Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

RBS SIX NATIONS 2012 General Thread

• 03-01-2012 9:11pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭RoundBox11

So i couldn't find any thread for the 2012 Six Nations so decided to start this one!

What squad/starting 22 would people like to see?

Any predictions?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

My 22, but not the 22 Deccie Kidney will pick! Reward form and give youth a chance too...

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. McCarthy/Tuohy
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip
    9. Murray
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitz
    12. Earls
    13. McFadden
    14. O'Halloran
    15. Kearney

16. Cronin
    17. Court
    18. Tuohy/McCarthy/Toner
    19. O'Mahony
    20. Reddan
    21. ROG
    22. Trimble

I've probably missed one or two that are totally obvious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭RoundBox11

I'd like to see a few players break into the squad this year. I'd like to see the following 22:

15. Rob Kearney
    14. T. Bowe
    13. D. Cave
    12. G. D'arcy/L. Fitzgerald
    11. A. Trimble
    10. J. Sexton
    9. E. Reddan
    8. J. Heaslip
    7. S. O'Brien
    6. S. Ferris
    5. P. O'Connell
    4. D. Tuohy
    3. M. Ross
    2. R. Best
    1. C. Healy

16. S. Cronin
    17. T. Court
    18. M. McCarthy/ Donncha Ryan
    19. Dominic Ryan/ P. O'Mahony
    20. C. Murray
    21. R. O'Gara
    22. L. Fitzgerald/ K. Earls

Obviously theres a few that are in because theres no other option (e.g. T. Court).

I think Reddan should be the starting SH. Murray hasnt proved himself and was one of the reasons why we lost to Wales in the RWC

Cave seems the most complete 13 outside BOD.

Thats my opinion anyways :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Think there was one a while ago alright, however looking forward to it now the 6n hasn't been great in recent seasons, but with Wales showing major improvement in RWC and France coming agonisingly close as well as reigning champions England with a new coaching staff it should be better this year. Can see us struggling tbh we would do well to get a top 3 finish.

I'm calling it like this
    1. Wales- Can't see past them especially after their performances in NZ
    2. England- New coaching staff and massive changes to the squad should see a fresh start for them and improvement
    3. France-Reckon they'll be slow to start under St Andre toss up between them and England for second I feel.
    4. Ireland- Don't like saying it but I can see us losing 3 games. England and France away will be incredibly tough and I see the Welsh overturning us in the Aviva.
    5. Scotland- The performances of Glasgow and Edinburgh in Europe should stand to them and I reckon they'll beat Italy in Rome in what will be a wooden spoon decider
    6. Italy- Always tough to know with them I reckon they have only one game in which they can realistically win this year, and I see the Scots being too good for them.

As always though you never know and I hope for a lot of good games with there always being a possibilty of a few upsets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Zzippy wrote: »
    12. Earls
    Thank god it's your 22.

Other than that though it's okay.
    Mine
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Tuohy
    5. O'Connell
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. Murray
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. McSharry
    13. D'Arcy
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

16. Cronin
    17. Court
    18. Ryan
    19. O'Mahony
    20. Reddan
    21. O'Gara
    22. Trimble/McFadden/Earls

As for Irl 22 in first game here is my pick

15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. F mc F
    12. Darce
    11. Trimble
    10. Sexy
    9. CM
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Ryan
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip

16. Cronin 17. Court 18. Cullen 19. Leamy 20 TOL 21 ROG 22 Earls

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,433 ✭✭✭✭thomond2006

Can the mods change the title to Six Nations General Thread or something? Just for clarity.

France will win the Grand Slam. For a few reasons:

- New coach. Players will be seriously motivated to play well when give a chance. Saint-Andre is a pragmatic fella and will select well, there won't be any of the rotation bull****ting we saw under Lievremont.
    - Fixture list. They start at home to Italy to dust off the cobwebs, the prefect start. Plus they play Ireland and England (their Six Nations bogey team) at home. They won't fear going to Wales or Scotland.
    - Talent. They have got so much talent at their disposal, as evidenced by the World Cup. Plus they have the likes of Jauzion, Beauxis and Malzieu to come back into the setup. Edit: There's plenty of young players coming through like Maestri, Fofana and Chavancy too.

