Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Could you kill an animal with your bare hands?

• 31-12-2011 11:46am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭

Like strangle a chicken or something?

I don't think I could tbh.

I could probably chop its head off or shoot it, if I was hungry, but actually killing an animal with my bare hands is beyond me I think.

Y'all?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,415 ✭✭✭Archeron

Does killing a goat by staring at it count?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,201 ✭✭✭amacca

yeah ...no problem

even if I was only a little peckish tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sure, if swatting counts.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,030 ✭✭✭✭Chuck Stone

I forgot that I've killed fish by smacking their delicious heads off things the tasty buggers.

But fish don't count because they're not really animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,958 ✭✭✭Mr. Rager

Killed a fly with a well-timed karate chop before, showed that bitch no mercy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,082 ✭✭✭irelandspurs

I choke my chicken

Spose I should have said non-insect animals because people are okay with killing those exo-skeleton feckin' eejits.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,070 ✭✭✭✭My name is URL

Yeah, I've done it a few times. If you'd eat the animal then you should have no problem with killing it imo

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

If it had its teeth locked onto any of my kids! Certainly.
    If it wasn't doing me or my loved ones any harm, I wouldn't be so in a hurry to cease its life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,561 ✭✭✭Duff

I once headbutted a wasp, then stood on him.. does that count?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 6,162 ✭✭✭Augmerson

Killed a Dog with a spade once. We had ran over it and it was dying, badly messed up. It was either let it suffer or end it. Unfortunately it took more than one swing to the head. Lousy to do, believe me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭IvySlayer

I don't like killing any animal...even flies..prefer to shoo them away.

Spose I should have said non-insect animals because people are okay with killing those exo-skeleton feckin' eejits.

I thought that went without saying personally...

but just to clarify....you want anything tasty from any phylum, genus or species etc killed then I'm your man.

When do I start?

IvySlayer wrote: »
    I don't like killing any animal...even flies..prefer to shoo them away.

Me too actually.

I feel guilty killing something I'm not going to eat (I've killed fish to death but always ate them and stopped fishing when I've caught enuf)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,822 ✭✭✭sunflower27

No way. I have saved many a little spider from drowning when running a bath. I always have to rescue them and put them outside :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

After I left school I worked in a slaughter house for two years, so yea it wouldn't bother me in the least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭Zen65

But fish don't count because they're not really animals.

This is exactly the logic that the Nazi's used; defining what is human based on their own preconceptions.

You could easily learn to apply this logic to other animals, and after a while you're killing small babies.

(Happy New Year!! It is AH after all)

Z

After I left school I worked in a slaughter house for two years, so yea it wouldn't bother me in the least.

Did you kill the animals though?

I mean, I guess I could process one but actually killing it would probably wreck my head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭EGAR

I could (and have done) if the animal was injured and beyond veterinary help. It still haunts me though :(.

Zen65 wrote: »
    This is exactly the logic that the Nazi's used; defining what is human based on their own preconceptions.

You could easily learn to apply this logic to other animals, and after a while you're killing small babies.

Z

Ah shit.

Caught for the evil Nazi that I am.

Pass the baby basket please I'm feeling hungry.

No way. I have saved many a little spider from drowning when running a bath. I always have to rescue them and put them outside :D

Even though I'm a crazed bloodthirsty gourmand I also do this

Seems a shame to kill the spider just because I want to have a bath.

Now if it was a tasty spider.............

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,871 ✭✭✭Conor108

Nazis by post #18 :D

You're like a superhero for spiders...dare I say it...a Spiderman :eek:

fjsanchez wrote: »

A SpiderMa'am I think!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,299 ✭✭✭✭later12

I grew up in the countryside, and was shown how to snap lambs' necks, but I've never done it.

I did put down my own dog once, the vet inserted the needle and asked me if I wanted to put him to sleep myself and I did. It's not quite the same as killing an animal with one's bare hands, but it gave me a sense that I had lived up to my responsibility to him, and I should hope that if I had to kill an animal to put him out of his misery, I would.

Zen65 wrote: »

Z

Zen has a valid point IMHO. If fish could scream I doubt kids would be so keen on going fishing with their Dads/Moms.

And we are so used to buying *anonymous* meat in the supermarket and don't want to know how it got there. If all of us had to kill animals they raised themselves then I dare say we would have a lot more vegetarians knocking about.

I raised a calf last year with the bottle after her mother died giving birth and the farmer dumped the calf on me. She 20 months now and follows me around like a dog. OH who is a big meat eater has since politely declined steak :D.

EGAR wrote: »
    Zen has a valid point IMHO. If fish could scream I doubt kids would be so keen on going fishing with their Dads/Moms.

And we are so used to buying *anonymous* meat in the supermarket and don't want to know how it got there. If all of us had to kill animals they raised themselves then I dare say we would have a lot more vegetarians knocking about.

I raised a calf last year with the bottle after her mother died giving birth and the farmer dumped the calf on me. She 20 months now and follows me around like a dog. OH who is a big meat eater has since politely declined steak :D.

Great post.

I've often thought I couldn't keep livestock because I'd make friends out of them and share beers and jokes and all that stuff with the senseless brutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,268 ✭✭✭BunShopVoyeur

Very much doubt i could do it with my bare hands.

It would depend just how hungry i was though...

Or if a dog was attacking a baby.......maybe then.

@Chuck.

Fritzie is the best guard heifer I ever had :D. You shall not pass, she says to the boys at the gate.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/312801_289293641094771_100000424117521_1094473_1774369285_n.jpg

Or if a dog was attacking a baby.......maybe then.

