Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Famous suicides

• 28-01-2012 5:19pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭

I'm of a morbid disposition, so inevitably I found myself perusing wikipedia's entries which regard the subject of suicide. The most interesting page I found was this: a list of famous people who committed suicide. It's nuts how many successful and famous people killed themselves.

As sad as it is, there was solace in the article too. Like many people I am often despondent about my achievements, always wishing for more despite reaching many of my goals. The number of professional athletes, successful writers, actors, politicians etc who were so down that they decided to make their own quietus clearly indicates that no matter what heights you reach, there's a good chance that they won't bring you happiness. As a person who often falls into the trap of believing that my happiness is predicated on my achievement or non achievement of goals, it was heartening to think that perhaps it's ok to be happy without always striving to some crazy goal.

Interesting list anyway, regardless of your take on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,705 ✭✭✭Mr Trade In

I am out of uni sick at the moment, when I go back in September there is a module call the History of Suicide, the lecturer who teaches it is one of the best in the place. It is an interesting subject. If you look at the list of celebrities who have died aged 27, many from suicide it's baffling.

TheZohan wrote: »

Hello Grampa My Old Friend has a nicer ring to it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭yeahimhere

Isokelekel (17th century), semi-mythical conqueror of Pohnpei Island in the Carolines and father of the cultural system of modern Pohnpei, tied his penis to a bent palm tree and let go, ripping it off. He bled to death.[100][101][102]

:eek::eek::eek::eek::eek::eek:

What a way to go

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

It has on that list Mohamed Atta (2001), 9/11 attacks. Is that sort of death classed as a suicide ?

realies wrote: »
    It has on that list Mohamed Atta (2001), 9/11 attacks. Is that sort of death classed as a suicide ?

9/11 is commonly referred to as a suicide attack, therefore the hijackers did commit suicide.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,372 ✭✭✭im invisible

some other interesting ones
    Alan Turing (1954), English mathematician, logician, cryptanalyst and computer scientist, eating an apple laced with cyanide

Scott Nearing (1983), American political activist and conservationist, by self-starvation at 100 years of age

René Favaloro (2000), Argentine cardiac surgeon (created technique for coronary bypass surgery), gunshot to the heart.

Peg Entwistle (1932), English-born American actress, leapt to her death from the "H" in the Hollywood Sign

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I am out of uni sick at the moment, when I go back in September there is a module call the History of Suicide, the lecturer who teaches it is one of the best in the place. It is an interesting subject. If you look at the list of celebrities who have died aged 27, many from suicide it's baffling.

To add a slightly differant side to that, In my own family my gt grandfather,grandfather ,a cousin and two distant relatives all died at 27.Until my cousin died, my fathers generation was the first group not to have a death in it at 27.Its actually a morbid family joke we have.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

david caradine - dirty fecker

I guess this would be considered as a famous suicide?

The above link shows an image of a woman that leaped to her death and landed on a car. While there is no noticeable gore, some people might find it disturbing, so.. yeah.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

The above link shows an image of a woman that leaped to her death and landed on a car. While there is no noticeable gore, some people might find it disturbing, so.. yeah.

She's just sleeping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Virginia Woolf (1941) English author, essayist, publisher, and writer of short stories; suicide by drowning.

Never knew this till now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Marlyn Monroe is not in the list, so she must have been killed by thee Kennedy's.

Apparently a big part of the reason why Turing killed himself was the "hormone treatment" he was receiving as part of his sentence for being as gay as Christmas. He was growing a nice big set of double Ds. A horrific way for anyone to go, but one of history's true crimes by virtue of the fact that he was such a genius and did his country and the world such a service in his cracking of the Enigma code.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,973 ✭✭✭SafeSurfer

Multo autem ad rem magis pertinet quallis tibi vide aris quam allis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

realies wrote: »
    Virginia Woolf (1941) English author, essayist, publisher, and writer of short stories; suicide by drowning.

Never knew this till now.

I thought she died by turning on the gas in her kitchen and securing the doors around her with towels so her children didn't die?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,675 ✭✭✭ronnie3585

She's just sleeping.

In that person shaped dent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 271 ✭✭Gi joe!

That photo really is fascinating, how she managed to end up looking like that from that kind of fall. With my very morbid personality, I have seen a lot of aftermaths of suicide, and let me tell you, the results are far from looking this peaceful!

Back to what the OP was saying, I completely agree. The fact that so many people, who seemed to have it all, and then ending it out of the blue, reflects our inherent vulnerability as humans and our struggle to deal with the human condition. Look at the recent tragedy of footballer Gary Speed, who was living an apparently charmed life. He gave literally no indication of what he was about to do.

Others, like Bill Zeller, who left a heart wrenching note to explain his motive, give us a look into the mind of someone capable of committing such a shocking act.

(Warning, not pleasant reading at all)
    http://gizmodo.com/5726667/the-agonizing-last-words-of-bill-zeller

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,324 ✭✭✭Cork boy 55

disgusting thread IMO

• Closed Accounts Posts: 469 ✭✭GoldenTickets

Sindri wrote: »
    I thought she died by turning on the gas in her kitchen and securing the doors around her with towels so her children didn't die?

That was Sylvia Plath.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 28 Don Booker

Leon Jackson. 1970-2009.
    RIP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭beeroclock

Apparently a big part of the reason why Turing killed himself was the "hormone treatment" he was receiving as part of his sentence for being as gay as Christmas. He was growing a nice big set of double Ds. A horrific way for anyone to go, but one of history's true crimes by virtue of the fact that he was such a genius and did his country and the world such a service in his cracking of the Enigma code.

Yep agree 100% with your comments

All the books ive read which mention the man say there was no official record of suicide as far as I know and I think his mother even tried to deny it, but I dont think there is any doubt whatsoever he died by his own hand

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Mercurius

I don't see Nick Drake on the list.

I guess the black eyed dog called out his name once too often.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 237 ✭✭beeroclock

disgusting thread IMO

Given how taboo a subject this is (suicide not the famous people bit!) I think its ok to talk about this but I can see where you are coming from. For me the more suicide is dragged into the light in this country the better.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,315 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Gi joe! wrote: »

Others, like Bill Zeller, who left a heart wrenching note to explain his motive, give us a look into the mind of someone capable of committing such a shocking act.

(Warning, not pleasant reading at all)
    http://gizmodo.com/5726667/the-agonizing-last-words-of-bill-zeller

Sad stuff - all the moreso seeing that it was written over a long period. He had planned it for a long time.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Gi joe! wrote: »
    That photo really is fascinating, how she managed to end up looking like that from that kind of fall. With my very morbid personality, I have seen a lot of aftermaths of suicide, and let me tell you, the results are far from looking this peaceful!
    Looks like he car acted as a crumple zone, so the energy of impact though just enough to be instantly fatal* was absorbed and dissipated into and by the collapse of the car. Imagine the forces involved to make that woman shaped deep dent on the car. An old car too where the steels were generally a lot thicker than the average today. If she'd hit the path, the vast majority of the impact energy would have bounced back up through her. Instant goo.

*It might have been a close run thing. Tens of G's the other way and she may have even survived though horribly injured. There were two blokes washing windows on a platform right at the top of a new york(IIRC) skyscraper. The cables let go and it fell all the way down. One guy left the platform and died, the other hung on all the way down and survived. The platform got caught between two walls and folded around the guy absorbing the impact to a survivable level, though he was well fooked up.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

disgusting thread IMO

Yeah it really should be locked, it is a well known that suicides in the general population go up when someone famous commits the act. In away it either encourages them or inspires some people to also commit suicide.

http://www.google.ie/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=celebrity%20suicides%20clusters&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB8QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fen.wikipedia.org%2Fwiki%2FCopycat_suicide&ei=hEIkT_btC5GyhAfF4fiABQ&usg=AFQjCNEAdLyHTYhnSyJWiHIrf1oOdAGy6A&cad=rja

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,732 ✭✭✭Toby Take a Bow

Mercurius wrote: »

That really doesn't sound like Nick Drake.

One of the most disturbing footage I've seen of a suicide (not sure if it was a fake) was of that American politician killing himself in front of the cameras.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭Mercurius

My bad. I didn't check it.

Mercurius wrote: »

One of the most disturbing footage I've seen of a suicide (not sure if it was a fake) was of that American politician killing himself in front of the cameras.

