Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Block a mobile number - Go to the Gardaí?

• 03-01-2012 1:47pm

Mods: If incorrect location, please move.

Hey,

A relative of mine started getting annoying/harassing calls (his phone would ring, he would answer, and the person would hang up) a few months ago. Then it stopped. However it has started again. Its the same number. He has the number.

I have already contacted Vodafone, and they said the dont have network blocking on the service. They said there was apps that do it, but he has an old nokia with no apps available.

So my queston is, if I go to the Gardaí, will they do anything?

Thanks a million.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭Zambia

If the Vodafone network cant do it no Garda can make them do it if not technically possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭Kevin3

The gardai won't be able to do anything Vodafone can't do. They will usually oblige and ring the number and inform the caller that if they continue their behaviour they will be liable to criminal proceedings. In nine out of ten cases this will stop the problem.

If it doesn't your relative will have to make a statement of complaint and follow it through into court. The gardai may also need to take your relatives phone to obtain evidence from it which can be an inconvenience. Subscriber information for the offenders number can then be obtained from Vodafone but if it's not registered there's not a whole lot that can be done.

The offence being committed is:
    Section 13 of the Post Office (Amendment) Act 1951 as substituted by section 13 of the Communications Regulation (Amendment) Act 2007

13.—(1) Any person who—
    (a) sends by telephone any message that is grossly offensive, or is indecent, obscene or menacing, or
    (b) for the purpose of causing annoyance, inconvenience, or needless anxiety to another person―
    (i) sends by telephone any message that the sender knows to be false, or
    (ii) persistently makes telephone calls to another person without reasonable cause,
    commits an offence.
    (2) A person found guilty of an offence under subsection (1) is liable on conviction―
    (a) if tried on indictment, to a fine not exceeding €75,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 5 years, or to both, or
    (b) if tried summarily, to a fine not exceeding €5,000 or to imprisonment for a term not exceeding 12 months, or to both.
    (3) A contravention of this section is an offence under the Post Office Act 1908.
    (4) On convicting a person for an offence under subsection (1), the court may, in addition to any other penalty imposed for the offence, order any apparatus, equipment or other thing used in the course of committing the offence to be forfeited to the State.
    (5) In this section, ‘message’ includes a text message sent by means of a short message service (SMS) facility.

Thanks lads. Suppose I just get him to ring Vodafone and change his number.

Edit:
    Seems pretty stupid that Vodafone can block the number from they're network. Are other networks the same? If he switches to O2/Meteor etc, can the block?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

Why not just get him a more modern phone so he can block the number himself? My phone has the feature built-in, so to speak, and it was a free HTC. Easier surely, than changing his number?

Because he likes his Nokia. Doesn't like touch screens.

Just for everyones information.

Meteor (and e mobile I assume) are the only network from Vodafone, O2 (didn't check with 3) which can block numbers...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

It's also worth noting that he doesn't have to answer these calls. Every mobile phone allows you to hang up on a call without answering it.

As irritating as it is for him, the kick for the harrasser comes from knowing that he's getting to his victim. Save the number on his phone as "Hang Up", so when the phone rings your relative knows to press the red button and not the green one. If the harrasser isn't getting his kick out of the calls, he'll get bored and give up.

Even if it is an old Nokia you might be able to do something like set a personalised ring tone for that number so that the phone doesn't make a noise when that number rings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭nomnomnom

Numbers can be blocked by Meteor as long as the harassment is reported to the Gardai first.

This is what I remember from my time working for Meteor.

Im sure the other network providers can do it also,but you should approach them with proof of having reported the harassment to the Gards.

Some older Samsung phones (2G and non-touch screen) do have an option to block up to 10 numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭theAwakening

Mods: If incorrect location, please move.

Hey,

A relative of mine started getting annoying/harassing calls (his phone would ring, he would answer, and the person would hang up) a few months ago. Then it stopped. However it has started again. Its the same number. He has the number.

I always wonder why people continue answering the phone in these situations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭Molloys Clondalkin

nomnomnom wrote: »
    Numbers can be blocked by Meteor as long as the harassment is reported to the Gardai first.

This is what I remember from my time working for Meteor.

Im sure the other network providers can do it also,but you should approach them with proof of having reported the harassment to the Gards.

Some older Samsung phones (2G and non-touch screen) do have an option to block up to 10 numbers.

Ive had many numbers blocked by meteor without having to annoy the cops over the details. its a simple process where you tell them the number and thats it its blocked.

Op I would just change my number and thats it for the 5 mins it akes to text everyone your new number its worth it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 365 ✭✭berrypendel

I always wonder why people continue answering the phone in these situations.
    the malicious caals bureau advised a friend of mine to answer the phone and leave it down, do not talk or listen and he will get fed up paying to get no response. he is looking to wind you up, if he does not achieve that he will get bored. worked for my friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭nomnomnom

Ive had many numbers blocked by meteor without having to annoy the cops over the details. its a simple process where you tell them the number and thats it its blocked.

Op I would just change my number and thats it for the 5 mins it akes to text everyone your new number its worth it.

Its like 2003/04 when I worked for them,we were told then that you would need the Garda report.

Glad to hear its more easily done now (unless its just staff not paying attention to the rules,couldnt blame them).