Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Paul O'Connell to captain Ireland

• 30-12-2011 12:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭

Paul O'Connell will lead Ireland into the 2012 RBS Six Nations Championship after being named as captain by Ireland coach Declan Kidney.

O'Connell replaces Brian O'Driscoll as team captain as he continues his rehabilitation from surgery on a trapped nerve in his shoulder and has been ruled out of the RBS Six Nations Championship.

The Ireland squad began preparations for the championship today at a short two-day training camp, where O'Connell was announced as the team captain.

O'Connell, the current Munster captain, has the experience of having already led Ireland at international level. He took charge of Ireland for the first time against France in 2004 and was skipper as recently as August against England in the Guinness Summer Series.

He also has the added experience of being the captain of the British & Irish Lions tour to South Africa in 2009.

O'Connell said: "The greatest ambition in a player's career is to play for your country, so to captain Ireland is a huge honour for me and I was delighted when Declan asked me to.

"I have been lucky to have played for my country on 82 occasions and during that time I have always felt that the responsibility of leadership should not just rest on the shoulders of Brian [O'Driscoll] and that the senior players are incredibly important.

"We are lucky in the Ireland squad that we have a couple of outstanding leaders across the pitch and I know that I will be relying on them during the championship.

"I think the squad is in a good place at the moment with the majority of the provinces going well in Europe and in the Rabo, so it's a case of players continuing to play well to get themselves into a position to be selected in that first squad and then working hard for what I think will be an ultra competitive Six Nations.

"It was good to come back together for the first time since the World Cup and I am now just looking forward to February and to the challenge of the championship."

Ireland coach Kidney commented: "With Brian [O'Driscoll] on the rehab trail at the moment, we knew that we had to plan for the captaincy and felt that it was fitting that we announce it at the Christmas camp in front of the squad.

"There are a number of players with strong leadership credentials in the squad who have always been supportive of the captaincy and will be important during the championship.

"Paul has always been one of those leaders in the squad and I was delighted that he accepted the honour and the responsibilities that it brings.

"I know that he will bring through his experience to the position in the championship."

Ireland open their Six Nations 2012 against Wales at Aviva Stadium on 5 February.

:eek: <- Ironic shock face.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,300 ✭✭✭freyners

nothing that wasnt expected

congrats poc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭Benny Cake

No real surprise, he was second to Drico, & Kidney is not one to rock the boat unnecessarily. POC will be a steady hand and I've no doubt he'll do an excellent job!

• Site Banned Posts: 5,346 ✭✭✭wixfjord

POC is also in mesmeric form, unlike when he captained the Lions, so should be a great choice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭PhatPiggins

wixfjord wrote: »
    POC is also in mesmeric form, unlike when he captained the Lions, so should be a great choice.

He is,was,will be and should be the Lions captain in 2013

Don't really understand what you're saying here?

Anyway, Sam Warburton might have something to say about that, as Lawes and Gray may push O Connell for a starting place. Two years is a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

Right decision for me-he may even get to keep it should Ireland do well. BOD has to relinquish at some stage...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,375 ✭✭✭padser

Please god let us avoid R Poite in every game!!!!!

Anyway, Sam Warburton might have something to say about that, as Lawes and Gray may push O Connell for a starting place. Two years is a long time.

I was agreeing with your post in its entirity and adding the bit about the Lions.

Its only 18 months now, comes around quick doesn't it. Warburton has no chance unless Wales and Cardiff actually win something between now and then. Lawes and Gray are the same player (one's not a knacker though) can't see them being picked in the same team.

Only injury will keep O'Connell from a second captaincy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,656 ✭✭✭cgpg5

Strange comment this, POC is a great player and leader and the right choice for Irish captain but I'd be fairly certain he won't get the lions captaincy.

I was agreeing with your post in its entirity and adding the bit about the Lions.

Its only 18 months now, comes around quick doesn't it. Warburton has no chance unless Wales and Cardiff actually win something between now and then. Lawes and Gray are the same player (one's not a knacker though) can't see them being picked in the same team.

