Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

.308 for deer

• 31-01-2012 10:25pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭

Looking into buying a 308 or a 310 rifle what make should I go for I was looking at a tikka t3 but at a price range of 1850 I don't think I will have that money till next year

Any one know a good cheap brand of a rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Cork24 wrote: »
    Looking into buying a 308 or a 310 rifle what make should I go for I was looking at a tikka t3 but at a price range of 1850 I don't think I will have that money till next year

Any one know a good cheap brand of a rifle
    Tikka @1850:confused:.
    Go check (shoot.ie )

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

whats a 310 ? anyway cz/brno , top class tough rifles that last years and cost very little.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2056535849

cant argue with the price of this either

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,695 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

There are a few .308 caliber rifles for sale in the for sale/wanted section. Some with scopes, etc others just for the rifle on its own.

Tikka are a great rifle, and you could be into for €1,050 new if you go for the T3/Lite or second hand with scope for close to the same money.
    • Savage
    • CZ/Brno
    • Remington
    • Steyr
    • Sako
    All good rifles/makes, and go from €500 - €2,500 in price depending on what comes with the rifle (scope, bipod, etc) and whether you buy new or second hand.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭patsat

I picked up a Tikka T3 lite brand new in 25-06 last week for 795!!

You must be looking at the tactical version at that price but that wont be ideal for stalking due to its weight.

Plus I'm going to open a can of worms and say dont limit yourself to .308! There is plenty of other calibers out there better for deer! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

patsat wrote: »
    I picked up a Tikka T3 lite brand new in 25-06 last week for 795!!

You must be looking at the tactical version at that price but that wont be ideal for stalking due to its weight.

Plus I'm going to open a can of worms and say dont limit yourself to .308! There is plenty of other calibers out there better for deer! :D

how dare you , god himself invented the .308 !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

What's your budget?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,663 ✭✭✭Cork24

Well I could spend 600 now but anything over I would have to wait about a couple of months.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 335 ✭✭Constab2

TriggerPL wrote: »

Thats a serious rifle for very good money worth a view,

It will be very difficult to get yourself set up with 600 quid. Your best bet is to save a bit more, and buy something you'll be happy with from the beginning. In my experience, it is best to put good money into mounts, bases and a scope. These will probably cost you more than the rifle, but they make a big difference.

What make should I save for ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,616 ✭✭✭FISMA

Looking into buying a 308 or a 310 rifle what make should I go for

(1) Remington 700. Preferably the CDL or BDL, however, the ADL or SPS is fine.
    (2) Howa 1500.
    (3) Savage 111.

I have a remington 700 I'll be selling soon. I'm only getting rid of it because I'm getting a left handed rifle, apart from that, I can't complain about it at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭garv123

Well I could spend 600 now but anything over I would have to wait about a couple of months.

Friend of mine paid 750 for a second hand 243 and scope and its knocked many fallow and foxes with ease. You dont have to spend a fortune on a stalking rifle just to knock a few mm off the grouping unless maybe you plan on shooting out past 300 yards or target shooting. Ring around dealers and im sure you'll find a cz package in good nick for a small bit more than the budget you have now. You can put a deposit on it and save up a few more pound whilst waiting for the licence.

you can also splash out a few grand on a scope to give you a extra 15-20 minutes to identify deer at dusk and dawn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

for a reasonable rifle for deer stalking you should be looking to spend around €1000+, at the very least half that again for a good quality scope, some lads pay more for the scope than for the gun and get top quality mounts..allow €100

I got my CZ550 delux 4 years ago for €970, they are a great stalking gun as they are light and accurate.
    A mate of mine recently got himself a tika t3 lite in 243 for around the same price, the 243 is a great all rounder if you want to do some foxing

I my self am a big fan of the 308 you can get cheap rounds for plinking about €15 a box of 20, and the variety of hunting rounds huge,
    other lads may argue that other calibres are better, and they may be right in the sense that they suit them better, but the 308 does what it says on the tin, it knocks down deer of any size and it is easy on the sholder.

if your happy with the calibre, just find a gun that fits you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Find the rifle you like best and shoot best. Absolute accuracy is nice, but not hugely important. If a gun shot 1.5" groups rather than 0.5", you'd never know the difference on a deer-sized target out well beyond where most people should be shooting at them. Find what you like and what suits you, only pay attention to the chambering in so far as you make sure you can get ammo for it conveniently. The .308 is a great round for most purposes though. Very versatile, and relatively affordable to run.