However Domingo is crocked again which is a big blow, if Poux or Mas get hurt their scrum will be weakened.

Wales' season will be hugely dependent on how they do in Dublin. After Ireland away, they have Scotland (h), England (a) and Italy (h), all winnable games. If they lose in Ireland, they could fall apart (Welsh false dawn #2493). God help them if Gatty brings bloody Henson back. Welsh club form has been bad again this year, however this generally doesn't affect the national team. Priestland's form has fallen apart since New Zealand, he's back to his "Magners League player" best.

England will be fascinating to watch, not many adjectives to describe how bad their World Cup experience was. Although they have a few eh...shall we say...volatile characters... in the setup, they still have a pretty talented squad with the likes of Cole, Croft and Foden.

cgpg5 wrote: »
    As for Irl 22 in first game here is my pick

15. Kearney
    14. Bowe
    13. F mc F
    12. Darce
    11. Trimble
    10. Sexy
    9. CM
    1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Ryan
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip

16. Cronin 17. Court 18. Cullen 19. Leamy 20 TOL 21 ROG 22 Earls
    That should be Reddan I'm half asleep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. Ryan
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. O'Brien
    8. Heaslip
    9. Murray
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitzgerald
    12. Darcy
    13. Earls
    14. Bowe
    15. Kearney

16. Cronin
    17. Court
    18. DOC
    19. Reddan
    20. ROG
    21. Trimble
    22. POM/Wally when fit

This is the 22 I reckon we'll see for the first game of the 6 nations...

Can the mods change the title to Six Nations General Thread or something? Just for clarity.

France will win the Grand Slam. For a few reasons:

- New coach. Players will be seriously motivated to play well when give a chance. Saint-Andre is a pragmatic fella and will select will, there won't be any of the rotation bull****ting we saw under Lievremont.
    - Fixture list. They start at home to Italy to dust off the cobwebs, the prefect start. Plus they play Ireland and England (their Six Nations bogey team) at home. They won't fear going to Wales or Scotland.
    - Talent. They have got so much talent at their disposal, as evidenced by the World Cup. Plus they have the likes of Jauzion, Beauxis and Malzieu to come back into the setup.

However Domingo is crocked again which is a big blow, if Poux or Mas get hurt their scrum will be weakened.

Tbh I didn't see their fixture list before posting but seeing that I have to agree that France have a super chance. I still think Wales for the slam though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

I predict:

R Kearney
    Bowe
    Earls
    Darcy
    Luke
    Sexton
    Murray

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Ryan
    Poc
    ferris
    Sob
    Heaslip

Cronin
    Court
    Doc
    hmmmm.....leamy
    Redden
    Rog
    Trimble

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Ryan/Tuohy
    POC
    Ferris
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Reddan
    Sexton
    Fitz
    McFadden
    O Malley
    Bowe
    Kearney

Cronin
    Court
    Ryan/Tuohy
    POM/Wallace
    Murray
    ROG
    Earls

Also, I agree that France will win it. With a good coach they should be looking to match the big 3 SH teams.
    The likes of Jauzion, Malzeu etc haven't gotten a look in over the last while, and time has been wasted on the likes of Chabal, Basteraud and Lakafia.

A team containing Jauzion, Medard, Clerc, Malzeu, Trin Duch, Yachvilli, Dusatoir, Bonnaire and Hairydonkey, as well as whatever front 5 they can put out, should be too much for any 6N team, especially at home.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,234 ✭✭✭totallegend

durkadurka wrote: »
    I predict:

R Kearney
    Bowe
    Earls
    Darcy
    Luke
    Sexton
    Murray

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Ryan
    Poc
    ferris
    Sob
    Heaslip

Cronin
    Court
    Doc
    hmmmm.....leamy
    Redden
    Rog
    Trimble

I'd go along with that prediction. World Cup 22 with enforced change due to Bod injury. DK continues his fearless development of new talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

Ooh who said 6 Nations wasn't exciting:

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Tuohy
    POC
    Ferris
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Reddan
    Sexton
    Fitzgerald
    McFadden
    O Malley
    Bowe
    Kearney

Cronin
    Court
    Ryan
    POM
    Murray
    ROG
    Trimble

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,629 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

My 22, but not the 22 Deccie Kidney will pick! Reward form and give youth a chance too...

