Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

ford fiesta nct preperation thread

• 26-01-2012 12:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭

i bought 97 fiesta off a lady in december as i was in bad need of a car. Upon inspection she told me herself there was small bit of rust which there is about size of a fist. She put it in for pre nct as it is not out until next month. It failed on the following points:

rear suspension system (55) axle and wishbones : worn nearside/rear
    (bodywork 35) primary structure corrosion : suspension mountings offside rear
    (bodywork 35) primary structure corrosion : suspension mountings nearside rear
    brake lines / hoses (47) condition advanced corrosion : nearside/rear
    re test brake test again
    re test repeat side slip test
    bodywork (35) primary structure corrosion door sills nearside
    spare wheel and carrier (40) mounting insecure
    transmission (57) cv boot frayed/cut offside front, outer
    front suspension (46) anti roll bars bushes and links worn offside front.

its coming to the time where i need to make a decision/ To fix for test or sell on. Based on fail sheet i have looked at prices of parts online, and it comes to 318.18. I just want to know should i sell car on with fail sheet or put money into is it worth it basically ????

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

debbie123 wrote: »
    i bought 97 fiesta off a lady in december as i was in bad need of a car upon inspection she told me herself there was small bit of rust which there is about size of a fist she put it in for pre nct as it is not out until next month it failed on the following points:

re test brake test again

its coming to the time where i need to make a decision to fix for test or sell on. based on fail sheet i have looked at prices of parts online and it comes to 318.18 just want to know should i sell car on with fail sheet or put money into is it worth it basically ????

€318 for parts, labour to fit everything(unless you do it all yourself?) then labour etc for the rust repair.

Seems like it might not be financially viable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 88 ✭✭debbie123

€318 for parts, labour to fit everything(unless you do it all yourself?) then labour etc for the rust repair.

Seems like it might not be financially viable.

Thats exactly what i thinking!! . Something else is telling me to stick with it that at least when everythings done ive an easy mind. See what im thinking if sold this for 200 and put money with it i could be back to square one and end up with a car that needs these things done to it. As they are quite internal and could cost me more money. I don't know i'm half afraid was sold a dodgy car before all front end cv boot joints suspensions etc had dicentegrated. I crashed annd wrote it off and my friend was badly hurt in accident. So you can kind of see my wariness concerns and worries!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

thats exactly what i thinking something else is telling me to stick with it that at least when everythings done ive an easy mind see what im thinking if sold this for 200 and put money with it i could be back to square one and end up with a car that needs these things done to it as they are quite internal and could cost me more money i dont know half afraid was sold a dodgy car before all front end cv boot joints suspensions etc had dicentegrated i crashed annd wrote it off and my friend was badly hurt in accident so you can kind of see my wariness concerns and worries!!!

What kind of mumbo jumbo is this? No punctuation. Can you not make sentences? Its nigh on impossible to understand what you're trying to say:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

i bought 97 fiesta off a lady in december as i was in bad need of a car upon inspection she told me herself there was small bit of rust which there is about size of a fist she put it in for pre nct as it is not out until next month it failed on the following points:

re test brake test again

its coming to the time where i need to make a decision to fix for test or sell on. based on fail sheet i have looked at prices of parts online and it comes to 318.18 just want to know should i sell car on with fail sheet or put money into is it worth it basically ????

It must be a 97 Fiesta thing :pac:

ironically, I have a 97 Fiesta that I recently put through the nct. With much the same problems :eek: minus the suspension work that is

Front shocks start at 70. Drop links start from 6, arb bushes much the same.
    Rear shocks are 50 a side. 97 Fiestas take a fork type end, the bush is in the axle. Stupid idea :rolleyes:
    Rear shoes are 20 for Ferodo stuff.
    My cv boots were in bits but so were the driveshafts. Got 2 new ones. Budget around 10 for boots though.
    Sills often rot on these cars especially at the b pillar. I cut up another one with good sills and welded it in. Ground it down, minimal filler and repainted the sills. Job done.
    If I find rotten brake pipes, I make my own with a flaring kit and copper pipe (not for the faint hearted). My pipes were spot on though.
    I tore off my spare wheel tray by accident. Got one from a donor car and tightened it up. These need constant attention or the bolt will seize up.

