Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

For parents: Do you have a favourite child?

• 19-01-2012 11:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

Have been discussing this with a few friends lately who all say no they love them all equally blah blah blah
    But you notice with a lot of parents that they always seem to treat their kids differently due to favourtism

So do you have a favourite?

Do you have a favourite? 18 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    61% 11 votes
    I'm Barren
    38% 7 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,739 ✭✭✭✭starbelgrade

I'm not too fond of the black one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I'm quite a bit fonder of the neighbours kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Maedbhish

Those poor unloved novelty ginger kids. :( *

*LOOOOOOOOOL

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

My favourite would be the kid who lives across the road from me. She's a struggler.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 818 ✭✭✭Satts

Yes I have a favourite, but I only have one child. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,299 ✭✭✭hairyprincess

My mother always had a favourite, out of nine of us it was very obvious who the favourite was!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Jesus Shaves

My mother always had a favourite, out of nine of us it was very obvious who the favourite was!

i take it that it wasn't you so:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Babybuff

only have one but she's my favourite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,582 ✭✭✭✭TheZohanS

Maddie.

Have to say my last she so cute and small with tiny teeth and green eyes.

But in fairness its probably cause she is my last and it makes me appreciate her knowing that she will be all grown up too soon . ....

And probably going out with some guy like u lot omg the horror the absolute horror

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,971 ✭✭✭we'llallhavetea_old

only have the one. but in my family I'm the favourite. I dunno, I'm just, better :cool:

:P

Have to say my last she so cute and small with tiny teeth and green eyes.

But in fairness its probably cause she is my last and it makes me appreciate her knowing that she will be all grown up too soon . ....

And probably going out with some guy like u lot omg the horror the absolute horror

PICS OR GTFO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Oh, hai.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I'm not too fond of the black one.

Ah! The auld black sheep of the family. . .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,619 ✭✭✭ilovesleep

I'm female and from a family of five - 3 males, 2 females and my mother has always loved and favoured her sons.

My brothers are living at home and due to the recession, reduced working hours and wage I had to move back home.

It is beyond fcuking ridiculous the difference in treatment between the sexes. All on similiar incomes and infact two of my brothers would be earning more than me due to small cash in hand jobs. It is demanded of that I pay up rent, bills, etc while their income is pocket money. My mam treats them finiancially and dosmestically as kids. You'd swear I reproduced with my mother and they were my baby kids. Yet there would be many men their age who have a house and families.

I help out whenever I can and buy my own groceries. But it's not good enough. I have an outstanding esb bill of 80 euro to pay off from the rental accommadation and a debt collector is chasing me for an unpaid sky bill from last summer (sky that was for the family home but got no help paying it because of 'forgetfullness'.
    You'd say something if I was out drinking every weekend or once a fortnight or if I was heading out shopping to buy clothes or something every weekend. I'm not. Yet the lads are allowed to take the piss entirely.
    Bitch

Seriously considering taking a rope to my neck or an overdose. Let them pay for something for once - my funeral!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭Junior Jacon Jeese Jurger

No favourites.
    Just one I hate the least.

ilovesleep wrote: »
    I'm female and from a family of five - 3 males, 2 females and my mother has always loved and favoured her sons.

My brothers are living at home and due to the recession, reduced working hours and wage I had to move back home.

It is beyond fcuking ridiculous the difference in treatment between the sexes. All on similiar incomes and infact two of my brothers would be earning more than me due to small cash in hand jobs. It is demanded of that I pay up rent, bills, etc while their income is pocket money. My mam treats them finiancially and dosmestically as kids. You'd swear I reproduced with my mother and they were my baby kids. Yet there would be many men their age who have a house and families.

Bitch

Seriously considering taking a rope to my neck or an overdose.

If you're the oldest kill her and claim the house

I help out whenever I can and buy my own groceries. But it's not good enough. I have an outstanding esb bill of 80 euro to pay off from the rental accommadation and a debt collector is chasing me for an unpaid sky bill from last summer (sky that was for the family home but got no help paying it because of 'forgetfullness'.
    You'd say something if I was out drinking every weekend or once a fortnight or if I was heading out shopping to buy clothes or something every weekend. I'm not. Yet the lads are allowed to take the piss entirely.
    Bitch

Seriously considering taking a rope to my neck or an overdose.

ah jaysus.. is there no way ye can get out of there? have you called her up on it?