1. Healy
    2. Best
    3. Ross
    4. McCarthy/Tuohy
    5. POC
    6. Ferris
    7. SOB
    8. Heaslip
    9. Murray
    10. Sexton
    11. Fitz
    12. Earls
    13. McFadden
    14. O'Halloran
    15. Kearney

16. Cronin
    17. Court
    18. Tuohy/McCarthy/Toner
    19. O'Mahony
    20. Reddan
    21. ROG
    22. Trimble

I've probably missed one or two that are totally obvious!

Probably even I think Tommy Bowe'd be in the squad somewhere.

It's a solid point, wingers: Earls, Bowe, Trimble, Fitzgerald. Especially with McFadden able to cover, they can't all make it, who do you leave out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭porterbelly

30 Man Squad

Healy, Ross, Court, Hagan?

Best, Cronin, Varley/Sherry

POC, McCarthy, Tuohy, Ryan

Heaslip, Ferris, O Brien, O'Mahony, Muldoon

Murray, Boss, Reddan

Sexton, O Gara, Madigan

McFadden, Darcy, Cave/Griffin

Earls, Fitzgerald, Bowe, Trimble

Kearney, Duffy

**** it, out with the old and in with the new in some positions, and time to reward form.

DOC and Cullen have to be left out
    If Leamy doesn't start for Munster when O Mahony is fit then he shouldn't be in the squad.
    Muldoon's form is very good this season and he's earned a chance, offers something different than ball carrying
    13 is a toss up really, McFadden will start but it's very difficult to choose 1 from Cave/Griffin/O Malley. As I've seen alot of Griffin and believe he's the real deal I'd stump for him.
    Gavin Duffy has been brilliant all season and will be good backup to Kearney.

Wolfhounds must be used to play the young lads. No point in playing the likes of Denis Hurley, Chris Henry and Gavin Duffy.

It should be about giving opportunities to O'Halloran, Gilroy, Ruddock, Ryan, McSharry et al

Tox56 wrote: »
    It's a solid point, wingers: Earls, Bowe, Trimble, Fitzgerald. Especially with McFadden able to cover, they can't all make it, who do you leave out?

None of them, Earls will play 13, Bowe and Fitz on the wings and Trimble on the bench, so McFadden will miss out.

Not this again.

Tox56 wrote: »
    Not this again.

??? I'm not sure what bit you object to, you don't think Earls will play 13? I'm just being realistic, as objectionable as I find it myself.

There's no doubt in my mind Earls will play 13. That's not what I want, but that's what will happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

There's no doubt in my mind Earls will play 13. That's not what I want, but that's what will happen.

Barring injury, I'd bet my bollocks that earls will be at 13.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,976 ✭✭✭profitius

I think so too.

There are good reasons for picking Griffin, Cave or EOM but Kidney doesn't like to bring in too many fresh faces. In some ways its understandable because even if people prefer HEC rugby, international rugby is a step up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,822 ✭✭✭Morf

England - will improve, not a huge amount. Hard to beat, simple game plan and well-drilled. 2rd
    France - I expect a big improvement 1st
    Ireland - struggle to score tries, Wales showed how to defeat our back-row go-forward ball. I'm not sure Deccie will have much of a new game-plan. 3rd
    Italy - One possible win, depends how they react to new coach. 6th
    Scotland - Slight improvement, still poor. Scrapping with Italy for wooden spoon. 5th
    Wales - Will collapse back into the disinterested team we see every 3/4 seasons. 4th

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

ill cry if earls plays 13... not only is it wasting his talents but also those of someone who could be playing 13

