Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Tattoo artist recommendations

• Registered Users Posts: 18,973 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

hi folks,
    have ye any recommendations for someone in Dublin who does armour pieces?

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Geometric is a pretty broad term - are you looking for basic fine line stuff like triangle/diamond patterns, or are you looking for sacred shapes like mandalas and dot work?

I'm very impressed with Wagner's in Dublin Ink's latest stuff, especially his dot work. If you're into that sort of stuff he's defo worth checking out.

Modern Primitives specialize in it also but I'm not overly mad on their style, but they're still learning and getting better etc.

Someone posted an absolutely wicked dotwork mandala by Rob in Wildcat in the pic thread. Really tidy.

If you're looking for that fine line/abstract geometric kinda style (think Dr. Woo etc) to be honest I don't think there's anyone in Ireland good enough to do that right now (in my opinion).

• Registered Users Posts: 4 Username under construction

.ak wrote: »
    Geometric is a pretty broad term - are you looking for basic fine line stuff like triangle/diamond patterns, or are you looking for sacred shapes like mandalas and dot work?

I'm very impressed with Wagner's in Dublin Ink's latest stuff, especially his dot work. If you're into that sort of stuff he's defo worth checking out.

Modern Primitives specialize in it also but I'm not overly mad on their style, but they're still learning and getting better etc.

Someone posted an absolutely wicked dotwork mandala by Rob in Wildcat in the pic thread. Really tidy.

If you're looking for that fine line/abstract geometric kinda style (think Dr. Woo etc) to be honest I don't think there's anyone in Ireland good enough to do that right now (in my opinion).

It's mainly dot work, circles and fine lines. Haven't found anyone that's confident enough to give it a go yet !

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,579 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

It's mainly dot work, circles and fine lines. Haven't found anyone that's confident enough to give it a go yet !

Spider in Lucan are great at dot work as is Darren in dragon tattoo in Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 RichieRF

Hey guys, new to boards.ie!!
    Looking for recommendations for black and grey artists in dublin!! I have a good bit of work done from Attila but he's moved to Germany 😢

I was hoping to get tattooed by Marcin in skin city but he wasn't interested in doing the piece I was looking to get done so I'm lookin for suggestions!!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,744 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

RichieRF wrote: »
    Hey guys, new to boards.ie!!
    Looking for recommendations for black and grey artists in dublin!! I have a good bit of work done from Attila but he's moved to Germany 😢

I was hoping to get tattooed by Marcin in skin city but he wasn't interested in doing the piece I was looking to get done so I'm lookin for suggestions!!

Go to kilkenny and robert litcan

• Registered Users Posts: 2 RichieRF

Go to kilkenny and robert litcan

Deadly man nice one had a look at his work there. Very impressive.

Robert is my go to recommendation for black and grey in Ireland. Absolute monster for em

• Registered Users Posts: 30,308 Mod ✭✭✭✭.ak

Yeah for Dotwork I'd defo check out Wagner in Dublin Ink

• Registered Users Posts: 6,046 ✭✭✭kitten_k

Can anyone recommend an artist in Dublin to do a realistic portrait tattoo?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,274 ✭✭✭✭mdwexford

• Registered Users Posts: 12 DrDrLibraST

Hi guys, Is there any Best Place i can find Tatoo in Dublin City Center !?
    I want try my first Tatoo in Dublin !
    Any great experiences from you guys??
    Thanks a lot

• Registered Users Posts: 1,691 ✭✭✭failinis

I will do it for free with a sharpened knitting needle sure, what a bargain, forget Dublin.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

Bit of indian ink with a compass u be grand :D

failinis wrote: »
    I will do it for free with a sharpened knitting needle sure, what a bargain, forget Dublin.

Ahahahahah~! that sounds pain

• Registered Users Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

There's a specific Dublin forum, and a tattoo forum that you'd get a better answer from.

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=358

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/forumdisplay.php?f=175

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

The Edinburgh Tattoo is on this month. It will be hard to get tickets though.

Winterlong wrote: »
    The Edinburgh Tattoo is on this month. It will be hard to get tickets though.

Edinburgh? Too far way from me .

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭mackeire

You'd find some on a junkies knuckles.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,025 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Hi guys, Is there any Best Place i can find Tatoo in Dublin City Center !?
    I want try my first Tatoo in Dublin !
    Any great experiences from you guys??
    Thanks a lot

Who doesn't like Russian lesbians? (apart from Putin that is.....and maybe Hozier..)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,687 ✭✭✭✭Penny Tration

OP the best places in Dublin for tattoos are:

Snakebite
    Skin City
    Colour works
    Zulu
    Dublin Ink
    Ink Factory
    Modern Primitives

• Registered Users Posts: 9,167 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

There's Tattoo's'R'us, they're on 3rd.

OP the best places in Dublin for tattoos are:

Snakebite
    Skin City
    Colour works
    Zulu
    Dublin Ink
    Ink Factory
    Modern Primitives

Cool, let me Google them and compair those first. thanks anyway

• Registered Users Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Moved to Tattoo forum - please read their charter before posting!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 1whiteswan

Hi I'm thinking of getting my first tattoo, just wondering where is the best place to go in Cork

• Registered Users Posts: 2,022 ✭✭✭Redpunto

Hi guys
    Am hoping to get a mandala/rose tattoo on my forearm. its a tattoo for my mum who passed away last year so am really anxious to make sure it turns out ok, would really appreciate any recommendations to make sure I do it right!
    sorry dublin area

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

Howdy folks! Coming to yis all with a request no so much for myself but for my mother.
    She's been dying to get a tattoo of "Drinkerbell" on her arm and whilst I've advised her as best as I can in regards to placement and sizing, I'd love other suggestions as to artists who specialise in colour and stylized work. At the moment, I can only really think of directing her to Attila Bona as he's good with colour but if anyone can recommend anyone else in the inner Dublin area, that'd be great.
    Also, for my own next tattoo, I'm really feeling blackwork skulls and roses as the moment. Something like this (but without mandala-style design on top, more of a custom design ideally) would be perfect but I don't know who to go to. I've seen work by Bruno in Dublin Ink but any other artists for consideration would be really helpful.

• Registered Users Posts: 192 ✭✭Glitter

Colour Works would probably be great for the Drinkerbell one. So cute, btw! I hope you Mum goes for it.

• Registered Users Posts: 181 ✭✭Austmcc

Hey all,

Have a friend looking to get a biomechanical style tattoo done, so said i'd ask for recommendations from you knowledgable people as to artists who would be good at this style? Dublin area would be ideal for him but to be honest travelling for a good tattoo is not going to put him off.

Austmcc wrote: »
    Hey all,

Have a friend looking to get a biomechanical style tattoo done, so said i'd ask for recommendations from you knowledgable people as to artists who would be good at this style? Dublin area would be ideal for him but to be honest travelling for a good tattoo is not going to put him off.

Robert Litcan in Dark Raptor in KK is ace at that kind of stuff