Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Playing Guitar

• 03-01-2012 7:44am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Captain McDuck

So a few weeks ago in another thread someone mentioned that they could not stand people who played guitars at parties and this post received loads of thanks leading one to believe that this was a popular opinion. Only today in another thread there was some animosity towards someone who played the guitar with friends.

Now I personally cannot stand somebody who has no talent trying to be hero wrecking everybody's head but I do happen to throughly enjoy when someone talented has the balls to pick up an instrument and entertain their friends at a party.

So are the haters out there just jealous because they haven't a note in their heads or is live entertainment provided by a friend just wrong for some reason??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

I can never hear Wonderwall enough times played at a house party, I take pictures to remember the moment forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,130 ✭✭✭Azureus

I reckon its because too many sessions are ruined by self important eejits who pick up a guitar and start singing their own songs that arent very good and people feel kinda obliged to listen.

I absolutely love going to sessions with a musician or three-its always great craic, but I think if you're at a party or something no matter how fantastic your original music is, do something people will know and recognise even if its your own version of it. Nothing worse that singer songwriter syndrome whining about their ex girlfirend in a corner, but nothing better than a lad with a guitar playing some Tom Petty or something. The people with animosity just have the wrong (untalented) friends :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Link to post?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,296 ✭✭✭Frank Black

Usually it's some pretentious knob singing some self-indulgent ****e and bringing the mood down, or perhaps a drunk tosser belting out a rebel song.

Time to get your coat at this stage.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Captain McDuck

Azureus wrote: »
    I reckon its because too many sessions are ruined by self important eejits who pick up a guitar and start singing their own songs that arent very good and people feel kinda obliged to listen.

I absolutely love going to sessions with a musician or three-its always great craic, but I think if you're at a party or something no matter how fantastic your original music is, do something people will know and recognise even if its your own version of it. Nothing worse that singer songwriter syndrome whining about their ex girlfirend in a corner, but nothing better than a lad with a guitar playing some Tom Petty or something. The people with animosity just have the wrong (untalented) friends :P

Completely agree with this. They have to be playing tunes everyone knows.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,222 ✭✭✭✭Will I Amnt

It's all about taste.
    The person playing the guitar is going to play songs they like.
    If everybody else has the same taste in music there won't be a problem but chances are a lot won't and will think its sh1te.

What wrecks my head is that you're at a party, with people, chatting, there's probably music playing already on a stereo or whatever and then this gimp starts randomly plucking away at a guitar, then kinda starts playing a song and then that forms into an actual one that everyone has heard a billion times and adds fcuk all to the party, and then I'M supposed to stop my talking to "appreciate" this buffoon and give him/her an audience. I'm sorry this isnt a paid gig that people have come to see, you've taken it upon yourself to entertain people that didnt ask to be entertained, how about you take it outside and anyone that wants to hear your crappy rendition of some horrible Frames song can follow you? cheers. dick.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Just no.

If it is a small group of friends who all know each other and are into that shit, okay, most parties are made up of one person who knows everyone and everyone else who knows maybe a few people.

Some tit pulling out a guitar to steal an audience just ruins the night. Go busk if you must and want an audience that bad, at least people can stop if they want to listen or walk on by if they don't. Or post on youtube, if you are any use you will find your audience, a willing one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Captain McDuck

Jesus, Well maybe I'm just lucky to have some very talented friends.

If I want to go listen to a talented musician, I will go on youtube or go to a gig.
    How long does the average person stop and listen to a busker? What does that tell you?

Honestly, people who whip out a guitar at a party full of people many of whom they don't know (friends of friends) etc - it's akin to masturbation, they may as well be sitting there pulling the lad off themselves as far as I am concerned, it's that self indulgent.

The only people who enjoy as much are the one or two incredibly drunk lushes who attempt to sing along or get them to play their favourite Rhianna umbrella related song so they can dance and sing along tunelessly in their own vain attempt and hope that someone might tell them they have a modicum of talent

This attention always delights guitar guy who says he thinks he can figure it out and starts playing G, C and D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭Feisar

Never mind at a house party, it drives me nuts when in a country pub and you're told to "whisht" because someone has decided to sing some awful dirge about having no potatoes.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »
    Never mind at a house party, it drives me nuts when in a country pub and you're told to "whisht" because someone has decided to sing some awful dirge about having no potatoes.

Not a note in their head either, you couldn't even call it singing most of the time, as for the songs - 49 verses and not a single hook in the 'song'.