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,410 ✭✭✭twinytwo

Morf wrote: »
    England - will improve, not a huge amount. Hard to beat, simple game plan and well-drilled. 2rd
    France - I expect a big improvement 1st
    Ireland - struggle to score tries, Wales showed how to defeat our back-row go-forward ball. I'm not sure Deccie will have much of a new game-plan. 3rd
    Italy - One possible win, depends how they react to new coach. 6th
    Scotland - Slight improvement, still poor. Scrapping with Italy for wooden spoon. 5th
    Wales - Will collapse back into the disinterested team we see every 3/4 seasons. 4th

firstly england wont win,,, too much ego on the team... even without drico id go as far as to say we would take their scalp... assuming he is the only one missing.

France are france if they want to win it they will

Wales... that game plan worked once, wont happen again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Earls will definitely start, Ireland's most prolific tryscorer in the RWC, only question is where. He really looked to have settled in on the wing in the RWC, but Ireland need someone to fill in at 13.

It'll be interesting to see who the reserve backrower is, assuming SOB, Ferris and Heaslip start. Not sure anyone has really demanded the place. POM was looking good until his injury but I still have question marks over his tackling. Ruddock has been good recently. Leamy has shown glimpses. Ronan has been used by Kidney as a 6 before so he might be seen as a more versatile player than I'd give him credit for. Don't really know about McLaughlin or Jenning's form, tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,889 ✭✭✭tolosenc

Any higher than 4th and we're doing well, I'm afraid.

Given form to date, Kidney is 100% going to put Earls at 13, even though Tony Buckley could do a similar job there...

7 of the pack are pretty much unanimous calls, as is Sexton at 10 and Kearney at FB. Who partners POC in the second row will be one of Ryan, Tuohy, and Toner, with my preference being for Tuohy.

As another poster said, Murray was one of the reasons we lost to Wales, and hasn't exactly set the world alight since coming back. 6 weeks ago I'd have said put Boss in at 9, but now I reckon Reddan is in better form. Deccie, wise as always, will likely pick Murray. Fitzgerald is the form winger in Ireland at the moment and simply must have the 11 shirt. Bowe, for me, should have the 14 shirt. And this leaves the midfield. We all know Earls will play 13, but I'll dream on and say EOM should have it, with Darce inside him.

As for the bench, Court is the only option at prop, Cronin is clearly the backup prop. Unless he's picked in the XV, Toner should be on the bench, but again either of Tuohy and Ryan could have this spot. For the backup backrower, Deccie will pick: Leamy, Deccie should pick: Ruddock or POM. Wouldn't be surprised to see Donncha Ryan in there at some point. McFadden, given his utility should be the 22, ROG will probably be the back up fly half till he gets a start after another post match whinging session. Murray/Boss for the backup 9 slot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

France to win a grand slam

Wales to get found out after being overblown to the point that you'd think they're the second coming of christ

Ireland to come second

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

Healy
    Best
    Ross
    Tuohy
    POC
    Ferris
    SOB
    Heaslip
    Murray
    Sexton
    Fitz
    D'arcy
    EOM
    Bowe
    Kearney

Court
    Cronin
    McCarthy
    Jennings
    Reddan
    ROG
    Earls

Would like so see us try Jennings on the bench seeing as we've McCarthy and Ryan who both cover 6.. Allows us to change the dynamic of the backrow. Cant see us competing for the championship so would like to see some new blood introduced in some games, give mcfadden a run at 12 and bring POM into the 22 at some stage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,411 ✭✭✭CouchSmart

Ah the six nations. Every year I'm so hopeful and pretty much every year the disappointment is heart breaking, '09 apart. For the most part we already know what the team will be. Might be a new head in the second row and obviously someone filling in for God.

There'll be plenty of people calling for ROG to start and he might but more than likely it'll be Sexton. I'm hoping beyond hope that we stick with Reddan and Sexton for the full tournament. They do a great job for Leinster and Ireland have played some of their best stuff with them at the helm but they never really get a good go of it. Might well be Murray at 9, Kidney seems to have picked him out as his scrum half now. Seems like a bit of a stubborn move more than anything - perhaps Reddan and Kidney don't see eye to eye?

