Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wheelie bins and idiots

• Registered Users Posts: 9,366 ✭✭✭ninty9er

The reality is the non-student residents complain to the Union because nobody else will listen. Particular residents have told my predecessors as much.

By adopting the same approach I can focus on doing what students pay me to do.

What makes you think the Students' Union is all of a sudden the residents' union? You don't pay my salary and you sure as hell don't have a say in how the organisation is run.

As far as I am concerned the students come to Castletroy to attend UL, not to join ULSU.

I will deal with anyone rational, but I've wasted time talking to people who blame nobody else but students because it's not politically correct to blame anyone else.

I will not be embarrassed into dealing with the ignorant simply because there is nothing embarrassing about pointing out the fact that ULSU has no method of resolving your issues. The embarrassing thing is that for over a decade non-student residents have not listened to that message, yet someone. Ones onto this forum and calls it ridiculous that people are doing specialised PhD research.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

ninty9er wrote: »
    The reality is the non-student residents complain to the Union because nobody else will listen. Particular residents have told my predecessors as much.

By adopting the same approach I can focus on doing what students pay me to do.

Was there not a thread looking for a room to hold meeting to deal with problems?
    What makes you think the Students' Union is all of a sudden the residents' union? You don't pay my salary and you sure as hell don't have a say in how the organisation is run.

o_O
    As far as I am concerned the students come to Castletroy to attend UL, not to join ULSU.

Student have to join the union when they attend UL. We don't have a choice
    I will deal with anyone rational, but I've wasted time talking to people who blame nobody else but students because it's not politically correct to blame anyone else.
    I agree student should not take all the blame but a lot of trouble in the area caused by students. Would it not help the SU to hold events without having to fight the local population and the guards?
    I will not be embarrassed into dealing with the ignorant simply because there is nothing embarrassing about pointing out the fact that ULSU has no method of resolving your issues. The embarrassing thing is that for over a decade non-student residents have not listened to that message, yet someone. Ones onto this forum and calls it ridiculous that people are doing specialised PhD research.
    ULSU has methods the talks that ye had, sabbats looking into the issues etc. They won't slove the peoblem as you can't stop people from being stupid. As I said before you have given up from what I gather from your posts not saying that you are not working hard at the problem I don't know.
    It has dishearted me to see these types of post coming from the president of the student union.

• Registered Users Posts: 97 ✭✭brucechan

in all fairness who said anything about the SU being a residents union? i'm no tree hugger but i hate seeing the glass and litter too.

students get a lot of blame, because they are to blame for a lot of the damage. it would be silly to suggest otherwise.

also, i don't think anyone is looking for the SU to resolve the issues, but some continuous visible gestures (such as the mnms) would probably go a long way towards getting non-student residents off your back.

what's the phd research you mention? i'd like to learn more....

i think you are having difficulty defending the indefensible 99er! (that's not a personal go at you, i mean that in your professional position).

• Registered Users Posts: 80 ✭✭seen2Bgreen

the residents association did a clean up last Saturday (street reps did their own area i have been informed). probably bad timing with Charity Week following but at least they did it.
    Ninetyniner, will the SU be organising a clean up of the all the broken glass around the place, or is that the job of the county council, residents, gardai, (or anyone else except the UL students who pay you to represent them?)