Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What would you offer for this BMW?

• 08-02-2012 11:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭

http://www.joeduffy.ie/mobile/used-cars/search/3266/bmw-3-series

Currently on sale for €14,995 for 07 3 series.

Would €13,000 be a reasonable offer?

There are other ones for sale privately and with Indie dealers at a lower price but I'm thinking of going to main dealer for peace of mind.

What do you think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Without seeing a picture I wouldn't offer the steam off my pi$$ :D.

No description of spec level or fitted options, rubbish advert and a disgrace for anyone professionally selling cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,374 ✭✭✭Saab Ed

For an 07 petrol bummer. You'd have to be certifiable. That thing has a very limited market these days. 10 grand on a good day, a lot less IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,126 ✭✭✭✭Idbatterim

Op, what are you driving now? why a 3 series? also take a read of the below, if you are going for pre 08, there is no difference in tax between the 318 and 320, virtually no difference in fuel, but big enough difference in hp. did a quick comparative price check and LOL at 14,995 for that car! its not even an msport. Would you consider a 5 series? You buy that car for say 13k and go and try and trade it in at dealer or sell privately and ill tell you now, you would lose several thousand overnight, guaranteed. Bear in mind the new 3 series is about to go on sale also... cant believe the povo spec on most of them on carzone, can accept most of them dont have leather, just about... but no mfsw!

the below seemed quite good to me...

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2984035

just thought id put this beauty in here OP, might be food for thought...

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=30968

the 3 series your looking at dont come close to that masterpiece... look at the looks, the spec, beautiful straight 6 engine... MASTERPIECE!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

Knock 6 grand off that and you're into reasonable territory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 634 ✭✭✭JustLen

Very quick browse one of the first I came across.
    1 owner and 2 years test for 6k less

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2855555

That one in Duffy's is crazy money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭looking4advice

the_syco wrote: »
    I think it is a different car. Ad says black with leather on carzone.

Thanks for all your replies. I currently don't have a car as it was written off a while back.

I am looking at 07 3 series because I was told that 08 models and newer had issues with ED(efficient dynamics) and the also the fact of a higher tax in 08+ models would lead to better bargains in 07 models (less people interest in them).

I have been looking for a few months and i was hopeful of getting it sorted this month as I feel it is a good month to buy.

My current proposed driving is very minimal. I do not have a commute to work and would only need it a few times during the week for short trips. I live in dublin city centre. The lack of a car is limiting my options to view so just looking in Dublin at present.

My missus and I are both from the west so we would do a 400+km(return trip) at least once a month. I don't think that mileage would justify a diesel.

My wife is also learning to drive at the moment so Id prefer to leave out the 5 series. There is a baby on the way as well.

I'll confess that I am relatively clueless about cars and I'd welcome all your thoughts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,863 ✭✭✭RobAMerc

If your wife is only learning to drive and you have a young one on the way I strongly suggest an automatic. It's just one less thing to worry about while she is driving and will have her pick it up much quicker ( tine is a ticken )

This might give you an idea of what you could look at also, if you are not into driving you'll not notice any loss from the BMW.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2964861

btw 2008 has both tax systems so it won't be any more expensive.

this one is fairly poor spec, you'd probably want leather at least.

RobAMerc wrote: »
    If your wife is only learning to drive and you have a young one on the way I strongly suggest an automatic. It's just one less thing to worry about while she is driving and will have her pick it up much quicker ( tine is a ticken )

This might give you an idea of what you could look at also, if you are not into driving you'll not notice any loss from the BMW.
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2964861

btw 2008 has both tax systems so it won't be any more expensive.

this one is fairly poor spec, you'd probably want leather at least.

I think i'd like her to learn on a manual, otherwise she never will be able to drive one. I will definitely get an auto after my next car though.

I suppose the new car does not have to be a 3 series but it is the one we have set our minds on getting. What is the Mercedes equivalent by the way?

