Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

s:tv|Galway News

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭BhoscaCapall

Look I don't mean to piss on the parade, and if you're into the band that's cool (I quite like em actually), but a couple of kids from Brighton with like, 2 or 3 known songs is not a MASSIVE headline act. It's bad enough they oversell what is essentially a CPs night out that costs €40 more than usual as some sort of "omg loik u totally hav 2 be dere" event.

And as for the people queuing up... jesus.. that's why my favourite time to be around campus is the weekend.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭ru437z9t8fidq2

Look I don't mean to piss on the parade, and if you're into the band that's cool (I quite like em actually), but a couple of kids from Brighton with like, 2 or 3 known songs is not a MASSIVE headline act. It's bad enough they oversell what is essentially a CPs night out that costs €40 more than usual as some sort of "omg loik u totally hav 2 be dere" event.

And as for the people queuing up... jesus.. that's why my favourite time to be around campus is the weekend.

i couldn't understand how they were able to get rizzle kicks.. I can assure you they are a pretty huge act to get for a commerce ball, even though some people don't like them... i was very disappointed not to get tickets..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

The video's good - would perhaps be nicer to see something a bit longer and focusing on more things in less depth? I realise it's only the second week back though - perhaps they'll have had time to find more interesting stories by the time the next bulletin comes around.

It also seems a bit too straight-laced for the quality of production - a little more levity in the newsroom might allow one to gloss over slight imperfections in the production. I know it's a "serious" look they're going for, but there's no need. It's not like anyone actually likes RTE news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

The fact that at least 14% of NUI's student population want to go to such an event doesn't sit well with me; it will be utter rubbish, I can't see why anyone would want to attend something that would mean having to be around that lot... Not to mention thatRizzle Kicks certainly aren't anything special. Overpriced as well, pushed along just by the fact it's the Commerce Ball, but whatever, it's up to them what they want to do with their money.

Just giving Rizzle Kicks a first listen on youtube. They're not actually bad, but I wouldn't pay to go see them. Unless they're bringing that chick from the "Miss Cigarette" video. She's smokin'.

Nailz wrote: »
    The fact that at least 14% of NUI's student population want to go to such an event doesn't sit well with me
    Where did you pull that number from?

I agree they're not the worst I've heard, I'm just not bothered by them.

Ficheall wrote: »
    Where did you pull that number from?
    Pardon me, that was supposed to be 7%, 1 in 14... An estimated 17,000 students in the University, 1,200 of which are attending the ball, with the possibility of more wanting to go.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭The Internet

I hope I'm not the only person who's never heard of Rizzle Kicks :confused:

Well you can't really say they're an average act just because you don't like them that much. I know I can't say they're amazing just because I love them either but almost everybody I talked to about them coming to the Commerce ball were positive about it. They have a lot of really good music and remixes if you bother to look past Down With the Trumpets (which some seems to think is their one hit wonder). They have a good few on the radio now too actually.

I'm surprised people aren't moaning about the E & N ball line up more as opposed to this.

Well you can't really say they're an average act just because you don't like them that much.
    Nobody said that.

I don't want to perpetuate rumours but I've heard they're paying them an astronomical figure to perform, which will obviously come out of the 'charity' turnover. If this is true, it's obviously just a case of the organisers wanting to make a name for themselves/the event rather than it being a functional success. Hell, may as well have blown the whole budget and got an actual big name :P

I don't know anyone that has gone "oh man, Rizzle Kicks are playing, I'm like totes goin to de Commerce ball now". It's always the same sheep that are mad for buying the tickets every year anyway, nobody goes for the music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,031 ✭✭✭Lockstep

Fairly impressed by S:TV so far: showing some pretty class potential and slick editing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭dmcg90

Watched it this morning, seemed a bit 'fluffy'.

Wouldn't mind the team taking some queues from the topics discussed on this forum. Presenter seemed a bit wooden but thats probably nerves, the roving reporters seemed very capable indeed.

I wonder if the show will be shown on TVs around campus or in the college bar. Would be a cool idea.

Promising start though!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,689 ✭✭✭joeKel73

They need to put some lighting into that newsroom. Also loose the river rock bottle and set up somewhere without a plug on the wall behind! Fair play though, s:tv is a great and welcome idea.
    I hope I'm not the only person who's never heard of Rizzle Kicks :confused:

+1! Must give them a play and see what the kids are listening to these days!

dmcg90 wrote: »
    Wouldn't mind the team taking some queues from the topics discussed on this forum.
    *cues

They've just done a whole bulletin on queues ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 189 ✭✭hokeypokey

Rizzle Kicks are an ok act, who I had to look up to remember who they were. The stupid thing is they are a well known act, but not in Ireland. All the chart stats BizSoc give are UK, there performances in the Irish charts are very weak.

