Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Less than €6000 for this thing.

• 26-01-2012 11:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭

Link.

Sleeps 14, €88 road tax, has room for a small car and and even has a cooker.
    Pretty cool for the price!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

Do I spy a Fiat 127 where the engine should be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭Chuck_Norris

Ball of scrap, but me likey strangely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,661 ✭✭✭Voodoomelon

Wonder what else you could fit in there. Doubt an MX5 would fit, maybe a Micra cabriolet? :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭robbie_998

Car license will do ?

eh ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

johnos1984 wrote: »

One of the passengers has to sit in that and run it. It's connected to a treadmill that runs the wheels on the bus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,248 ✭✭✭Plug

Engines in the middle?
    I could have better use for the car garage, a dungeon for my captives:pac:

A mini would fit. I don't know what else would really apart from old micro cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

robbie_998 wrote: »
    Car license will do ?

eh ?

classed as a Camper and can't hold more than X (is it 8? ) people and you shouldn't need anything other than a car license, or at least that's the "logic" behind it.

Pretty cool if you ask me, despite looking like a ball of crap on the outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

classed as a Camper and can't hold more than X (is it 8? ) people and you shouldn't need anything other than a car license, or at least that's the "logic" behind it.

Pretty cool if you ask me, despite looking like a ball of crap on the outside

Does the weight limit not still apply?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,930 ✭✭✭✭challengemaster

I'd imagine that's where their "logic" starts to fall apart :)

• Subscribers Posts: 6,408 ✭✭✭conzy

The bodywork is actually all carbon fibre painted to look like a ****ty bus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

despite looking like a ball of crap on the outside

And a bigger ball of $hite on the inside.. :p

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,425 ✭✭✭FearDark

My car would fit in the back of this :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Park it up in a Coach Bay and live in it.

Not your ornery onager

Esel wrote: »
    Park it up in a Coach Bay and live in it.

Someone does that (or used to do that) outside The Montrose Hotel across the road from UCD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 927 ✭✭✭Kev.

How many people automatically thought about the Euro's?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,500 ✭✭✭✭cson

That is a Polkraine machine if ever I saw one.

If you got 10 lads to split it between them @ 500 a pop [wave 5k in his face and he'd take it I'd say, maybe even less but then again it looks like a labour of love he got ****ed up of], you could flog it over there for 1-2k I'd say after.

Only thing is; he says it sleeps 14 but in the pics I'm only seeing one bed... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 431 ✭✭SilverBell

Needs a curtain in the jacks aswell to avoid shocking other campers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,208 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Second last photo shows the 6 bunk beds - only suitable for kids really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,817 ✭✭✭✭Dord

Nope,its front engined. The fiat is in the boot.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭MidlandsM

DOE-less too .................

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Looks like a hoot.
    Might just sell my house, buy this and fcuk off out of here.
    If I could sell my house that is...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,696 ✭✭✭trad

SilverBell wrote: »
    Needs a curtain in the jacks aswell to avoid shocking other campers.

With 10 blokes on the bus you'd need more than a curtain

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,158 ✭✭✭✭Berty

robbie_998 wrote: »
    Car license will do ?

eh ?

You know those big ass cranes you see driving around the country. They run on green diesel and you only need a B license to drive one because they are classed as agricultural vehicles.

Madness I know.

BTW, Bus is a ball of scrap. Does it come with a bunch of hippies tied to it to pull it along?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Only in Ireland does a mobile toxic furnace the size of a small town only needs €88 in tax and a normal drivers licence because it's a "camper van" :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,175 ✭✭✭Top Dog

cson wrote: »
    Only thing is; he says it sleeps 14 but in the pics I'm only seeing one bed... :eek:
    Double-bed at the back (2), triple bunks each side just in front of that (+6), single couch type thing in front of that (+1), 2 double-dinettes that presumably make 2 narrow double beds (+4) .... thats 13 bodies accounted for. No idea where number 14 is supposed to fit.

Unless of course the seller is hoping that a bunch of lads will buy it for the Euro's in which case number 14 will be asleep bent over the toilet (theres always 1)! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,694 ✭✭✭✭L-M

12-14 smelly lads on a big dirty auld bus driving around, sounds like my idea of hell.

And this blurry sideways shot resembles a Vietnamese train, minus the random livestock.

Full-9454306.jpeg

You could do alot better with 5 grand. ie. burn half of it and piss the rest up again a wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,857 ✭✭✭langdang

vectra wrote: »
    And a bigger ball of $hite on the inside.. :p
    I've lived in worse houses and smaller apartments! Probably has a better BER rating than the boom-built wind tunnel I'm living in now :o

A smart car would fit would it?

Leave some lads loose with some spray cans
    Pay+Here.gif
    Daycent!

Top Dog wrote: »
    Unless of course the seller is hoping that a bunch of lads will buy it for the Euro's :D
    Motors forum road trip! :D:D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,953 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Only grandads can drive it on a B car licence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Someone does that (or used to do that) outside The Montrose Hotel across the road from UCD

The Honey Suckle Rose IIRC, he was moved on from there and started parking in Celbridge opposite HP. Haven't seen it in a while

mad muffin wrote: »
    Only in Ireland does a mobile toxic furnace the size of a small town only needs €88 in tax and a normal drivers licence because it's a "camper van" :eek:

Only in Ireland to do they run a scrappage scheme to protect our "motor industry*" by scrapping perfectly good cars and encouraging people to buy new cars, which while emitting tiny amounts of CO2(apart from the building, shipping and scrapping!!) emit way more pollution that actually affects people, and pay €102 for a €60k+ car.

