Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Has using boards helped your life in some real way?

• 31-12-2011 3:38pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭

I dont mean as an outlet for your humour/ego here on after hours :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Yeah, the guys on the cycling forum helped me find a great value bike! And also computer tech support.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

It facilitates frank discussions with a level of honesty that people in the real world may find less appealing.

On boards, users tend to care less about others' perceptions, so conversations can be more interesting; political correctness is definitely less of an issue.

And becuase there is no social order, everyone's opinion is only as valid as he makes it using appreciable logic, it has nothing to do with his background or his real life circumstances. I think it's a really remarkable resource and a fascinating way of interacting with others.

How has it helped me personally? Probably by introducing me to opinions I had never before considered, I think that's its most positive feature.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

I post a lot in PI and RI it's always lovelyhearing back through PM that I have helped people in some way. It's made me contact the Samaritans to become a volunteer in the New Year. Training starts in January.

I wanted to do it years ago, but wasn't sure if I was cut out for it. I now believe I am. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,408 ✭✭✭Captain_Generic

I thank people when they tell jokes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭tonycascarino

No

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,013 ✭✭✭Ole Rodrigo

Beats Facebook

• Business & Finance Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 32,387 Mod ✭✭✭✭DeVore

Yes. The recent depression thread for example but obviously for me Boards has had a fairly serious impact on my life :):)

Its a utility, some people use it for lots of things in their lives, others don't. Its one of those "you get out of it what you put into it" things..

DeV.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 644 ✭✭✭wolf moon

John Doe1 wrote: »
    I dont mean as an outlet for your humour/ego here on after hours :p
    It helps me to kill time when I'm in work and in the jacks... So I guess yes, it has helped to a certain degree.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,981 ✭✭✭ElleEm

I actually feel like I learn a lot through Boards.
    I lurk in forums that I have no clue about, such as Politics, and feel like I pick up bits of info from it.
    I also love reading the many different opinions of people on a variety of subjects. It really does broaden MY opinion to read people's passionate posts about things.

I have also learnt to be more tolerant and accepting of people, (keyboard warriors!!!).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Yep, I always get reviews for anything here first - Also some great information in forums like tech, jobs and pet issues that I'd lurk in quite a bit.

For this I give hours upon hours of free comedy that entertains the masses.

The opportunity to interact with people more knowledgeable and experienced than you is worth it alone, in particular the cycling forum.
    Other than that it can be good fun and seems a more useful way of idling on the internet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,663 ✭✭✭Immaculate Pasta

I post mainly in After Hours so I'm not convinced it entirely widens my breadth of knowledge about the world :pac:. I'm sure some of the specialist forums will help you though.

I suppose what I do like about boards is that it allows me to keep in touch with Irish culture and news as well as the general Irish feeling while living in England.

I post mainly in After Hours so I'm not convinced it entirely widens my breadth of knowledge about the world :pac:. I'm sure some of the specialist forums will help you though.

I suppose what I do like about boards is that it allows me to keep in touch with Irish culture and news as well as the general Irish feeling while living in England.

It's true. Sometimes you do have a sense of how people are really feeling, as opposed to the traditional media outlets.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,944 ✭✭✭✭Links234

met my girlfriend through boards :) that's fairly life changing

I got a HTC Sensation XL instead of a Samsung Galaxy S2 because some lad told me to.

GEE THANKS BOARDS!!!! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,915 ✭✭✭MungBean

You know that old saying "There's no better way to learn than to teach" or "In order to understand something you have to be able explain it".

Something like that anyway. Well thats what I find with boards, you get into a discussion or argument and whether your right or wrong you will learn from that. Even if you dig in and refuse to accept the opposing view a sliver of logic will get through and challenge your preconceptions.

Boards is a great tool for anyone looking to not only to learn what their own views are through discussion but also understand them. In the absence of intelligent company in your day to day life or people willing to discuss things in depth it really is invaluable to some of us and without it or other websites like it then it would be a sad and lonely existence for some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,439 ✭✭✭Kevin Duffy

Yes, hugely, when I go out for the night I leave the 'pooter on for the kids and let AH babysit them. It's cheap, punctual and reliable, hard to beat. That said, I may have to review the childminding arrangements if they call me the "PC brigade" or answer me with "yore ma" one more time :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,500 ✭✭✭ReacherCreature

Boards has been an enormous impact on my life and easily one of the best things that's happened to me.