Rubbish.

Ah I actually took you're comment seriously until you referred to a player as a "knacker".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

Dont think there's any debate here for the captaincy, but Rory Best will be an able deputy should anything happen.

Also don't think the Lions captaincy is worth debating either you only have to look at 2008, when Ryan Jones was odds on for the captaincy and didnt even make the plane in 2009 (alas he did through injury later). Form is a fickle thing and a lot can happen in a year

Jesus I totally disagree with that!
    What if Munster or Ireland don't win anything until then?!
    Warburton is guaranteed his place on the team barring injury, and has been an immense captain so far for Wales and Cardiff. POC has far more competition in that position, AWJ and Bradley Davies too.

18 months is a long time, and O Connell will be 18 months older, while Warburton will be coming into his prime! Certainly not near the definitive call you seem to think it is!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,442 ✭✭✭its_phil

18 months is a long time, and O Connell will be 18 months older, while Warburton will be coming into his prime! Certainly not near the definitive call you seem to think it is!

Wont even have reached his prime I'd say and thats a terrifying prospect for many 6 nations to come! He's only 23, and such a scary dude

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

Lads, don't be silly. Henson is going to captain the Lions in 2013 with Ashton as his back up.

POC for Ireland I suppose is a pretty logical choice. It's a pretty much an expected move.

Jesus I totally disagree with that!
    What if Munster or Ireland don't win anything until then?!
    Warburton is guaranteed his place on the team barring injury, and has been an immense captain so far for Wales and Cardiff. POC has far more competition in that position, AWJ and Bradley Davies too.

This might sound like a Munster thing but its not. Warburton is a great player but the notion that he is a great captain is unproven. What exactly has he done to date? Munster/Ireland don't need to win anything(it would help) as O'Connell has already proven his leadership qualities. Warburton has won nothing and unfortunately for him is best know for that red card. He may well be the captain come 2013 but he has an awful lot of catching up to do between now and then.

Isn't the captaincy announced well in advance of the tour? It's not necessarily a case of POC having to maintain his form for as long as 18 months to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,178 ✭✭✭Quint2010

They wont pick a third irish Lions captain in a row-especially as we lost the other two series. But then again depends on how we do between now and then. But my money would be on Warburton right now.

Quint2010 wrote: »
    They wont pick a third irish Lions captain in a row-especially as we lost the other two series. But then again depends on how we do between now and then. But my money would be on Warburton right now.

A lot will depend on who the coach is. If it Gatland (we'll lose the series,imo) then Warburton will get it.

Who are the other contenders, McGeechan,Robinson (maybe) and Kidney? You'd have to think Gatty is favourite though after Graham Henry in 2001 they might be slow to appoint another non homw nations born coach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,613 ✭✭✭Big Nelly

Why we discussing the Lions? Don't care about them as long as Ireland do well in 6N

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26 Takeabath

In one post you abuse a player by calling him a knacker and engage in racist slur, classy. Best is a better captain than o'connell and probably would be a better choice for Ireland. Can't see o'connell getting the captaincy for lions after his poor performances and questionable leadership on the last lions tour. I don't even think he'll be starting ahead of lawes and gray to be honest!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,848 ✭✭✭bleg

This isn't even worthy of a press release. I think everybody had just assumed. Something to fill the inches I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

This might sound like a Munster thing but its not. Warburton is a great player but the notion that he is a great captain is unproven. What exactly has he done to date? Munster/Ireland don't need to win anything(it would help) as O'Connell has already proven his leadership qualities. Warburton has won nothing and unfortunately for him is best know for that red card. He may well be the captain come 2013 but he has an awful lot of catching up to do between now and then.

Isn't the captaincy announced well in advance of the tour? It's not necessarily a case of POC having to maintain his form for as long as 18 months to get it.

