Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Driven boar in Hungary

• 26-01-2012 12:06am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭

Below are a few pictures from a driven boar hunt myself, Sika98k and a few other lads went on last weekend. Over two days hunting, we bagged 40 head of game: four red hinds and the rest were boar of various sizes.

It was an awesome trip with a great bunch of lads. The shooting, and the craic, was great over the weekend.

Fair play to Sika98k who did all the organising for our group. It was my first time hunting in Hungary and first time after boar.. all I can say is I will be back.. soon!

IMG_0501.jpg

IMG_0490.jpg

IMG_0464.jpg

IMG_0459.jpg

IMG_0498.jpg

IMG_0461.jpg

This last one was my biggest pig of the weekend. As Sika98k noted on another thread: don't underestimate the humble 30-30. This shot was taken at130+ yards at a running pig, I was using open sights and the pig dropped with one well paced shot! It took four men to lift her into the back of the Hilux :)

Over the weekend I was very impressed with my little winchester 94. It was light to carry, quick to mount, and had little recoil.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Just rubbing it in now! Good shooting Hibrion! Sounds like the hell of a trip.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭Hibrion

Just rubbing it in now! Good shooting Hibrion! Sounds like the hell of a trip.

It was great! Very different to what I'm used to and much better! Got to christen the winchester too, which was a bonus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Hibrion wrote: »
    It was great! Very different to what I'm used to and much better! Got to christen the winchester too, which was a bonus.

Good to hear! I've got those sika hinds for you to introduce to it too, mind!

Oh, I haven't forgotten that either. Must make arrangements soon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Did you get a chance to use the new Bowie Hibrion?

Luckily I got them all with the rifle, before they could get me. The bowie stayed on my belt the whole weekend, but it was nice to have it there; especially after one of the guides told me about the odd bear they have seen there :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭rowa

What sort of money does a trip like that cost hibrion ? Are there trophy fees for each animal shot ?

It varies on the group size and a few other factors. We went with this guy:

http://www.nagyvadhunting.hu/index2eng.html

A gentleman to deal with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Hibrion wrote: »
    Luckily I got them all with the rifle, before they could get me. The bowie stayed on my belt the whole weekend, but it was nice to have it there; especially after one of the guides told me about the odd bear they have seen there :eek:

Any chance of a close up pic on that rifle??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 480 ✭✭ssl

Looks and sounds like a great trip lads. Well done that big hog, running shot and all

Any chance of a close up pic on that rifle??

Won't be out with it for a while but I'll take one when I get a chance. I was too excited to focus on the rifle in Hungary :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

nice trip there lad.

i will have to splash out on something like that some day.

could you do a bit of a write up on the 30-30. along with some pics of it ;)

poulo6.5 wrote: »
    nice trip there lad.

i will have to splash out on something like that some day.

could you do a bit of a write up on the 30-30. along with some pics of it ;)

Will do, when I get a chance.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,460 ✭✭✭4gun

Great shooting Hibron and Sika, There can be no doubt to the effectiveness of the 30-30 on large game.
    I'm just biding my time, I going to make my final decision by next week end ..either a second hand Winnie or a new Marlin
    If I wait any longer the missus will find other use for the cash:o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Hail the hunters!!
    A very fine stretch of boar there.And properly laid out too at the end of the day with the fires and the green..Like that!!!:D
    Did they do it utterly formal with the head keeper giving a short speech on the days bag and a response from the main shooter??
    Bet you hit the Hungarian Balinka too??;):D

Did you get to try any12GA slugs as well as you were hoping to??:)
    All in all it looks like a very good trip and that 30.30 is good for boar as well!:)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

Class that must have being one brill trip... hope they multiply good here in Ireland :D

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Hail the hunters!!
    A very fine stretch of boar there.And properly laid out too at the end of the day with the fires and the green..Like that!!!:D
    Did they do it utterly formal with the head keeper giving a short speech on the days bag and a response from the main shooter??
    Bet you hit the Hungarian Balinka too??;):D

Did you get to try any12GA slugs as well as you were hoping to??:)
    All in all it looks like a very good trip and that 30.30 is good for boar as well!:)

It was very formal, in a nice way. The lead hunter said a few words and tunes were played on a horn to honour the animals. Then it was the traditional 'spanking of the virgins'; a fact that was not told to me before hand I might add! Basically those of us who hadn't shot a boar before got a whack of a stick across the arse.. haha

It was all in good jest. Afterwards two bottles of schnaps, a crate of beer and bottle of (delicious) home made plum brandy were opened on site. Then it was back to the hotel for roast wild boar, more beer, more spirits, and tales of hunting until the wee hours of the morning.

I didn't bother bringing the shotgun over in the end, Grizzly. It worked out well in the end. Perhaps another time I'll try 00buck or slugs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

[
    QUOTE=Hibrion;76746882]It was very formal, in a nice way. The lead hunter said a few words and tunes were played on a horn to honour the animals. Then it was the traditional 'spanking of the virgins'; a fact that was not told to me before hand I might add! Basically those of us who hadn't shot a boar before got a whack of a stick across the arse.. haha

Nice..They even saluted with the animals...Very traditional then:D.
    Spanking the virgins...Some quaint Magyar custom no doubt!!:eek::eek:

It was all in good jest. Afterwards two bottles of schnaps, a crate of beer and bottle of (delicious) home made plum brandy were opened on site. Then it was back to the hotel for roast wild boar, more beer, more spirits, and tales of hunting until the wee hours of the morning.
    And we think can drink in Ieland!!!:DThose boys are hardy all Vodka or various fruit brandies like we drink Guiness!
    That plum brandy or Palinka as it is known over there has some revenge on it the following morning!
    didn't bother bringing the shotgun over in the end, Grizzly. It worked out well in the end. Perhaps another time I'll try 00buck or slugs

Hmmm, I reckon if folks are putting together another trip next year and the finances allow,count me in.:D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "