Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Charity Cycle - Tips?

• 29-01-2012 11:42am
    Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I'm doing a two day charity cycle next week, roughly 115km each day with an overnight stop.
    It'll be a fairly leisurely pace with quite a few stops along the way.

I haven't done this sort of distance before, and didn't get that much preparation in over the Christmas period.
    The first day should be fine but how do I avoid waking up stiff and sore on the second day?

If it's anything like the weather this weekend, it'll be cold and wet. Any essentials that I must bring? I already have cycling shorts. Should I wear trousers over the cycling shorts - normally I wouldn't bother, but it might be cold (and we are leaving at around 7am in the morning, so it'll be very cold!). What about a warm hat underneath the helmet? Also I'm guessing cycling gloves are a must to avoid finishing with permanent claws :P

Will water be fine for hydration purposes, or should I take an isotonic drink every few hours? (might be a bit overkill, it won't be the most athletic pace!).

Also I've never cycled in a group before, is there anything important that I should know?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,059 ✭✭✭victorcarrera

No point in buying gear for a one off spin like that.
    Wear a tracksuit bottom over your cycling shorts that won't foul the chain rings.
    Thick or two pairs of socks and cling film under runners should be OK.
    Beanie under helmet, T shirt, fleece lined top or sweater and light waterproof mack to begin with and remove layers as necessary. Full fingered gloves. 500ml water in bottle if there are stops along the way. Large pasta dinner the night before with water. Breakfast cereal with plenty of water. 2 Bananas and 2 cereal bars in pockets. Puncture repair and a few bob in case you need to buy a pint of milk. Keep your digestive system in order with simple basic foods and you will be OK.
    Riding in a group with other riders of unknown experience can be risky and takes a little getting used to so maintain a safe distance from the bike in front of you.
    Use your easy gears on the hills and your legs won't get sore.
    Ride it at your own pace and don't be tempted to burn your legs except in the last few Km.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

I'm doing a two day charity cycle next week, roughly 115km each day with an overnight stop.
    It'll be a fairly leisurely pace with quite a few stops along the way.

I haven't done this sort of distance before, and didn't get that much preparation in over the Christmas period.
    The first day should be fine but how do I avoid waking up stiff and sore on the second day?

If it's anything like the weather this weekend, it'll be cold and wet. Any essentials that I must bring? I already have cycling shorts. Should I wear trousers over the cycling shorts - normally I wouldn't bother, but it might be cold (and we are leaving at around 7am in the morning, so it'll be very cold!). What about a warm hat underneath the helmet? Also I'm guessing cycling gloves are a must to avoid finishing with permanent claws :P

Will water be fine for hydration purposes, or should I take an isotonic drink every few hours? (might be a bit overkill, it won't be the most athletic pace!).

Also I've never cycled in a group before, is there anything important that I should know?

Is that the UCD cycle to galway? I'm guessing it is.

I did that last year and the year before, it was grand. Pace was leisurely, as long as you are not unfit you will be fine. If you can handle yourself on a bike you will be fine too.

As for the group cycling, you will be fine, I'd be more watching for people who look like they are on a bicycle once every 6 months and are very unsteady in a group. Couple of fallers due to wobbly cyclists last year. About half the group falls into that category.

You will be supplied water along the way so don't worry about that. I had a few nutri grain bars in the pocket along the way which kept me topped up.

Another thing to watch out for is the speed of the accompanying ambulances. God love the Order of Malta but they could never keep a steady pace. Most of time it was speeding uphill and slowing down on the down on the down side, when a steady pace would have been preferable. I wore out a set of brake pads as they could never keep a steady pace and people were always bunching up.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

Thanks victorcarrera and BX 19, great advice! :)

BX 19, yes it's the UCD Cycle to Galway. I wouldn't be one of those 'wobby cyclists' as such, I do cycle quite a bit (on my own), but nothing as long as this, and rarely on two consecutive days like the cycle is, but I'm glad to hear it's fairly leisurely!

Thanks again :)
    Looking forward to it now!

Thanks victorcarrera and BX 19, great advice! :)

BX 19, yes it's the UCD Cycle to Galway. I wouldn't be one of those 'wobby cyclists' as such, I do cycle quite a bit (on my own), but nothing as long as this, and rarely on two consecutive days like the cycle is, but I'm glad to hear it's fairly leisurely!

Thanks again :)
    Looking forward to it now!

Its great craic, very enjoyable weekend, take it handy with the beer on the first night.