He's a 23 year old that led Wales to the semi-finals of the World Cup (Something Ireland has never done in our history) just 1 month after becoming captain. He was one of the best players on the park when the Welsh won comfortably against Ireland (an Irish team with the aforementioned O'Connell), and being in a poor Cardiff team is not a knock on his leadership skills.

Takeabath wrote: »
    In one post you abuse a player by calling him a knacker and engage in racist slur, classy. Best is a better captain than o'connell and probably would be a better choice for Ireland. Can't see o'connell getting the captaincy for lions after his poor performances and questionable leadership on the last lions tour. I don't even think he'll be starting ahead of lawes and gray to be honest!

Basic english comprehension not your thing? I didn't call either player a knacker.

Tox56 wrote: »
    He's a 23 year old that led Wales to the semi-finals of the World Cup (Something Ireland has never done in our history) just 1 month after becoming captain. He was one of the best players on the park when the Welsh won comfortably against Ireland (an Irish team with the aforementioned O'Connell), and being in a poor Cardiff team is not a knock on his leadership skills.

I seem to be getting pilloried here just because I don't agree with the majority.

What exactly did Wales do in the WC? They beat Ireland, Namibia, Fiji's second team and barely beat Samoa. Hardly the stuff of legends

I seem to be getting pilloried here just because I don't agree with the majority.

What exactly did Wales do in the WC? They beat Ireland, Namibia, Fiji's second team and barely beat Samoa. Hardly the stuff of legends

There's a reason the majority believes what they do. I think O'Connell is a fine captain and leader, and doesn't really need the official title of "captain" to lead the team, but 2 years is such a long time, it is fair that he might not be in the team much less captain.

Suggesting Warburton shouldn't be a captain/has poor leadership skills because Cardiff probably won't win anything is what I found ridiculous, and completely dismissing a clearly natural leader based on that, is what I took objection to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,997 ✭✭✭gally74

Congrats to Paul, well deserved,

Hope this team gets its head around the 6 n now,

Tox56 wrote: »
    There's a reason the majority believes what they do. I think O'Connell is a fine captain and leader, and doesn't really need the official title of "captain" to lead the team, but 2 years is such a long time, it is fair that he might not be in the team much less captain.

Suggesting Warburton shouldn't be a captain/has poor leadership skills because Cardiff probably won't win anything is what I found ridiculous, and completely dismissing a clearly natural leader based on that, is what I took objection to.

Come on you know I'm not saying that and if you didn't selectively pick information from my posts you wouldn't be reacting so strongly.

What I said is Wales and Cardiff will need to win something in the next 18 months as Warburton is completely unproven as a captain. I also mentioned other factors such as the selection of coach and form but that seems to have been glossed over.

I also asked a question of what he's shown as a captain so far that no-one has bothered to answer.

Come on you know I'm not saying that and if you didn't selectively pick information from my posts you wouldn't be reacting so strongly.

What I said is Wales and Cardiff will need to win something in the next 18 months as Warburton is completely unproven as a captain. I also mentioned other factors such as the selection of coach and form but that seems to have been glossed over.

I also asked a question of what he's shown as a captain so far that no-one has bothered to answer.

So if Wales and Cardiff don't win anything, Warburton is a bad captain? Wales come 3 minutes away from winning the Six Nations to have it snatched away, is Warburton suddenly a bad captain? You have to wait and see in 2013 at the overall situation.

I did answer, but you dismissed getting to the Semi-Finals of the World Cup in your first world cup, first competitive tournament as captain, and being one of the players of the tournament at the age of 23 as no real achievement.

When looking at the guys leadership potential/ability, look at more than results. He was inspiring and excellent in the game against SA, but they lost that, that doesn't mean he is a poor leader. Would he be a good leader if they had beaten SA, Ireland, Samoa? Or if they had beaten France too? (were it just a yellow card). Where do you draw a line?

Look at the multiple things (including the guys leadership ability) to judge his leadership ability, not the only the results.

