Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dingle Marathon

• 22-01-2012 4:41pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭

Anyone interested in the Dingle half or full marathon on 1st Sept. should check out www.groupon.ie as they have a deal on for 50% off entry, €26 for half and €33 for full.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,441 ✭✭✭Slogger Jogger

Anyone interested in the Dingle half or full marathon on 1st Sept. should check out www.groupon.ie as they have a deal on for 50% off entry, €26 for half and €33 for full.

Do you have the specific link? Looked on site and couldn't see it. The website navigation isn't the best. No free search either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 394 ✭✭central park

It came up straightaway for me but if you put West as your city it should come up. If you PM me I will email the link but not sure how to do it otherwise!

Cheers.. That worked. http://www.groupon.ie/deals/west
    Deal on for next 3 hours or so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Looks like a road marathon that would suit hill runners, and it fits in with my plans... sold! Thanks central park!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,496 ✭✭✭Oisin11178

Paul there is one decent hill near the end that makes it difficult. Some lovely scenery also. One of my favs from 2011.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,608 ✭✭✭donothoponpop

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Paul there is one decent hill near the end that makes it difficult. Some lovely scenery also. One of my favs from 2011.

I'm looking at it on the website now- 74m climb over 2.4k... sure that's only a 3.1% grade, starting at 35k point, easy peasy :D:D

Yeah I always had this one in mind, after reading all your reports. You can pace me round Frank :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 970 ✭✭✭mithril

Note also the comment bout the Ultra.

"
    The next Dingle ultra marathon will not take place until at least 100 people are interested in taking part. If you are interested in taking part in 2012, please email: ken@dinglemarathon.ie

Cost: €80 (plus active europe registration)"
    http://www.dinglemarathon.ie/marathon_ultra.html

That's going to be a very high bar to meet. There is a strong likelihood of picking up an injury due to the high mileage needed to prepare properly for the event. Most Ultra runners won't register until the last moment.

Go on then. A trip to Dingle at the start of September sounds good.

I'm looking at it on the website now- 74m climb over 2.4k... sure that's only a 3.1% grade, starting at 35k point, easy peasy :D:D

Yeah I always had this one in mind, after reading all your reports. You can pace me round Frank :D
    There will be a fair few of us down there id say. Yeah the hill isnt that bad, its just where it comes. Deffo a session on the cards :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,340 ✭✭✭TFBubendorfer

mithril wrote: »
    Note also the comment bout the Ultra.

"
    The next Dingle ultra marathon will not take place until at least 100 people are interested in taking part. If you are interested in taking part in 2012, please email: ken@dinglemarathon.ie

Cost: €80 (plus active europe registration)"
    http://www.dinglemarathon.ie/marathon_ultra.html

That's going to be a very high bar to meet. There is a strong likelihood of picking up an injury due to the high mileage needed to prepare properly for the event. Most Ultra runners won't register until the last moment.

He's not asking for 100 people to sign up. He is asking for 100 people to send an email telling him that they're interested. Do that NOW if you're thinking about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,742 ✭✭✭ultraman1

afaik, the 50 mile ultra has been confirmed as on

ultraman1 wrote: »
    afaik, the 50 mile ultra has been confirmed as on

yes, thats the email I got:
    Hi Thomas,

I hope all is well.

I have good news in that the Dingle 50 mile ultra is going ahead and confirmed for Saturday the 1st of September.

Most the details you need are on the website and these will be tweaked and updated as necessary.

It will be the same course and organisation as the 2010 event.

I am very excited about this and can not wait to get 2012 underway. It is an amazing course and will be a superb event.

Registration is now open. Entry cost is €80 and will increase up to €90 then €100 closer to the event.

I hope you can join us on this epic route...

