Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has anyone bought the r11s/rbz yet. What do ye think?

• 08-02-2012 10:03am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭

The title says it all really. I'm just wondering if anyone has made the splash yet and of those that has what do you guys think?
    I have the burner2.0 and love it, so I guess if I changed the rbz would be aimed more at me(mid to higher handicappers) but I'm actually not a fan of adjustability. The only exception I'd make is the loft adj on the hosel like in the r11 rescue's. I like the way I can set the club up a little for higher ball flight. But I like to imagine what I've done wrong myself if my drives are off line.
    But that said I do prefer the look of the r11s over the rbz.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 535 ✭✭✭golfnut1

I was fitted for an rbz fairway on Monday. Hate the name. Not crazy about the looks but results were the best with this but didn't see an extra 17 yards I'm afraid.
    Not mad about this club at the moment and not a fan of the white but the flight was exactly what I was looking for so ill just get over the name and the looks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 802 ✭✭✭m r c

golfnut1 wrote: »
    I was fitted for an rbz fairway on Monday. Hate the name. Not crazy about the looks but results were the best with this but didn't see an extra 17 yards I'm afraid.
    Not mad about this club at the moment and not a fan of the white but the flight was exactly what I was looking for so ill just get over the name and the looks.

I'd be surprised if the white doesn't grow on you. I was the same last year it just looked all wrong and esp with the burner because it looks really drawn back at address. But at the minute I'd be hard pressed to use a black driver I've gotten fond of the white woods.

After spending the cash ill make sure it grows on me. The sham of admitting you 3w is called a rocketballz now that's going to take some time to get over. It have an old titleist head cover ill put on it!!.
    I really wanted to hate this club but its not all bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 446 ✭✭WacoKid

Bought the Rbz 3-wood 15 degrees. No doubt it goes far but also a bit high for me. The Rbz tour is 13 degress and in hindsight...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭Tones69

Going to the mcguirks demo/fitting day in march for the 3wd, will have to be an absolute peach to knock the pink lady outta the bag though! :)

The name is an absolute joke, but at least it says rbz on the head, looked at one in mcguirks last week, nice job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 395 ✭✭TheRoomWrecker

got fitted for the 3wood with the aldila rip 70 shaft (low spin shaft) and it added an average of 12yard via track man from the 3wood I'm using, the name is such a put off though, will think about it come the next pay day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

A fool and his money.

Looking forward to trawling through the second hand stuff at the end of the month.

Nomnomnom

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15 pressurecooker

Tones69 wrote: »
    Going to the mcguirks demo/fitting day in march for the 3wd, will have to be an absolute peach to knock the pink lady outta the bag though! :)

The name is an absolute joke, but at least it says rbz on the head, looked at one in mcguirks last week, nice job

where is that demo day taking place - am looking to replace my 3 wood, and wouldn't mind having a try of the various options available...

agree regarding the name - really terrrible, and definitely a bit offputting !

where is that demo day taking place - am looking to replace my 3 wood, and wouldn't mind having a try of the various options available...

agree regarding the name - really terrrible, and definitely a bit offputting !

In or around march 16th i think, give them a call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭denishurley

I played with a 6 handicapper yesterday in a foursomes, he was hitting a new RBZ, was nice and straight but not especially long, was continually outdriven by his 14-hcap partner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭saintastic

I played with a 6 handicapper yesterday in a foursomes, he was hitting a new RBZ, was nice and straight but not especially long, was continually outdriven by his 14-hcap partner

If the 14 handicapper was the one with the RBZ would you then think it was a good club??

Whats all this "i see 6 hcappers being outdriven by 10 hcappers" and so on so forth, means absolutely nothing. Distance is basically clubhead speed and contact, simple as that, if you have a swing speed of 110 with the driver you are going to outdrive the guy with the 100mph swing every single time, obviously taking into account both have the same good contact on the ball with the right shaft fitted etc etc, 110mph swing wont go very far if you have shyte contact.

I know plenty of older guys around the 55/60 mark and are low single digit golfers, 230/240 max drive, off single figures,stellar short games. Laughing at the guys hitting it 50 yards past them off the tee and still making bogey, golf is a game of accuracy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭Borisss

Already popping up on Adverts & Done Deal.

#shocked

Borisss wrote: »
    Already popping up on Adverts & Done Deal.

#shocked
    That is madness. I can't think why you'd buy one if it has to be moved on at a loss so quick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,317 ✭✭✭big_drive

Perhaps some are unwanted prizes/gifts. Or worse still fakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Has anyone tried the rbz irons? Opinions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

50 pages on the irons alone... Lap it up

http://www.thehackersparadise.com/forum/showthread.php?28248-TaylorMade-RBZ-Irons-Review-Forum...

purchased the new rbz driver on Saturday....got to try it fully yesterday. First thing I noticed is how extremely light the club is. Feels like your swinging fresh air which is a little disconcerting at first. Distance is highly noticeable though. Had the loft set to'lower' and my God when you strike, the ball certainly travels. Received delivery of the rescue today so will let you know how that works out but on initial findings with the driver, so far so good

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

I have the Irons ordered ,

Got fitted for them in Focus golf in Newbridge,

2 Degree lie adjustment and thicker grips with a reg flex,

I test maybe 5 different sets of Irons and the RBZ's outperformed everything else for me.

Currently have a set of Callaway Big Berthas that I picked up second hand last year to see if I was going to really get into the game again.

Any way was getting an extra 14 yards from the RBZ 6 Iron with a grouping within 10 yards,

Strangely enough with the Callaway Razer Irons I was getting about 6 yards less than my current set and all the other were a couple of yards here or there with groupings ranging from 15-26 yards.

Cant wait to get them now !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

m r c wrote: »
    That is madness. I can't think why you'd buy one if it has to be moved on at a loss so quick.

Its because people realize after forking all that money out, that the new club they thought would magically turn their game around, hasn't..

In saying that, I picked one up off the shelve on Saturday just to have a look at it and I thought the head was very big.

I dont carry a fairway wood, but it looked about the size a driver was around 5-6 years ago.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

i think there's a demo for the RBZ up in Stepaside driving range tomorrow night.
    Will be up there in a while and will confirm later.

In saying that, I picked one up off the shelve on Saturday just to have a look at it and I thought the head was very big.

I dont carry a fairway wood, but it looked about the size a driver was around 5-6 years ago.

Yeah the standard rbz is massive, way too big

purchased the new rbz driver on Saturday....got to try it fully yesterday. First thing I noticed is how extremely light the club is. Feels like your swinging fresh air which is a little disconcerting at first. Distance is highly noticeable though. Had the loft set to'lower' and my God when you strike, the ball certainly travels. Received delivery of the rescue today so will let you know how that works out but on initial findings with the driver, so far so good

Nice one glad to hear it went well for ya. That's the exact same impression I got when I first used the burner 2 the lightness your talking about gave me the feeling of being able to swing faster which gave me more distance. I tested the rbz driver since I started this thread and it didn't make me splash tbh. But one of my mates reckons the best job with clubs is to buy only every 2nd generation because when you cut though the hype they do tend to improve but not enough to warrant buying every year. Now there are examples where that's probably wrong but I am starting to see his point.

It's probably like that to make it easier to hit off the tee. A 3 wood off the deck is one of the harder shots nowadays IMO. I play with a good few guys that don't bother taking them on and the standard RBZ is probably aimed at people like that. Anyway head size is only a side issue shaft length in 3 woods is crazy these days that's what makes them so hard hit

Its because people realize after forking all that money out, that the new club they thought would magically turn their game around, hasn't..

Ha I'd be either too thick/stupid to give in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Wouldn't buy a fairway wood or driver with stock shafts ever again. You never know what you're going to get unless you demo one extensively first. Have a 3 wood RBZ on the way Wednesday with the same shaft I have in my Burner 2.0 5 wood. I know I'll get what I want from it, looking forward to getting my hands on it.

m r c wrote: »

It's probably like that to make it easier to hit off the tee. A 3 wood off the deck is one of the harder shots nowadays IMO. I play with a good few guys that don't bother taking them on and the standard RBZ is probably aimed at people like that. Anyway head size is only a side issue shaft length in 3 woods is crazy these days that's what makes them so hard hit

True. Taylormade in particular seem to go mad when it comes to standard shaft lengths.
    Regarding the size of the rbz. It seems to dwarf the golf ball which imo looks like it would be harder to hit than if it sat nice snug and neatly to the ball.
    I'm sure its just me though

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭heavyballs

heavyballs wrote: »
    i think there's a demo for the RBZ up in Stepaside driving range tomorrow night.
    Will be up there in a while and will confirm later.
    Titleist fitting 6th March
    Rbz and R11 16th March
    Ring 012898922 for appointment

• Closed Accounts Posts: 308 ✭✭Seves Three Iron

Just got a fitting for RBZ driver today and the guy in the shop convinced me not to buy it! Won't name shop (guy presumably wants to keep his job) but fair play to him, reckoned the launch monitor stats showed I could gain same increased yardage through a new shaft in current driver, 910 D2 (which they don't sell). He also pinted out that RBZ is 46'' long, an inch or two longer than standard. So while ball will go further it is naturally harder to hit it well. Bit like the 'wow, our new nine iron hits the ball 150 yards' marketing claim, which neglects to mention it's the same degree as an old eight iron.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 7,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭pistolpetes11

Just got a fitting for RBZ driver today and the guy in the shop convinced me not to buy it! Won't name shop (guy presumably wants to keep his job) but fair play to him, reckoned the launch monitor stats showed I could gain same increased yardage through a new shaft in current driver, 910 D2 (which they don't sell). He also pinted out that RBZ is 46'' long, an inch or two longer than standard. So while ball will go further it is naturally harder to hit it well. Bit like the 'wow, our new nine iron hits the ball 150 yards' marketing claim, which neglects to mention it's the same degree as an old eight iron.

You can guarantee that when your in the market for something else you will be going back to shop , The lad done well and provided you with excellent customer service , might not of made the sale today but could get a bigger one in the future .

Id name the store for sure , people are usually quick to complain give out about a store but its rare to hear many good stories like yours.

That's interesting. I have played two rounds now with the new driver, which admittedly I was not fitted for. I have hit two drives which could be described as 'astray'....the rest were headed for the fairway and added considerable distance when compared with my previous driver (r5 quad draw bias). Now I am far from an expert and what I have experienced could be described as a fluke. But I have to say the extra distance I am getting is definitely to my benefit. Hoping to use my new rbz rescue at some stage tomorrow. Hope I am as happy with that as i am the driver!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭neckedit

While the RBZ is an inch longer than the Titleist, at 46" rather than 45", its half an inch shorter than the Burner 2.0 and only a quarter inch longer than the R11s.Because the shaft are so light they can make them longer without affecting overall weight. therefore increasing club head speed and distance, Taylor Made shortened the shaft, in the RBZ, as consumer feedback said it was too long in the 2.0.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I picked up the Burner 2.0 before Christmas second hand ( used once ) for a bargain. Hitting it a mile, I'd be hard pushed to see how I could get any more distance from a driver :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

neckedit wrote: »
    While the RBZ is an inch longer than the Titleist, at 46" rather than 45", its half an inch shorter than the Burner 2.0 and only a quarter inch longer than the R11s.Because the shaft are so light they can make them longer without affecting overall weight. therefore increasing club head speed and distance, Taylor Made shortened the shaft, in the RBZ, as consumer feedback said it was too long in the 2.0.

It's fool acting really, Taylormade are obviously a shower of gob****es. Reminds me a bit of Apple, it's all marketing and selling.

Just got my RBZ Tour 3wood today.
    I was in the market for a new 3 wood as my old one that I've had for the last 4 year, well lets just say we fell out and both decided to part company. Anyway like I said was looking for a new 3 wood tested out the titleist 910, (which I thought I wanted) TM burner and a few others and then I was given this silly white club with an even more silly name "rocketballz". Well It performed the best of all so I went with it.
    Took it out for the first time today on my home course and was really impressed. The stand out thing for me was the very high launch and the really hot face. Was looking for a 3 wood with a high flight and maximum carry distance so if a green was in reach it would land soft and stay on it.
    Carry distance is well up with the rbz but due mainly to having it properly fitted. Is it +17 yards longer than a similarly spec'd 3 wood your guess is as good as mine but it dose feel very hot off the face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

I was in the market for a new 3 wood as my old one that I've had for the last 4 year, well lets just say we fell out and both decided to part company. Anyway like I said was looking for a new 3 wood tested out the titleist 910, (which I thought I wanted) TM burner and a few others and then I was given this silly white club with an even more silly name "rocketballz". Well It performed the best of all so I went with it.
    Took it out for the first time today on my home course and was really impressed. The stand out thing for me was the very high launch and the really hot face. Was looking for a 3 wood with a high flight and maximum carry distance so if a green was in reach it would land soft and stay on it.
    Carry distance is well up with the rbz but due mainly to having it properly fitted. Is it +17 yards longer than a similarly spec'd 3 wood your guess is as good as mine but it dose feel very hot off the face.

I'm fairly certain I'm going for one of these myself. Not the standard, but the Tour one.

How is the Tour one in terms of size? The Standard looks very big.

I'm totally put off by the small size of the Titleist one, and the Deep version gets all sorts of bad reviews, so I'm going with TM.

I'm fairly certain I'm going for one of these myself. Not the standard, but the Tour one.

How is the Tour one in terms of size? The Standard looks very big.

I'm totally put off by the small size of the Titleist one, and the Deep version gets all sorts of bad reviews, so I'm going with TM.