For the 3 series - this is what I'm looking for:
    07 model, leather interior preferably cream, low mileage, SE model (dont want the M Sport), Dublin based(can't travel at the moment), manual, petrol, saloon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,326 ✭✭✭Bearcat

Your a rare commodity OP. cash buyer.....the world is your oyster. If I was you I'd be done dealing it, private ads forums like octane, BMW, etc.....there's folks out there hurting like cut cats, their loss is your gain. For piece of mind if your not 100% into cars, I'd spend the loot with the AA on the car your find getting a full mechanical check and don't forget to ensure finance is cleared. Finance issues can look complicated but it's generally a draught to the finance company to the € outstanding & the rest to the seller.

Then with your new purchase, get it fully serviced by an independent specialist. ( forget about what the seller says, fully serviced etc.....this is usually b/s.)

You'll save thousands doing the above as against going into a dealer who will ride you bare back......all your doing there is paying for their overheads and warranty.

Besta luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

First of all I think you'd be mad getting a relatively new BMW with an auto box for your wife to learn on. Buy something cheap and manual for that imo. A 2000 reg fiesta comes to mind, but really any small car would do. Learning in an automatic in this country just doesn't make sense imo.

Bearcat wrote: »
    Your a rare commodity OP. cash buyer.....the world is your oyster. If I was you I'd be done dealing it, private ads forums like octane, BMW, etc.....there's folks out there hurting like cut cats, their loss is your gain. For piece of mind if your not 100% into cars, I'd spend the loot with the AA on the car your find getting a full mechanical check and don't forget to ensure finance is cleared. Finance issues can look complicated but it's generally a draught to the finance company to the € outstanding & the rest to the seller.

Then with your new purchase, get it fully serviced by an independent specialist. ( forget about what the seller says, fully serviced etc.....this is usually b/s.)

You'll save thousands doing the above as against going into a dealer who will ride you bare back......all your doing there is paying for their overheads and warranty.

Besta luck.

Yeah. I think I'll stay away from the main dealers now. I do realise it is a buyers market(I will be cash buyer as well) but I am a bit hamstrung with the lack of a car to drive around and limiting myself to Dublin.

I know of an BMW mechanic (Indie) and he will be looking over any car before purchases. I will do all the cartell checks myself re finance.

Not many ones standing out at the moment. Must keep looking!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I think i'd like her to learn on a manual, otherwise she never will be able to drive one. I will definitely get an auto after my next car though.

I suppose the new car does not have to be a 3 series but it is the one we have set our minds on getting. What is the Mercedes equivalent by the way?

For the 3 series - this is what I'm looking for:
    07 model, leather interior preferably cream, low mileage, SE model (dont want the M Sport), Dublin based(can't travel at the moment), manual, petrol, saloon.

Why do you want your wife to learn on a manual? With a kid on the way and driving in Dulin for a learner can be very stressful. An auto would take a lot of the stress away, not only for your wife but for you too.

I would never have a manual if driving in Dulin would be your main driving, all that traffic and 30km speed limits.

As for cream and kids…mmmm, could get dirty real quick. Leather is good though, as is easy to clean child muck.

Stuff to think about I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭Satanta

mad muffin wrote: »
    Why do you want your wife to learn on a manual? With a kid on the way and driving in Dulin for a learner can be very stressful. An auto would take a lot of the stress away, not only for your wife but for you too.

I would never have a manual if driving in Dulin would be your main driving, all that traffic and 30km speed limits.

As for cream and kids…mmmm, could get dirty real quick. Leather is good though, as is easy to clean child muck.

I think if you do your test in an auto then that's all you are licenced to drive. Learn in a manual and do the test in it. Then you have the choice.

Satanta wrote: »
    mad muffin wrote: »

I think if you do your test in an auto then that's all you are licenced to drive. Learn in a manual and do the test in it. Then you have the choice.

That would be my reasoning as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Correct, my sister's first car was an auto and she's only certified to drive automatics on her full license whereas I can drive both..