O'Connell wins nothing between now and the Lions tour, is he a bad captain? Or is he just in a worse team than the one that won the Heiniken Cup?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,266 Mod ✭✭✭✭CatFromHue

As it stands POC may not get a starting berth (I think he'll definitely be a contender for one though) but I wouldn't be sure Warburton would either (the Irish back row far outplayed the OZ back row in the RWC, granted Pocock wasn't playing). What is strongly in Warburton's favour is that Wales tour Australia in the summer. A good showing against Pocock et al then could put him a great position for one though. If he backs it up the following season of course.

I'll be very interested to see how Wales play this 6 Nations. At the World Cup they very fairly beat us, I've no problem in saying that the correct winner of that game won. I do think they have been hyped up more than they should have been though (they were 24-6 down against OZ in the Dec game with 20 mins to go) and to a degree Warburton is being idolized by the press.

CatFromHue wrote: »
    As it stands POC may not get a starting berth (I think he'll definitely be a contender for one though) but I wouldn't be sure Warburton would either (the Irish back row far outplayed the OZ back row in the RWC, granted Pocock wasn't playing). What is strongly in Warburton's favour is that Wales tour Australia in the summer. A good showing against Pocock et al then could put him a great position for one though. If he backs it up the following season of course.

I'll be very interested to see how Wales play this 6 Nations. At the World Cup they very fairly beat us, I've no problem in saying that the correct winner of that game won. I do think they have been hyped up more than they should have been though (they were 24-6 down against OZ in the Dec game with 20 mins to go) and to a degree Warburton is being idolized by the press.

That is critical to the whole thing, the Australian back row was really quite poor, especially with the selections of the Australian management. Obviously the Irish back-row is one of the best around, but the Australian game has to be taken in context. Whereas a full strength Irish back-row was outplayed by the Welsh, and effectively nullified.

However I do agree that the Irish back-row is superior on the whole, but on current form Warburton has to be there (2 years is a long time though). Just look up on youtube the Warburton tribute video, all the clips from the World Cup show how well he was playing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,407 ✭✭✭✭justsomebloke

Basic english comprehension not your thing? I didn't call either player a knacker.

Please don't attack posters or call players knackers. Please take a few days off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,044 ✭✭✭gcgirl

CatFromHue wrote: »
    Lads, don't be silly. Henson is going to captain the Lions in 2013 with Ashton as his back up.

POC for Ireland I suppose is a pretty logical choice. It's a pretty much an expected move.
    This is the rugby comment of the year :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,048 ✭✭✭Amazotheamazing

The problem with saying Warburton will be captain is we've no idea if he can sustain that form. Same is true for any of the captains at the minute. I think it's fairly open.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,941 ✭✭✭jacothelad

While I am a great fan of Best as a player and I would not dispute that players respond to his efforts on the field but O'Connell is a more natural leader and one whose charisma on the pitch is undoubted. Rory is a fine player but is never going to rouse the players to berserker status with well chosen words nor fiery encounters with his opponents.

I would imagine that the poster you admonish was referring to Lawes whose vile thuggery is already well evidenced. Nor is he that good a player although to read the English rugby press and listen to the Sky love-in about him you would think he was a composite of John Eales, Victor Matfield and Willie John McBride.

jacothelad wrote: »

While I am a great fan of Best as a player and I would not dispute that players respond to his efforts on the field but O'Connell is a more natural leader and one whose charisma on the pitch is undoubted. Rory is a fine player but is never going to rouse the players to berserker status with well chosen words nor fiery encounters with his opponents.

I would imagine that the poster you admonish was referring to Lawes whose vile thuggery is already well evidenced. Nor is he that good a player although to read the English rugby press and listen to the Sky love-in about him you would think he was a composite of John Eales, Victor Matfield and Willie John McBride.
    Ah I think our judgement is clouded with his personality too though. He's a cracking player, and a brilliant athlete. He or gray would need a poc beside them at the moment, but there's a lot of rugby to be played before 2013.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

Some amusing banter on the twitter. Bod told Kearney not to be too disappointed at not getting the captaincy. Tommy bowe says that Kearney wouldnt even shake poc's hand. Lots of random idiots taking it seriously.

Ah I think our judgement is clouded with his personality too though. He's a cracking player, and a brilliant athlete. He or gray would need a poc beside them at the moment, but there's a lot of rugby to be played before 2013.

Agreed, someone could come from nowhere too like Gray did this season. Long way to go. I'm a big fan of Lawes as a player too I've seldom seen a second row cover as much ground amazing athlete as you say.

He may be seen as a "dirty" player but what that poster called him is completely out of order.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 338 ✭✭SARZY

Agree 100%. Warburton has only proven himself to be a good openside and a possible liability in his understanding of the rules.

No current captain of a 'home' country standing out. O' Connell is THE MAN for the job.

The great JOHNNO got 2 cracks at it so the Irishman would not be setting a precedent, and as we know it would be difficult for THE RFU chaps to stomach a Paddy being the first.

No obstacle in his way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

Lulz at people discussing Lions captaincy in 2011. It's 2 years away FFS, any number of things could and will change between then.

I remember Ryan Jones being described as a shoe in for the last tour captain, didn't even make the initial squad then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

SARZY wrote: »
    Warburton has only proven himself to be a good openside and a possible liability in his understanding of the rules..

Definitely an oxymoron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 910 ✭✭✭Ciaran-Irl

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    Lulz at people discussing Lions captaincy in 2011. It's 2 years away FFS, any number of things could and will change between then.

I remember Ryan Jones being described as a shoe in for the last tour captain, didn't even make the initial squad then

'Lulz'? Laugh out loud I guess?

I think I must be getting old...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,599 ✭✭✭matthew8

Way too early to talk Lions 2013, I don't think POC will start and Warburton is no lock to start either. No surprise that POC will captain Ireland, especially considering his great HC form and his tremendous world cup.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Brendan97

1. POC is a good captain and will do a good job for ireland
    2. He will be to old to captain the lions (imo) but if he keeps playing the way he is playing, then maybe captancy of the lions will be given to him but at the minute i have my doubts. i still believe he can do it though he has proven me wrong before
    3. warbourton is a good captain and a better player i think he has loads of talent and is in with a good chance of captaining the lions, to keep ferris and SOB bottled up you have to be good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭OldRio

Congrats to POC.

As for the lions job ?
    Far too early to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭skregs

poce.png

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,119 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Did POC captain Munster when they won the HEC in 08?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,698 ✭✭✭Risteard

Podge_irl wrote: »
    Did POC captain Munster when they won the HEC in 08?

Yep. Think him and RoG lifted the cup together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 720 ✭✭✭chancer12

Anyone know who was at the carton Hse training session this week?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,572 ✭✭✭WeeBushy

chancer12 wrote: »
    Anyone know who was at the carton Hse training session this week?

If you go through which players were held back by the IRFU you could work it out. Haven't seen a list released anywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,308 ✭✭✭Hersheys

I think based on who was/wasn't available for selection for the interpro's it's all the players who were in NZ.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,592 ✭✭✭GerM

I don't think it's a full training panel that was meeting up, more the important players that will make up the match day squad, meeting ahead of the upcoming year. It's not a full panel. I think we can safely say Cronin will be benching for Ireland yet he is playing tomorrow. It's not based simply on who went to NZ as there are several examples of players who were there that are playing with their provinces.

Munster listed their players: Paul O'Connell, Donncha O'Callaghan, Donncha Ryan, Conor Murray, Ronan O'Gara, Keith Earls.

Ulster were missing Trimble, Court, Ferris and Best.

Leinster are missing Darce, Sexton, Healy, Ross, Heaslip, SOB, Reddan, Darce, McFadden and Kearney.

Bowe is playing of the Ospreys. Think we'll see very little change from the WC 22 come the 6N.