APPRECIATE THE MISERY!!!!

even worse are people who start singsongs at the ends of weddings, I mean really? its meant to be a celebration, stop wrecking the mood singing fcuking Danny Boy in a drunken state.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭Napper Hawkins

Yeah that drives me nuts, almost as much as people giving you daggers because you won't stand for their poxy national anthem in the pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

krudler wrote: »
    What wrecks my head is that you're at a party, with people, chatting, there's probably music playing already on a stereo or whatever and then this gimp starts randomly plucking away at a guitar, then kinda starts playing a song and then that forms into an actual one that everyone has heard a billion times and adds fcuk all to the party, and then I'M supposed to stop my talking to "appreciate" this buffoon and give him/her an audience. I'm sorry this isnt a paid gig that people have come to see, you've taken it upon yourself to entertain people that didnt ask to be entertained, how about you take it outside and anyone that wants to hear your crappy rendition of some horrible Frames song can follow you? cheers. dick.
    I have to say I have never experienced either of these things. I've never seen someone at a party pick up a guitar and start playing and singing unless pretty much everyone there has turned around and asked them to do so.
    As a guitarist myself, I would find it very odd to start playing if no-one is listening or if most people are standing around chatting.
    When I'm asked, I usually refuse to play until the "mood" is right - this is usually towards the end of the night when everyone is sitting down and chilling.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 246 ✭✭Joshua Jones

Haters hate because players take all their wimmins. They jelly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭jonnyfingers

Also as a guitar player I hate being asked to play at parties. But when I do everyone seems appreciative. I wouldn't just start in the middle of a party, unless I was in a different room or something with a small group of friends.

I wonder how many people who say they hate guitarists at parties play the guitar themselves?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I used to love the days when this would happen when me and my friends were younger and all liked the same songs and we'd have drunk sing a longs. Then you get over it and resent anyone who picks up a guitar without being asked.

I've seen many people do it and play the same songs over and over each time and it is grating. I was at a party for NYE and the birthday girl purposefully hid the guitar knowing her ex would pick it up and start doing quirky renditions of things.
    High five to her.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Kidchameleon

Two of my friends released albums in 2010 so I guess I never had this problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭SpatialPlanning

It's not that hard to learn 4 chords, lads..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,032 ✭✭✭homerun_homer

I've never gotten a girl off the back of playing guitar. I must be doing something wrong.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 318 ✭✭SpatialPlanning

I've never gotten a girl off the back of playing guitar. I must be doing something wrong.

You're playing Don't Look Back in Anger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

Is there a trad session on? If there is and you dont want to shut up while someones singing just go to a different pub?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,789 ✭✭✭Feisar

Is there a trad session on? If there is and you dont want to shut up while someones singing just go to a different pub?

No, I'm not talking about that. I'm on about people spontaneously deciding to sing, fair enough I'm not that bothered but don't expect me to listen.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

if its a party and its just you and a very small bunch some really nice chilled music isn't bad plucking away and not annoying anyone.

If the party is jumping and some twat turns down the music for his butchering of a song "in his style" then there are issues. and even if its just ah sure we'll have a cd on while we drink you can always chat over cds but god forgive you if you say anything while someone is singing.

as bad as guitars are though ukuleles are much much worse.

infact edit: People who bring out a ukulele at a house party should be kicked out straight away. EVEN if it is their party

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 124 ✭✭Trevor Kent

This is a weird one for me. I play guitar in a band which is widely known amongst my friends. But I generally get asked to play at most parties I go to. Im no Andy Mckee but I can play, not the greatest singer. I dont drink so im always physically able to play as well as normal.

Sort of the same situation as "jonnyfingers" I generally dont play until im asked, most times I enjoy it, sometimes I dont.

What I hate is when im asked to play a song I dont know, and the person (Usually drunk) takes this as an insult almost that I dont know their favourite song.........**** off and go learn an instrument yourself and play it for us. I dont mind requests, but I cant just play a song I have never heard before.
    Also, if its my guitar being used, It will NOT be taken by some air guitarist who thinks strumming the sh1t out of open strings is cool. People actually get pissed off when I wont let them "Play" with my guitar. Good ones cost the same as a good second hand car, gime your car keys, I want to go "PLAY" with your car.

But for the most part Its great to get a sing along going as long as everyone is happy. I try go to a different room if possible if people want a sing song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

A lot of hatred for guitar players on here. IMO it has always added to a party to have a sing song and someone blast out a few tunes whether it be guitar or on their own. Standing in a room drinking and chatting to people for a night is hardly a party.

I am all for someone horsing out a guitar and laying into some well known songs and dont mind if some people are listening or not. Now if they are playing some breakup drivel they wrote themselves or some secret hidden Radiohead track that no one has heard of, then they can get fúcked alright.

I also enjoy an old sing song in the residence bar after a wedding. Everyone is pist, you have spent the whole day with them, theres no entertainment and everyone at the weddings/parties I've been too usually has one song that they'l sing. If people don't want to listen to it (and there is never that many) then they can go to bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,163 ✭✭✭✭danniemcq

A lot of hatred for guitar players on here. IMO it has always added to a party to have a sing song and someone blast out a few tunes whether it be guitar or on their own. Standing in a room drinking and chatting to people for a night is hardly a party.

