Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clarke fires Caddy

• 30-01-2012 2:08pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭

Darren Clarke has fired caddie John Mulrooney six months after they marched to victory at the British Open.
    Clarke's form has plummeted since lifting the Claret Jug at Sandwich and he parted company with Mulrooney after last Friday's 81, the Ulsterman's worst round on tour in five years, left him seven strokes outside the cut in Abu Dhabi.
    These two strong-willed Irishmen linked up by chance at last May's Mallorca Open when Mulrooney's player, David Howell, withdrew and Clarke's then caddie Ricci Roberts went to Orlando for the investiture of Ernie Els into the World Golf Hall of Fame. Clarke gave Mulrooney the job full-time after winning for the first time in three years in Mallorca.
    However, they nearly broke up the week before the British Open after a furious disagreement on the Sunday at the Scottish Open, then had another dust-up at October's Grand Slam Championship in Bermuda.
    Ace and madcap birdie fuel McDowell charge
    Graeme McDowell brought spectators roaring to their feet in Abu Dhabi yesterday with one of the craziest birdies in Tour history.
    McDowell fired off a series of crackers on the back nine of his final-round 68 to claim a share of third with Tiger Woods and a cheque for ?107,577 in his first tournament of 2012.
    Portrush native McDowell lit the fuse with a spectacular hole-in-one with a cut seven-iron at the 179-yard 12th, then chipped in from the fringe at 13, before completing a birdie-birdie finish with a stunning slapstick shot on 18.
    Lying in sand, 80 yards shy of the green, after "the worst lay-up in history", McDowell hit his gap-wedge thin. His ball ricocheted noisily off the grandstand and rolled back onto the green, stopping just six feet from the cup.
    McDowell won three free nights a year for the rest of his life in Abu Dhabi's seven-star Emirates Palace Hotel with the third ace of the week at 12. In all, he's landed nine holes-in-one, three as a pro, not to mention three albatrosses.
    Meanwhile, Padraig Harrington's final round 73 left him in a share of 35th place on three-under par.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,529 ✭✭✭BoardsMember

Its hilarious to read of his frustration of not being able to capture the form he was in for the open, or to capitalise on the momentum. Eh Darren...maybe if you didn't go on the piss for a week you might have been able to play the following weeks. I know I cant play at the best of times, but certainly not for a good while after a complete bender. He may as well fire his bartender for all the good it might do him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

seems very harsh.

If you mean my reaction, you're probably right.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

You won't see him firing chubby any time soon...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,736 ✭✭✭ssbob

Guys supposedly they had been clashing prior to the Open then that win only delayed the inevitable and again at the grand slam in Bermuda there was a bust up.

McIlroy/McDowell etc consistently say how much Darren practices, whether this is true or not I don't know. I would honestly believe he is hard to work for/with though and his head can be elsewhere I would say.

He may work hard, I'm sure he does, but he also plays hard. It doesn't take a rocket scientist to suggest that this might have an effect on the consistency of his performance. Given that people equally say how unbelievably naturally talented he is, he's obviously got the bottle for it (ooh, cheap pun), the answer may lie in the bleeding obvious - he's a piss-head!!

The answer may lie in the bleeding obvious - he's a piss-head!!

I am not denying that he prob goes on the p*ss quite a lot but so do a lot of other golfers(Robert Rock is supposedly notorious), I would say that he is very much invloved in his kids lives too and probably delays flying to locations until the last minute. He should be in the matchplay so if he gets a good draw, we may see him get going again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Darren only had 3 top tens in 2011, that was his form and that is his form.

The Open was a once off perfect week for him. Weather , field etc. He had the week of his life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,528 ✭✭✭foxyboxer

Slow news day?

World Number 52 sacks Caddie. :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Slow news day?

I would say it is particularly big news actually.
    Ireland doesn't have very many major winning golfers so when one of them parts with his caddy I like to hear about it and discuss it with my online buddies.
    if you dont care about it dont post

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

If you mean my reaction, you're probably right.

no...i meant the sacking of the caddie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

foxyboxer wrote: »
    Slow news day?

