Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

More ammunition on licence??

• 01-01-2012 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭

I'm going to hand in my FCA1 form for a licence for .22lr rifle this week. Because this will be my first gun I had to do a course of competency with a fella from the n.a.r.g.c. He gave me the form and filled in a few bits on it for me. He put down 100 for the maximum amount of rounds applied for. I,d prefer to have more than 100 at any one time so I wont be constantly buying ammo.
    Is their anything I can do to bring this number up?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,181 ✭✭✭landkeeper

go back to him and have a chat ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

If i'm right you're syaing the fella on the course helped you fill in the form and he wrote down 100 rounds ?

For a .22 100 rounds is only 2 boxes :rolleyes:

I'd put in 500 rounds on the form, thats what i did for all my rifles and I got the licence no bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 164 ✭✭TossL1916

yeah that's it, he said sure i,ll give ya a 100, with a kinda sneery grin (didn't seem ta like the idea of a young lad getting his hands on a rifle)
    Thats perfect thanks i,ll do that so, i thought their was some sort of barrier for new applicants on the amount of rounds allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

100 sound like enough to me
    ya can always get more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

You would be doing well to use 100 rounds in a few days good hunting but 100 is on mine and it's enough but id often have a considerable bit more in the locker but when your zeroed up and all you would need as much 100 will be loads

But for convenience if it is possible to have 500 then why not?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Send in a letter explaining what you want it for.

I have 500 on both Rifles and 1000 on the shotty.

As I am a member of a Target club and a hunter I need different types of ammo for different applications.

OP state your reasons for requiring more ammo and normally if they are valid it is no big deal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭One shot on kill

TossL1916 wrote: »
    But for convenience if it is possible to have 500 then why not?

It would be convenient ye if your gonna use it but make sure that much ammo is stored right if you want to get more it's not a prob loads of lads have more on theres

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,696 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I'm going to hand in my FCA1 form for a licence for .22lr rifle this week.
    Reading this it sounds as though you haven't handed in the application yet?
    Is their anything I can do to bring this number up?
    If you haven't handed it in then simply write in 200/300/500 in where the NARGC fella wrote 100. Its your FCA1.

Just because you write it doesn't mean you'll get it, but chances are if you apply for 100 you'll get it, if you apply for 500 and don't get it you'll still get 100, but could anywhere between 100 and 500.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Ezridax wrote: »

If you haven't handed it in then simply write in 200/300/500 in where the NARGC fella wrote 100. Its your FCA1.

Just because you write it doesn't mean you'll get it, but chances are if you apply for 100 you'll get it, if you apply for 500 and don't get it you'll still get 100, but could anywhere between 100 and 500.

Yes i haven't handed it in yet i just need to get the uncle to sign the second landowners permission sheet.
    That's great, so there's no chance of the licence being refused due to asking for extra ammo?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭kildare.17hmr

Yes i haven't handed it in yet i just need to get the uncle to sign the second landowners permission sheet.
    That's great, so there's no chance of the licence being refused due to asking for extra ammo?
    No that would not be a reason you will be refused a licence, you can apply for what ever amount you want does not mean you will get the figure your after tho. Good luck with the application

The license will not be refused based on ammo request. I mean you could ask for 10,000 rounds, but the idea is to ask for an appropriate amount. A rule of thumb for myself is to have enough ammo on my license that covers me from month to month - ie. trips to the dealers for ammo.

I think most replies above were based on the FCA1 having already been handed in. If you still have it then you decide what tyou want to apply for. By all means ask for help, gidance, but if 100 doesn't work for you then ask for more.

The commissioner's guidelines had an amount for each type of shooting. For example if you are a target shooter that goes through a lot of ammo then you can apply for 1,000 rounds. If you are a farmer that barely uses the gun except for the occassional bit of vermin then they reckon 100 will do.