Unless you got your B licence before the 90's then you can't drive it on a B, there may also be issues if you did have the C1 on your B but let it lapse for more than 10 years.

* We don't have a motor industry, we have a service sector that sells cars.

aujopimur wrote: »

not even then, it's over 3.5 tonnes, in the event of an insurance claim, you'd be on yer own.

MidlandsM wrote: »
    aujopimur wrote: »

not even then, it's over 3.5 tonnes, in the event of an insurance claim, you'd be on yer own.
    I wouldn't like to be sneaking it past the German traffic police!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

They used to issue C1 with B, you also got EB, don't know when they stopped issuing them together but it was before the 90s. Similar to how you used to get M on B till 2006. Once you've kept your licences up to date there's nothing an insurance company can do, unless it's over 7.5t dgvw

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

hmmmm i can 'tax' my house for 100e or move into this and tax it for 88 euro. :D

Del2005 wrote: »
    They used to issue C1 with B, you also got EB, don't know when they stopped issuing them together but it was before the 90s. Similar to how you used to get M on B till 2006. Once you've kept your licences up to date there's nothing an insurance company can do, unless it's over 7.5t dgvw

if a "grandad" got the C or C1 categories when they passed their B (car test) back then way wonder on their licence, fine - they'd be licenced to drive it, but if they only had a B licence, nope, they can't and in the event of an accident, they'd be toasted.

Also, that bus has no DOE and I'd doubt it'd pass an engineers report which would be required to get it insured.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,091 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

Seriously though - anyone know if there are time/duration limits on parking a taxed vehicle in a coach bay? There are a few bays at the side of Dublin Castle, and with a resident doberman or rottweiler, security when you're away from 'home' shouldn't be an issue......

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,257 ✭✭✭deandean

I

LOVE

IT

Thinks I'll run right out and buy it.

Then I chuck all the ankle biters outa the house to live in it

and have a good nights sleep.

Worth it for the price :pac:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭Stinicker

Right lads we'll all get loans, head over over to the Euro's and then say feck it and motor on into Russia and Eurasia and abandon the hippy mobile somewhere around India before joining the Hare Krishnas and then flying over to Oz to start new lives. :pac::pac: Apparently alot of Irish Soccer fans for USA 94 never returned!, I remember a song along the lines of, lordy lordy lordy we need a big bank loan!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Only in Ireland to do they run a scrappage scheme to protect our "motor industry*" by scrapping perfectly good cars and encouraging people to buy new cars,

Only in Ireland do we the keep a two-tier motor taxation system for penalising older car drivers and encouraging people to buy new cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,918 ✭✭✭Terrontress

if a "grandad" got the C or C1 categories when they passed their B (car test) back then way wonder on their licence, fine - they'd be licenced to drive it, but if they only had a B licence, nope, they can't and in the event of an accident, they'd be toasted.

Also, that bus has no DOE and I'd doubt it'd pass an engineers report which would be required to get it insured.

The engineer's report for camper insurance, if that is what it will fall under, is easy to get. I once got a camper insurance for a transit camper after a guy I met completed the form using his garage's stamp saying it was fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

MadsL wrote: »
    Only in Ireland do we the keep a two-tier motor taxation system for penalising older car drivers and encouraging people to buy new cars.

Isn't it the other way around?

Reward drivers of older petrol cars with higher emissions and penalise those who go out and buy a newer petrol car with lower emotions, because they didn't buy a diesel.

My old 99 1.4 ltr vw bora has a lower tax than the newer 2009 car that I bought.

Yet the new car has lower emissions. :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Stinicker wrote: »
    Right lads we'll all get loans, head over over to the Euro's and then say feck it and motor on into Russia and Eurasia and abandon the hippy mobile somewhere around India before joining the Hare Krishnas and then flying over to Oz to start new lives. :pac::pac: Apparently alot of Irish Soccer fans for USA 94 never returned!, I remember a song along the lines of, lordy lordy lordy we need a big bank loan!

Am thinking more along the lines of bank job...
    Who will be the getaway driver and what will he/she drive?
    I reckon Skoda, fasht and a big boot for the loot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭Slidey

Definitely need a minimum of a Rigid (C) licence if not a Bus licence to drive this.

I think I tested one of these before and it was mid engined.

Often thought it would be a nice idea but how in the fcuk would you get into most campsites with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,815 ✭✭✭imitation

Gonna modify a mini and pretend im knight rider with the car hold !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 582 ✭✭✭HJL

Fitting a Fiat 126 into a bus is nothing. The bus and the car would fit into the boot of an Octavia with the seats folded down :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Put a mini motor cycle in the boot of the 127.

Vehicle-ception!

...I'll get me coat....

Slidey wrote: »
    Definitely need a minimum of a Rigid (C) licence if not a Bus licence to drive this.

I think I tested one of these before and it was mid engined.

Often thought it would be a nice idea but how in the fcuk would you get into most campsites with it

so true.:D