Reigning British Open Champ? Surely that makes it newsworty. He's also one of the highest money earners in the history of the European Tour...

Would you rather we started another thread about the colour of Holly Sweenys hair?

Benny Cake wrote: »
    Reigning British Open Champ? Surely that makes it newsworty. He's also one of the highest money earners in the history of the European Tour...

Would you rather we started another thread about the colour of Holly Sweenys hair?

:confused: Hasn't she always been a:pac: blonde?

Let's just say this sentence sums it up.

Clarke's form has plummeted since lifting the Claret Jug at Sandwich and he parted company with Mulrooney after last Friday's 81, the Ulsterman's worst round on tour in five years, left him seven strokes outside the cut in Abu Dhabi.

Gives one the impression that it's the caddies fault and nothing to do with his form. Lazy, cop out journalism. My guess is that it was an amicable parting.

mikeunt wrote: »
    I would say it is particularly big news actually.
    Ireland doesn't have very many major winning golfers so when one of them parts with his caddy I like to hear about it and discuss it with my online buddies.
    if you dont care about it dont post

Then let's discuss it.

Why was his caddie sacked? Did it happen in an Alan Sugar "You're fired!" kind of way?
    Was he sacked? Did he leave instead?

The big news I get from this is not the sacking but the terminal decline in form.

Problem: Reigning Open Champion posts his worst round in 5 years. Solution: Sack the Caddie, tis all his fault?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Gophur

Unfortunately Clarke's British Open victory was a fluke.

Changing his caddy won't help apart from being able to get some sort of a yes-man on the bag.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭Dr.Silly

Gophur wrote: »
    Unfortunately Clarke's British Open victory was a fluke.

lol

Dr.Silly wrote: »
    lol

His odds for winning were 125/1 before the event. His performances afterwards have shown a return to that kind of form.

So, yes, his win was a fluke.

Nice to see him win but he's now joined the likes of Ben Curtis, Louis Oosthuizen, Paul Lawrie, Todd Hamilton, all somehow managed to win the tournament but nothing much elsewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 185 ✭✭mikeunt

His odds for winning were 125/1 before the event. His performances afterwards have shown a return to that kind of form.

Nice to see him win but he's now joined the likes of Ben Curtis, Louis Oosthuizen, Paul Lawrie, Todd Hamilton, all somehow managed to win the tournament but nothing much elsewhere.

Eh, 2 WGC events are hardly "nothing much elsewhere", chief

A bit harsh there, Louis Oosthuizen is only 29 and since his open win, he has won twice and finshed 10th in the RTD in 2010 and finished 15th last year.

Also Darren Clarke has 22 worldwide tournaments so i would hardly put him in the Todd Hamilton category!!

Paul Lawrie has also shown some decent form over the past 12 months so maybe he is finally realising his potential.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,645 ✭✭✭k.p.h

ssbob wrote: »
    Also Darren Clarke has 22 worldwide tournaments so i would hardly put him in the Todd Hamilton category!!

Think that just history now though. Personally I don't think it takes much insight or perspective to see where he is in his career, glad he picked up a major and all that but he is in a place now where his golf is secondary to other aspects of his life. I feel even if he decided to bring it back to the forefront he would not be able to bring himself back to previous levels.

To be honest if I was his caddy I would be happy enough with the situation, opens up the prospect of maybe getting on the bag of someone who might make an occasional cut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,545 ✭✭✭Luckycharm

I know caddys earn most of their money as % of what their players winnings. Do Caddys in general also get some kind of retainer to stay with a player or is it nearly all a % of the winnings?

Luckycharm wrote: »
    I know caddys earn most of their money as % of what their players winnings. Do Caddys in general also get some kind of retainer to stay with a player or is it nearly all a % of the winnings?