People are suprised that they could get Rizzlekicks, but for the money they paid they could have got someone alot more well-known and bigger. They could have got Bell X1 and had plenty of change to spare or give to charity.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

hokeypokey wrote: »
    Rizzle Kicks are an ok act, who I had to look up to remember who they were. The stupid thing is they are a well known act, but not in Ireland. All the chart stats BizSoc give are UK, there performances in the Irish charts are very weak.

People are suprised that they could get Rizzlekicks, but for the money they paid they could have got someone alot more well-known and bigger. They could have got Bell X1 and had plenty of change to spare or give to charity.

C'mon the Irish Charts are a joke comparing to the Uk. In all fairness there's not as many acts they realistically could have gotten that are as relevant as the Rizzle Kicks. I'd imagine that they'll be forgotten about in a year or so but still they're doing well at the moment.

At the end of the day the size of the queue and the amount of people left disappointed just shows what a big coup the Rizzle Kicks are. Last year it was far easier to get a ticket.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 834 ✭✭✭Reillyman

Hahaha, you think the crowd would have been half as much if the headliner was Bell X1? Also I'd like to know where you get your info about the cost?

Btw, the Commerce Ball afaik is not an charity event, the Business Society always donate money to charity from it but it is not run as a fund raising event.

Reillyman wrote: »

Btw, the Commerce Ball afaik is not an charity event, the Business Society always donate money to charity from it but it is not run as a fund raising event.

This bit taken below taken directly from the Facebook page pretty much seems like ye were selling yourselves as a charity event, you cannot dispute that? Whether it is or not is another thing . . .
    This is it! The Commerce Ball is back with BizSoc promising to deliver one of the best nights (and day-after celebrations) of the 2012 NUIG calender. All in aid of a local Galway charity (to be announced)

Ah now I heard from several people about the cost of Rizzlekicks, it was not the world's best kept secret and neither was that the com ball was getting Rizzlekicks either.

I don't know anyone that has gone "oh man, Rizzle Kicks are playing, I'm like totes goin to de Commerce ball now". It's always the same sheep that are mad for buying the tickets every year anyway, nobody goes for the music.

I'd say watch the video there again like a good lad.... I think a few said they were going for RK only. I know that all of my friends aren't going to our ball because of the line up so bad compared to Commerce. A lot of people go for the music. Especially these days when people don't have money to fork out they want value for money. Anyway this is taking over the thread, good job s:tv!...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Fooker

I know that all of my friends aren't going to our ball because of the line up so bad compared to Commerce. A lot of people go for the music. Especially these days when people don't have money to fork out they want value for money. Anyway this is taking over the thread, good job s:tv!...

You'd think so, but Rubberbandits & Delerentos to a lesser extent were the biggest acts to play the balls. It was grand for one or two songs, but the rest was a bit like wtf is this song?

This bit taken below taken directly from the Facebook page pretty much seems like ye were selling yourselves as a charity event, you cannot dispute that? Whether it is or not is another thing . . .

Apologies, I covered myself by saying "afaik" however :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Squeeonline

I love how in the video Joe complains about not getting paid for volunteering. 2.48->2.58

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22 Funkie

I'd say watch the video there again like a good lad.... I think a few said they were going for RK only. I know that all of my friends aren't going to our ball because of the line up so bad compared to Commerce. A lot of people go for the music. Especially these days when people don't have money to fork out they want value for money. Anyway this is taking over the thread, good job s:tv!...

The commerce ball is alot of things, but it is not value for money!

Funkie wrote: »

Nonsense. If you went to a Rizzle Kicks gig alone it would be at least €30

Nonsense, I looked there at their next upcoming gig and its £10 in with other acts . . .

Yeah but "value" is a relative term, I'm nearly sure the RK's haven't any Irish dates announced yet, and you can be sure it will be alot more than £10 if they play here, so for anyone really wanting to see the RK's it's good value.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8 abee1

anyone know of any afters tickets for sale ???

I'd say watch the video there again like a good lad.... I think a few said they were going for RK only
    Because a few selected interview cuts are definitely a great representation..
    A lot of people go for the music. Especially these days when people don't have money to fork out they want value for money.
    Value for money :pac::pac::pac: is this lad serious

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Robmeister2011

Could try here... be hilarious if it was a lad.

http://www.facebook.com/events/167435720026562/

I was responding to the guy who said nobody cared about the music. I didn't say it was value for money ,although it would be for us RK fans, just that people want value for money and the line up does matter.

Could try here... be hilarious if it was a lad.

http://www.facebook.com/events/167435720026562/

Could someone clear up what percentage of the Commerce Ball profits goes to charity? And if I win the bid for Curley, will he come to the Underwater Chess instead?

And if I win the bid for Curley, will he come to the Underwater Chess instead?

No, if you read the event description I'm sure you would have gathered that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭Fooker

Could someone clear up what percentage of the Commerce Ball profits goes to charity?

Hear Hear! Or even how much they are planning giving to charity, I think it was 2,500 last year?

No, if you read the event description I'm sure you would have gathered that.
    It would take a certain class of fool to think I was being serious.

tbh I don't really give a toss how much is going to charity, nor does anyone who buys tickets. You could say 100% of profits were going toward Mossad and the IDF and that queue of gimps would still be there.

You could say 100% of profits were going toward Mossad and the IDF and that queue of gimps would still be there.

Why would you think they're gimps?

You're probably right, there. It would be interesting to know though - it's a sizeable chunk of money going through the societies' coffers with these balls, and it would be nice to think that some of it was being put to good use.

it's a sizeable chunk of money going through the societies' coffers with these balls, and it would be nice to think that some of it was being put to good use.

Are you saying that money has not being put to good use? Because that my honourable friend, is a dangerous thing to say.

I'm not suggesting they're skimming it or anything, certainly not - Curley strikes me as one of the most honest blokes around.
    I meant a "good cause" as in a charity - fair enough, students having a good evening etc. would certainly be a good use in their books.

I'm not suggesting they're skimming it or anything, certainly not - Curley strikes me as one of the most honest blokes around.
    I meant a "good cause" as in a charity - fair enough, students having a good evening etc. would certainly be a good use in their books.

Well from what I know, a sizeable amount(~50%*) of the profit goes to the charity, but I also know that the costs in running the ball are huge.

*This figure is a very rough estimate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

These "gimps" are going to the Commerce ball for loads of reasons.

This gimp is going so I can get dressed up with my mates, get hammered(I dont get to do this much anymore), hopefully actually get into the ball, have a bit of craic, enjoy the atmosphere, music etc....and if I'm not too drunk find an even drunker slag(who will only have put a little more effort in than normal) who will come back to mine and make me breakfast.

Is that what some of ye want to hear?

nobbo wrote: »
    These "gimps" are going to the Commerce ball for loads of reasons.

This gimp is going so I can get dressed up with my mates, get hammered(I dont get to do this much anymore), hopefully actually get into the ball, have a bit of craic, enjoy the atmosphere, music etc....and if I'm not too drunk find an even drunker slag(who will only have put a little more effort in than normal) who will come back to mine and make me breakfast.

So... every single thing a regular night out includes, except you actually have to pay for a ticket on top of it? Don't get me wrong, it's your choice and I'm sure you'll enjoy yourself, but I can do all of the above any other night and save €40 or whatever (more if you include the dearer drinks in a hotel bar), which could be spent on doing it all again a second night. That's like BOGOF. Cracking value right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭nobbo

So... every single thing a regular night out includes, except you actually have to pay for a ticket on top of it? Don't get me wrong, it's your choice and I'm sure you'll enjoy yourself, but I can do all of the above any other night and save €40 or whatever (more if you include the dearer drinks in a hotel bar), which could be spent on doing it all again a second night. That's like BOGOF. Cracking value right?

No, it doesn't give me every single thing a regular night out does, it doesnt give me the class atmosphere that are got at the balls. Its nothing like one you'll get on a random night in any of Galways clubs. I dunno if its the fact everyone's dressed up, its in a hotel, girls are a little more sober because of the meal..could be anything. All I know is for me its worth the €30 for the afters. I'm also going to go to the Arts ball, Eng ball and clubs awards.

All these give me an excuse to get my hair and tan done, wax my lady parts and wear my lucky bra in case I score a lad on the football team.

Well from what I know, a sizeable amount(~50%*) of the profit goes to the charity, but I also know that the costs in running the ball are huge.

*This figure is a very rough estimate

But from what I gather the ball is not being run on a not for profit basis this year? Which I'm sure Paul Curley would be the first to admit as I'm sure he is using it to further his career etc. as an event organiser, though I cannot understand why the organiser from last year did not do it last year?

Strangely enough I think the Italian Masquerade Ball would probably be the second biggest donaters to charity after the Arts Ball simply for the fact that all profits go to charity...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

The money that went into getting Rizzle Kicks would be better off given to the student assistance fund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭Robmeister2011

The money used to fund Boards.ie would be better spent going into the Student Assistance Fund.

Also, the money used to keep the bar open.

Also, any money that was used for anything other than the Student Assistance Fund should now be redirected into the Student Assistance Fund.

aramush wrote: »
    The money that went into getting Rizzle Kicks would be better off given to the student assistance fund.

Are you serious or trolling? Why should it go into the student assistance fund? Should the fashion show money go into it? Should all the previous Rag Week's money have gone into it?

Do you honestly see over 1200 people buying tickets if it was just DJ Byrno doing the Commerce Ball, with the majority of the €30/€60 going to the student assistance fund?

The "money that went into the Rizzle Kicks" was mostly collected on ticket sales day, it's not as if the Business Society has large amounts of cash and decided to "blow it" on the RK's. Maybe you should join the BizSoc to learn some business sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,013 ✭✭✭aramush

More money to the student assistance fund is what I say!

Down with this sort of thing.. ;)

Another good piece of work, less formal than the news bulletin, which i think is for the betterment!