I get the point about her never being able to drive a manual but - a woman in the family way and soon after a woman with a new born does not need the stress of learning to drive a manual.

get her out, on the road, confident she can drive before introducing the complexities of manual ( something most Irish drivers never get if you ask me ) It is vital that she learns how to "drive" the car ie handle traffic etc. Learning to operate the car is a complexity she does not need.
    A lot of the people I see driving are too busy trying to figure out how to operate it ( i.e. what gear should I be in next ) to actually drive it.

Also -there is no reason you need a manual in dublin, you said yourself you've no interest in cars - you don't care that a manual is better on the track or through a series of bends - you only want to get from a to b - make life simple for ye both, or she'll never learn to drive ( way too much going on ! )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,671 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

ah jaysus Joe ......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Yeah I know but OP says his next car is going to be auto anyway…

Besides, driving a manual in the city centre day in day out is like, Fogetaboutit!!:pac:

She would be mad to learn in an auto, much better off learning in a manual, you will always have the option in future and it's just better in general to have learned how to drive a car properly you never know when you might want to borrow a car, drive a friends car etc etc.

Also its not flying a space shuttle its changing gears, its not difficult to learn.

haha - tell that to 90% of the twonks in this country who seem to be too busy operating the machinery to drive the car properly.

Anyway - there is nothing to stop her going to learn how to drive a manual at any point she feels like it.
    Learning while pregnant and soon to be trying to be ferrying about their "little angel" is NOT the time to be learning - make it as plain and simple as possible to she may get frightened off and never drive at all.

I am 21 years driving this year have done millions of miles and I was sh*tting myself the first few months driving my new son about - imagine trying to learn at the same time, stupid if you ask me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,157 ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

We're all going a bit OT here maybe. Ultimately its up to the OP if they want an auto, so OP let us know.

I learned to drive initially in an automatic, I spent a couple if months on my provisional in one. And tbh, I found it didn't help much at all. Once gears were thrown in the mix it felt like I was relearning everything from scratch. The experience I had really didn't help me all that much at all.

The difficulty/stress associated with gears seems to be massively overstated in this thread imo.

My solution to this would be to buy a cheap 1.0 something or another, use that to learn on and sell it on when done with the test. Buy the BMW whenever, but using it as a learner car is a bit mental. This may not be feasible of course.

We're all going a bit OT here maybe. Ultimately its up to the OP if they want an auto, so OP let us know.

I learned to drive initially in an automatic, I spent a couple if months on my provisional in one. And tbh, I found it didn't help much at all. Once gears were thrown in the mix it felt like I was relearning everything from scratch. The experience I had really didn't help me all that much at all.

The difficulty/stress associated with gears seems to be massively overstated in this thread imo.

My solution to this would be to buy a cheap 1.0 something or another, use that to learn on and sell it on when done with the test. Buy the BMW whenever, but using it as a learner car is a bit mental. This may not be feasible of course.

I definitely dont want her to learn in the Auto as she will never be able for a manual. I dont want to just buy '00 car for the sake of it. She will be doing lessons with a proper instructor in his car.

She has driven on the road already. She just needs to get better.

Thanks for all your suggestions though!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 439 ✭✭Carstuck

I agree with Alanstainor, a small car is optimal to learn how to drive on, a large saloon can be difficult for learning to drive on for reversing and parking comparing to a fiesta, corsa etc. Learning how to use manual gears is simple once you understand the basics, its really just practice after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

RobAMerc wrote: »
    I get the point about her never being able to drive a manual but - a woman in the family way and soon after a woman with a new born does not need the stress of learning to drive a manual.

What the hell are you on about, it's moving your leg and arm in co-ordination, it's not that fecking hard. In fact, that's probably the least difficult thing about learning to drive. There's a little trickiness in getting used to biting point, changing gears, etc etc, but really, learning to drive is stressful because you haven't really got a clue what you're doing and you're in charge of a 1+ ton vehicle, and most of the stress comes from a lack of confidence that you can actually control it properly and not hit something, that and the sheer amount of idiots on the roads. Either way, it doesn't matter if it's manual or auto, you'll still be in charge of a vehicle and encounter lots of idiots on the roads. So I don't buy this "driving a manual is stressful" lark

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2986681

ticks all your boxes Op, except low mileage (118k) and 06 not 07 (only difference is the number on the plate) asking E6900.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

My mate bought a 2009 LCI one from the same dealer with a quarter of the milage for around that price. I think maybe somebody was having a stroke when they put that ad up. TCH the 318i for city driving and low milage drivers makes a lot of sense. They can be had for little money.