Ohh and if you have your own bike and its halfway decent, use that. The bikes they give you are Giant commuter bikes. I used one the first year and like most rental bikes it wasn't in great shape coupled that it was a big upright commuter bike made it not the most enjoyable to cycle 115k on. I used my own the next year which was a far better bike.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 7,396 Mod ✭✭✭✭**Timbuk2**

BX 19 wrote: »
    Its great craic, very enjoyable weekend, take it handy with the beer on the first night.

Ohh and if you have your own bike and its halfway decent, use that. The bikes they give you are Giant commuter bikes. I used one the first year and like most rental bikes it wasn't in great shape coupled that it was a big upright commuter bike made it not the most enjoyable to cycle 115k on. I used my own the next year which was a far better bike.

Oh, I'm using one of the bikes they are giving us, because they said that it's recommended! And we were told they are going to be 'Giant' bikes as well so I'm sure they will be the same :S
    I'll know for next year (if my legs and ass have recovered by then from this year's cycle :o ).

I was going with two people I knew but they have since dropped out so I don't know anyone, but I'm sure it'll be a great opportunity to get to know people, and everyone who's done it says it's very good fun. And it's for Crumlin Children's Hospital, so it's a good cause!

I imagine I will be taking it easy on the beer the first night, seeing as we start around 7am the next morning :eek:

Oh, I'm using one of the bikes they are giving us, because they said that it's recommended! And we were told they are going to be 'Giant' bikes as well so I'm sure they will be the same :S
    I'll know for next year (if my legs and ass have recovered by then from this year's cycle :o ).

I was going with two people I knew but they have since dropped out so I don't know anyone, but I'm sure it'll be a great opportunity to get to know people, and everyone who's done it says it's very good fun. And it's for Crumlin Children's Hospital, so it's a good cause!

I imagine I will be taking it easy on the beer the first night, seeing as we start around 7am the next morning :eek:

Yea I knew better the second year, brought my lovely trek along. I think the reason they recommend people bringing their own along is that they don't want people bringing piles of junk along that will fall apart on the side of the road. Though the one I was given was not much better. May not be too late to change though.....

I won't be doing it this year sadly, too much college work with final year. And don't worry about not knowing anyone, you will be cycling along side new people for several hours, so plenty of time for a chat.

Good luck anyways, one of the best weekends of the year! Say hello to Templelouge/Harolds Cross Order of Malta, there a nice bunch of people :)

Thanks for the help!

I'll probably stick with using one of the rental bikes for this year - I have two bikes myself, but they're both hybrids and there's probably not a huge amount of difference! I'm trying to save up for a road bike for the summer!

Thanks again, I'll let you know how it goes!

Sorry, double post.

If it is raining, wouldn't it be better to just wear cycling shorts with nothing over them? I don't have waterproof trousers and if I wore tracksuit bottoms of some sort they'd just become damp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 468 ✭✭VanhireBoys

Sorry, double post.

If it is raining, wouldn't it be better to just wear cycling shorts with nothing over them? I don't have waterproof trousers and if I wore tracksuit bottoms of some sort they'd just become damp.

If its raining and mild wear only the shorts with a load of Sudocream on the chamois ! As one of the lads said put plastic bags over your socks to keep your feet dry ! If its dry but this makes your feet sweat !

If you can have a bath with plenty of salts in the water... This opens your pores ! I find if I am sore or cramped sitting with your feet above the level of your hips helps drain the lactic out of your legs..

Take plenty of fluids .. High 5 Zero is great stuff and I find necking away at this electrolite helps me overnight.. Take a litre of the stuff the night before, plenty of it during the day as you need it and a litre at the halfway and end ! This keeps the cramp off me

I take a load of fig-rolls and Turkish delights for fuel .. Really keeps me going ! I would burn a fig roll in 20 mins - half hour depending on load !

Get the seat right for yourself ... If it isnt set right it will hurt after 20 miles

This all works for me but it might not work for you... Try it and see

BTW Good luck in the cycle and most of all enjoy it ;)

Sorry, forgot to update this!

The cycle went excellently! Was surprised at how easy I found it, given that I've never done anything of that distance before - we were taking it at a leisurely pace though, in or around 20km/h the whole way so that's probably why!

I wore lots of layers which helped with the cold - I had tracksuit bottoms over my cycling shorts but soon got rid of them, it wasn't really my legs that were getting cold anyway!

The only thing is when we took a break from the cycling for about 20 minutes I'd start to get very cold again - I would have much rathered just staying on the bikes as at least we'd be pedalling.

I didn't wake up at all sore the second day like I feared - in fact I found the cycling a bit easier the second day for some reason. The only difficulty was that despite the padded cycling shorts, my sitbones were fairly feeling it by the time we got to Galway :P

I'll definitely do it again next year though. Thanks for all the help!