One major aspect was this year. Back in February I was having hell with my house mate. I didn't like him one bit and it was vice versa. Huge pr!ck. I was looking for another place desperately. Just so happened that a friend I met through a boards meetup had a room and I took it. It was simply a brilliant house and we became even better friends. I'm good friends too with the other occupant. I relaxed because of the good months from February to exams in May I did well and allowed me to graduate with good results. If I hadn't known that Boardsie I might have gotten a poor house or some equally bad house mates. The landlord put the house up for lease recently and I miss the place terribly.

Boards meetups have enabled me to meet loads of new people and some of these are my friends today and they're a cracking bunch of people. Even met a girl out of here.

On the website itself it's been of huge benefit. I've laughed a huge amount due to the people's wit, funny stories, and memorable threads. I've learned tons of things - there are a lot of intelligent folk on here (some idiots but they're dwarfed by the former) and it's great to see people so passionate and helpful about their joys. I've helped out others and offered help where possible.

Using Boards has pushed my interests even further. I'll read something in the history or military forum and that will lead me to look it up. I've become more interested in sports due to the forums that I've posted in. Academically it has helped me pick or avoid some modules in college and because of that I know I've been able to relate back to others and try help them out.

I really could go on all day about its impact. I'm a champion of Boards.ie and although this post was probably pretty deep stuff for AH (;)) it's always good to acknowledge the great things in life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,788 ✭✭✭✭krudler

Boards has been an enormous impact on my life and easily one of the best things that's happened to me.

One major aspect was this year. Back in February I was having hell with my house mate. I didn't like him one bit and it was vice versa. Huge pr!ck. I was looking for another place desperately. Just so happened that a friend I met through a boards meetup had a room and I took it. It was simply a brilliant house and we became even better friends. I'm good friends too with the other occupant. I relaxed because of the good months from February to exams in May I did well and allowed me to graduate with good results. If I hadn't known that Boardsie I might have gotten a poor house or some equally bad house mates. The landlord put the house up for lease recently and I miss the place terribly.

Boards meetups have enabled me to meet loads of new people and some of these are my friends today and they're a cracking bunch of people. Even met a girl out of here.

On the website itself it's been of huge benefit. I've laughed a huge amount due to the people's wit, funny stories, and memorable threads. I've learned tons of things - there are a lot of intelligent folk on here (some idiots but they're dwarfed by the former) and it's great to see people so passionate and helpful about their joys. I've helped out others and offered help where possible.

Using Boards has pushed my interests even further. I'll read something in the history or military forum and that will lead me to look it up. I've become more interested in sports due to the forums that I've posted in. Academically it has helped me pick or avoid some modules in college and because of that I know I've been able to relate back to others and try help them out.

I really could go on all day about its impact. I'm a champion of Boards.ie and although this post was probably pretty deep stuff for AH (;)) it's always good to acknowledge the great things in life.

penis envy?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

later10 wrote: »
    It facilitates frank discussions with a level of honesty that people in the real world may find less appealing.

On boards, users tend to care less about others' perceptions, so conversations can be more interesting; political correctness is definitely less of an issue.

And becuase there is no social order, everyone's opinion is only as valid as he makes it using appreciable logic, it has nothing to do with his background or his real life circumstances. I think it's a really remarkable resource and a fascinating way of interacting with others.

How has it helped me personally? Probably by introducing me to opinions I had never before considered, I think that's its most positive feature.

Agree :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 167 ✭✭jomc

I'd say the only way its helped me is as a source of time killing and a bit of fun. If it wasn't around i'd probably turn off the computer quicker and get on with things though lol!

Having said that, boards was a terrible experience for my gf. She no longer posts but had started posting as a way of connecting to people after a difficult period in her life. She got involved in meet ups etc and formed what she thought was a group of friends. Logged in one day to nasty pms telling her that she was no longer welcome in the forum or to meet ups(from a mod as well) as they had 'heard' she'd been spreading rumours about all of them. The particular time in question she was at a retreat with no internet access! But they wouldn't listen to her and the other people she knew wouldn't answer her so she was fairly upset about that and it really damaged her confidence and had quite a negative impact on her

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Technical forums have helped me lots, and I have helped others as well.
    AH, not so much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 329 ✭✭drBill

I'd consider boards to be one of the leading sources of technical information for satellite and terrestrial TV in this country.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,919 ✭✭✭✭Gummy Panda

It put me in touch with belly rub enthusiasts

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,352 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

I'm getting married in less than 6 months to a Boardsie, so it's definitely had a huge impact on my life. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 22,058 ✭✭✭✭Abi

later10 wrote: »

Well said :)
    I post a lot in PI and RI it's always lovelyhearing back through PM that I have helped people in some way. It's made me contact the Samaritans to become a volunteer in the New Year. Training starts in January.

