Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Thinking of joining Shannon.

• 16-01-2012 6:58pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭

Their membership had dropped to 2 grand which can be paid over ten years and their sub is 920 for the year with a 100 behind the bar, should I go for it, I have being playing there for the last two years but only early bird Monday to Friday, I'd love to be able to get out for a few holes in the evenings in summer.

What are your guys thoughts, I think they may drop their membership altogether in a year or two so spreading it over ten years is not that much risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 569 ✭✭✭superneat

Where did you get this info? I have spoken to shannon members about this and it may be just for 100 new members..

I too am contemplating joining as the course is near to me and is very impressive.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

niallo27 wrote: »
    Their membership had dropped to 2 grand which can be paid over ten years and their sub is 920 for the year with a 100 behind the bar, should I go for it, I have being playing there for the last two years but only early bird Monday to Friday, I'd love to be able to get out for a few holes in the evenings in summer.

What are your guys thoughts, I think they may drop their membership altogether in a year or two so spreading it over ten years is not that much risk.
    Thinking about joining myself.

Do you know how paying off the 2000 works, do the direct debit x amount every week or what?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭dines08

Alright lads? Joining myself tomorrow, member got me the form. The situation is €820 for the sub, every member has to put €100 behind the bar and then you've €19 for your GUI. That's €939 for the year without including the levy, the levy is €2000 payable over ten years so €200 a year which brings it to €1139. Shannon have a direct debit agreement with a third party company who's name escapes me. Basically the agreement enables members to pay the whole amount €1139 over 6 or 10 months for a charge of 4.5% interest which adds €53. I am going for the ten month option which works out at €1192 for the year or €119.20 a month for ten months. €30 a week for ten months or calculated weekly over the 12 months is €22.90 a week to be a member there. If you are going to get to play there once a week then it pays for itself really. The application form must be proposed and seconded by an existing member of Shannon who has been a member for 3 years minimum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

You can use a credit finance company they have to spread the costs over 6 months or 10 months, I'm not sure can you include the 200 of the 2000 spread over 10 years in this. I was talking to someone in the office today, fella from work joined last week, two of us are calling down Thursday to discuss more with then, it's a cracking course and it's only ten mins from me.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

We'll have to get out for a game when we all join!

There's 3 of us joining, all workmates. Where are ye based? We're all Limerick city and you'd be hard pressed to find better value anywhere within 30-45 minutes. If you get to play often enough it's one of the best and most challenging courses in Munster. If you can play to your handicap out there you're doing well

I'm from Shannon originally but living in Sixmilebridge now.

Just back from playing Shannon this morning, thinking twice about joining.
    I know we are playing winter golf at the moment and i did only pay EUR 15, but the course was in bits!
    We were told in the pro shop, holes 11,12 & 13 out of play and 4 temporary greens.
    Grand, no bother, EUR 15.
    Except it was more like 8 temp greens (which are an absolute joke) which totally ruined my experience today! I didn't mind playing off of 12 temporary tee boxes, but the greens?? They were like round, flat, sandboxes with holes barely big enough for the golf ball to putt into!
    I don't mind courses doing things that eventually help the course conditions overall, but this seemed a bit excessive.

I have played courses a lot cheaper, that were in better condition than Shannon today at the same time of year, i'm playing Newcastlewest next week and if the condition there is as i'm told it is, i may as well join there as someone i play with is also joining.
    It's only EUR 1,000 year 1 then 750 after that, not too bad and it's around the same distance from me as Shannon, and a nice track, played it once before but need to play it again to jog the memory.

Pity cause i played in Shannon a lot in the summer and i still think it's a lovely course but I'm paying for 12 months of golf, not 9. :(

Can't comment on present conditions but played Shannon twice in the last two weeks and it was mats for tees but all greens were open and in great nick. Can't see the temporary greens being in place for that long. I'm totally impartial and newcastlewest is a lovely course too but Shannon's winter greens are better than Ardaghs summer greens. Ardagh close their fairways for the winter like Adare do. Roped off with drop out in the rough. There's no comparison for me, Shannon have the better facilities and course.

I spoke with a member of shannon there, he reckons the temp greens are a very temporary fixture, and that it's a worthwhile sacrifice.
    He also agrees that NCW would be inferior to shannon.
    Think I will play them both next week and decide then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,107 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

superneat wrote: »
    I spoke with a member of shannon there, he reckons the temp greens are a very temporary fixture, and that it's a worthwhile sacrifice.
    He also agrees that NCW would be inferior to shannon.
    Think I will play them both next week and decide then.

I think they are a bit overprotective of the greens and tee boxs in Shannon, the temp greens aren't even playable IMO, I used to use them for target practice only, it's a lovely course when fully open.

I have played Shannon around 20 times at all times of the year in the past 2 years and have always held it in the highest regard. You will always get temporary greens and mats at any club but in Shannon it's few and far between and honestly(again personal opinion) you will struggle to find better greens come May June July without paying €50-€125 for Dromoland or Adare Manor or the equally expensive top end golf course

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,174 ✭✭✭opinionated3

Hi lads. I applied to join Shannon towards the end of December so I am waiting for a board meeting to be held before my application is approved (hopefully). Originally I balked at the 939+2000 euro pricing but the ten year option made it more accessible. keano a legend I may know you! From Newmarket on Fergus myself but socialise a lot in the'Bridge. I presume rather than taking up a direct debit option it would be ok to just hand over €1139 in one payment each year? As regards the condition of the course I played it in late and it was in good nick apart from a few mats and one temp green which is always annoying. Greens are among the best in Munster though at the height of summer so maybe it's a small sacrifice to make for long term gain...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 The Captain Speaking

Played NCW last saturday morning, course was in good condition considering the time of year. No temporary greens or tee off boxes. Couple of holes on the back 9 around 13/14 i think were a bit wet so fairways were a little rough on those but i was pretty impressed with it.. Nice bar/restaurant too. :D