Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Unhealthy looking Health Chief

• 05-01-2012 2:28pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭

Why can't we have a healthy looking boss in the HSE? I mean Reilly looks ill, iffy and is too heavy. Don't start me on Harney. What are the views out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

The view out my window is just fields and a few houses in the distance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

Agreed we should replace him with a carrot.

I genuinely thought the thread title read "unhealthy looking chef" and I was thinking, damn right, I'd be fat too if I could cook all that food.

/blonde moment
    :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Fear Uladh

I genuinely thought the thread title read "unhealthy looking chef" and I was thinking, damn right, I'd be fat too if I could cook all that food.

What about the fatties that can't cook?

Pfft, fattist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I think Reilly looks great, just like a lovely cuddly bear.

Fear Uladh wrote: »
    What about the fatties that can't cook?

Pfft, fattist.

Goddammit, now I've to admit I'm one of those >.<

• Closed Accounts Posts: 550 ✭✭✭earpiece

Look around you OP....... we are fast becoming a nation of fatty fat fatso's!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,751 ✭✭✭Saila

no idea but you do know mary harney was the minister for health yeah?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

I don't care if they're fat as long as they do a good job.

And they could still be fat but it would be nice to think they do exercise, helps keep stress down..healthy mind and all that.. more productive and my god we need that in the HSE.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,876 ✭✭✭Spread

screw_1001216t.jpgmharney_225442t.jpg

Corpulent or obese

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,579 ✭✭✭charlietheminxx

I really don't like him anyway, fat or not, he is a TOOL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Spread wrote: »
    Why can't we have a healthy looking boss in the HSE? I mean Reilly looks ill, iffy and is too heavy. Don't start me on Harney. What are the views out there.

I don't give a crap if they can do the job.

I understand it was fun to mock Harney because of her weight but in my opinion this merely deflected attention from her complete inability to do her job and her absolutely mismanagement and further mangling of the health sector in Ireland.

Surely if a person is elected to a role, then that person should be capable of taking the advice that he/she regularly dishes out ........ ie. eat healthily and moderately. Lets say, if the head of Revenue was found to be non compliant on the advice that he gives .......... he'd get sacked. Or maybe not as it is Ireland. But you get my drift ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,472 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

I used to regularly give out about the state of Harney etc but look at it this way...if it was a crackling looking woman who took care of herself she obviously slept her way to the top..
    If it was a healthy good looking male he'd be gay and probably did the same :D
    We Irish are a begrudging shower of bastards and it wouldn't matter who was health chief we'd still find something about them that would annoy us.

At this stage I'd settle for a 70 stone fattie as long as he/she could actually do something about the HSE and other departments.

I'm no grammar nazi but a comma would have changed that point completely :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,542 ✭✭✭Captain Darling

I'd be more concerned about the state of the health system then the state of the minister for health.

Blazer wrote: »
    I used to regularly give out about the state of Harney etc but look at it this way...if it was a crackling looking woman who took care of herself she obviously slept her way to the top..
    If it was a healthy good looking male he'd be gay and probably did the same :D
    We Irish are a begrudging shower of bastards and it wouldn't matter who was health chief we'd still find something about them that would annoy us.

At this stage I'd settle for a 70 stone fattie as long as he/she could actually do something about the HSE and other departments.

I understand. But what if the head of the Justice dept kept breaking the law after exhorting everyone else to keep it. Do you not see the anomaly? A bit like CJ's tighten our belts scenario!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

Surely if a person is elected to a role, then that person should be capable of taking the advice that he/she regularly dishes out ........ ie. eat healthily

Ah, you've confused the Health Minister with a Gymn Instructor or with a Nutritionist. They've never given out 'eat healthy' advice and they never will.

They should in theory have business or organisational skills. They're dealing with budgets, industrial relations, planning etc. If they could do that (they can't) then let them smoke, drink and eat their hearts content.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Perhaps in a PR type of way, it's somewhat important.But otherwise, it should be about the ability to run a department. Imagine the utter idiocy of favouring a slim candidate over a superior but overweight candidate.

I think people are also so enamoured with what is a simplistic analogy that they forget about the wide-ranging functions of the HSE. I don't see many people suggesting that the minister for health should have had cancer or survived a near-fatal car crash to do justice to the position.

stovelid wrote: »
    Perhaps in a PR type of way, it's somewhat important.But otherwise, it should be about the ability to run a department. Imagine the utter idiocy of favouring a slim candidate over a superior but overweight candidate.

I think people are also so enamoured with what is a simplistic analogy that they forget about the wide-ranging functions of the HSE. I don't see many people suggesting that the minister for health should have had cancer or survived a near-fatal car crash to do justice to the position.

Got your point. But surely a little of practice what you preach would be right. Do as I say not as I do, is not a good way to lead things. Some law breakers have great criminal minds but would you like them running the Justice dept?

He doesnt preach anything. He has a full health system of people to preach that to us. His job is to run the people that are preaching to us.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,252 ✭✭✭✭stovelid

Some law breakers have great criminal minds but would you like them running the Justice dept?

I'd have Jabba the Hutt running the HSE at the moment if he could do the job properly.

He doesnt preach anything. He has a full health system of people to preach that to us. His job is to run the people that are preaching to us.

I'm aware of that. So have all the other leaders that I mentioned. Going back to the start ........ if the head of Police (his subordinates preach about not getting into trouble and getting a record) kept getting booked for offences ........ the dichotomy should not exist.

stovelid wrote: »
    I'd have Jabba the Hutt running the HSE at the moment if he could do the job properly.