All the work done myself. Engine out twice in 3 months! :eek:

Realistically though unless you do all the work yourself, the car is worth 600 max with a fresh nct. Sell it for 250 on DD as a spares or repairs.

dgt wrote: »
    It must be a 97 Fiesta thing :pac:

ironically, I have a 97 Fiesta that I recently put through the nct. With much the same problems :eek: minus the suspension work that is

Front shocks start at 70. Drop links start from 6, arb bushes much the same.
    Rear shocks are 50 a side. 97 Fiestas take a fork type end, the bush is in the axle. Stupid idea :rolleyes:
    Rear shoes are 20 for Ferodo stuff.
    My cv boots were in bits but so were the driveshafts. Got 2 new ones. Budget around 10 for boots though.
    Sills often rot on these cars especially at the b pillar. I cut up another one with good sills and welded it in. Ground it down, minimal filler and repainted the sills. Job done.
    If I find rotten brake pipes, I make my own with a flaring kit and copper pipe (not for the faint hearted). My pipes were spot on though.
    I tore off my spare wheel tray by accident. Got one from a donor car and tightened it up. These need constant attention or the bolt will seize up.

All the work done myself. Engine out twice in 3 months! :eek:

Realistically though unless you do all the work yourself, the car is worth 600 max with a fresh nct. Sell it for 250 on DD as a spares or repairs.

My boyfriends brother is a whizz with cars but couldnt expect him to do all that!!! So the cost of parts and labour for a mechanic to do it is quite scary. Whats also worrying me is im temporarily unemployed. I'm really worried about purchase of parts or replacement car. Which i suppose is causing me to think keep it and do it as i dont want to have simlar problems with next car. If i was to change i would go back to a 1.0 litre. To save on tax money but decent 1.0 car prices have rocketed lately according to donedeal results

What kind of mumbo jumbo is this? No punctuation. Can you not make sentences? Its nigh on impossible to understand what you're trying to say:confused:

sorry was quite upset when i was writing i was thinking about car crash i had brought back unwanted memories and i am really stressed about money. i'll edit it i'm sorry. Forgot myself that i was on a forum.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

Fiestas are one of the handiest cars I've ever worked on. Sort of...

Its an unrealistic fix unless you have another donor car or decent parts at hand to put in.

Put it on DD for about 300 and see what you can get. Mightn't sound the nicest option but it's your best.

1 litre cars, I wouldn't bother, too expensive to buy. They're expensive as Irish people are mean and don't want to pay too much to run a car, so the cheapest dullest yoke will do :rolleyes:

Maybe another fixored and tested Fiesta for not much more? NCTd examples start from 200 afterall... Cheaper than the repair bill and now you have a spares car :)

And please, for the love of bejaysus, please use some capital letters and punctuation in your posts. It makes reading and understanding your posts for us drunk people a bit difficult :(

Not worth fixing when you'd get a tested one for peanuts that might be ok :)

dgt wrote: »
    Fiestas are one of the handiest cars I've ever worked on. Sort of...

Its an unrealistic fix unless you have another donor car or decent parts at hand to put in.

Put it on DD for about 300 and see what you can get. Mightn't sound the nicest option but it's your best.

1 litre cars, I wouldn't bother, too expensive to buy. They're expensive as Irish people are mean and don't want to pay too much to run a car, so the cheapest dullest yoke will do :rolleyes:

Maybe another fixored and tested Fiesta for not much more? NCTd examples start from 200 afterall... Cheaper than the repair bill and now you have a spares car :)

And please, for the love of bejaysus, please use some capital letters and punctuation in your posts. It makes reading and understanding your posts for us drunk people a bit difficult :(

Ya that's what i was thinking. I don't want to be pumping money into a car that's not worth it value wise !! That's a good point about having a car for spares!! Well why i was looking for a 1 ltr is because I've moved into a new house and moneys tight I'd love to be able to hold onto fiesta. But if i can make life easier with a cheaper car tor run i might.

RoverJames wrote: »
    Not worth fixing when you'd get a tested one for peanuts that might be ok :)

Good point if i get it checked out properly i should be ok.

I've made up my mind keeping the car for another month, then will sell on and get something decent save up months worth of money. Thanks lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 emerald-eagle

I also have a Ford Fiesta 2000. It's just been thru the NCT and passed on everything except:-

transmission (57) cv boot frayed/cut offside front

Anyone know how much this will cost to fix? Can't aford another car - new, second-hand or otherwise - so it's this or nothing. Cheers