Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cars on Carzone - why so expensive?

• 05-02-2012 8:56pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭

I'm (probably) buying a friends 2003 Audi A4 1.8T. It's got 100k miles up and the deal is that he'll give it to me for 500 quid cheaper than the average " asking price" for that car online.

The average asking price on donedeal for a car of that spec is about 3800. The average asking on carzone appears to be significantly higher - like, a grand or so higher.

Why is this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,106 ✭✭✭✭TestTransmission

More dealers/dreamers on carzone I would imagine?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,801 ✭✭✭✭Gary ITR

Adding the cost of the ad to the asking price. Advertising on carone went from being a little bit dear to nuts. Not sure where they are at now but a hell of a lot worse off than they were when they were charging 18quidish for an ad that stayed until it was sold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭pippip

This may sound odd but to me the whole donedeal site is very dodgy looking. There site should really be revamped. Carzone ads just seem more professional.

Looking at threads making fun of stupid ads on boards (bangernomics, cars in lakes, dreamers etc) they all seem to be donedeal.

To me:

Donedeal is like an car ad on the notice board of tesco

People willing to pay the money for carzone have more respect for the car they are selling.

I know which one I would be happier buying from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,718 ✭✭✭whippet

From personal experience of selling two cars in the last 12 months ... I had advertised on both donedeal and carzone ... Both sold through calls from donedeal ... They werent cheap cars either both about 15k

I think knowledgable buyers avoid carzone as the vast majority of cars are over priced

whippet wrote: »

I think knowledgable buyers avoid carzone as the vast majority of cars are over priced

knowledgeable buyers know what price it should be and negotiate to that ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,555 ✭✭✭antiskeptic

More dealers/dreamers on carzone I would imagine?

It was the private sales I was looking at

95k = euro 6200
    97k = euro 5000
    108k = euro 4750

vs. an average 3800k asking on DD

(edit: 3800 instead of 3600)

pippip wrote: »
    This may sound odd but to me the whole donedeal site is very dodgy looking. There site should really be revamped. Carzone ads just seem more professional.

Professonal but labourious. There's no search box on the home page and when you do have a search box and type in 'Audi 1.8T 2003' you get one result - a Renault Laguna.

With Done Deal you get straight to what you're looking for.

People willing to pay the money for carzone have more respect for the car they are selling. I know which one I would be happier buying from.

To the tune of a 30% or more increase in prices (assuming for the sake of discussion that the Audi A4 example detailed here is typical)??

I know which one I would be happier buying from. :)

I'm (probably) buying a friends 2003 Audi A4 1.8T. It's got 100k miles up and the deal is that he'll give it to me for 500 quid cheaper than the average " asking price" for that car online. .............

That's a really sh1t deal for you to be honest, I'd tell him to keep it if that's the deal he wants.

RoverJames wrote: »
    That's a really sh1t deal for you to be honest, I'd tell him to keep it if that's the deal he wants.

Not if the average online price is restricted to private ads on Done Deal - in which case I'd get it for 3.3k.

I imagine I'd have a hard time getting a similar car for that price and even if I did get it, I wouldn't have the security of knowing it's history in the way I do this one.

But if the average includes those on CarZone then yeah, I'd look further.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭working fool

I'm (probably) buying a friends 2003 Audi A4 1.8T. It's got 100k miles up and the deal is that he'll give it to me for 500 quid cheaper than the average " asking price" for that car online. .............

Yeah he's right
    A pretty clever move on ur buddy's behalf
    What people are looking , and what their getting can be two very different things

Not if the average online price is restricted to private ads on Done Deal - in which case I'd get it for 3.3k.............

It's not though ;)
    How long is that one up on donedeal? Have you rang the seller, they may well let it go for less than €3.3K.

If your buddy is buying his next car from a dealer using the cost to change info with and without the A4 would be a useful guide, the current valuation ye are using is a load of arse.

The crux of this is that you seem to really want your buddies A4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 79 ✭✭the varg

pippip wrote: »

Looking at threads making fun of stupid ads on boards (bangernomics, cars in lakes, dreamers etc) they all seem to be donedeal.

To me:

Donedeal is like an car ad on the notice board of tesco

People willing to pay the money for carzone have more respect for the car they are selling.

I know which one I would be happier buying from.