Regards

Ken

That's my schedule for 2012 sorted, then. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Would 3 weeks give me enough time to recover and run a fast PB in Berlin? Hmmmm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭ThePiedPiper

I'm very tempted by the Ultra or full here. I did pacing duties for the half last year. It's a great event, very scenic course and the organisation with buses back to Dingle, etc was superb. Maybe a 50 mile ultra on a very difficult course would be a bit of a ridiculous first ultra but it's definitely on the bucket list. Hopefully it'll be a big success this year. Might see ye down there.

Go for it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,842 ✭✭✭Micilin Muc

Anybody else going for this one?

Is it hillier than the Connemarathon?

I'll be there.

Very similar overall. These are my garmin numbers so +/- a few %.
    Dingle. 452m climb. Conn. 390m climb.

Yes and yes :)

Dingle. 452m climb. Conn. 390m climb.
    Yes and yes :)

I'm in :cool:

Good man!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 8,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wilberto

This is already on my marathon schedule anyway. Only the full though, would love to do an ultra some day but let's just leave that for another time!!!! :):):D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭Cartman78

Looking at an early-ish Autumn marathon - it's coming down to 3 choices...Dingle, Sligo or Longford.

It'll more than likely be my last marathon for a while so want to go out with a bang.

Tbh I'm a bit wary of Sligo as it's their first time doing it and don't want to encounter the all too familiar teething problems re: organisation, marshalling,course etc.

I know Longford is more established but from what I can gather it's a very quiet event.

Which brings me to Dingle :) - just how hard is the course?? Have done Limerick, Dublin and London so I'm guessing it's probably more of a challenge in terms of hills than any of those???

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Which brings me to Dingle :) - just how hard is the course?? Have done Limerick, Dublin and London so I'm guessing it's probably more of a challenge in terms of hills than any of those???

It's more challenging than those, alright. The hill from mile 21 to 23 is tough, and the rest of the course isn't flat either.

The scenery more than makes up for it, though.

Cartman78 wrote: »
    Looking at an early-ish Autumn marathon - it's coming down to 3 choices...Dingle, Sligo or Longford.

It'll more than likely be my last marathon for a while so want to go out with a bang.

Tbh I'm a bit wary of Sligo as it's their first time doing it and don't want to encounter the all too familiar teething problems re: organisation, marshalling,course etc.

I know Longford is more established but from what I can gather it's a very quiet event.

Depends what you want from the marathon, its all subjective. If your looking for a time longford is your man. If your looking for an experience Dingle is your man, stunning scenery esp in the second half. If your looking to be involved in something new that may be the start of something decent then maybe give sligo a chance.
    The support in Dingle and Longford is kinda poor unless your near the start finish areas.
    Both Dingle and sligo will have pacers this year, not sure about longford but i doubt it.

Oisin11178 wrote: »
    Both Dingle and sligo will have pacers this year, not sure about longford but i doubt it.

Longford will never have pacers under the current RD (and without the current RD there would be no Longford marathon, of course).

seb locteau tried to organise unofficial pacers a couple of years ago but i dont think it panned out. Thats why i said i doubt it, i know the RD,s opinion of pacers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭jonny99

Anyone in for the 50?

Ive signed up, but none of the usual suspects ive spoken to is doin it.It'll be awful lonely up the Connor pass on my own:o

jonny99 wrote: »
    Anyone in for the 50?

Ive signed up, but none of the usual suspects ive spoken to is doin it.It'll be awful lonely up the Connor pass on my own:o

Yup, I'm doing it. Would not miss it for my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 117 ✭✭jonny99

Cool.But I'll still be on my own up the Connor Pass:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Insane1

Signed up for the 50 myself, can't wait as it will be my first 50 miler. Portumna 50k on the 16th June, then Waterford Marathon 30th June and then Dingle 1st Sept. should be an interesting 10 weeks! :rolleyes:

Insane1 wrote: »
    Signed up for the 50 myself, can't wait as it will be my first 50 miler. Portumna 50k on the 16th June, then Waterford Marathon 30th June and then Dingle 1st Sept. should be an interesting 10 weeks! :rolleyes:

Slacker :D

Welcome aboard. The more the merrier (and the more likely that the race will still happen in the coming years).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Insane1

Slacker :D

Welcome aboard. The more the merrier (and the more likely that the race will still happen in the coming years).

