Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Man Cave - Hunting Style

• 30-12-2011 11:50am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭

Well lads will be moving house in the next year & one thing i want & have been given the green light for :o is a room for my shooting gear. Now I don't want it to be a 'Dirty' room. All the coats, wellies etc will reside in the shed.
    This will be for photos, books, collectables etc where I can go & chill out as required.

I would like to someday shoot a deer (not into it at all - just never was) get it mounted & have it over an old style stone fireplace. Similarily have a pheasant, woodcock etc done but not stuffed animals everywhere.

I was wondering have any of you anything like this & if so any Pics, ideas you might share....

PS I don't want to americanize it - real traditional & realistic would be the way im thinking...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

That sounds like a class idea. I know a lad that has something along the lines that you are talking about. More a study I suppose though where he ties flies. It's a real Aladdin's cave sort of spot where anyone interested in shooting or fishing could spend hours nosing about. Full of books and old fishing tackle.
    The nearest I can get is a corner in the garage though with my very own press!:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

Moby30 has a fine sitting room with trophies in a hunting lodge style.

(I'm jealous)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

Well lads will be moving house in the next year & one thing i want & have been given the green light for :o is a room for my shooting gear. Now I don't want it to be a 'Dirty' room. All the coats, wellies etc will reside in the shed.
    This will be for photos, books, collectables etc where I can go & chill out as required.

I would like to someday shoot a deer (not into it at all - just never was) get it mounted & have it over an old style stone fireplace. Similarily have a pheasant, woodcock etc done but not stuffed animals everywhere.

I was wondering have any of you anything like this & if so any Pics, ideas you might share....

PS I don't want to americanize it - real traditional & realistic would be the way im thinking...

First of all you need a mancave "BAR" :) Even if its a few bottles or cans LOL has to be done...

I have always wanted a mancave with a glass wall unit to display guns in but alas its Ireland :mad: i dont think the RFO would let me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,118 ✭✭✭tommyboy26

I converted my spare room into a man cave it has my safe and all my shooting gear. I have targets i have shot at different distances covering one wall so i can track my progress have them all dated. I have a recliner in there and soon to have a tv and all my dvds and books cover the other wall. I have the only key so no one can enter bar me. Every man needs his own hide away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭bitemybanger

Endless ideas float trough the brain, I have my shooting wardrobe but mounting a trophy head might be a challenge.
    I'd have a lovely gun rack with some old decommissioned side by sides, hammer actions.
    An idea I had was to mount every type of ammo I could get, empty cases with the bullet itself sitting outside the casing including a shotgun cartridge with a cutaway portion so you can see the makings of the cartridge before its fired.
    Would look nice mounted properly in a glass case and a nice wee project.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

Spunk84 wrote: »
    First of all you need a mancave "BAR" :) Even if its a few bottles or cans LOL has to be done...

I have always wanted a mancave with a glass wall unit to display guns in but alas its Ireland :mad: i dont think the RFO would let me.

Ya the bar at 1 side is a must. I've been collected drinks like old grouse, dalmore etc with bottles that add to the effect.

Ah I'd love it now with a turf fire or stove at the other side. Even replica guns would add to the affect.

Cheers Tack, Come on Moby share the wealth ;)

Fly tying is a very good idea. No shortage of feathers anyway.

It has endless bday, Xmas, fathersday etc present potential. Takes the hard work out of thinking of ideas if ye need to convince herself :D
    However you need to give up pretty much the rest of indoors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Exellent idea..Make sure your man cave gets the biggest room in the house.As you will need it over a lifetime of shooting and fishing starts taking over.:D
    BTW for those who want an old world style glass gun cabinet.
    YES There are such made with modern day saftey features that surpass the BS number ...whatever, required here for our gun cabinets. The glass is the same type used in armoured limousines.They are so well made that you would think it is an antique.However they are expensive,like thousand euros plus!!:pac:

Anyways must have..
    Bar, Very comfy seats, heat[I'd go a stove,much safer and more heat ]
    HUGE amount of shelving,you can never have enough shelving for books,knick knacks,trophies etc,Blade display,if you have any decent knives, cabinet or press for storing all sorts of gun cleaning bits and related,sturdy and large table,with "chacter"for everything from fixing and maintaining shooting irons and related,poker and drinking games,projects that require large undisturbed table space uninterrupted by things like dinner and other boring domestic details,or makeshift operating theatre table for your chunting dog!Try flinging your mutt on the kitchen table for whatever reason and see your missus reaction!:D
    Anyways,I'd say it will be great when you are finished with it.Looking forward to hearing how it goes.:cool:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

I've been working on mine for a long time now and it's still bare concrete:(but eventually,my plan is to make the whole room a kind of gun safe,no window,one door,sound proof,underground...it's getting very expensive:(:(:(
    As said I'd also go for mini bar with collected drinks etc
    Lots of storage for gun bits etc and work space for cleaning and messing about with them,if your doing any structural work then maby think about building safe in wall?
    Wouldnt let the dog near my cave though!!

Great ideas Lads.
    My indoor room will be a place to escape as they say but clean, warm & dry. The one Key option is a must!!

Googled a bit, there are some crazy examples out there. Mostly US style!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

id love a bear skin rug in my man cave!!!!!

20100318_bearskinrug.jpg

kakashka wrote: »
    Wouldnt let the dog near my cave though!!

That's for sure!! Had 2 days of it now with the pup & she was expelled to the runs outside!

The game fairs & the UK are class for picking up the knick knacks. Get sone nice gear & house type gear also

• Closed Accounts Posts: 257 ✭✭Gonzor

(I'm jealous)

Jaysus, it must be good coming from you, Im very jealous of your Irish deer collection :p:D:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,061 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,728 ✭✭✭deerhunter1

I just moved house recently, the garage was converted into a sitting room. My wife said do as I please with it:D;). She even painted it for me, a bit untidy a the moment since it is xmas, but the new year when decorations are gone I will start doing it up my way, in there at the moment on my laptop, feet up.:) mug of tea, chilling out on this ****ty wet day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 935 ✭✭✭dicky82

(I'm jealous)

i was actually going to post the exact same thing. the sika head looks class and the grouse that is as secret as the real thing looks smashing too.

This is how I plan on getting in! :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

i have my sights on a log cabin for the end of the garden far away as i can get from the house for 5 grand you can get one with a sitting room with a log burning stove and a seperate room that could be converted into a walk in gun safe / wardrobe. long way down the road right now but you have to have a dream
    stog;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,807 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

i have my sights on a log cabin for the end of the garden far away as i can get from the house for 5 grand you can get one with a sitting room with a log burning stove and a seperate room that could be converted into a walk in gun safe / wardrobe. long way down the road right now but you have to have a dream
    stog;)

The other half says i belong in the woods so I might go 50/50 with ya;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭sonofthegun

Birdnuts wrote: »
    The other half says i belong in the woods so I might go 50/50 with ya;)

no problem birdnuts we could go for joint custody on one
    stog

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

i might have a spare wild boar skin in the next few weeks if you would be interested

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,134 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

That's for sure!! Had 2 days of it now with the pup & she was expelled to the runs outside!

The game fairs & the UK are class for picking up the knick knacks. Get sone nice gear & house type gear also

Once she becomes house trained and civillised the dogs are part of your hunting team and mans best friend since we were living in the caves.They have every right and should be part and parcel of your man cave.Wouldnt dream of excluding mine.As I type this the two of them are snoozing contendtly under my desk.
    Remember this place should say MAN,not Woman!!:D So what if the carpet has been chewed abit by the pup?Gives it chacter!!The room should smell of Man.Leather ,smoke,gun oil,gun cleaner...[Got to love the smell of Hoppes no9 ],good whiskey ,cigars,dogs, and a touch of dust on everything.[No need to be that clean,and it tells you if somone was mucking about in there as well].That IMO is really part of a man cave too,and it takes time to mature that smell into the place as well.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Once she becomes house trained and civillised the dogs are part of your hunting team and mans best friend since we were living in the caves.They have every right and should be part and parcel of your man cave.Wouldnt dream of excluding mine.As I type this the two of them are snoozing contendtly under my desk.
    Remember this place should say MAN,not Woman!!:D So what if the carpet has been chewed abit by the pup?Gives it chacter!!The room should smell of Man.Leather ,smoke,gun oil,gun cleaner...[Got to love the smell of Hoppes no9 ],good whiskey ,cigars,dogs, and a touch of dust on everything.[No need to be that clean,and it tells you if somone was mucking about in there as well].That IMO is really part of a man cave too,and it takes time to mature that smell into the place as well.

I hear ya Griz you paint a good picture & I admire & respect the passion.
    However I am also partial to a bit of passion with the missus & a dog in the house will see an end to that! ;):D

I have never had dogs in the house & likelynever will. I like the concept of them by the fire etc but they are just too dirty constantly. My problem is I work 60+ hours per week & don't have the time to be around them properly during the day to house train them, clean them, clean hairs etc The time I do have for them is spent with obedience or having them whiles pottering around doing jobs etc

When that lotto Plan of mine comes to fruition then things may change :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭palo

My Neighbour Who is a member here just moved into his new house, well not new but reconditioned old house, had an extension built on to the back utility room and an office which is his 14'/6'. He got timber cut and battonned it to the wall to give the effect of a hunting cabin it is very nice. Also he has his desk swivil cahir a very nice gun rack, and a few mounts and other hunting pictures and maps.
    He keeps the door locked and no children alowed in there. I know you wont mid I mentining it G.