Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

So I had my first crash this morning...

• 05-01-2012 10:58am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭

On the way in to work this morning I took a corner too fast and overshot the turn. I ended up hitting the kerb sideways and taking a tumble.

Lucky for me it was in a residential area with no traffic around at the time. I also hit a nice muddy patch of grass with a big puddle in the middle of it to break my fall!!

Apart from a graze on the inside of my thigh I'm not hurt at all. Just covered in mud from my left shoulder all the way down to my left foot!!

The back mudguard support was bent and was causing the mudguard to rub off the back wheel - but I was able to straighten it.

Is there anything in particular on the bike I should be looking out for after a crash? - I think the back brake may have slightly come out of place - it was still working but had a different 'rubbing' sound than usual - but that could be down to the amount of mud on the wheel....??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Is there anything in particular on the bike I should be looking out for after a crash?

The nut on the saddle?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,931 ✭✭✭az2wp0sye65487

RT66 wrote: »
    The nut on the saddle?

Mine or the bikes nuts?! :pac:

It's not a quick release nut on the saddle, you need an alan key to adjust it - but the saddle seems fine anyway - thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭StaggerLee

I did something similar a few months ago, bike was fine. I thought I was fine too, got sore a on the side I landed on a day or so later. Shoulder still isn't right :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭Dermot Illogical

Mine or the bikes nuts?! :pac:

It's not a quick release nut on the saddle, you need an alan key to adjust it - but the saddle seems fine anyway - thanks.

Sorry, my silly sense of humour. :)

Sounds like you've come out of it OK. Clear off the muck from wheels/brakes, turn the bike upside down and check the brakes are centred and working correctly. If the wheel is true it should be a simple job to adjust. If it isn't you should probably bring it to your LBS and have it trued to get rid of annoying rubbing sounds and improve overall braking performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,099 ✭✭✭morana

StaggerLee wrote: »
    I did something similar a few months ago, bike was fine. I thought I was fine too, got sore a on the side I landed on a day or so later. Shoulder still isn't right :(

sometimes you still have soreness months after a crash!

StaggerLee wrote: »

Sorry to hear that - hopefully I got away without any of that delayed soreness!! In fairness - only because I hit the muddy grass was I OK. If I'd gone onto a harder surface I reckon I'd be in much worse condition. Considering that I was wearing shorts and my whole leg was covered in mud - if I hit the road or something my leg would be ripped to shreds!
    RT66 wrote: »
    Sorry, my silly sense of humour. :)

Sounds like you've come out of it OK. Clear off the muck from wheels/brakes, turn the bike upside down and check the brakes are centred and working correctly. If the wheel is true it should be a simple job to adjust. If it isn't you should probably bring it to your LBS and have it trued to get rid of annoying rubbing sounds and improve overall braking performance.

Thanks - yeah I'm trying to look at the positives... it's taught me a lesson and no real harm done. I'll check the brakes & wheels later too.
    morana wrote: »
    sometimes you still have soreness months after a crash!

:eek: Jaysus - sounds like I got off lightly so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,313 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Ur first crash? Only 2 more to go and you'll be a "fully qualified cyclist"! :)

(Glad to hear your ok)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,393 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

07Lapierre wrote: »
    ... that must make me a haggered old vet ... (although I do prefer the term "cycling master" to "veteran cyclist";))

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

(Glad to hear your ok)

One of those has to be forgetting you're clipped in and falling sideways at a traffic light in front of lots of people.

(Glad to hear your ok)
    One of those has to be forgetting you're clipped in and falling sideways at a traffic light in front of lots of people.

Ah lads, lads.... I'm not one of 'those' cyclists.... that is to say - I'm not one of you! :D

I don't have a road bike, or clips... I have a Giant Rapid, I don't have those shoes with the clips, I wear a high vis running windbreaker when on the bike (and an ordinary t-shirt, shorts & runners) - no cycling gear!

Running is more my thing tbh. I only cycle to work and back.

So before I lose all your sympathy for my fall and am shunned from this forum - I shall leave of my own accord! (And I won't let the door hit me on the way out. 1 collision is enough for any day!)

Ah lads, lads.... I'm not one of 'those' cyclists.... that is to say - I'm not one of you! :D

I don't have a road bike, or clips... I have a Giant Rapid, I don't have those shoes with the clips, I wear a high vis running windbreaker when on the bike (and an ordinary t-shirt, shorts & runners) - no cycling gear!

Running is more my thing tbh. I only cycle to work and back.

So before I lose all your sympathy for my fall and am shunned from this forum - I shall leave of my own accord! (And I won't let the door hit me on the way out. 1 collision is enough for any day!)

I was the same as you (started on Giant FCR even!), and now I have 4 bikes.

I used to be with it, but then they changed what *it* was. Now what I'm with isn't *it*, and what's *it* seems weird and scary to me. It'll happen to you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭jameverywhere

my first crash involved a rock that I didn't see in the shoulder. I hit it, then fell slow motion into the kerb (a bystander confirmed the slow motion bit). I knocked some things loose on the bike and punctured the front tyre. I also scraped up my left knee pretty bad... Didn't hurt all too much, but my tights and sock were covered in blood when I got home o.o

then I got clipless and fell three times in front of people, haha. once in front of a taxi driver who had accidentally honked at me. When he did that, I fell over like a fainting goat >_<; he got out of his taxi, thinking he'd scared me into the fall. nice guy, him.

I'm still not used to clipless. I use flat pedals cycling to work in traffic. clipless is for 20+ km journeys.