Thanks! Was going to try squeeze in cork too but that was seriously risking divorce! :p This running lark is fair addictive! Scenery in Dingle is incredible. I have only driven through it before, can't wait to run it. It would be a crime not to have this race in future years..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Limerick91

A quick question on the half marathon.

Has anybody run both the Limerick and Dingle and how does the route compare.
    Is the Dingle half much hillier than the Limerick half?

Limerick91 wrote: »
    A quick question on the half marathon.

Has anybody run both the Limerick and Dingle and how does the route compare.
    Is the Dingle half much hillier than the Limerick half?

Oh God, yes.
    There are no hills in Limerick. There are in Dingle!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭corkrunner71

jonny99 wrote: »
    Anyone in for the 50?

I'll be there. Really looking forward to it (must be mad) :). Hope they'll get a good number for the ultra.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭ray lanigan

going to sign up monday for the 50miler and training start the same day(extreme training):D.cant wait.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭corkrunner71

going to sign up monday for the 50miler and training start the same day(extreme training):D.cant wait.:)

Ray, I reckon you've been doing extreme training all year looking at the mileage you've clocked up already :D Or else I need to seriously rethink my plan for the 50 ;)

I'm the complete opposite - I signed up ages ago but training for this won't start for another month. ;)

Ray, I reckon you've been doing extreme training all year looking at the mileage you've clocked up already :D Or else I need to seriously rethink my plan for the 50 ;)

hi corkrunner,
    i have seen programs to run 50mile races with 50miles a week,im just going to add a extra digit and see what happens,either me legs fall off:Dor i come out the other end a better runner,i cant wait to get stuck in and challenge myself,looking forward to this race and meeting all you boardies:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭PaulieYifter

Just signed up for the full - all going well gonna fit it in as a training run for DCM and hopefully enjoy the scenery

where doing a 30mile training run on saturday,starting in dungarvan and running along the coast roads to tramore,it will be very hilly,but a great training run for dingle if anyone is interested let me no,we will have 2 groups,9min to 9.30min pace and a sub 7.30min pace group,everyone welcome,there is a shop half way to stock up,and i will be leaving water etc on the route:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Limerick91

Good luck to everybody running Dingle this weekend.

The hills are making me nervous and I am only doing the half!!

I'm around Dingle this week. Slea head was looking magnificent today. Weather mostly good. No major hills on half course.

Enjoy the races, I would love to be there this year.

I've had to pull out due to not getting the Friday off work. Have deferred my entry for the Half Marathon until 2013 and have upgraded to the Ultra :)

Hope you all get the times you're looking for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,548 ✭✭✭Marthastew

Very, very best of luck to all this weekend.... Half, full, Ultra... Racing, pacing or training run, I hope it goes really, really well for you:)

Just landed - Fungi and swim tomorrow, nice long scenic run on Saturday followed by a few pints - looking forward to it - best of luck to everybody

Weather forecast is looking pretty good, as long as the wind remains calm. Should be a good day. Best of luck everyone!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 524 ✭✭✭b.harte

Be grand they said....
    A few climbs they said....
    Looking forward to putting names to faces, bring ear-plugs I'm feeling particularly chatty :D
    Hopefully the weather will hold, the dread I felt last week is now mixed with eagerness.
    The chatty me will go quiet around km30 :eek: (as I'm taking in the views from the Conor pass. ;))

Best of luck one and all. Can't run myself but I'll be around the finish helping out if I can.

3:17:xx off the Garmin for me - ran with 3:30 group for 10 miles then took off at target pace for Dublin - I've lost my fear of hills for now - beautiful course - crossed the finish line with my 4 year old daughter to big cheers :)