Idbatterim wrote: »
    http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2986681

ticks all your boxes Op, except low mileage (118k) and 06 not 07 (only difference is the number on the plate) asking E6900.

Thanks Idbatterim. That is the type of car i'd be looking for but I'd prefer mileage below 60,000.

p.s. I'm staying silent on the Auto v Manual argument that is bubbling!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,360 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

How about this one OP, I know it is 2006 but has low mileage and leather. Colour combo is not to my taste but that may not be relevant to you:
    http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201150206071382

Still a bit steeply priced but the seller says it is negotiable.

hey Op, i appreciate the mileage is on high side, but that is priced into the asking price, ok the below which the above poster linked to, is directly comparable.

same year, spec etc.

its asking 3k more. Ill tell you the main cost with the likes of the expensively priced examples like you originally linked to, alot of people would think tax and fuel are the major costs, they arent! the depreciation will be so steep, that the tax and fuel wont even register as a blip on the radar!

Op, take a read of the below

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_3_Series_(E90)

notice how the 318 and 320 tax are the same, from 05,06,07 yet there is a 21bhp difference.

318i EUR 2005–2007 2.0 L I4 129 PS (95 kW; 127 bhp) 180 N·m (133 lb·ft) 10.0 s

320i EUR 2005–2007 2.0 L I4 150 PS (110 kW; 148 bhp) 200 N·m (148 lb·ft) 9.0 s

Ill stay out of the manual v auto debate also, but the auto will use more fuel and be slower...

Having taken serious depreciation hit on my last beemer, im prepared to share my experience so you dont end up thousands down come this time next year!

Honestly though, that black one with 67k i linked to seems to be a great car / potential buy.

in relation to the below, this one is still going at 150k miles, i have been in the likes of mondeo, avensis 4 pot cabs recently with 300-350k on clock! Id take a properly serviced high mileage engine than a neglected low mileage one anyday!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2969853

hey Op, i appreciate the mileage is on high side, but that is priced into the asking price, ok the below which the above poster linked to, is directly comparable.

same year, spec etc.

its asking 3k more. Ill tell you the main cost with the likes of the expensively priced examples like you originally linked to, alot of people would think tax and fuel are the major costs, they arent! the depreciation will be so steep, that the tax and fuel wont even register as a blip on the radar!

Op, take a read of the below

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/BMW_3_Series_(E90)

notice how the 318 and 320 tax are the same, from 05,06,07 yet there is a 21bhp difference.

318i EUR 2005–2007 2.0 L I4 129 PS (95 kW; 127 bhp) 180 N·m (133 lb·ft) 10.0 s

320i EUR 2005–2007 2.0 L I4 150 PS (110 kW; 148 bhp) 200 N·m (148 lb·ft) 9.0 s

Ill stay out of the manual v auto debate also, but the auto will use more fuel and be slower...

Having taken serious depreciation hit on my last beemer, im prepared to share my experience so you dont end up thousands down come this time next year!

Honestly though, that black one with 67k i linked to seems to be a great car / potential buy.

in relation to the below, this one is still going at 150k miles, i have been in the likes of mondeo, avensis 4 pot cabs recently with 300-350k on clock! Id take a properly serviced high mileage engine than a neglected low mileage one anyday!

http://cars.donedeal.ie/for-sale/cars/2969853

Sorry batterim - what link for "the black one with 67K"?

http://www.driving.ie/usedcars/index.cfm?fuseaction=car&carID=201203206607855

What would you offer for this one? It looks immaculate...

Other than the leather seats and window frame chrome surround, it's a bog standard ES model. Not worth anywhere near what the seller is asking for it imo.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Other than the leather seats and window frame chrome surround, it's a bog standard ES model. Not worth anywhere near what the seller is asking for it imo.