WTF is Jabba the Hutt?

I'm aware of that. So have all the other leaders that I mentioned. Going back to the start ........ if the head of Police (his subordinates preach about not getting into trouble and getting a record) kept getting booked for offences ........ the dichotomy should not exist.

Fatist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Surely if a person is elected to a role, then that person should be capable of taking the advice that he/she regularly dishes out ........ ie. eat healthily and moderately. Lets say, if the head of Revenue was found to be non compliant on the advice that he gives .......... he'd get sacked. Or maybe not as it is Ireland. But you get my drift ........

It's not there role of the Minister for Health to offer advice...it's their role to ensure the people offering advice are the right people for the job.

If you are sick you go to the Hospital, not the Minister for Health.

If you want to lose weight you go to a trainer etc etc.

There job is that of a manager, not a role model.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Next thing you'll be telling me that Ireland had a Minister for Finance who didn't have a bank account ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,057 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

mackg wrote: »
    The view out my window is just fields and a few houses in the distance.

Good job Reilly and Harney are not standing outside your window 'cos you'd see nothing.

Are you saying that fat people are criminals?

If the priest was preaching sobriety but the Pope was out on the lash regularly ........ Hey, I give up. Anyway, it's time for coffee and a couple of donuts :D. Only joking!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,076 ✭✭✭superstoner90

y-u-no-meme-nutella.png

mikemac1 wrote: »
    Next thing you'll be telling me that Ireland had a Minister for Finance who didn't have a bank account ;)

Point taken. I don't want to engage in semantics but he did not specify if he had a virtual bank account ......... or even a heavenly one
    Good job Reilly and Harney are not standing outside your window 'cos you'd see nothing.

See no evil, hear no evil, er, something else no evil

Are you saying that fat people are criminals?

Captain Darlind darling! If I wanted to say that, I would have said it.
    But they do have a way of staying out of jail :D

An obese Florida man charged with five counts of felony petty theft was offered a plea when prosecutors determined it would cost too much to incarcerate him. Obese-Florida-Criminal-Gets-Plea.jpgA 600-pound Florida man found a new way get out of jail free, by being too fat.
    George Jolicoeur, 38, recently was arrested for a long history scamming restaurants in 2007, but was offered a plea deal when state prosecutors was found that it would be too expensive to throw him in jail.
    To bring Jolicoeur to trial, the state would have had to cover the costs of transporting him from the nursing home where he stays, bedridden, to the courthouse. And, if he were incarcerated, the state would also be obligated to pay for any medical care he may have needed.

Point taken. I don't want to engage in semantics but he did not specify if he had a virtual bank account ......... or even a heavenly one

See no evil, hear no evil, er, something else no evil

Captain Darlind darling! If I wanted to say that, I would have said it.
    But they do have a way of staying out of jail :D

An obese Florida man charged with five counts of felony petty theft was offered a plea when prosecutors determined it would cost too much to incarcerate him. Obese-Florida-Criminal-Gets-Plea.jpgA 600-pound Florida man found a new way get out of jail free, by being too fat.
    George Jolicoeur, 38, recently was arrested for a long history scamming restaurants in 2007, but was offered a plea deal when state prosecutors was found that it would be too expensive to throw him in jail.
    To bring Jolicoeur to trial, the state would have had to cover the costs of transporting him from the nursing home where he stays, bedridden, to the courthouse. And, if he were incarcerated, the state would also be obligated to pay for any medical care he may have needed.

Wait 'till they bring in the "Fat Tax".

Taken in the general context of this thread, i find your username rather humourous. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,154 ✭✭✭ImpossibleDuck

Who gives a toss what they look like?

I know this probably won't apply because we're in Ireland but here goes: what they do in that position is a million times more important than what they look like.

This is either a question of:

a) Have we lost that much faith in our politicians that we just judge them on appearance now instead of listening to them?
    b) Are you simply an idiot?

WTF is Jabba the Hutt?

Who gives a toss what they look like?

I know this probably won't apply because we're in Ireland but here goes: what they do in that position is a million times more important than what they look like.

This is either a question of:

a) Have we lost that much faith in our politicians that we just judge them on appearance now instead of listening to them?
    b) Are you simply an idiot?

a) I wonder why politicians get made up before going on telly?
    Did you ever hear of Nixon's defeat due to his five o'clock shadow?

b) I may be but I get by :)

I just GOOGLED ............ looks remarkably like John Prescott:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,395 ✭✭✭✭mikemac1

Well Bush was a teetotaler and worked out regularly, certainly fitter then most men his age

Clinton was a fat lard who ate way too much junk food. He's lost a lot of weight in recent years to be fair

Does it realy matter when you're looking at job performance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 724 ✭✭✭Park Royal

In my opinion, managers must have that "lean and hungry look" ....

oh and be able to "walk the walk at pace"....

funnily , most Union Leaders are "lean and hungry" also sport beards, ( except

the women) .....although I seen some heavy Taxi Union Officials ...guess it goes

with the job they do.....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 696 ✭✭✭coconut5

Agreed we should replace him with a carrot.

Haha, I don't know, but I just love this. :D

Taken in the general context of this thread, i find your username rather humourous. :D

I only eat the skinny ones :D

Suggested name chsange ............tayto lite

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭senorwipesalot

We"re a fcuckin disgrace with all those ugly ministers,I tells ya.
    That Dame Edna Kenny could learn a thing or two from Burlusconi.:mad: