Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lockout - MS One

• 27-01-2012 9:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭

From the producers of Taken starring Guy Pearce and Maggie Grace.

Now is it me or does this look like THE worst movie ever, the voiceover is horrendous...... :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,812 ✭✭✭FortuneChip

Escape From New York Space: With Woody???

I was saying to a mate earlier in the week that Guy Pearce isn't in as many good movies as he should be... That statement looks to still be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭DVD-Lots

I think he's going the way of Cuba Gooding tbh.....especilly with this crap. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 504 ✭✭✭SVG

It'll probably be bad but I'll always watch some Luc Besson trash- plus it has Guy Pearce.

This trailer is much better...

(I believe it's mandatory to have some dumb racial humour in a Besson film)

Luc Besson + Sci Fi + Over the top action + Guy Pearce....What's not to like. While it may be far from the most original film ever made it looks like fine Friday night fun.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

Yeah I saw the original French trailer ages ago & when I watched the US one I couldn't believe they were both from the same film. In many ways it's a good example of how a studio perceives its audience in two different markets. I'm most surprised the US trailer downplayed the snark, rendering the trailer fairly banal.

But hey - you know what? I'm looking forward to this. It's pure trash cinema, quite clearly, but it looks like it might be some dumb-ass sciFi action, and it feels like a long time since we got a cynical, wisecracking antihero in our movies. Pearce is channelling some Snake Plissken there & that's a Good Thing™ in my book.

I also believe it's being directed by an Irish fella, just to work in the parochial angle too :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭don ramo

fortress 2 meets escape from wherever, looks like good popcorn fun:D:D

must say though the trailer on IMDB looks to give a lot away,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

DVD-Lots wrote: »
    From the producers of Taken starring Guy Pearce and Maggie Grace.

Now is it me or does this look like THE worst movie ever, the voiceover is horrendous...... :(

Whaddya on about? looks class!

Ah no only joking but it has the potential to be a cult classic but will probably end up being a guilty pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,116 ✭✭✭Professional Griefer

A new tralier was just on sky, I think it was new.

Looks good.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 36,711 CMod ✭✭✭✭pixelburp

The first five minutes of this have been released: I must admit, it still looks like a lot of silly fun. Guy Pearce is definitely channeling a mixture of Snake Plissken, mixed with John McClane

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭hefferboi

Jaysus I can't wait to see it anyway!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,439 ✭✭✭Skinfull

This flick it out this weekend. :D

Hadnt heard anything about it, until I saw a trailer earlier in the week. Looks fun, trashy. Prison riot in space? I'm in.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Directed by the same Irish lads who made this short: http://vimeo.com/8068842

Finally got around to watching this and I must say that it's a hell of a lot of fun. The set up is Escape From New York in Space and Pearce is clearly channeling Kurt Russell as Snake Plisken and you know what, since when isn't that a good thing. The action is well handled, there's some surprises along the way and it's never less than entertaining. It may not be high art, nor will it ever top any greatest films list but that doesn't stop it being one of the most enjoyable sci-fi action films in a long time.

Yeah I'd second that emotion & recommend this as something to pick up when it comes to DVD; the film is as dumb as a bag of hammers - but it knows this, plays everything with a spring in its step & finds a comfortable groove fairly effortlessly; most of all it's lots of fun. There's good banter between characters, the action's solid (albeit with some ropey SFX) and yeah, Guy Pearce is definitely channelling his inner Plissken, no question. He definitely carries the movie, no way it'd be half as fun without his snarky one-liners.

Definitely one for the old-school action/80s nostalgists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is Rudy from Misfits the villian in this film?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,656 ✭✭✭norrie rugger

Is maggie grace actually in this?
    Seriously, is someone from the Taken crew married to her or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭p to the e

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    Is Rudy from Misfits the villian in this film?

Yeah it's him but I remembered him better from This is England. He does a good job of playing the unhinged psychopath. Really channelling Robert Carlyle in Trainspotting.

I enjoyed this film. As someone already mentioned it knows what kind of film it is and doesn't think it can be anything more. Hence you can watch it without being annoyed at oafish attempts at character development, character chemistry etc. An Irish company was behind the SFX as far as I know and did a decent job at it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

Finally got around to watching this and I must say that it's a hell of a lot of fun. The set up is Escape From New York in Space and Pearce is clearly channeling Kurt Russell as Snake Plisken and you know what, since when isn't that a good thing. The action is well handled, there's some surprises along the way and it's never less than entertaining. It may not be high art, nor will it ever top any greatest films list but that doesn't stop it being one of the most enjoyable sci-fi action films in a long time.

yep it's very funny well worth a look

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

Only complaint I could possibly have for this movie is the one scene at the start, the bike chase, the CGI is just a little lazy looking. It only bothers me because it's just about up to the quality of Prey Alone - which was incredible for a short - but just kinda looked like the lads didn't think it was necessary to step it up a notch.

Apart from that I agree with all already said, very Escape from New York and that's a very good thing when done right. Pearce is fantastic. Also one of the best looking movies in HD I've ever seen

niallon wrote: »
    Only complaint I could possibly have for this movie is the one scene at the start, the bike chase, the CGI is just a little lazy looking. It only bothers me because it's just about up to the quality of Prey Alone - which was incredible for a short - but just kinda looked like the lads didn't think it was necessary to step it up a notch.

I would say you're being kind, it was some of the worst CGI i've ever seen. Not just the graphics but the movement of the cars and everything was ridiculously bad.

Maybe they were on a tight budget or whatever but sometimes its better not to do something at all rather than do it badly.

niallon wrote: »

I would say you're being kind, it was some of the worst CGI i've ever seen. Not just the graphics but the movement of the cars and everything was ridiculously bad.

