of the narrow section there today when a car came as she says "flying down the road" toward her, he wouldn't pull in and started going a bit nuts and given her the Wamk@r gesture. She was a bit upset at this, uncalled for really.

Anyway she told me this at home and whats "funny" is that the same car tried the same thing to me 3 weeks ago but he had more sense and reversed back not before leaving rubber all over the road as he was going much to fast for the road.

I know of this lad, I got her to do a "photo pic" on facebook and his car is there, except its on UK plates and we don't know the Irish reg.

I really do want to report his lad as he behavior is way over the top and even though he is 18/19 years of age he really needs to cop on.

I suppose what I am asking:

a) Should I bother?
    b) Should I just bide my time until I see the car again and have a work
    c) can I just ring up the guards and report him using the UK reg?

Sorry if I seem I am over reacting but this guy is a risk on the road and his behavior to my wife with my child in the car I don't take kindly.

I have tried cartell which confirms the car, but doens't give me the Irish reg.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

It's probably a small village or something you live in? Can't you bring it up down the local pub? Let word spread that he's a nutter on the road.
    Or call the guards with the UK reg and let them visit his house.
    If he's on UK plates he'll probably get in trouble over that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Report it with the UK reg, the Gardai will be able to find the Irish reg. You will have to be willing to give a statement and go to court, if necessary, for the Gardai to act on your complaint.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Honestly, OP, have you not got a mind of your own, or are you waiting to see what the consensus from an internet forum will be, before you do anything?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭paulgalway

biko wrote: »
    UK reg

Call Revenue,

Believe car has to be registered and go through NCT ASAP after it is brought into the country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,935 ✭✭✭randy hickey

I think your right in that something has to be done.If this twirp is running on English plates, there's a good chance he's not insured- what happens if he ploughs you or your wife out of it next time?
    Also. if ever there was a good reason to invest in a dash cam OP, you've just got it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

I would put the kettle on, have a cuppa and chill out. Not worth the stress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

dont do anything, its not against the law to be an asshole here like it is in the UK, best thing to do is wait until you meet him again and give him a piece of your mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭bryaner

I'd love to knock the lugs of the jumped up little sh!t but that wouldn't work out too well, bide your time op and install some fear when you get the chance..

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

Not on UK reg now, its Irish plates, but with the joy of facebook I found him and his car, but the pic on facebook its on UK plates.

I had the tea and I just don't like the fact that when he met me on the road in the same position he reversed but when he met a woman with a child in the car he tried to be the big man.

I know what option I would like to carry out but if I get her to ring the guards with the story and see what they do? The fact that we know who he is and his UK reg though will they give a fiddlers.

And no, I do have my own mind, I am more looking to see if using a UK reg I can report this guy if he is now on an Irish reg?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭bijapos

Best thing is to find out wherever he lives and have a quiet chat with him, or maybe better with his parents. Ask him why he was aggressive to your wife and not to yourself. Maybe try to make him see sense. Not easy as you have to stay calm when doing this.

If you meet him on the road like this then stop the car, get out and wander up to him with your hands in your pockets looking for a chat. He might see reason.

Failing the above, you could use violence but these things can escalate, maybe have a quiet chat with a local Garda.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

bijapos wrote: »
    Best thing is to find out wherever he lives and have a quiet chat with him, or maybe better with his parents. Ask him why he was aggressive to your wife and not to yourself. Maybe try to make him see sense. Not easy as you have to stay calm when doing this.

If you meet him on the road like this then stop the car, get out and wander up to him with your hands in your pockets looking for a chat. He might see reason.

Failing the above, you could use violence but these things can escalate, maybe have a quiet chat with a local Garda.

I definitely won't be using violence!! :eek:

Think I will leave it to the Garda, but not sure if they will/can do anything as all I have is a name and the UK reg, I don't know where he lives so I can't do that I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭nicol

If I were in your position and knew the lad involved I'd have a polite but firm word with him about his behaviour. If you don't think this'd be a good idea I'd go to the guards. I know you want to go the guards first but I do wonder if they have the time to follow up all these types of complaints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,205 ✭✭✭✭hmmm

The last thing I'd be doing with a hyped up 20 year old is going for a "chat" with him myself, anything could happen. I'd ask the guards to have a word, they're usually not bad about nipping stuff in the bud where possible.

I don't think the UK reg thing is really relevant, you're not trying to shop him for anything - just want him to calm the f**k down.

hmmm wrote: »
    The last thing I'd be doing with a hyped up 20 year old is going for a "chat" with him myself, anything could happen. I'd ask the guards to have a word, they're usually not bad about nipping stuff in the bud where possible.

I don't think the UK reg thing is really relevant, you're not trying to shop him for anything - just want him to calm the f**k down.

Thats it exactly, a word in his MIGHT calm him down, my wife was very rattled as he had to break hard to stop the car and then as she passed on the tight road he gave here the W**K*R gesture, which my son saw.

Thanks for the advice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

the firm word might work if you're the type

I usually find they lie about what happened or even make threats

the guards may pay him a visit if you report his behaviour etc

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

The guy could be on drugs, you never know what will happen.
    But it has to be said, 99% of the time a quiet, reasonable word will help, wading in with fists swinging and shouting will not solve anything.
    A confrontation doesn't have to be ugly, always start friendly first.