I wanted to do it years ago, but wasn't sure if I was cut out for it. I now believe I am. :)
    Fair play to you Sunflower. I pop over to PI/RI and give my tuppence worth, and I've seen quite a few of your posts. You're always on the ball, so I think it's great you'll be helping out with the Samaritans :)

There really is, you should broaden your horizons a bit. I used to post a hell of a lot more in AH, but you do find your feet and discover new fora. I'm subscribed to quite a few at this stage. It's nice to keep up with everyone and the goings on.

Myself personally - well if I'd have known a google search would have turned me into a regular here :pac:

Theres rarely a day I wont check in, even if it's not to post anything, but I will stick my nose around the door. AH is some silly fun, but I'll get involved in the more serious conversations too, but not too heavily though.

I throw in a post wherever I think I might be able to help, and have equally received a goldmine of help and support from other posters. If you allow yourself to get involved, and even attend a couple of the beers, you'll get to know the faces behind the names and that in itself is amazing. A couple of reactions I got were hilarious :D

I cant imagine myself leaving. Ive become to really dislike the new close account function, because we've lost a few long term, lovely posters. I'm afraid to go into feedback in case I see another one gone. Ruu leaving wasnt a nice feeling, he was part of the fixtures and fittings :(

Though, Ive gotten to meet some great people, and yeah, it has changed my life :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,432 ✭✭✭df1985

its open my mind on issues I had no knowledge of before, and i like to think i may have chnaged other peoples opinions on issues that i feel strongly about.

You can post opinions you may not express in daily life.a way to get it off your chest so to speak.

Before i came out i found great comfort and encouragement from reading other peoples experiences in the lgbt forum.

It makes me look busy in work.....;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,867 ✭✭✭Tonyandthewhale

The cycling forum has thought me a great deal about bicycle mechanics and the like, not to mention providing me with heaps of cheap second hand parts over the years. Incredible wealth of information over there.

Plenty of interesting discussions on fora like politics, economics, Atheists and agnostics and even after hours which have opened my mind a fair bit I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭saa

It's great because you can steal well formed opinions you every so often come across on Boards and seem like a right champ at dinner parties. [no not really but it is a huge help when you can help someone and learn something that helps you, and also the testing out ughpinions]

And well lets see in the last few months I've posted 1000ish times on threads some posts longer than others but on average maybe 15 words....

I was meant to have 8000-10000 words of a thesis done and I'm on 4000, I blame Boards :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,080 ✭✭✭✭Micky Dolenz

Learnt a lot and enjoyed sharing information in the more tech forums.

AH is my news source for the stories I would never otherwise hear. I really enjoy reading the posts in here. To be fair, for the most part ye are a witty articulate bunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,816 ✭✭✭Acacia

It's changed my opinions on a few topics, and opened me up to new ideas/ways of thinking... that and the flirting is great :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,085 ✭✭✭Xiney

It helped me a lot when I was new to Sligo and again when I was new to Galway. I posted a lot of questions in the early days, and managed to answer a few by the end. Ordinarily I'd have gotten a social network through work and activities, but since I never really found work the three years I was in Ireland, boards was my social outlet, as sad as it is. (with no job, boards was free!)

Also, since one of the main issues I had with being unemployed was the feeling of uselessness & the possibility that maybe I was deficient in some way (mentally or otherwise) - helping people by giving advice on boards in accommodation & property and the state benefits board at least helped keep that wolf from the door for the most part.

• Subscribers Posts: 9,716 ✭✭✭CuLT

Paid the rent for a few years, started my career and some important relationships :)

I grew up here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

I can say with all honesty yes.
    I have some very good contacts and friends I've met trough boards.ie
    Feel like I should subscribe now :'-/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,418 ✭✭✭✭hondasam

It is a great place to read about what's happening in the world. I often LOL at some of the posts in AH's. It can be uplifting at times.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

John Doe1 wrote: »
    Has using boards helped your life in some real way?

Yes.
    I've learned a great deal on my own.
    A lot has been explained to me.
    I've made friends.
    Its helped me in local/national protests.
    Through aiding me, it had aided others additionally.
    It makes me smile once in a while!

...And as mad and crazy as A.H. is sometimes - Ireland would be a worst place without it sometimes because the forum touches and helps on some day to day real issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,002 ✭✭✭IrishHomer

Boards has given me an addiction!

1st thing. When I wake up in mornings I check boards and if I'm away for a period can't wait to put feet up checking boards on my iPad.

I use boards too recently on android so it's become a huge part of my life, my partner ad family give out to me and I recently realised everything I know recently I know from Boards :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

Don't know, never used it before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,730 ✭✭✭✭entropi

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 991 ✭✭✭SuperGrover

Joined a band over 3 years ago who were just getting started and had an ad up on the bands / musicians forum.

We're now a 10 piece with a killer set and i still love it to this day.

G'wan, the boards!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

I got a little advice on one or two little things,other than that I enjoy the utter madness that erupts occasionally in AH.
    Happy crab free New Year to ya all....:)
    MJ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,584 ✭✭✭TouchingVirus

I got a job through it, sure has helped me :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 4,644 Mod ✭✭✭✭Daisies

I've made some brilliant friends, some of whom kept me sane over the past year!

It really does give you a stage for frank and honest discussion as, I know myself, it's easier to say something (semi) anonymously without feeling the need to censure yourself.

It helped me pass several very boring days at a job in Sydney.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭karaokeman

I would say it has kept me sane quiet a bit, mostly because I get to talk about issues my friends/family generally wouldn't care too much about or want to discuss.

The music forum can be great buzz sometimes especially now with their new mod El Pron. In real life people can be relatively bitchy with regards discussion about bands particularly if you like someone they think is dire. El Pron keeps discussions civil and makes sure everyone has their say without stupid dismissals by people who have only heard 1 song by that act on the radio.

Otherwise I've recieved good advice from people in PI/RI, Learning To Drive and the College forums while I was still doing my Leaving Cert and looking at particular courses.

Hopefully it will help me more in the long run, member for almost 2 and a half years and have no intentions of leaving as of yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 173 ✭✭Callipo

A lot of tech help and it's great for grooming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

Taught me that I'm not as smart as I thought.

I only wish I had become an active member much sooner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

Zaph wrote: »
    I'm getting married in less than 6 months to a Boardsie, so it's definitely had a huge impact on my life. :)

Inbreeding .... :rolleyes:

have you no good looking cousins ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,367 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

When I was pissed off in work, a row with WhiteWashMan lead to me demanding (and getting) a 20% raise.
    When I was single, it got me laid a few times.
    When I wanted to lose weight, the Fitness forum gave me the opportunity to train with some literally world-class athletes and got me into the best shape I've ever been in (will be back in the new year, getting married in a year or so and need to get back into that shape!).
    When I got interested in Photography, I learnt 80% of what I know on that forum.
    When I got into fish-keeping, I learnt almost everything I know about it on the Aquarium forum.
    The Sex & Sexuality forum lead me to try a few things I possibly wouldn't have otherwise and have enjoyed.
    I've met some great people, had some enlightening conversations, found an outlet for political / economic discussion I don't have in real life and been entertained through many boring hours of work on this site.

Overall, it's had a huge impact on my life and how I think about things. Thanks DeVore, Cloud, Dav and all the other admins. It must be fantastic to know your site has had such an impact on Irish life. Well done!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,243 ✭✭✭LighterGuy

Only thing it has helped me is to realise that people are ****ing wankers.

I actually mean that. Every Tom, Dick & Harry seemingly knows 'everything' ... The hypocrisy, the begruding, the such bullshit people spout.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭TheUsual

LighterGuy wrote: »
    Only thing it has helped me is to realise that people are ****ing wankers.

I actually mean that. Every Tom, Dick & Harry seemingly knows 'everything' ... The hypocrisy, the begruding, the such bullshit people spout.

You seem so angry.

Tell me Lighter, do you have a healthy relationship with your father ?