I am all for someone horsing out a guitar and laying into some well known songs and dont mind if some people are listening or not. Now if they are playing some breakup drivel they wrote themselves or some secret hidden Radiohead track that no one has heard of, then they can get fúcked alright.

I also enjoy an old sing song in the residence bar after a wedding. Everyone is pist, you have spent the whole day with them, theres no entertainment and everyone at the weddings/parties I've been too usually has one song that they'l sing. If people don't want to listen to it (and there is never that many) then they can go to bed.

as poster above you said though why not go to another room for a sing song.

if you are in the main room of the "party" and people are chatting everyone feels the need to shut up and if you don't you';; either be forced to whisper or be told to shhhhhhh by someone else.

and i know some people are fantastic on guitar and i will usually end up listenin to them in whatever room they are in (or as said wedding after parties etc) but think of everyone else at the party too. if they want to hear guitar they will find you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

I'd listen to them if they could properly play guitar but they cant. 99% know basic chords and just sing karaoke. And most of them cant even sing that well.

You get the odd talented person who can do justice to a song but not very often, because at that stage of the night its the have a go heroes that take to the stage. Beating out 3/4 chords and wailing in time isnt singing or playing guitar. Its just being an annoying asshole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,034 ✭✭✭Ficheall

The-Rigger wrote: »
    This attention always delights guitar guy who says he thinks he can figure it out and starts playing G, C and D.
    Well, he's probably on the right track. There might be an E minor in the too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 845 ✭✭✭yupyup7up

I think most people get this impression of people playing guitar.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,559 ✭✭✭✭AnonoBoy

I've got loads of talented friends but I certainly don't want to sit quietly at a party and watch them bore everyone to death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,989 ✭✭✭✭Giblet

You guys must know a lot of **** guitar players, ie: The only people with something to prove

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭podgemonster

danniemcq wrote: »
    as poster above you said though why not go to another room for a sing song.

if you are in the main room of the "party" and people are chatting everyone feels the need to shut up and if you don't you';; either be forced to whisper or be told to shhhhhhh by someone else.

and i know some people are fantastic on guitar and i will usually end up listenin to them in whatever room they are in (or as said wedding after parties etc) but think of everyone else at the party too. if they want to hear guitar they will find you

Generally I find it is the majority of the group want a sing song. The parties i would attend (not that i am some sort of social animal) could start anytime around 8-11pm and its really well after midnight before everyone has enough dutch courage to sing a few songs or play guitar, so people really have been chatting for hours. I like my friends but after 2-3 hours of chatting i'd rather hear them blast out "Joxer goes to Stuttgart" than hear about their new bicycle/girlfriend/toaster.

A party is a social gathering and segregating those who want to sing and entertain from those who want continue talking it a bit too organised. I can't imagine someone stand up at a party and saying "Me, X,Y and Z are just heading to the kitchen to sing" join us if you like. A sing song is something spontaneous and usually encouraged by the majority there, if not then it shouldn't occur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,650 ✭✭✭sensibleken

No, I'm not talking about that. I'm on about people spontaneously deciding to sing, fair enough I'm not that bothered but don't expect me to listen.

yeah that is feckin annoying alright

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 620 ✭✭✭Laika1986

That happened to us christmas eve of all times!there was loads of us who hadn't seen each other in a while and just catching up, the ****er sang three songs!

Back on topic it depends on the party. I have parties where i won't play at all and then parties where the guitar goes round all night and it's great craic!depends on the mood etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

Curious..is this just an Irish begrudgery thing, any time someone wants to perform or is alright at something there is a bit of oh look at them who do they think they are, getting up putting themselves out there, yor a shooow.

But there is a time and place for everything, house parties are not the time or place to do a set of your own singer song writer stuff (unless its that kind of event)but one song isn't a big deal I do like a good sing song... its grand as long as it doesn't take over or go on for too long.

From what I can see it is the kind of guy usually who does this that people feel animosity to, I'm thinking of many a ego driven, I try not to look like I love how I look, floppy hair, deep meaningful, middle class but poorly dressed type :)

And also the cut off point when everyones getting fidgety its probably time to stop.

I wonder how many people who say they hate guitarists at parties play the guitar themselves?

Oh don't start that sh!te

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,933 ✭✭✭Logical Fallacy

Well, i can play loads of instruments and i generally dislike people playing at parties when they obviously are not very good. I quite enjoy someone with a bit of talent playing at the right time though. Personally i'd prefer to just be playing a DJ set though, or maybe a bit of live production...something with a bit of kick until the party winds down some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

bluewolf wrote: »
    Oh don't start that sh!te
    Why? It's a fair enough question imo.
    As a guitarist, someone playing guitar would only annoy me if they're ****, or keep playing on and on and on, with no attention to the mood of the people listening.
    Someone who doesn't play may think differently, but I like seeing people play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,938 ✭✭✭mackg

Rarely been in a situation where this happened but where I have it was always enjoyable. Someone handy enough at the guitar and an all right singer leading a sing along, sounds like good craic to me. Saying that I don't really associate with the kind of people who ye all make out to be the problem.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,531 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Also as a guitar player I hate being asked to play at parties. But when I do everyone seems appreciative. I wouldn't just start in the middle of a party, unless I was in a different room or something with a small group of friends.

