Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Who starts at oh?

• 26-01-2012 9:14pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 756 ✭✭✭4PP

The BIG......ROG vs SEXTOY........DEBATE .............
    or vice versa if it pleases regular_smile.gif

Its been done to death but here we go again :D

I think you are all missing the point. Yes Ireland have two quality ohs in the above. Grand lads, fine players, the mammys favorite son-in-law etc.
    Actually, a similar situation to David H & ROG way back when.

Who do we start (6N) with? Well all have you have hashed & re-hashed the arguments for long enough. In fact so much information has been thrown the bookies way that I doubt they know themselves what the best setup is laugh.gif.

I'll go against the grain here & stick my neck out. Not like me I know, "Mr Conservative".....................with my no draw h-caps @4/5.........Yes, yes I know, slag all ye want confused_smile.gif

This time I'm calling it as I believe it should be49_49.gif.

Firstly ROG is nearly as old as my youngest brother, ie; he's past it. He'll do for some cameo's & maybe against Italy but a full blown 80 minutes at 6N level? ........Nope.

Sextoy, good in defense, good runner, good pass too. Not too bad "vision" wise but can be put under pressure going backwards. Still young though & he'll learn. Basically I don't think he is quite 100% ready for full blown 6N Grand Slam titles in "even" years.

He will however benifit from ROG's experience in camp if said ROG climbs down off his high horse and if the young pup is willing to listen.
    Might do neither any harm.

Considering the lack of BOD & imho believing that young Earls has no business near that 13 shirt (neither does O'Malley/Trimble/Bowe) things need to be shifted around.

So, lets keep ROG in the 30, good backup if needs be.
    Sextoy drifts into the centre. Maybe alongside D'arcy, maybe McFadden.
    Matters little.
    The lad (Sextoy) can fill the role, brings a good passing/kicking game into the middle of the park all the while being able to watch and learn from a more experienced professionel at oh.

He (JS) won't like it of course, he's a sportsman, he wants to start every game & thats a credit to him. ROG too will be far from enanmored with the idea of holding tackle bags but that life/sport.

Sometimes you have to swallow your pride & take one for the team.

In anycase Paddy Wallace is more than able to fill the role at oh for this season if not longterm.
    It won't be easy but both Sextoy (less pressure) & ROG (dignified exit against the Italians) will be the long term winners.

Hard on Paddy Wallace I know but at least he gets at least one full 6N campaign under his boot & into the record books.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 232 ✭✭RickRoll

What?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I have absolutely no idea what you're saying...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Excuse me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Kids:
    Don't. Do. Drugs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

I actually think that OP is worse than any of the horrible things munster and Leinster fans have said to eachother over the years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

I've read (and posted) my share of rubbish on boards, but this takes the cake....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

4PP wrote: »
    The BIG......ROG vs SEXTOY........DEBATE .............
    or vice versa if it pleases regular_smile.gif

Its been done to death but here we go again :D

I think you are all missing the point. Yes Ireland have two quality ohs in the above. Grand lads, fine players, the mammys favorite son-in-law etc.
    Actually, a similar situation to David H & ROG way back when.

Who do we start (6N) with? Well all have you have hashed & re-hashed the arguments for long enough. In fact so much information has been thrown the bookies way that I doubt they know themselves what the best setup is laugh.gif.

I'll go against the grain here & stick my neck out. Not like me I know, "Mr Conservative".....................with my no draw h-caps @4/5.........Yes, yes I know, slag all ye want confused_smile.gif

This time I'm calling it as I believe it should be49_49.gif.

Firstly ROG is nearly as old as my youngest brother, ie; he's past it. He'll do for some cameo's & maybe against Italy but a full blown 80 minutes at 6N level? ........Nope.

Sextoy, good in defense, good runner, good pass too. Not too bad "vision" wise but can be put under pressure going backwards. Still young though & he'll learn. Basically I don't think he is quite 100% ready for full blown 6N Grand Slam titles in "even" years.

He will however benifit from ROG's experience in camp if said ROG climbs down off his high horse and if the young pup is willing to listen.
    Might do neither any harm.

Considering the lack of BOD & imho believing that young Earls has no business near that 13 shirt (neither does O'Malley/Trimble/Bowe) things need to be shifted around.

So, lets keep ROG in the 30, good backup if needs be.
    Sextoy drifts into the centre. Maybe alongside D'arcy, maybe McFadden.
    Matters little.
    The lad (Sextoy) can fill the role, brings a good passing/kicking game into the middle of the park all the while being able to watch and learn from a more experienced professionel at oh.

He (JS) won't like it of course, he's a sportsman, he wants to start every game & thats a credit to him. ROG too will be far from enanmored with the idea of holding tackle bags but that life/sport.

Sometimes you have to swallow your pride & take one for the team.

In anycase Paddy Wallace is more than able to fill the role at oh for this season if not longterm.
    It won't be easy but both Sextoy (less pressure) & ROG (dignified exit against the Italians) will be the long term winners.

Hard on Paddy Wallace I know but at least he gets at least one full 6N campaign under his boot & into the record books.

I want the minute and thirty seconds of my life you just robbed back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,599 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

I think he is saying ROG is too old to start at 10 but keep him in the squad, give him a swansong against Italy. Sexton can't handle the pressure at 10 and should play 12. Lets start Wallace at 10 for the 6Ns.

I could be reading it wrong. Doesn't make much sense as a strategy imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,071 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

I think he is saying ROG is too old to start at 10 but keep him in the squad, give him a swansong against Italy. Sexton can't handle the pressure at 10 and should play 12. Lets start Wallace at 10 for the 6Ns.

I could be reading it wrong. Doesn't make much sense as a strategy imo

you deserve a PHD for deciphering that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,637 ✭✭✭CoDy1

Ok, but Sextoy?? Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

CoDy1 wrote: »
    Ok, but Sextoy?? Seriously?
    Cos he penetrates the opposition?

• I love LSD

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 3,093 Mod ✭✭✭✭ktulu123

I will have 12 of whatever he's having pls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

To be fair, this is the most enjoyable ROG-Sexton debate in ages!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

It's certainly the only one where paddy Wallace wins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

BRING BACK MANNING!

Far superior to either ROG or Sexton - sure just look at the passion he showed during the haka against NZ, ROG doesn't have sh1t on him. And don't get me started on Sexton; a Leinster nancy boy isn't fit to lace the boots of Manning. I'm telling you, if it weren't for politics he would would have 50 + starts for Ireland and would be going into the 6N as WC champions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

exploding-brain.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 253 ✭✭Dr.Evil

Not_sure_if_your_serious.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

He is saying that Sexton isn't ready for full 6 Nations rugby and ROG is past it. Also that Earls, Bowe, OMalley don't have any business being considered for 13.

So the answer is to play Wallace at 10 and Sexton at 12 with ROG holding tackle bags. It doesn't matter who is at 13.

Obviously its completely stupid, but I've decided to spend the evening translating it anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭lologram

1276708167348.gif

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Paddy Wallace at outhalf!

wimQl.gif