When you go through the Irish possible/probable team we're definitely strong enough to do decent. Front row is good. POC is playing excellent. Good chance to bring in Tuohy/Ryan at 4 and lose some dead weight in DOC - a little harsh perhaps but it's what I think. Backrow is very solid. Half backs good. Centre could be a bit meh, depends who plays and how they click. Back 3 looks very solid. Most importantly we'll have a fullback in form, which killed us last year.

Don't see us winning the grand slam, so another runners up place beckons. Winning 4 from 5 would be great. Beating France in Paris - a man can dream.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

Against Wales, think we'll see

Healy, Best, Ross, Ryan, POC, Ferris, O'Brien, Heaslip, Murray/Reddan, Sexton, Fitzgerald, D'Arcy, Earls, Bowe, Kearney

Cronin, Court, DOC, KMcL, Reddan/Murray, O'Gara, Trimble

Cannot see McCarthy being brought into the squad for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the international management seem to ignore Connacht because they are a lower standard team I guess, which is of course infuriating. Secondly, McCarthy is getting on himself, so no point introducing him at this stage when, realistically, there are better younger alternatives in Ulster and Leinster. Of course that's irrelevant because I can't see Kidney picking Tuohy or Toner either. DOC will be in the squad for sure as he's an important presence and extremely influential. He's also still a fine player. Can't see him starting if he's not starting for Munster though, so I think we'll see all 3 Munster second rows (quelle surprise).

No point touching the starting back row. Surely even Declan Kidney will recognise Leamy isn't up to it after he lost his H Cup place. So the logical thing to do is look at the good players around the rest of the country. O'Connor surely deserves recognition, but plays for Connacht so that's not going to happen. That leaves McLoughlin or Jennings... I'd imagine it'll be McLoughlin because Kidney doesn't pick opensides on the bench.

Reddan and Sexton are a winning combination, as we saw in both the England and Australia wins. For that reason exactly, I expect Kidney won't start them together. And you can be sure that O'Gara will be on early enough to ensure that they don't get to play together at all.

Another thing you can be sure of is that Kidney will pick the least sensible option at 13. There are a lot of very exciting openside centres cursing Irish rugby at the moment. Kidney will do his thing and surpress their excellence by picking earls at 13 and doing his best to exclude as many of Griffen, Cave and O'Malley from his squad as possible (possibly all of them by picking D'Arcy, Wallace, Earls, McFadden as his centres). D'Arcy has to play 12 because of O'Driscoll's absence.

Luke Fitzgerald is in great form. Generally this is not a good thing if you are trying to make Declan Kidney's team, but surely even he cannot ignore this. He faces a very tough task though, for the past while he has been doing his best to ignore both Andrew Trimble and Luke Fitzgerald, but with Earls at center he'll be forced to pick one of them. Kearney is our only natural 15 who can stay healthy for any amount of time, so his fitness is key.

I think Ireland are capable of winning a grand slam though. Just need a massive performance against France.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,123 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I fully expect Kidney to start Sexton with Murray in 3 games, changing both at 60 minutes for ROG and Reddan. The reverse will happen in two games. Which is about as drastically wrong as you could get the halfback choices.

Sexton should start all 5 and shouldn't be taken off unless there is a good reason to. While not a fan of Murray at all in the RWC, the gametime he's been getting seems to have helped. I think him starting with Reddan (and only Reddan) coming on at 60 minutes to speed things up could work.

I'd like to see Touhy given a shot, but imagine Ryan will slot in beside POC. Which isn't that bad really, Ryan is playing well. I'd just like to see the bit of carrying and hands that Tuohy could bring. Would be delighted if he got a start or two.

Earls will start at 13 barring a catastrophically poor performance there unfortunately.

Fitz will probably start ahead of Trimble, which is a bit harsh on Trimble though Fitz is in electric form. Still doesn't quite score enough for my liking though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Cannot see McCarthy being brought into the squad for a couple of reasons. Firstly, the international management seem to ignore Connacht because they are a lower standard team I guess, which is of course infuriating. Secondly, McCarthy is getting on himself, so no point introducing him at this stage when, realistically, there are better younger alternatives in Ulster and Leinster.

