Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bike Parts - Best Online store

• 01-01-2012 7:01pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

Good evening folks,

I bought a sweet road bike from Cycleways a couple of months back. The guys provided excellent service. I am now upgrading it a little bit (new pedals, clips and brakes), I am keen to get the guys to fit the parts, but after a quick search online it seems the web is the best place to get the new parts.

I have found a few good websites (Wheel & Sprocket, wriggle.co.uk) but I was wondering if anyone has any advice or tips on the best place to buy online, delivery time is not really an issue, I just want to get the best deal on quality parts, I am looking for mid-range gear, don't want to spend thousands, but don't want £9.99 Shoes.

Any help would be sweet, as I don't want to buy overpriced junk advertised as "super-saver deal price".

Thanks in advance,

Laters

Conor

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,718 ✭✭✭AstraMonti

See here: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=73751208

There isn't an all-in-one cheaper place, you have to look around to find the best deal. You can use google.co.uk/products as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 conrd

I hoped their was a thread set-up already, and I am still figuring out how to search properly.
    Will get trawling this evening ;-)

thanks a million for the speedy response!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Crow92

How much is it online compared to instore? Are you including the 10% discount cycleways give for customers who bought a bike?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 conrd

...thanks for that, I thought that was only a once off...will price it all in, the fitting costs will probably make the store more competitive!

Thanks for taking the time

conrd wrote: »
    ...thanks for that, I thought that was only a once off...will price it all in, the fitting costs will probably make the store more competitive!

Thanks for taking the time

Afaik it's for life, they'll put you on the system, doesn't cover bikes or wheels though. I just though cuz I badgered them about a student discount 2 or 3 times and they set me up on the system :D

You also will get the extra attention for want of a better word in the shop if you buy from them. Can't beat good customer service in an lbs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 45 dunnangall

I was in my LBS on christmas week for a few things for myself & herself, total bill came to €225, I handed over 4 crispy 50's and the owner said thank you for your custom & happy christmas. Discounts are as good locally, you just have to ask or beg for them. By the way LBS is 70min round trip so the web for me would be a lot easier but if I can i try to shop local.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,889 ✭✭✭feck sake lads

well if your following your own thread your in luck ,the quay cycles in drogheda is having its annual sale which is usually excellent so get your ass down there as quick as you can pick up that bargain. i dont have any connections but it does be good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

well if your following your own thread your in luck ,the quay cycles in drogheda is having its annual sale which is usually excellent so get your ass down there as quick as you can pick up that bargain. i dont have any connections but it does be good.
    50% off all clothes and equipment was in today, its in shop sale only.

How long will that sale last? and do they do ortlieb pannier bags?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,218 ✭✭✭✭Lumen

conrd wrote: »
    I am now upgrading it a little bit (new pedals, clips and brakes), I am keen to get the guys to fit the parts, but after a quick search online it seems the web is the best place to get the new parts.

Cycleways are very good mechanically but I prefer to fit pedals myself.

I've seen professional mechanics fit pedals with no grease/anti-seize and huge amounts of torque, which makes subsequent removal very difficult.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭macadam

Crow92 wrote: »
    How long will that sale last? and do they do ortlieb pannier bags?
    Finishes next saturday, their are a few pannier racks and bags hanging up but I didnt pay much notice.

no ortliebs but i think altura , but what you could pick up is cloths half price.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,083 ✭✭✭furiousox

50% off all clothing, accessories, helmets and shoes.
    Quay Cycles 041-9834526.
    I've no connection with them, they're just the lbs in Drogheda.

CPL 593H

Pity i'm bloody broke.:(