Maybe they were on a tight budget or whatever but sometimes its better not to do something at all rather than do it badly.

I think the look was intentional, it was very cartoony which is right in line with the feel of the film.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 39 Malown

It's a rip-off of a rip-off of Escape from NY.

Malown wrote: »
    It's a rip-off of a rip-off of Escape from NY.

I don't think anyone has argued other wise. Besson has spoke in the past of his love of Escape From New York and the man on a mission theme has been present in many of his films so it's not unexpected that Lockout is little more than Escape From New York in Space. That said you gotta love how when Luc Besson does it, people call it a rip of but when Tarantino does it, it's an homage.

True but there's a difference with what Tarantino does. He references obscure movies (e.g. Kansa City Confidential) while Lockout is like something on straight-to-VHS from the early 1990s.

Tarantino references, while Besson & co. rip-off? Hogwash. Something can only be a rip-off if the makers are deliberately setting out to deceive the audience & make money off the back of the deception. The Lockout crew are clearly not doing this & simply made a noisy, nostalgic throwback, with heavy nods towards Carpenter's old classic. Nothing can be that on the nose & be called a rip-off in all seriousness.

And if we're going to split hairs about it, then arguably Tarantino is far more guilty of deception & ripping off, considering his career now consists of recycling obscure cinema and passing it off as his own oevre; at least Besson brazenly produced an unapologetic shoutout to a classic. Who's truly ripping off?

True but there's a difference with what Tarantino does. He references obscure movies (e.g. Kansa City Confidential) while Lockout is like something on straight-to-VHS from the early 1990s.

Tarantion has a long history of taking lesser know films and simply remaking them. Take Reservoir Dogs for instance, it's nothing more than a remake of Ringo Lam's City on Fire. Watch both films back to back and the similarities are striking. Same goes for Kill Bill, it's a thinly veiled remake/update of Lady Snowblood. Far as I'm concerned Tarantino blatantly ripped off both films and should have been forced to acknowledge the fact.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,330 ✭✭✭niallon

I think the look was intentional, it was very cartoony which is right in line with the feel of the film.

The thought crossed my mind, until the rest of the film featured much more acceptable levels of CG. If there had been a consistent theme of the cartoony feel then I would've accepted it, but to me it looks more like they hadn't the time or the money for a scene with such complexities, but probably figured we would assume it intentional.

He does more than just remaking stuff though. There are lots of old movies that 'Tarnation' uses for just one scene. Lockout is just a rehash of other films with zero originality or inspiration.

Could say the same thing of Reservoir Dogs or Kill Bill. Even Inglorious Basterds is highly reminiscent of a number of older films. Lockout is not exactly original and many of the ideas have been time a dozen times before but at least they do something fun with it. I'd take Lockout any day over the bloated mess that are the Kill Bill films.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,016 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

p to the e wrote: »
    Yeah it's him but I remembered him better from This is England. He does a good job of playing the unhinged psychopath. Really channelling Robert Carlyle in Trainspotting.

I enjoyed this film. As someone already mentioned it knows what kind of film it is and doesn't think it can be anything more. Hence you can watch it without being annoyed at oafish attempts at character development, character chemistry etc. An Irish company was behind the SFX as far as I know and did a decent job at it.

Finally got round to seeing this on Sky Movies recently and found it quite enjoyable, Guy Pearce was great as Snow (Pearce reminded me alot of Hugh Jackman in this) but Joe Gilgun as nutjob Hydell stole the show for me, some good one liners, one of better sci fi action flicks out in last few years imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭siblers

I only watched the first 20 minutes before I turned it off (will give it another try) but I thought the SFX were nothing short of appauling during the bike chase. Would have looked out of date back in 2002 or 2003. Hopefully it improves for the rest of it

siblers wrote: »
    I only watched the first 20 minutes before I turned it off (will give it another try) but I thought the SFX were nothing short of appauling during the bike chase. Would have looked out of date back in 2002 or 2003. Hopefully it improves for the rest of it

I found that the FX in that scene really added to the sense of fun. It's not a film that's to be taken seriously and while it looked cheesy and dated there was a certain retro charm to the scene that helped it standout from a number of similar scenes in other films. The FX work overall is excellent and the film is just a whole lot of fun. It's a tongue in cheek homage to Escape From New York and a dozen other fondly remembered sci-fi action films and all the better for it. Really hope that the planned sequel goes ahead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

The cgi for the first few minutes is ropey as hell but improves after that,there isn't a huge amount of effects in the movie as a whole anyway.

The FX in that opening scene are pretty poor, there's no argument & one presumes they simply ran out of time or money; its defintely worth sticking with because the FX after that are fine, and rest of the film is an enjoyable, old-school romp that's a clear love-letter to those cynical, blackly humourous 80s action/sci-fi flicks (ala Escape From New York), full of decent action and sarcastic wisecracks. Definitely a case that they don't make like this anymore, so to speak :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,857 ✭✭✭indough

the problem is that it isn't nearly as good as any of those films

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,692 ✭✭✭✭siblers

pixelburp wrote: »
    The FX in that opening scene are pretty poor, there's no argument & one presumes they simply ran out of time or money; its defintely worth sticking with because the FX after that are fine, and rest of the film is an enjoyable, old-school romp that's a clear love-letter to those cynical, blackly humourous 80s action/sci-fi flicks (ala Escape From New York), full of decent action and sarcastic wisecracks. Definitely a case that they don't make like this anymore, so to speak :D

Yeah I'm gonna give it another watch, just wasn't feeling it at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 852 ✭✭✭oxygen

I watched this a while back. I enjoyed it, as mentioned the two bad guy leads steal the show, Joe Gilgun especially. Guy Pierce looked like he was enjoying himself in it. Basically a ridiculous enjoyable popcorn movie