Thanks for all the helps..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

4gun wrote: »
    for a reasonable rifle for deer stalking you should be looking to spend around €1000+, at the very least half that again for a good quality scope, some lads pay more for the scope than for the gun and get top quality mounts..allow €100

I got my CZ550 delux 4 years ago for €970, they are a great stalking gun as they are light and accurate.
    A mate of mine recently got himself a tika t3 lite in 243 for around the same price, the 243 is a great all rounder if you want to do some foxing

I my self am a big fan of the 308 you can get cheap rounds for plinking about €15 a box of 20, and the variety of hunting rounds huge,
    other lads may argue that other calibres are better, and they may be right in the sense that they suit them better, but the 308 does what it says on the tin, it knocks down deer of any size and it is easy on the sholder.

if your happy with the calibre, just find a gun that fits you
    Find the rifle you like best and shoot best. Absolute accuracy is nice, but not hugely important. If a gun shot 1.5" groups rather than 0.5", you'd never know the difference on a deer-sized target out well beyond where most people should be shooting at them. Find what you like and what suits you, only pay attention to the chambering in so far as you make sure you can get ammo for it conveniently. The .308 is a great round for most purposes though. Very versatile, and relatively affordable to run.

Two very good answers on 2 different calibers from the opposite ends of the deer caliber range.
    Good makes to look at are Tikka, Sako, CZ 550, Savage.

And also hold each rifle up to the shoulder to get that 'it fits right' feeling, don't buy on looks alone

Don't worry to much about a light firearm. My Sako 75 varmint hits the scales @ 8 3/4.lb so its no lightweight and an auld fart like me can carry it OK. And there's an advantage of less felt recoil with a heavy rifle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭roosman

hi, there is a Steyr 308 for 500 euro in the sale section here...see link

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74 ✭✭roosman

ignore me, just realised its already posted :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

TriggerPL wrote: »

good price for a good rifle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭andyh85

a howa may also be worth a look as you can get a new one for around 650 had one in my hand last sat and for the money, it doesnt seem to be a bad rifle, Personaly i have a .308 tikka t3 in the heavy barrel and i find it to be a great gun.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭wexfordman

Just got a Remington 700 and scope, mounts etc for 1550, nice gun, waiting for licence to come through to get it and test it out though!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭Brian5

remington 700 .308 serious rifle,very accurate and world renowned :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 490 ✭✭wexfordman

Brian5 wrote: »
    remington 700 .308 serious rifle,very accurate and world renowned :)

Hi brian, I got the 243 not the 308, am told 243 should be enough for what I want! Any thoughts ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Rangi

If you find the .243 is no good,it's a very easy job to rebarrel to .308. I have a .243 Ruger,old type with 'shotgun thumd' type safety,and have dropped a few deer with it. Although,most in wooded areas,so reasonably short ranges.
    I always laugh when guys debate the merits of this calibre vs that calibre,and the more expensive brands. Get a rifle you can afford,is comfortable to shoot,and ammo can be got readily enough,then get use to it. When I started hunting we bought old cut down ex-army .303s and went out and dropped loads of deer with them. I've also used an old Parker Hale 7x57 in Scotland,and never had a problem hitting what I needed to. Lots of money dosn't necesarily mean lots of success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,220 ✭✭✭tomcat220t

Rangi wrote: »
    If you find the .243 is no good,it's a very easy job to rebarrel to .308. I have a .243 Ruger,old type with 'shotgun thumd' type safety,and have dropped a few deer with it. Although,most in wooded areas,so reasonably short ranges.
    I always laugh when guys debate the merits of this calibre vs that calibre,and the more expensive brands. Get a rifle you can afford,is comfortable to shoot,and ammo can be got readily enough,then get use to it. When I started hunting we bought old cut down ex-army .303s and went out and dropped loads of deer with them. I've also used an old Parker Hale 7x57 in Scotland,and never had a problem hitting what I needed to. Lots of money dosn't necesarily mean lots of success.
    100% for above !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭dto001

I got a Marlin xs7 stainless .308 for €550 in Duffy's in galway last year! it cost another €80 to get threaded for a modifier. I think its an excellent rifle and it gets good reviews (at least the ones i've seen) in the states.