There are younger alternatives. They're not better.

Well that's subjective, I personally would have O'Connell, Tuohy, McCarthy and Toner in the squad but there's not a Goerge Hook's chance in Joe Schmidt's office of that happening.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,883 ✭✭✭shuffol

If an older player is playing excellently I see no reason why not to include them in the squad or the team for that matter. Form should be primary consideration at this stage. Its far too early to start planning for the World Cup, who knows what options will be available in 4 years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭Hype710

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Sexton should start all 5 and shouldn't be taken off unless there is a good reason to.

+1. This is a crucial season in Sexton's development as Ireland's 10 moving forward and he needs the full trust of the management to deliver the performances he has been producing in a blue shirt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Unfortunately Deccie will pick Earls at 13. I think young EOM has a better chance of defending against the likes of Rougerie and Manu.

Here's my 22 anyhow.

15. R. Kearney
    14. T. Bowe
    13. E. O'Malley
    12. G. Darcy
    11. L. Fitzgerald
    10. J. Sexton
    09. E. Reddan
    08. J. Heaslip
    07. S. O'Brien
    06. S. Ferris
    05. P. O'Connell
    04. D. Toner
    03. M. Ross
    02. R. Best
    01. C. Healy

Bench:
    16. S. Cronin
    17. T. Court
    18. Touhy
    19. D. Wallace (What's the prognosis?)
    20. C. Murray
    21. R. O'Gara
    22. Earls/McFadden/Trimble

Ofcourse it's hard to fit in a 'match-day' 22 into this thread because squad rotation will be important. Now that I look at it, my 22 is very blue... But I picked it with Wales in mind. That's the team we need to open with imo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 854 ✭✭✭RoundBox11

Does anyone know when David Wallace and Felix Jones are due back? Must be too late for the 6nations at this stage.

Also does anyone know who is replacing Alan Gaffney? I've heard that Schmidt said he would take the job if he's offered it.

I think this years tournament should be a rebuilding year. After what happened in the world cup and with BOD out we might aswell try and blood some new players. Most notably Tuohy, Cave, O'Mahony, Toner and the likes. Keep it competitive without only focusing on only the next game. Basically what Wales did last year by introducing Faletau, Warburton and Priestland.

People seem to think Kidney won't make any changes without being forced but remember this is the same coach that stuck a 21 year old Healy in against South Africa for his first cap. He's also introduced the likes of Cronin, O'Brien, Murray, Sexton, Earls, Felix Jones, McFadden etc.... Not to mention playing Dan Tuohy and Rhys Ruddock against NZ 2 years ago!!

I think we'll finish 3rd this year behing France and Wales (Hopefully we'll do better tho!!).

Starting off against Wales is a bit of a worst case scenario imo because it doesnt give us much room to move with the whole 13 and 4 replacements. I think deccie won't want to risk anything against gatland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 65 ✭✭Chucky Norris

i would love to see the team as follows
    1 Healy
    2 Best/Cronin cant decide
    3 Ross
    4 Touhy
    5 O Connell
    6 Ferris
    7 O Brien
    8 Heaslip
    9 Reddan
    10 Sexton
    11 Earls
    12 darcy
    13 Bowe ... see how it would go
    14 fitzgerald
    15 Kearney

I Feel if Ireland play the way they can they could give us a 2nd slam. All depends on the team that lines out i also have a feeling sexton could well be the player of the tournament. A lot could depend on the first match v the welsh....... Exciting times :D:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

Players I would like to be selected
    Props:
    Healy, Ross, Court, Hagan

Hookers:
    Best, Cronin, Varley

Locks:
    POC, DOC, Tuohy, Ryan

Back-Row:
    Ferris, SOB, Muldoon, O'Mahony, Heaslip

Scrum-halves:
    Murray, Reddan, Boss

Out-Halves:
    Sexton, ROG, Madigan

Centres:
    McFadden, O'Malley, Darcy, Cave

Wingers:
    Earls, Bowe, Trimble, Fitzgerald

Full-Backs:
    Kearney, Duffy

my team - Kidneys probable team
    1.Healy - 1.Healy
    2.Best - 2.Best
    3.Ross - 3.Ross
    4.Tuohy - 4.DOC
    5.POC - 5.POC
    6.Ferris - 6.Ferris
    7.SOB - 7.SOB
    8.Heaslip - 8.Heaslip
    9.Murray - 9.Murray
    10.Sexton - 10.Sexton
    11.Earls - 11.Earls
    12.Fitzgerald - 12.Darcy
    13.O'Malley - 13.McFadden
    14.Bowe - 14.Bowe
    15.Kearney - 15.Kearney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

Fucking eejit:
    Danny's lack of care proves costly

Rugby: Harlequins’ scrumhalf Danny Care will be excluded from England’s Six Nations squad after being arrested for drink driving, the English RFU has confirmed. English interim head coach Stuart Lancaster has taken the strong disciplinary action because it was Care’s second alcohol-related incident in three weeks.

Care was fined for being drunk and disorderly after being arrested in the early hours of December 10th, following his club’s Heineken Cup defeat to Toulouse. Although he was also fined a “substantial” amount by Harlequins, England took no further disciplinary action on that occasion.

But after the latest incident over the festive season Lancaster has now decided to come down strongly on the 25-year-old, who missed the World Cup with a foot injury but was certain of a place in England’s Six Nations plans.

The English squad will be announced next Wednesday. But Lancaster has met with Care, told him his behaviour is not what is expected of an England player and that he will not be included in either the senior or Saxons squads.

Care’s management company this morning released a statement on their website, www.bigredmanagement.com. It read: “I do accept that I made a very bad decision on the evening in question and need to take the punishment that the courts hand out.

“I have decided not to contest the charge as I want to bring this to a close swiftly rather than have it hanging over my head for a year or more. I would stress though that at no time did I think I had drunk enough to be over the legal limit.

“However I should not have got into the car and have to accept the consequences of that action. I am devastated not to be selected for the Elite Player Squad for the Six Nations as I felt I had been playing near the top of my game with Quins.

“However I wish the team, and the other number nines who come in to play, the best of luck as playing for your country is the highest honour in the game and I will miss it hugely. It’s now up to me to get my head down, keep playing well and learn from my actions.

“Quins and Stuart have been very supportive and I totally accept their sanctions. I do understand the need for England players to be role models in the game and have tried to live up to that at all times, but have made a couple of stupid decisions in the past weeks.

“I can only hope for the chance in the future to prove those decisions were the exception not the rule. I am devastated because my actions have let so many people down.”

The English RFU issued a statement on Care which read: “England and Harlequins have taken action following Danny Care’s arrest on suspicion of driving under the influence of alcohol in the early morning of New Year’s Day.

“Danny will appear in court on January 16 and will be pleading guilty to the charge. The club and England are deeply disappointed with Danny’s actions and will not tolerate this type of behaviour.

“The club held an internal investigation on Monday, January 2nd, in conjunction with the England head coach Stuart Lancaster and will be sanctioning Danny accordingly. Resulting from the enquiries Danny will not be considered for selection for the England Elite Player squads and will miss this year’s RBS 6 Nations as a minimum.

“Danny will also be fined €12,000 by Harlequins and will be required to work on the club’s inner city coaching programme until end of pre-season 2012-13. The club will also look to work with the (English) Rugby Players’ Association to ensure Danny is given the necessary support and education around alcohol awareness.”

England head coach Stuart Lancaster said: “I have met Danny and told him that he will not be considered for selection for the Senior or Saxons Elite Player Squads for the forthcoming Six Nations campaign. This is his second arrest in three weeks for alcohol related offences and it is completely unacceptable.

“We will monitor his progress from this event through Harlequins and we have every confidence in the club to support him in the right way. At such a time that we feel he can be trusted to behave appropriately on and off the field then he will be reconsidered for selection, but this will not be until the conclusion of the Six Nations as a minimum.”