What if a baby was attacking your dog?

Kill it!! :pac:

@Chuck.

Fritzie is the best guard heifer I ever had :D. You shall not pass, she says to the boys at the gate.

http://a3.sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-ash4/s720x720/312801_289293641094771_100000424117521_1094473_1774369285_n.jpg

Ah sweet. :)

Not a hope I could kill an animal I formed an attachment with (except as a mercy killing).

I'd make a shite livestock farmer me. I'd befriend all the animals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,512 ✭✭✭Ellis Dee

If only I had a penny for every time I've choked the chicken ...:):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,754 ✭✭✭Odysseus

I generally use my shotgun or rifle, but yeah I have do it when necessary, wounded animals and the like. I have cut a goat throat before, I used to spend some time in a refugee camp and that was the way things where done there.

I have no problem doing it for food or if the animal was sufferring.

fjsanchez wrote: »

I used to always find the Daddy-Long-Legs in the bath in Australia... I'd spot them and the mad panic would be on to get to them in time before the water got them. Turning off the taps first took too long so I never did that. It was a split-second decision.

I'd see them trying to climb up the bath. Unfortunately I was not able to save them all and as a kid I always felt bad if one died.

:(:p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Gonzor

Ive killed literally 100's of rabbits by breaking the neck. I killed a fair few pigeons by pulling the heads clean off (accidental of course :p ), then after that just the usual really.... chickens, turkeys, geese, pheasants, and one or two dogs that were acting the bollix.

Gonzor wrote: »
    Ive killed literally 100's of rabbits by breaking the neck. I killed a fair few pigeons by pulling the heads clean off (accidental of course :p ), then after that just the usual really.... chickens, turkeys, geese, pheasants, and one or two dogs that were acting the bollix.

I really hope you are joking. Your post gave me chills...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Yes, if there was a good reason. Probably contradicts some preconceptions about being vegetarian.

I worked in an animal shelter one summer. My work involved cleaning kennels containing all sorts of cats and dogs including puppies. The puppies in particular were very friendly and affectionate, in the way that dogs that have been cooped up and are being fed tend to be. My job involved pointing out the ones suffering from distemper and needing to be put down - which tended to be a lot of them :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,388 ✭✭✭gbee

Well I have killed a few things with my bare hands up to the size of a squirrel.

I really hope you are joking. Your post gave me chills...

I stopped eating supermarket meat years ago because of all the sh1te that goes on in chicken batterys, cows getting treated like absolute sh1te, and then to top it they get finished off with a sloppy killing in abbatoirs.

THese days the only meat I eat is from an animal Ive killed myself. That way it had a nice happy natural life, and a fast death. People need to take more responsibility for animal welfare :mad:

Pisses me off the sh1te they do.... as a matter of fact just last week someone posted here in boards a link to journalist who found that piglets in UK farms were having teeth pulled out by pliars and tails cut off all the while sqealing in pain.... and the accompanying video is well worth a watch. F*ck that... Im not supporting that kinda meat industry :mad: :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

I could kill lots of things with my bear hands.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

I've choked the chicken many a time... Also bashed a bishop (which I'm not proud of :( )

WindSock wrote: »
    I could kill lots of things with my bear hands.

Me too

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B003IWI66W/?tag=047-20

Pisses me off the sh1te they do.... as a matter of fact just last week someone posted here in boards a link to journalist who found that piglets in UK farms were having teeth pulled out by pliars
    This happens in Ireland, it's a common procedure on a pig farm; I've seen it done myself. Impossible to condone.
    and tails cut off all the while sqealing in pain
    In fairness tail docking is done for welfare purposes, a cauterizer is usually used for this.

I stopped eating supermarket meat years ago because of all the sh1te that goes on in chicken batterys, cows getting treated like absolute sh1te, and then to top it they get finished off with a sloppy killing in abbatoirs.

THese days the only meat I eat is from an animal Ive killed myself. That way it had a nice happy natural life, and a fast death. People need to take more responsibility for animal welfare :mad:

Pisses me off the sh1te they do.... as a matter of fact just last week someone posted here in boards a link to journalist who found that piglets in UK farms were having teeth pulled out by pliars and tails cut off all the while sqealing in pain.... and the accompanying video is well worth a watch. F*ck that... Im not supporting that kinda meat industry :mad: :mad:

I think it was more the way you posted about it, like ripping heads off is the most normal thing in the world.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,137 ✭✭✭44leto

Yeah, I have done, I twisted a rabbits neck because it was obviously suffering, its no big deal.

I think it was more the way you posted about it, like ripping heads off is the most normal thing in the world.

In fairness now I said in brackets next to it that that was accidental.... breaking rabbits necks is easy, but then when you move onto pigeons for the first few times (until you get the technique down) it can be a bit.... emmmm.... messy :o

later10 wrote: »
    This happens in Ireland, it's a common procedure on a pig farm; I've seen it done myself. Impossible to condone.

Why do they pull out the teeth of piglets?

What is the rationale?

Why do they pull out the teeth of piglets?
    What is the rationale?
    They have sharp teeth that can bite and infect the sow, pig farmer say it can spread infections.

It's totally illegal of course, but Irish pig farms are almost always huge operations which rarely require veterinary input and with only occasional Department of Agriculture inspections, it's a disturbingly self regulating industry. The farm workers do almost everything themselves, from tail docking to teeth clipping to insemination and other veterinary/ specialist tasks.