I agree DoneDeal is not as professional looking, having said that a friend of mine recently posted on Facebook that she noticed the car she had recently sold was on carzone with 20k less mileage than when she sold it. So I guess the lesson is cavet emptor

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Professonal but labourious. There's no search box on the home page and when you do have a search box and type in 'Audi 1.8T 2003' you get one result - a Renault Laguna.

With Done Deal you get straight to what you're looking for.

There's 2 search options on the Carzone homepage. And what the hell is an "Audi 1.8T"? Are you looking for a specific model or just all Audi's? :confused:

It's not though ;)

To clarify: I was referring to the average online asking price being restricted to cars that appear on DoneDeal.

If I do that and exclude Carzone then the average asking is 3.8K. If I include DoneDeal and Carzone then the average asking rises to 4.45k.

Reason to exclude Carzone from the off.

How long is that one up on donedeal? Have you rang the seller, they may well let it go for less than €3.3K. The crux of this is that you seem to really want your buddies A4.

It's not so much that I really want my buddies car (it's one of the more boring looking 1.8's tbh), it's more that I value insight into it's history - it's been in the family since 2006.

Sure, I could possibly squeeze a few more hundred off the very cheapest cars on the market but would have fuzzier insight into whether or not someone was unloading their trouble on me. A couple of hundred saving vs. that kind of peace of mind??

Yeah he's right
    A pretty clever move on ur buddy's behalf
    What people are looking , and what their getting can be two very different things

The assumption is that (at this price bracket) folk are getting circa 500 less than asking.

Unless folk are supposing that you can chop significantly more from what are already the bottom-priced cars on the market.

Remember too that time is money. There's a certain advantage in not having to traipse around looking at tat before you dig up a gem (which of course if possible)

How many 2003 A4 1.8T cars are on Carzone? How many on Donedeal?
    The assumption is that (at this price bracket) folk are getting circa 500 less than asking.

Unless folk are supposing that you can chop significantly more from what are already the bottom-priced cars on the market..............

Using your assumption I can;t see any justification for only focussing on DoneDeal adds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭travelledpengy

I find carzone a rip off, done deal is best :D

14 vs 10

Not many of either at around the 100K mark. 4 or so on Done Deal, 3 on Carzone last I looked

Using your assumption I can;t see any justification for only focussing on DoneDeal adds.

Where else should I focus?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭travelledpengy

Audis are over priced on done deal I find!

Not many of either at around the 100K mark. 4 or so on Done Deal, 3 on Carzone last I looked

Where else should I focus?

Ok, I'll try and explain, your assumption is .........."The assumption is that (at this price bracket) folk are getting circa 500 less than asking.

Unless folk are supposing that you can chop significantly more from what are already the bottom-priced cars on the market."

Because the average price on donedeal is lower than carzone you are trying to rationalise why the average should be taken from donedeal only.

To me this is arse biscuits given the assumption above :)

Audis are over priced on done deal I find!

Where else would you source 'em? Buy and Sell?

Why not?

Buy and sell, donedeal, local free adds, UK sites + VRT etc etc etc

The more samples the better to get an average.

Go to the VRT calc, get a quote and tell your mate that's what his car is worth!

Ok, I'll try and explain,

Okay.

your assumption is .........."The assumption is that (at this price bracket) folk are getting circa 500 less than asking.

Rationalisation I:

At this price point, people likely aren't going to drop average 2000 from asking. Nor 1500 from asking. Nor 1000 from asking. And if they did you might have to wonder why they did. This doesn't exclude somebody absolutely desperate and selling the genuine article but...

500 seems a reasonable average drop from asking at this price point ..is the rationalisation. You might not agree with an average of 500 in which case I'd ask you to suggest what you think the average price drop would be.

Because the average price on donedeal is lower than carzone you are trying to rationalise why the average should be taken from donedeal only.

Rationalisation II

The rationalisation for establishing an average asking price limited to DoneDeal is the same rationalisation I'd have for buying a pair of Levi 501's in Arnotts and not Brown Thomas.

Brown Thomas adds no value that I'm interested in paying for.

My mate needn't share that rationalisation - he might value the Brown Thomas/Carzone bag the Levis/A4 come in and figure to do better there - in which case we part company. But he's a rational guy just like me so I don't suppose that will happen.

To me this is arse biscuits given the assumption above :)

Your explanation hasn't joined the dots. The rationalisation for assuming a drop from asking is a separate one to the rationalisation for arriving at an average selling price through DoneDeal alone.

smash wrote: »
    Go to the VRT calc, get a quote and tell your mate that's what his car is worth!