I don't know where he lives so I can't visit his house. If the guy is the sort of lad who would make a gesture like that to a woman with a child in the car then I suspect there maybe no point in "chatting" to him I think.

I will visit the guards tomorrow with is details. I have the name, the area where he lives and the UK reg and make and model of the car. I know part of the address from when I had my "meeting" with him on the road. Not sure what he was doing down here as the general area he is from is 20 miles from us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,546 ✭✭✭An Ri rua

You are 100% correct. Making a gesture like that to a woman and a mother with child present means that the normal rules of engagement and decency don't apply.

I know what I'd do. And the path I'd take would necessitate not telling the Gardaí so as to distance me. But you don't sound like a hothead at all. I too, have used the Gardaí often and they are exemplary at nipping bad driving in the bud. I also ring the Gardaí to ensure my own exemplary behaviour and to nip my demon temper in the bud!!

Don't be afraid to assert yourself. You're longer on the planet, longer driving, have more roadcraft and have more to lose than this 'child-man'. You're doing him a favour reporting him asap. You may not be the only complainer either! Gardaí won't need a court-case and statements. Very often they already know who you're talking about and WILL have a word in his ear. When I think of all of the times I almost killed myself and others in my 20s (company 205 XRAD)....... ThanK God I learned by crashing a bike at 100mph. But rude gestures to innocent drivers?? F*CK that.

@gophur questions your venting and seeking support / clarification of thoughts? You have it from many here I am sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 814 ✭✭✭JerCotter7

What a tool. I'm only 20 and I nearly just reverse every time I meet anyone on a small road. Usually ends up being quicker :P I'd just report it and be done with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

Maybe it would be worth finding out how this persons parents are, a young person like this would more than likely be a named driver on his parents insurance. This is the card I would play.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,271 ✭✭✭✭johngalway

yop wrote: »
    I will visit the guards tomorrow with is details. I have the name, the area where he lives and the UK reg and make and model of the car. I know part of the address from when I had my "meeting" with him on the road. Not sure what he was doing down here as the general area he is from is 20 miles from us.

Make a written complaint or your wasting your own time as they don't have to follow anything else up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 956 ✭✭✭Mike...

Last time I checked facebook it displayed someone's name not a UK car reg, you got his name should be handy enough find out where he lives, drive past write down his new reg...hey presto

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

cofy wrote: »
    Maybe it would be worth finding out how this persons parents are, a young person like this would more than likely be a named driver on his parents insurance. This is the card I would play.

Depends on the parents, Some of them have been known to be worse than their offspring.. Simply no talking to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Theres always one idiot that gives young drivers a bad name. I wasn't an angel myself but at least I had manners!

OP a little chat might work failing that a great stunt is to crawl up the road infront of them in first gear at tickover. That quietens down most yobos :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

dgt wrote: »
    OP a little chat might work failing that a great stunt is to crawl up the road infront of them in first gear at tickover. That quietens down most yobos :pac:

or make them try some stupid overtaking manover where they could end up hurting someone..

op just ask your local guard to have a quiet word with him, complaining to his parents or confronting him yourself will do nothing

sean1141 wrote: »
    or make them try some stupid overtaking manover where they could end up hurting someone..

On a narrow country road like the OP has described thats near impossible

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

dgt wrote: »
    On a narrow country road like the OP has described thats near impossible

true but then again there are a lot of wide entrances to farms etc on country roads where a twat like the op descriped might attempt to overtake. the guards are there for this kind of thing. no point in taking the law into your own hands.

Touche on the wide enterances to farms and estates....

Its not really taking the law into your own hands, its driving very, very slow.

I rarely see gardai on narrow roads like that and unless you have a dash cam or witnesses its pretty much his word against yours (although theyll more than likely take your word in this scenario :pac:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,256 ✭✭✭deandean

Report him to the guards for threatning & abusive behaviour.
    He'll probably kill himself shortly anyhow, another late night crash statistic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,972 ✭✭✭cofy

vectra wrote: »
    Depends on the parents, Some of them have been known to be worse than their offspring.. Simply no talking to them

Agreed - but when it's pointed out to them that an accident resulting from their son acting the maggot, would hike up their insurance premium and affect their pockets they might think differently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

some people can go and give someone a stern warning or a kick up the arse

you can end up even worse off if you're not the type or they're unreasonable ime

out the country the guards will call if you complain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,237 ✭✭✭✭djimi

If he is local then chances are the guards already know who he is. We had a similar problem out my way a few years ago; same thing with some dickhead teenager treating a narrow back road that he lived on like a rally track. Few locals reported him to the local guard, who paid him a visit one night for a quite chat. Not sure what he said to him but the problem went away pretty quickly.

Dont get involved yourself but definately report him to the guards. Even just his name and the make, model and color of the car. Like I said, chances are theyll know who you mean. Do not confront him, either at his house or on the road; the last thing you want is for an incident to get nasty as it well might.

Thanks for all the advice lads/girls.

I rang the guards and explained what happened. I mentioned the name and they said "A4 by any chance?", so it seems he has bee reported already.

They will visit him tonight. If it helps stop him killing himself or others then fair enough, but the next time it happens the ladeen will have another problem on his hands.

anyway, thanks again for the advice.

Safe driving ;)