I play and sing but i can't stand it either. I always refuse to do it too. Its a total mood killer imo as a lot of the time (not all the time) its only a small minority who actually want the person to play.

A big old sing along is fine though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 132 ✭✭bigbudda

All depends on the session, the mood and people!! If its a cosy, drinking cans, joints, low music, then a guitar and singalong is perfect.
    But when everyone is buzzy and enjoying the background music then there is no need to annoy us with ur bad singing and out of tune instruments, just give it a rest!!

Last get-together i was at, we slowly started chanting under our breaths "I-pod... I-pod I-pod..." hoping the Noel Gallagher wannabe would get the hint....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,543 ✭✭✭JerryHandbag

Occasionally I get the guitar handed to me at parties/family get togethers but I always decline because (a) I can't sing, and (b) slow 12 bar blues isn't really what people want to hear :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 479 ✭✭membersonly

Some of the best nights I've had were at sessions with someone playing guitar and a sing song, obviously the people playing knew what they were doing. It's also important that the guitarist doesn't take themselves too seriously and can put the guitar down if people are trying to chat.

Anytime I've been at a session where someone was playing who wasn't very good (too drunk to play), I found that people just started chatting and the guitarists just got the hint and joined back in with the chattin and drinkin.

Really don't see how it could create a problem or spoil a night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭MrPirate

Haters hate because players take all their wimmins. They jelly.

Totes. :P

I've no problem really about this. Usually when this happens it's the right atmosphere. As a guitar playing, usually I get a good while at it. But I HATE HATE HATE when either I hear or I'm requested to play wonderwall. As a general rule, I openly refuse to learn it, purely because it's utter sh/t.

Only time I dislike this is when someone who only knows about four chords badly and plays like the Fr Ted Eurovision episode.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

http://waterfordwhispersnews.com/2011/12/19/dinner-party-host-really-wishes-he-had-hidden-those-acoustic-guitars/
    DINNER party host Gerry Lindsey said he really wishes he had hidden those acoustic guitars last night before his guests arrived.

The 47-year-old accountant told this reporter that he did not intentionally leave the instruments in the living room for people to play with, and that they really should have asked first before picking up the guitars: ”They’re there as ornaments really. I don’t play any kind of music at all.”

After finishing the meal, Mr Lindsey invited his guests, who are all work colleagues, into the living room for some refreshments while he tidied up the dining room table.

He said “Everyone was in high spirits. I made a nice big jug of sangria and left them to their own devices while I cleaned.”

Sources left in the living room claim that David from human resources was the first to pick up a guitar.

“I didn’t even notice it at first. David seemed to be strumming it lightly like he was tuning it.” said secretary Geraldine Woods.

Unfortunately for the group, David was just preparing them for what was to come next.

“Once I heard the chords I knew what kind of night it was going to be.”

“Bluddy ‘wonderwall! In the key of ****.‘” added Ms. Woods.

Upon re-entering the living room, host Lindsey was greeted with frosty stares from his guests.

“What could I do? He was already started into Green Day’s ‘time of your life’!”

“Then John from legal joined in with the other guitar. They seemed to be competing. We didn’t have a chance.” cringed Lindsey.

It is reported that after two glorious hours of fall out boy, Johnny Cash and Bob Marley, the guests decided to make their way home.

Lindsey concluded: “Theres always one ****ing guitar hero. But to get two in one night is just awful luck.”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 709 ✭✭✭Robdude

If it is *your* party - go for it.

What people find annoying is that it's a completely random, unrelated, thing to do. If you were throwing a party and I decided to show up with a full-sized art canvas and a bunch of paint and set up next to your keg and start painting....

Well - it would be like that. Only worse. Because the guitar player forces people to listen by projecting loud music at them.

I play guitar. I like listening to guitar. But I go to places with that purpose. I like lots of other stuff too - like video games. But I'm not going to show up at a house party and setup my desktop computer so I can play WoW in the middle of the party and try to get people to watch me.

I'm a guitarist and cringe at the memories of me doing this a couple of times.. Literally only a couple thank god. The only time I ever play it now is for a Vietnamese girl who thinks it's absolutely amazing cause they aren't used to hearing it anywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 153 ✭✭William_Hicley

Q: Whats the fastest way to shut a guitar player up?

A: Put some sheet music in front of them :pac: