Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever changed a long-held opinion?

• 15-01-2012 12:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭

I did recently on something that I had a very black and white view on but circumstances made me question my deeply entrenched views. If you have changed your mind, was it instant or did it take time?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

lazygal wrote: »
    I did recently on something that I had a very black and white view on but circumstances made me question my deeply entrenched views. If you have changed your mind, was it instant or did it take time?

I used to enjoy the music of Chris De Burgh
    Not so much now how ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,633 ✭✭✭Feeona

Yes......no

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,899 ✭✭✭✭BBDBB

Yes...........and then pretended that I had held that opinion all the time:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I think it's natural you change opinions about certain things as you get older.

How about the fella David Myatt though? He was a former neo Nazi who ended up converting to become an Islamic extremist.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/David_Myatt

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

I've changed my belief in certain political values purely as a result of getting older. Not the inherent virtue or worth of those values, just the possibility of their realization.

These days I also let experience shape my views instead of observing the world through the filter of my views - an important distinction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,338 ✭✭✭aphex™

I used to believe people were mostly good until I switched on the news :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I used to be religious, until some religious people - on a forum, funnily enough - convinced me that I wasn't.
    I re-evaluated my thoughts and would now describe myself as agnostic atheist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 193 ✭✭seantorious

I used to think the daily mail was a terrible newspaper. Now I read it... and yeah its still terrible

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

I did recently on something that I had a very black and white view on but circumstances made me question my deeply entrenched views.

Chess?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 321 ✭✭Bluefox21

Used to be against gay adoption rights :eek: This was when I was much younger and my family was quite religious so I'm blaming those circumstances. Still younger me was a bit of an idiot!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

I like to think I am not absolute about any position, I have changed my opinion on a number of things. The biggest would be my politics, as I got older I have become more conservative/right wing. I also went from hating Sinn Fein to voting for G Mc Guinness in the last presidential election.

Loads of other areas as well,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,237 ✭✭✭mcmoustache

I used to think that Israelis were the good guys and that Palestinians stupid towel-heads who blew up civilians and threw rocks at tanks.

Then later, after reading up on some of the history, I thought that Israelis were nasty occupiers looking for their lebensraum and Palestinians were just fighting back.

These days, however, I think that they're both a bunch of cúnts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭Millicent

I was pro-life when I was a kid. I was also anti-divorce. Fucking religion. I've since learned to think for myself.

44leto wrote: »
    I also went from hating Sinn Fein to voting for G Mc Guinness in the last presidential election.

I like that you changed your opinion enough to vote for him, but not enough to get his name right. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

I used to think teachers had to be smart, then I went to college with people who wanted to be teachers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,653 ✭✭✭Ghandee

I really changed my attitude and opinion on the Queens visit.

Before she arrived, I (as a Republican) was of the opinion that it was too soon for a ruling monarch, apologies for army activities in the north, 800 years etc etc, blah blah blah.

Totally changed my whole outlook and opinion from the moment her plane touched down in Baldonnel, watching her bow her head at the garden of remembrance, and make a speech in Gaelic, I saw a wise, articulate woman with a lot more compassion than a few Irish folk (and I include myself in this) gave her credit for.

But then again, perhaps i'm mellowing with age.:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 638 ✭✭✭theTinker

I used to think the creation of the universe and evolution were all explainable by science and that god was a crutch for people.

The more i learnt about the universe and evolution, the more I lean towards an intelligent design or creator behind them.. Evolution without god or something similar just seems mad.

* Edit, Killing people. I used to think this was wrong in all cases. These days. There is some that may happen that i'll turn a blind eye to. I honestly can't reason myself to think i've the right to judge who lives and dies when I'm not the victim or participant in cases.
    It's made me think twice about our legal system too. Odd that a person unaffected by a crime is the one handing out the sentence. I can see why they are considered so light.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,674 ✭✭✭Peetrik

The Beatles... and fish, I can eat fish now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

I've definitely relinquished some of my more stubbornly held political beliefs over the last number of years. And I now despise Ryan Giggs too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,006 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Blur!!!!

No..OASIS!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,219 ✭✭✭PK2008

They say you get more right wing as you get older

Doctors and nurses, I use to think they were professional and all caring, then unfortunately I had to deal with them. Bluffers is the only word I can come up with. Still they know more then me, but doctors don't make me sith green anymore.

PK2008 wrote: »
    They say you get more right wing as you get older

I've heard that but I don't get it. My views are much the same for the last decade. I really can't see them changing much as I get older.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭sandra06

when i was younger i honestly believed you could get pregenant by kissing i now know different,nuns in school taught me that :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭CricketDude

I used to think that I was the best economist I knew, oweing to having studied it at university.
    But now im realizing that everyone in Ireland with a keyboard is a genius economist. Who'd have thunk it.
    We should start exporting them.

I used to think that I was the best economist I knew, oweing to having studied it at university.
    But now im realizing that everyone in Ireland with a keyboard is a genius economist. Who'd have thunk it.
    We should start exporting them.

Well with the world economy still on the brink after it nearly collapsed totally in 2008 and is still in danger of doing so, the keyboard economists have a better record then the paid ones.

Celebrity economists have somehow become the new celebrity chefs with their economic recipes and book signings. Economics is hardly a science, it can only predict the future after something has happened, in other words tell us how we got here.

The book, The Black swan by Nicholas Taleb sums up economists. No-one can predict the chaos of markets, they haven't a clue. Which is why even now they give such varied and conflicting advice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 196 ✭✭fiinch

i used to think that Joey was the funniest one, now i reckon it was actually Ross.

fiinch wrote: »
    i used to think that Joey was the funniest one, now i reckon it was actually Ross.

Pivot! Pi-vot!

I recently started a thread about libraries no longer been necessary, I started out believing that, but as the thread progressed I changed my mind. You see, you can learn stuff and your position can be altered even here on After hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 247 ✭✭CricketDude

Well with the world economy still on the brink after it nearly collapsed totally in 2008 and is still in danger of doing so, the keyboard economists have a better record then the paid ones.

Celebrity economists have somehow become the new celebrity chefs with their economic recipes and book signings. Economics is hardly a science, it can only predict the future after something has happened, in other words tell us how we got here.

The book, The Black swan by Nicholas Taleb sums up economists. No-one can predict the chaos of markets, they haven't a clue. Which is why even now they give such varied and conflicting advice.

Isnt it a pity more keyboard economists wouldnt realize this.

One lecture on day one and they would never come out with such nuggets as -
    - "Property prices are only going to go one way."
    - "In x number of years property prices will be up/down."
    - "Interest rates are only going one way."

And celebrity economists - I know one of the very high profile ones very well. He used to say that even when 95% of people are predicting one thing, you have to predict the opposite. People wont even notice you when you are wrong. Then when it turns, you'll look like the only one who was right and be declared a genius.

I remind him of this from time to time and he laughs and says "sssshh".

Hes made himself a nice profile and a few quid from it too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭fonda

I used to think PES was better than Fifa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

I used to be dead set against Dubstep. Bashed it on several occasions. Oops.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 764 ✭✭✭floutingmaxims

fonda wrote: »

But it is! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,713 ✭✭✭✭Novella

I used to really think abortion was wrong. I didn't change my mind instantly. I guess as I got older I began to understand that life isn't black and white, just many shades of grey.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

Yes,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I used to luv her................

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,884 ✭✭✭Eve_Dublin

I grew up in a Republican family and to be honest, had a serious chip on my shoulder about the English growing up. That changed when I moved there and people generally were very decent to me and very kind. Now I'd always defend them if i heard anyone bad mouthing them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭strobe

No-one can predict the chaos of markets

http://k.wigflip.com/I5AntEYh/roflbot.jpg :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

I did recently on something that I had a very black and white view on
    Racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 811 ✭✭✭cassid

I used to think my career was really important, now it's a job

I used to think I knew what love meant, then I had children

I used to think doctors knew everything medical, now I know different

I used to think not a great mother would be the same as a grand parent but I was wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭panda100

Millicent wrote: »
    I was pro-life when I was a kid. I was also anti-divorce. Fucking religion. I've since learned to think for myself.

Used to be raving pro lifer when in college, and now am vehemently pro choice.
    Used to believe in God, and no longer do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

Millicent wrote: »
    I've heard that but I don't get it. My views are much the same for the last decade. I really can't see them changing much as I get older.

Freud was of the opinion that as we age we move in narrower circles. It's a lovely analogy, but psychologically he's right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,171 ✭✭✭af_thefragile

I used to be an adventurer like you....

Ok, on a more serious note. I used to believe the Gold backed currency was the only way to have a sound monetary system which couldn't fail. Then I leant a stable monetary system can be found on fiat money too as long as the money circulating is tightly regulated to not cause any rampant inflation.

Still hold my views that its the interest based fractional reserve monetary system that is the root of all this financial instability and till interest and fractional reserve lending is not abolished, economies will continue to collapse in boom-bust cycles.

Lots other views I have changed over the years too. I guess as you grow up and learn more about reality, your views change or evolve would be a better word. I think quite differently now as how I did as a teenager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,059 ✭✭✭Sindri

fonda wrote: »

It was until all the Koreans who worked for PES went to work for Fifa.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,172 ✭✭✭Ghost Buster

Peetrik wrote: »
    The Beatles... and fish, I can eat fish now

Oh yeah. I used to hate loads of food due to a Mayo Mammy who boiled everything to death and called it cooking. I hated fish and now eat sushi, roll mop and oysters and just about every thing else i hated.(My wife is a cook!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

I used to be strongly against the war in Iraq, but since having heard educated points of view on both sides of the debate and validified particular references made I've veered toward supporting the war, but I'm open towards points-against...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 548 ✭✭✭Seomra Mushie

Eve_Dublin wrote: »
    I grew up in a Republican family and to be honest, had a serious chip on my shoulder about the English growing up. That changed when I moved there and people generally were very decent to me and very kind. Now I'd always defend them if i heard anyone bad mouthing them.

It's kinda sad that you had to move to the country to realise you were wrong. What if you had never lived there?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,556 ✭✭✭Deus Ex Machina

How about the fella David Myatt though? He was a former neo Nazi who ended up converting to become an Islamic extremist.

Just when his mates were thinking he couldn't get any sweeter.

To answer the Q, yes I changed my mind on a shower of things. In my early teens I became more and more sceptical (in the scientific sense, not cynical, as many people interpret the word to mean) and therefore began to shed eschew a lot of the woo-woo I reveled in throughout my childhood. I still love the notion of the paranormal, I am still fascinated by religion, but they passed from belief to sort of entertainment, which is quite a turnaround. I was a right aul bible thumper back in the day!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,089 ✭✭✭ascanbe

Well, when i was young and my heart was like an open book, i used to say live and let live.
    I still say it now but not as often.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I think it's natural you change opinions about certain things as you get older.

It must have been really hard to adapt his feelings for Jews.