Well my old 3 wood was a titleist 906 so all modern 3 woods look big to me in comparison. The standard rbz is massive and the tour version is a little smaller but still a healthy size too. I'll get use to it.
    So far I'm happy with it and its cheaper than the 910 and r11s so its all good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,476 ✭✭✭ShriekingSheet

Well my old 3 wood was a titleist 906 so all modern 3 woods look big to me in comparison. The standard rbz is massive and the tour version is a little smaller but still a healthy size too. I'll get use to it.
    So far I'm happy with it and its cheaper than the 910 and r11s so its all good.

Grand. I'm happy enough hitting any size 3 wood off the deck. The low profile or very small models aren't suited to being hit off the tee, even tee'd low. I suppose it's personal preference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 432 ✭✭Hacker111

I bought the Tour 9 degree from Foregolf.... 3 rounds in and getting used to it... got a 45.75" shaft.... seems good so far..... I'll know more by end of the month when I am totally in tune with it ;)......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

Purchased the rbz's (driver/3wood/recovery) at the weekend and very impressed with them...It's been about 6-7 years since I played golf and clubs have changed immensely but I'm delighted with them...definitely getting more distance than I used but could be the same with all modern clubs...
    The 4w recovery is a beast though...fantastic distance and really nice to handle.

have to say the 4 rescue is something else. absolutely love the ball flight and the way the ball gets a soft landing on the green. As with the driver imo it hits the ball considerably further than the equivalent club i used previously (mizuno 7wd 22 deg). I think for me the big thing with these clubs is that there is excellent distance to be gained WITHOUT having to put much effort into your swing.....therefore you can concentrate on keeping your swing on plane etc... as a result i am defo hitting more fairways. (jeez i think i should apply to work in Taylormade marketing dept!!). Seriously though, very happy with them so far

Something to watch maybe, if your looking for extra distance from the new RBZ 3 wood....

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Taylormade demo day coming up in athlone in april - going to pop down for a look and see what they are like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 775 ✭✭✭Woodgate

Purchased a RBZ Tour 10.5 Stiff, about two weeks ago. I play off 4 (on a good day) and had been hitting my TM SuperQuad for the past 4-5 years and just couldn't get the perfect one to replace it. I have hit some super drives with the RBZ and my miss hits are not punished too badly at all. The Tour is slighty shorter in length then the standard RBZ and has an X-Con 6 shaft as opposed to the X-Con 5 in the standard. Overall I rate it very highly and the more I play with it I am really getting to send the ball where I want to. Hoping to buy the Tour 3 wood aswell but waiting for more feedback on it as lots of people are buying the fairways and hybrids in Regular flex, so i'd like to demo one or get someones review on same.

So if you're interested in a RBZ, I'd say go for it, but consider the Tour version aswell as the standard, as they are both the same price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

46" ,wtf :mad:
    Ludicrous.
    The current average driver shaft length on the PGA tour is 44.25" ,yet amateurs and hackers expect to swing a longer driver when they dont have the strength ,technique or timing for it.

I played golf with a guy with a new RBZ driver a few weeks ago.
    He was a short guy and was really struggling with his driver ,he could barely get it off the ground .
    Eventually I asked him for a look at his driver and I was shocked to see it was about an inch and a half longer than my own driver (Tour Burner).
    This guy was about 8 inches shorter than me swinging this ridiculous club .
    His swing was so flat it was unreal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,609 ✭✭✭Creasy_bear

I bought an R11 last week for €250. Still haven't had a chance to hit it though as I've not been out at all. I've spent the last couple of days reading about the rbz tour and I'm really regretting not buying that one instead.

What would a shop's thoughts be on returning the r11 for the rbz tour as the r11 were priced to clear?

Thinking of picking up the RBZ 3 wood tour today 14.5,

Was hitting a carry of 210-215 with it , which with no being a big hitter is good for me !

Hit my G15 usually 190-195 so there is improvement there , plus my grouping with it is a lot better.

Have the RBZ Irons about 6 weeks now , played maybe 8 rounds , 3 of the rounds were really good scoring over 40 points with me hitting my best round ever with an 83 the other rounds were not so hot but I was up in Focus golf getting a few pointers the other day and he spotted my hands were coming in behind the ball on the shorter irons rather than in front .

Going to work on this at the range but in all Im very happy with mine

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

there'll be no stopping you shorty Pete!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,140 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

A guy on Sunday took it out as a demo from the pro shop

Himself and another of our group used it the last 4 holes as their cards were muck. They were hitting very straight drives with a big carry and outdoing me. They hadnt outdrove me for the whole round

I have the Burner 2.0 but I might take it out for a practice to see what its like