€11k?

hey op, thats the link for black one, I think its well priced, good spec i.e mfsw, leather etc and its the 320 not the 318. From all the ones I have seen, it appears to be the best by far in terms of value for money.

It does look the best on offer so far in this thread.

i reckon in a year with the one the op linked to, that it might achieve 7.5k with private sale, god knows what dealer would offer!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

The 318i isn't a bad car and will have plenty of power for around town with reasonable economy. Comparing that car in Joe Duffy with cars a year older with double the miles and no warranty isn't a fair comparison, but I agree that it is priced too high

This one has a 2 year warranty that can be extended if you want, and should have 330 tax rather than 660. It also has leather, multi function m sport wheel and 17 alloys (but doesn't have the PDC or climate standard on an SE). He is asking €16k but with demand for petrols so bad he would be foolish not to take 14/15k

http://www.bmw.ie/ie/en/usedvehicles/2010/overview.html

Casati wrote: »
    The 318i isn't a bad car and will have plenty of power for around town with reasonable economy. Comparing that car in Joe Duffy with cars a year older with double the miles and no warranty isn't a fair comparison, but I agree that it is priced too high

This one has a 2 year warranty that can be extended if you want, and should have 330 tax rather than 660. It also has leather, multi function m sport wheel and 17 alloys (but doesn't have the PDC or climate standard on an SE). He is asking €16k but with demand for petrols so bad he would be foolish not to take 14/15k

http://www.bmw.ie/ie/en/usedvehicles/2010/overview.html[/QUOTE]

That link doesnt seem to be specific?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭Casati

Casati wrote: »

http://www.bmw.ie/ie/en/usedvehicles/2010/overview.html[/QUOTE]

That link doesnt seem to be specific?

Sorry about that, it looks like you need to search by 3 series 2008, sort by price and its the one for €15950

BMW 3 Series 318i Edition ES (2008)
    Model: 3 Series 318i Edition ES Engine: 2.0 Petrol Price: €15,975 Location: Bolands BMW
    Cork Road, Waterford
    Tel: 353 051 872122
    086 0671169
    Email: reception@bolands.com Year: 2008 Colour: Metallic Carbon Black Mileage: 36,975 miles / 59,505 kilometers Doors: 4 Comments: Beige Dakota Leather, Speedometer w/ KMH readout, Leather interior, Metallic paint, Multi-function controls for s'wheel, V Spoke Style 188 8/8.5Jx17, Brushed Aluminium Trim, M Steering Wheel, BMW Professional radio with single CD, CD changer preparation, Floor mats. velour, Edition ES.

the above is true, but the 07 isnt an msport and its a 318i and would have been several thousand less to purchase than the 06 i linked to. Now in the interest of fairness, i called joeduffy and it has same spec as the 06, i.e mfsw and climate control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

I would be trying to find a 320i, if you're going to pay 2.0 tax you might as well get 2.0 levels of power. That said I'd take a 318i over a 316i any day of the week - now there is a pointless car if ever there was one.

I agree with everyone that says the OP's missus should learn in a manual - we are not in America and therefore we do not consider operating a car with three pedals to be equivalent to sending a rocket to the moon!

If the car does not have auto stop/start then it does not have Efficient Dynamics (assuming you're going for a manual), that's how you'll know what to buy and what to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,788 ✭✭✭Vikings

I'm just going to leave this link here to show you what kind of car you can get for that money.

http://www.bmw-driver.net/forum/showthread.php?t=30406

If that is still for sale you could get a good deal on it now I would imagine. Don't limit yourself to year/fuel type/mileage. Find the best car you can and haggle.

I would be trying to find a 320i, if you're going to pay 2.0 tax you might as well get 2.0 levels of power. That said I'd take a 318i over a 316i any day of the week - now there is a pointless car if ever there was one.
    exactly made this point already, 21bhp in difference exactly same tax and virtually the same fuel. The 318 is pointless...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

exactly made this point already, 21bhp in difference exactly same tax and virtually the same fuel. The 318 is pointless...

Still less pointless than the 316i though;)!