I will be. I am not looking forward to it at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,515 ✭✭✭✭admiralofthefleet

ive only 1 so him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭xclw

i'm not a parent, but parents always favour the eldest :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

Can non-parents answer this or will that involve the cops being called?

xclw wrote: »
    i'm not a parent, but parents always favour the eldest :/

lies! i'm the youngest and i'm ****ing idolized.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,667 ✭✭✭policarp

I'm female and from a family of five - 3 males, 2 females

Is your sister treated in the same way as you?

Seriously considering taking a rope to my neck or an overdose. Let them pay for something for once - my funeral!

Please put those kind of thoughts out of your head or if you can't seek help.

I've only one, so he's my favourite. On the other hand (and not directly relevant I know) I have a whole load of nieces and nephews, and although I swear blind that I shouldn't and don't have a favourite, I actually do. I'd never admit it, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭xi

Please tell me you are overeacting with this comment?

AnonoBoy wrote: »

:rolleyes: If you're not a parent you wouldn't understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Remember you have to actually like one of them to have a favourite, there you go that narrows it down..

policarp wrote: »
    Please put those kind of thoughts out of your head or if you can't seek help.

She was treated the same. She moved away.

I don't need help. It my life and no one is any sort of right to tell me when I can or cannot die. On a different note I would love to see euthanasia fully legalized because nobody has any sort of a right to dictate one's life and their death.

Awe...but you have a lot of pimply assed love yet to give!

sometimes i think like that, that people should be let go off and kill themselves, but then its a rarity that anything in your life is that bad that you cant pull through it and live the rest of your days happy. it'd be a shockin waste of life if we all killed ourselves on a whim.

xi wrote: »
    Please tell me you are overeacting with this comment?

I am one step away from homelessness if I don't fuel this family of greed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭xi

I am one step away from homelessness if I don't fuel this family of greed.

See PM

xi wrote: »
    See PM

no she wont become your sex slave if you let her stay at yours :rolleyes:

sharesies?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

darokane wrote: »
    Have been discussing this with a few friends lately who all say no they love them all equally blah blah blah
    But you notice with a lot of parents that they always seem to treat their kids differently due to favourtism

So do you have a favourite?
    Children can be chalk and cheese.

Now let's talk about YOUR feelings on the matter. None of this my friend shyte.

Your opinion, please.
    AnonoBoy wrote: »
    I dunno. Non-parent, hanging around this thread?

/reports

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭heyjude

xclw wrote: »
    parents always favour the eldest :/

:eek: Couldn't be further from the truth

Abi wrote: »
    Children can be chalk and cheese.

Now let's talk about YOUR feelings on the matter. None of this my friend shyte.

Your opinion, please.

I have a favourite, an answer which was met with disgust when brought up with some friends recently.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 750 ✭✭✭Mr.Biscuits

I have an outstanding esb bill of 80 euro to pay off from the rental accommadation and a debt collector is chasing me for an unpaid sky bill from last summer ..

People owe a lot more than €80 fecking euro to the ESB and they don't cut them off. Contact MABs if you need help in that regard.

As for the Sky thing, they are all automated and you'd need to owe hundreds and hundreds to them before they would bother chasing you.
    Bitch

You sound young enough (in your 20s) and so my advice to you (for what it's worth) is to not give two fcuks how your brothers get treated compared to you - waste of energy. You only have one life, live it as well as you can, with one goal in mind and that is to find out what you want to do in this world and then do everything in your power to try and make whatever that is come true. Focus on that and nothing more. Pay zero attention to things in this world that are beyond your control. Some people in this world you will never change, let alone figure out why they act they why they do.

I know it's a cliche, but you know, when life gets rough, there's a lot to be said for trying to find some solace in the following:

God grant me the serenity
    to accept the things I cannot change;
    courage to change the things I can;
    and wisdom to know the difference.

Failing that:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 25,953 ✭✭✭✭kryogen

Only have one so of course shes my favorite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭enfant terrible

Life can change very quickly for the better.

Distance yourself from the people making you feel down as much as possible and find new ways to enjoy your own life, joining the gym, dance classes, meeting new people etc.

You could have a new job and your own place this time next year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,923 ✭✭✭cloptrop

My wife just called me.

She said, "The two kids want you to take them Bowling on Saturday, then afterwards they want you to take them to the cinema."

"It's either one or the other" I said, "Otherwise it's too expensive."

"Okay" she replied, "Which one do you prefer?"

I said, "David."