The other thing to remember is the amount on your license is for the TOTAL amount of ammo you can possess. This means if you have 500 on your license, and you buy 400 rounds in the dealers, but have 200 at home then you are in breach of the conditions of your license. You may only have 500 at any given time. Another thing to think about, although for .22 its not really an issue as the cases are dumped, is under the law a spent case is still classed as a round and can be considered towards the total amount on your license. So you have 300 live rounds, and 300 empties thats also a breach. It would be a bad Garda to try and do you for this, but its worth noting.

Change the figure from 100 to 500. As said above it does not mean you will get the 500, but if they reduce it you will still end p with a minimum of 100, but also might get what you ask for. If in doubt it would not hurt to include a small note as to why you want the amount you do. I done this, but at the time is was big into my Benchrest, and having 500 on my license was useless so i had it changed to 2,000.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭Hunter21

Ezridax covered everything you need to know above, put down what you feel you would need.
    Also note if you don't get what you requested you can call in a few weeks later and state to the firearms officer that you feel you need more ammo on your licence as you get a better deal in bulk.
    My local super only gives out 100 for first time licences, that's just the way he operates but what locals do is just call up to the FO later and he changes it on the computer and in two day you'll have your new licence for free

Thanks lads, i,ll put 500 down anyway and add a note.
    I don't fully understand about spent cases. Do i have to get rid of them officially?

The other thing to remember is the amount on your license is for the TOTAL amount of ammo you can possess. This means if you have 500 on your license, and you buy 400 rounds in the dealers, but have 200 at home then you are in breach of the conditions of your license. You may only have 500 at any given time.

Is it not total per gun ? I have 2 12b shotguns both with 1000 cartridges on the licence, therefore I can legally possess 2000 12b rounds on the strength of those 2 licences.

I know this is not relevant to the op's question but im just curious, maybe I'm wrong :rolleyes:

I don't fully understand about spent cases. Do i have to get rid of them officially?
    Technically between live rounds, and spent rounds the total of both cannot exceed the total amount on your license.

Don't worry about that for now. Can deal with it when you get the license.
    tfox wrote: »
    Is it not total per gun? I have 2 12b shotguns both with 1000 cartridges on the licence, therefore I can legally possess 2000 12b rounds on the strength of those 2 licences.
    Per gun, per license. Whatever way you wish to word it.

However its the license that actually authorises you to buy, hold, possess, and use the ammo. Go into a dealer, and show him your two shotguns, and ask for 2,000 rounds.

Now go in with both licenses, and ask for 2,000 rounds.

See which one he gives you them on.;):D

Per gun, per license. Whatever way you wish to word it.

However its the license that actually authorises you to buy, hold, possess, and use the ammo. Go into a dealer, and show him your two shotguns, and ask for 2,000 rounds.

Now go in with both licenses, and ask for 2,000 rounds.

See which one he gives you them on.;):D

Wasnt questioning wether it is per gun or per licence, as naturally to have a gun you need the licence.

Was just your point that X-amount would be the max you could possess if on your licence. If i have 2 licences with X-amount on them of same calibre am I therefore allowed possess 2X-amount of rounds or just X-amount ?

Thanks for the help Ezridax and co. :D

tfox wrote: »
    ........ as naturally to have a gun you need the licence.
    Pedantic Pat time.:o

You need a license for a gun.
    If i have 2 licences with X-amount on them of same calibre am I therefore allowed possess 2X-amount of rounds or just X-amount ?
    You may have the totl amount of the combined licenses.

I have a couple of .308 licenses. One for a hunter the other for a target. One has 750 and the other 1,500. I can legally possess 2,250 rounds of ammo for a .308.

Same as your situation. You can have 2,000 rounds if both your licenses are for a 12g, and each has 1,000 rounds on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,072 ✭✭✭clivej

Put down at least 500. You can also state that they are available in tins of 500 and boxes of 525 and are therefore more economical to buy them that way.

I have 1000 on both my 22lr firearms and 500 for my centerfire firearms. Had 1000 for the shotgun.

I put in for another 1000 rounds for my present application for a Marlin 1894 lever action rifle.