His car (and everything else) is worth what the market will pay for it. In order to establish what the market will pay for it I have to go to the market. Not the VRT

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

OP, what do you want to be told?

It seems you've painted yourself into a corner and want someone to get you out of it.

Gophur wrote: »
    OP, what do you want to be told?

It seems you've painted yourself into a corner and want someone to get you out of it.

Yep, average price is less for the adds on donedeal so I'll try and use only them.

At this price point, people likely aren't going to drop average 2000 from asking. Nor 1500 from asking. Nor 1000 from asking. And if they did you might have to wonder why they did. This doesn't exclude somebody absolutely desperate and selling the genuine article but...

500 seems a reasonable average drop from asking at this price point ..is the rationalisation. You might not agree with an average of 500 in which case I'd ask you to suggest what you think the average price drop would be.

Given this assumption the folks on Carzone and Donedeal all flog their A4s for €500 less than their asking price :)

Arsebiscuits, but that's your assumption.

Why not?

True but..

The UK sites are out: time is money and at this price point the time cost + expenses cost involved in landing a car outside my door far outweigh the level of savings I can expect to make. You could factor this same point into the task of trawling around chasing up every conceivable lead from every conceivable source.

It's a 3.3k grand car. What kind of price do you suppose you could get it for if not spending a month of Sunday in the sourcing of it? 3k? 2k?

And we haven't even factored in the known history benefits of my mates car. What price that peace of mind?

If I do that and exclude Carzone then the average asking is 3.8K. If I include DoneDeal and Carzone then the average asking rises to 4.45k.

Reason to exclude Carzone from the off......................

It's a 3.3k grand car. What kind of price do you suppose you could get it for if not spending a month of Sunday in the sourcing of it? 3k? 2k?................

lol, so it's a €3.3k car, exactly €500 less than the average of similar yokes on DoneDeal :pac:

Offer him €3300 so, end of story.

Given this assumption the folks on Carzone and Donedeal all flog their A4s for €500 less than their asking price :)

Arsebiscuits, but that's your assumption.

In case it wasn't clear, the assumption is that folks on DoneDeal, who are asking at the price point in question (3.8K) sell for 500 less than that asking price. On average. Carzone isn't of any interest to me.

If you don't agree with this 500 quid estimation then you might perhaps insert your own estimation of an average drop in asking at this price point. Because in order to consider the option of my mates car I have to work off some estimation or other.

Take a few pics of his car, lash an add up on donedeal asking €3800 and see what interest you get.

What's the bets that one of the first 5 texts will offer a grand + a starlet... or something equally as shít.

lol, so it's a €3.3k car, exactly €500 less than the average of similar yokes on DoneDeal :pac:

... according to the 'formula' being utilised: average on DoneDeal minus 500 quid.

You sound surprised..

Offer him €3300 so, end of story.

You've been hinting at ways to slice what appear to be quite considerable amounts from a 3.8k average ask. And so..

- if excluding traipsing around the country for weeks on end looking at a succession of ... arse biscuits .. in the hope of finding the candidate you seek

AND

- if excluding the hardly-cost-free benefits of travelling to England in the hope of avoiding a plethora of arse biscuits there..

AND

- if excluding the kind of occasional singular lead that might appear in the local free paper on on the notice board in Tescos

AND

- if excluding the utterly irrelevant VRT price.

..perhaps you could quantify what you would expect those savings to be. And what value you would place on a a history only a friend could supply?

By 'quantify' I mean a something that includes some numbers.

... ..............

You've been hinting at ways to slice what appear to be quite considerable amounts from a 3.8k average ask. And so......................

Have I?

I reckon the method you are using is arsebiscuits.

Given you are employing it though, ignoring all Carzone adds for no actual reason apart from you thinking they are overprices is further arsebiscuits.

I've already suggested using the cost to change with and without the A4 as a possible method of calculating it's value as a private sale :)

I reckon the method you are using is arsebiscuits.

VRT is clearly arse biscuits since it isn't the market.

England is clearly arse biscuits since you have to factor in hard-to-quantify costs

Tesco's notice board and the local free paper is self-explanatory arse biscuits (unless your time isn't money)

Given you are employing it though, ignoring all Carzone adds for no actual reason apart from you thinking they are overprices is further arsebiscuits.

I gave a reason alright. I don't see the point in shopping in Brown Thomas for Levi's 501's when the same product is stocked in Arnotts for less.

You've chosen to ignore that particular piece of the argument

I've already suggested using the cost to change with and without the A4 as a possible method of calculating it's value as a private sale :)

Could you run that one by me again?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I used carzone in the past to sell one of my old cars. It was also on buy and sell (back in the day :pac:) for the same price. I asked most of the callers where they saw the ad, most said buy and sell (one trader rang offering me less than half for the car and after I asked him where he saw the car I told him to feck off :P) The people who bought my car told me they saw the ad on buy and sell :)

Recently selling my old car (last wednesday), it was exclusively on donedeal. Sold in just 2 hours, the phone was hopping mad, new record :eek:

If I may be honest, I can't see much of a future for carzone or car buyers guide. Just my 2 centabos worth :cool:

This thread is arse biscuits!

Could you run that one by me again?

No, it's a fairly simple concept, read it again perhaps :)
    I'm hardly going to bother explaining it when you're being sarcy over ignored analogies with the retailing of jeans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,451 ✭✭✭Delancey

Carzone is a much more professional looking site - great photos unlike the crap on Donedeal with cars photographed in pitch black .....

Carzone is used a lot by dealers who have always charged more than private sellers - thats why Donedeal can be cheaper ( cheaper does not nescessarily mean better ).

No, it's a fairly simple concept, read it again perhaps :)

Since you didn't write anything that could be read so as to glean an explanation of things in the first place .. it's hardly worth reading it again.

I'll take it from your silence that your 'alternative sources' of A4's can be laid aside in our discussion.

I'm hardly going to bother explaining it when you're being sarcy over ignored analogies with the retailing of jeans.

It was less an analogy and more an observation. One market offers no justification for being higher priced than another for the same product.

So why would I shop there?

I'll take it from your silence that your 'alternative sources' of A4's can be laid aside in our discussion.

Maybe he's on lunch :P

Delancey wrote:
    Carzone is used a lot by dealers who have always charged more than private sellers - thats why Donedeal can be cheaper ( cheaper does not nescessarily mean better ).

The prices averaged from Carzone are taken from private listings only

smash wrote: »
    Maybe he's on lunch :P

The silence contained within his post. You can ignore a point or call it arse biscuits. Both constitute silence.

There's a lot of silence in RJ's posts

If your buddy is buying his next car from a dealer using the cost to change info with and without the A4 would be a useful guide, the current valuation ye are using is a load of arse.

Since you didn't write anything that could be read so as to glean an explanation of things in the first place .. it's hardly worth reading it again..................

If you can't glean anything from the point above it's hardly a reflection on me.

I'll take it from your silence that your 'alternative sources' of A4's can be laid aside in our discussion...............

What are you on about? Where did I mention an alternative source of A4s?

If you can't glean anything from the point above it's hardly a reflection on me.

Surely you're opening a bag of variables there: the level of the car being purchased, the 'fit' of the traded in car on the dealers forecourt,

If a dealers trade-in was an accurate reflection of private sale pricing then you wouldn't have people trying to sell their cars privately rather than trading them in.

What are you on about? Where did I mention an alternative source of A4s?

Here:

I've discounted UK sites & VRT as having nothing pertinent to say on the issue of average pricing .. for reasons given.

There's an element of practicality in all this - no one would argue that you couldn't trawl through every pertinent avenue for a4's of that spec - in order to come up with a more accurate average.

But am I really going to scan in places where a car of that spec might come up once in a blue moon? The point of DoneDeal/Carzone and the like is that you're at the source where the bulk of the cars are sold.

And unless there is some reason to suppose that CarZone is adding value (other than the 'appearances' reasons so far suggested) it has all the allure of a Brown Thomas.

I'd lost sight about what this thread was about.

As a buyer, Carzone has a much better filtering system than donedeal. You know exactly what your looking for so this is slightly different. But you can select much more defined searches on carzone. The filters on carzone also show graphs so you can see the number of cars for each category and any trends.

As mentioned by someone above as a seller on carzone you are also less likely to have time wasters contacting you.

On the op's assumption of approx 500euro off a car on donedeal I would look at it that on carzone you would expect a much bigger difference as a buyer or seller.

In my opinion, I am more likely to trust an ad's details on carzone than I would on donedeal, and this makes it my first port of call. The prices mean very little as I know what I should be paying.