Bud Dwyer, it's as real as fuçk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,627 ✭✭✭Lawrence1895

Dissection's Jon Nodtveidt is on the list...well...he surely knew, what he did...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Bud Dwyer, it's as real as fuçk.

I remember in the Kurt Cobain Biography 'Heavier than Heaven' it saying that Cobain got hold of the Budd Dwyer tape and would watch it over and over again obsessively. Sad really..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭M cebee

I think the treatment affected his mental skills as well
    according to the recent documentary

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭jammstarr

I remember in the Kurt Cobain Biography 'Heavier than Heaven' it saying that Cobain got hold of the Budd Dwyer tape and would watch it over and over again obsessively. Sad really..

I've watched that clip more than once. The amount of death footage online is scary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,798 ✭✭✭Local-womanizer

Anybody see the documentary "The Bridge"?

Watched it the other night and found it fascinating. It gives a great insight into the minds of those willing to end their lives, not to mention how their families deal with their suicides.

It opened my eyes to suicide and what people truly go through and the hopelessness their loved ones feel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,805 ✭✭✭jammstarr

Anybody see the documentary "The Bridge"?

Watched it the other night and found it fascinating. It gives a great insight into the minds of those willing to end their lives, not to mention how their families deal with their suicides.

It opened my eyes to suicide and what people truly go through and the hopelessness their loved ones feel.

Found it on youtube - cheers for the suggestion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,779 ✭✭✭up for anything

Looking through that list I came across this scumbag whose nephew committed suicide. Family or strangers, boys or girls, it didn't seem to make much difference to him. :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,438 ✭✭✭✭El Guapo!

Chris Benoit was on that list too. I remember how shocked I was when I heard that news. Especially since it was a murder-suicide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Most famous? Socrates drinking hemlock, but I guess you whippersnappers are too young to remember.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

biko wrote: »
    Most famous? Socrates drinking hemlock, but I guess you whippersnappers are too young to remember.

Most famous, either Jesus or Judas. Or definitely Dumbledore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Friends of Emmet are a Dublin band based in LA

Coming Apart is a great song and about a young man who jumped off the bridge and survived.
    The odds of surviving that fall and the freezing water are tiny but it happens sometimes

Lyrics are fantastic

Mods I know this isn't music forum but I think it's appropriate for the thread

biko wrote: »

Does that really count, given the fact that he was setenced to do so for "corrupting" the youth?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,798 ✭✭✭goose2005

You can help by expanding it
    Hope some famous person doesn't read that...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,006 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Adolf Hitler (1985); Austrian-born, Nazi Germany dictator, it's been speculated that he died by shooting himself in the mouth to avoid capture by the Mossad in Argentina.[98]

:pac::pac::pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,649 ✭✭✭✭The Princess Bride

Do you really think these people committed suicide because they were famous?

Or is there a chance it was because they were troubled?

They may have been famous,but famous people have to breathe,eat,sleep,wash etc...the same as us mere mortals.

Yes,their troubles might have been made worse because of their fame-
    but they might not have been- we don't know,do we?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

Enda Kenny.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,336 ✭✭✭wendell borton

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/George_R._Price
    Unable to accept the selfish reasoning for kindness found in his own mathematical theory of altruism

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 836 ✭✭✭fruvai

Elliott Smith stabbed himself in the heart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

msthe80s wrote: »
    Do you really think these people committed suicide because they were famous?

Or is there a chance it was because they were troubled?

They may have been famous,but famous people have to breathe,eat,sleep,wash etc...the same as us mere mortals.

Yes,their troubles might have been made worse because of their fame-
    but they might not have been- we don't know,do we?

I'm not an expert, I'm still learning and it's interesting because like you were saying it might not be because of fame we don't know but to expand that idea further it might not be because troubled either.
    Anyone talking openly about fame will at least say its not all its cracked up to be and seems extraordinarily stressful.

I was doing a suicide intervention course and we spent a good ten minutes talking about a scenario where a woman misses her bus, goes home and kills herself and we were talking about why, the class came to a decision that there must be something else, not necessarily as its not the situation the person is and they do not need to be troubled or struggling, they could be completely content and then kill themselves there wouldn't even need to be an incident or their lifestyle to provoke it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭tdv123

Marilyn Monroe?