Depends on the caddy and player I believe but from what I hear the full time caddies would be on a small retainer circa €300 a week and up to 10% of the winnings buit not always 10%. You should read Lawrence Donegans "4 Iron in the soul", a really good account of what life is like for a struggling caddy.

lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

k.p.h wrote: »
    Personally I don't think it takes much insight or perspective to see where he is in his career
    +1. He was an ageing golfer in decline who was one of the top players in his day but never managed to pull it all together to win a major when he was at his peak. He did however manage to win the British Open near the end of his career, which is prone to surprise winners given the sparsity of links golf played on the tours (especially in the US). While that should be acknowledged it shouldn't blind people to the fact that he's not likely to be competing at the highest level anymore.

totally agree,
    but to call it a fluke like some people ... well...is silly

Well he will be competing in this years Masters, Matchplay, WGC Cadillac, British Open, US Open & US PGA.

totally agree,
    but to call it a fluke like some people ... well...is silly

Are you the equivalent of Karl Pilkingtons Bullsh1t man?

is that an insult ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

is that an insult ?

I doubt it - Bull**** Man's superpower is detecting it more so than spouting it.

link_2007 wrote: »
    I doubt it - Bull**** Man's superpower is detecting it more so than spouting it.

ah .. .I gotta google this man you speak of now :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,848 ✭✭✭soundsham

Luckycharm wrote: »
    According to Colin Byrne it's £500/wk and % of winnings

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

Depends on the caddy and player I believe but from what I hear the full time caddies would be on a small retainer circa €300 a week and up to 10% of the winnings buit not always 10%. You should read Lawrence Donegans "4 Iron in the soul", a really good account of what life is like for a struggling caddy.

I started it on Sunday, pretty good so far.

Whyner wrote: »

Read it
    Good enough

Whyner wrote: »

Read it
    Good enough

My info was from Byrnes book

Seem to remember £500stg being standard for caddies and %s were negotiable

€300 isn't much than dole

Caddies had to make their own travel arrangements and hotel bookings
    The book is interesting as it tells the different ways caddies are treated by employers
    How he traveled around by every means from hitching a ride with a minibus the Argentinian caddies used to the Goose giving him a lift in his jet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,344 ✭✭✭death1234567

Well he will be competing in this years Masters, Matchplay, WGC Cadillac, British Open, US Open & US PGA.
    He won't though, he'll just be playing in them.

soundsham wrote: »
    Read it
    Good enough

My info was from Byrnes book

Seem to remember £500stg being standard for caddies and %s were negotiable

€300 isn't much than dole

Caddies had to make their own travel arrangements and hotel bookings
    The book is interesting as it tells the different ways caddies are treated by employers
    How he traveled around by every means from hitching a ride with a minibus the Argentinian caddies used to the Goose giving him a lift in his jet

I must buy this book, is it on Amazon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭link_2007

I must buy this book, is it on Amazon?

It appears so :)

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Bagman-Inside-Exclusive-World-Professional/dp/0954865308

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,612 ✭✭✭BigChap1759

Sorry to be paedantic lads but he won The Open Championship...

A very peculiar interjection! The competition he won was British, not English, Scottish, US, French or Irish. Why does being so specific annoy you?

I'll always refer to the competition as British Open, purely to differentiate it from all other National "open" championships.

As you're being so pedantic, why don't you refer to him as "the gold medal winner" , seeing as that's how the blazers describe the winner?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,057 ✭✭✭irish bloke

A very peculiar interjection! The competition he won was British, not English, Scottish, US, French or Irish. Why does being so specific annoy you?

I'll always refer to the competition as British Open, purely to differentiate it from all other National "open" championships.

As you're being so pedantic, why don't you refer to him as "the gold medal winner" , seeing as that's how the blazers describe the winner?

But there is only one open, it says so on TV...:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Changing his caddy won't help apart from being able to get some sort of a yes-man on the bag.

He should talk with Ronan Flood.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭thegen

Aidric wrote: »
    He should talk with Ronan Flood.

So witty.