In a statement released by Quins, club director of rugby Conor O’Shea said: “Danny’s actions are inexcusable and we are all deeply disappointed and feel very let down. Danny knows what he did is wrong and has accepted the responsibility for his actions.

“Danny is one of the nicest guys you could meet, and bitterly regrets the damage this incident has done to both his and the club’s reputation.”

http://www.irishtimes.com/sports/rugby/2012/0104/1224309792449.html

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭desertcircus

Things I'd like to see:

1. Toner and Tuohy to be given a chance to show what they can do. I haven't seen much of Tuohy, but everyone seems excited about him, while Toner's form this year has been cracking. In reality, though, they're both stuck behind Donncha Ryan and Paul O'Connell and will probably be limited to substitute appearances. For what it's worth, I'm not convinced by Ryan - he's good, but hasn't shown any reason why he deserves to have been picked so often ahead of Leo Cullen - who is sadly clearly not going to be a part of the Irish setup.

2. Sexton should be the starting ten from now on. He's better suited to the game as it's played now, and he needs the support of the Irish management. Tell him at the start of the Six Nations that the jersey's his and let him play his game without looking over his shoulder. Reddan should be starting with him as well; it's lunacy to break up such a solid pairing.

3. Keith Earls should not be selected at 13. He's simply not nearly physical enough in defence (Manu Tuilagi will steamroll him) and he's a natural winger, not a centre. Make him fight for a spot on the wing with Luke Fitzgerald, Andrew Trimble and Tommy Bowe.

Last but not least: the matchday lineup could feature Healy, Cronin, Ross, Toner, Heaslip, O'Brien, Reddan, Sexton, McFadden, Fitzgerald and Kearney. That's up to eleven Leinster players - make them play like Leinster. Constant recycling, fast ball all day long, pull the opposing team all over the pitch. In the Stephen's Day games, Reddan made 84 passes - next up in Irish scrumhalves was Connacht's Frank Murphy with 55, and everyone else was in the forties. Don't bother with pick-and-go tactics around the fringes; it does little to unlock defences, especially at international level. Keep moving the ball at speed and make your opponents run to the breakdown instead of stand beside the ruck waiting for the next one.

We're very unlikely to win this Six Nations. There's a decent chance we'll finish in the bottom half. Let's at least try something new, and see what happens.

Eejit indeed, and he's a very good player.

I'm worried about the prospect of Stuart Lancaster not being an absolute wally after watching his press conference. Surely the RFU wouldn't appoint someone like that?

The prospect of England playing anywhere near the standard they are capable of is starting to worry me heading into this championship.

I'm worried about the prospect of Stuart Lancaster not being an absolute wally after watching his press conference. Surely the RFU wouldn't appoint someone like that?

The prospect of England playing anywhere near the standard they are capable of is starting to worry me heading into this championship.

I think we should be more concentrated on whether we are playing anywhere near the standard we are capable of, because I'm convinced that would be better than most of the 6N teams, including England, probably excluding France.

http://www.rugby365.com/news/2834384.htm

Cueto told he is being dropped from the England squad.

http://www.rugby365.com/news/2834384.htm

Cueto told he is being dropped from the England squad.

And Nick Easter, supposedly.

http://www.planetrugby.com/story/0,25883,16024_7410076,00.html

Phatpiggins' favourite player Courtney Lawes is out for a few weeks with a knee injury. He's expected to be fit for the Six Nations kickoff vs Wales.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport2/hi/rugby_union/16413250.stm

Manu Tuilagi is a doubt for the Six Nations start, he is out for a month with a hamstring problem.

Don't forget Tuilagi.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,257 ✭✭✭Hagz

Possible team?
    1. Stevens
    2. Hartley
    3. Cole
    4. Lawes
    5. Attwood
    6. Croft
    7. Robshaw
    8. Waldrom
    9. Youngs
    10. Farrell
    11. Sharples
    12. Barritt
    13. May
    14. Ashton
    15. Foden

I hope England can really transform themselves this season.