Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin rock band sell Gerry Ryan T-Shirts!

• 18-01-2012 11:21am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.independent.ie/national-news/dublin-rock-band-defend-gerry-ryan-dead-junkie-t-shirts-as-legitimate-point-2992425.html
    A DUBLIN band has caused controversy with T shirts emblazoned with the band’s name, but bearing a photo of the late Gerry Ryan, with the slogan ‘Just another dead junkie’.
    The Irish Daily Star reports today that they band have argued they are doing nothing more than highlighting the hypocrisy of the late radio presenter for being a drug user, despite his anti-drugs public stance. Beside a description of the T shirt on the band’s website they offer the explanation: “Gerry Ryan was a greedy motherf*cker who got what he deserved in the end.”

The phrase ‘just another dead junkie’ has been applied to celebrities whose drug abuse led to their premature deaths, including Jim Morrison, Amy Winehouse and John Belushi. When asked by the newspaper if the band considered Gerry Ryan’s family’s feelings, a Crows band member said they believed they were making a “legitimate point.”

“It might be putting salt in their wounds, but the information is not new, it’s been well documented in the media,” Joe Breaker (22) told the Irish Daily Star.

The T shirts coincide with the release of the band’s concept album 'Better Off Dead' and according to their website it: “focuses on the types of people who have played a role in the collapse of Irish societal values and cultural identity, and as a result are better off dead. Bankers, socialites, overpaid broadcasters, blah blah blah.”

Amateur music label Sour Milk, which was selling the t-shirts on behalf of the band, said when contacted last night that the line of T shirts would be discontinued. However the band have vowed to continue producing them.

“They’ll still be sold, even if we have to sell them ourselves,” said Mr Breaker.

The band have put out an appeal for their forthcoming European tour on their Facebook page - “Get touch if you’re interested in putting us on. We only want a place to sleep and a small bit of cash for food/petrol/spliff.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭seantorious

They make a good point, and the publicity will ensure enough groupies for the next few weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Like their attitude

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,323 ✭✭✭✭MrStuffins

Wait................

Was I the only one who, when they saw "Gerry Ryan" in the thread title, knew exactly who started the thread?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Gerry dying was our 9/11 :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Job done.

Next!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 296 ✭✭Cecil Mor

They make a good point, and the publicity will ensure enough groupies for the next few weeks.

They do make a good point but I could never bring myself to wear a T-shirt with that greedy obscene hypocrite on it, just too horrific a sight I'm afraid.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,808 ✭✭✭✭chin_grin

Media? Moral? Get f*cked.

This is classic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Sounds like they're trying to rip off the early Manics ideas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 945 ✭✭✭a5y

Its rarely a good sign when I don't hear about a band because of their music, but because of their publicity stunt. Difficult to take them and their starving artist justification at face value when they're flogging a dead celebrity on t shirts as business model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

MrStuffins wrote: »
    Wait................

Was I the only one who, when they saw "Gerry Ryan" in the thread title, knew exactly who started the thread?

Their name is underneath the thread title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Even if they dont sell a single t-shirt they've managed to get more media coverage then they ever hoped for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Red21

They mustn't have much faith in their music making abiltiy

I want one. As in NOW.

Sindri wrote: »
    Their name is underneath the thread title.

Not when you've read it on the homepage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

what kinda music do they do?

Love ballads or Pop?

danniemcq wrote: »
    what kinda music do they do?

Love ballads or Pop?

They're listed as "punk" but to me they're more of a sludge band.

https://www.facebook.com/pages/Crows/174542765909452?sk=wall

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

I once listened to Gerry Ryan for over three minutes without him saying the word "knickers". Is this a record?:D:D:D

Not when you've read it on the homepage

:D Alright how did you know?:)

Is Degsy known for his Gerry bashing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

It worked.

We're on a thread talking about a band who are more popular for the stunt than their music :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,296 ✭✭✭✭Welsh Megaman

You just know their music is going to suck so bad.

*checks their website*

I was right.

Degsy and Gerry had a battle for the ages back in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,288 ✭✭✭✭Standard Toaster

I take it the t-shirts must only come in XXL ?

Degsy and Gerry had a battle for the ages back in the day!

Enlighten me!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,419 ✭✭✭allanb49

Hi you must be new here :pac:

They got on like a house on fire,

Degsy being the one pouring the petrol on it

Then Gerry died and Degsy needed a new nemesis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

Duggy747 wrote: »
    It worked.

We're on a thread talking about a band who are more popular for the stunt than their music :pac:

yeah but without looking back over the thread can you name the band? i've forgotten already!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Start band.
    Create controversy.
    ???
    Profit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,397 ✭✭✭Paparazzo

What are the odds of any RTE media outlet reporting this story? :pac:

yeah but without looking back over the thread can you name the band? i've forgotten already!

It's pretty easy to remember.

Gerry Ryan and the Junkies.

Paparazzo wrote: »
    What are the odds of any RTE media outlet reporting this story? :pac:

Would love to see this on Six One tonight!

allanb49 wrote: »

Is Degsy Pat Kenny.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

allanb49 wrote: »

Fcucker mentioned my sig on his radio show..he was a friend of Bono apparantly.

Is Degsy Pat Kenny.

No, Degsy is the lead singer of the band U2.

Can't think of his name.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

I actually did forget their names already but couldn't be arsed checking again :pac:

But I do see their point though I'm not going down that beaten track again.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,397 ✭✭✭✭Degsy

No, Degsy is the lead singer of the band U2.

Can't think of his name.........

Paul?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 386 ✭✭mrmeindl

Fair play to them, that junky **** has had his beatification to be up there with the saint of ODs Katy French.

No way in jaysus they are a punk band. More like Emo/Scene.

Fair fuc­ks to them though. That t-shirt is inspired. Only a tenner too.

mrmeindl wrote: »
    Fair play to them, that junky **** has had his beatification to be up there with the saint of ODs Katy French.

<sharp inhalation> Careful now.

mrmeindl wrote: »
    saint of ODs Katy French.

Don't get me started on that little craic hoe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

Their first single is a cover version of the Eric Clapton classic

They're a strange mix of punk and sludge. I think it's technically called Crust. But I hate these new made-up-on-the-spot genres.

You can get their first here. It's ok......a little too whiny for my liking. Some good riffs though.

http://crows.bandcamp.com/album/severance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Someone ring Joe....he'll know how to handle this!!

He was a junkie, he died as a result of it, whats the problem??? It was emblazened on every front page of every paper when it happened and when the inquest finished so whats the difference with printing it on a t-shirt?

Before you Google them they're shit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,922 ✭✭✭hooradiation

Degsy wrote: »
    Fcucker mentioned my sig on his radio show..he was a friend of Bono apparantly.

Oh the cheek of him!
    Quoting something you put out on the internet of your own volition, what an utter bastard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

Attention junkies is what they are. Clowns.

Why are they asking for only a few quid for petrol / lodgings and ...wait for it...spliff their facebook page.

I'm gonna make 'We are attention junkie stoners' t-shirts for them to wear. Cretins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭AngryBollix

I am pie wrote: »
    Attention junkies is what they are. Clowns.

Why are they asking for only a few quid for petrol / lodgings and ...wait for it...spliff their facebook page.

I'm gonna make 'We are attention junkie stoners' t-shirts for them to wear. Cretins.

They are attention junkies so you are going to make T-Shirts to draw attention to them.

Sounds like a plan

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,652 ✭✭✭I am pie

They are attention junkies so you are going to make T-Shirts to draw attention to them.

Sounds like a plan

I'm not really going to. I might post them a bar of soap or two though.

............in your opinion.

Just posted on their fb page that they have an interview on phantom at 14:20.

chin_grin wrote: »
    ............in your opinion.

Nope, it's an objective observation.:)

If you like them then you're shit too.;)

Nope, it's an objective observation.:)

If you like them then you're shit too.;)

...........in your opinion. :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,001 ✭✭✭✭opinion guy

a5y wrote: »
    Its rarely a good sign when I don't hear about a band because of their music, but because of their publicity stunt. Difficult to take them and their starving artist justification at face value when they're flogging a dead celebrity on t shirts as business model.

These guys are obviously A students graduated from the Micheal O Leary school of free advertising!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

Vocals aren't great. First track on their site was an instrumental which raised much false hope.