Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New addition to the household.

• 27-12-2011 8:53pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭

Well lads. Made the leap today & added another to the gang.
    I was waiting on the right breeding for awhile & she'll be 12 months for next season. Say hello to Lily:)

e8e02c72.jpg

8212f87a.jpg

af2c0ebf.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,658 ✭✭✭kermitpwee

She is a beauty, lovely thing, what age did your other pointer start working? Will them english point woodcock?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭charlie10

lovely looking bitch she looks very similar to the dog you have! looking forward to the videos already

• Closed Accounts Posts: 873 ✭✭✭snipe02

lovely pup best of luck with her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 447 ✭✭blackstairsboy

Lovely pup EP, If you ever breed your dog to her you will have lads queuing up for pups! And I will probably be at the front of it!:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,070 ✭✭✭EPointer=Birdss

I was shooting over him at 9 months. He pointed his first bird at 3 months.
    They will point woodcock. My dog doesn't but will flush them. I don't think we get enough around here to train them properly for them. There's my off season sorted :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 353 ✭✭Alchemist2

i like your forward planning EP;).. A strain of your own with the help o god.. and im sure the first litter will be sold before they're born:).. best of luck mate she's a beauty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 584 ✭✭✭Mauser 308

Lovely pup EP. Hope she works out well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,464 ✭✭✭Double Barrel

Great set of legs on her.

She will keep you on your toes for a start.
    Best of luck with her for the New Year and many more to come.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 649 ✭✭✭steyrman2

best of luck with pup what sort of breeding is in her i just might get a english pointer soon :cool::cool:

steyrman2 wrote: »
    what sort of breeding is in

Waiting on the papers now.
    Dam some sugarloaf etc but the sire is of an Austrian import out of top class Breeding & FTCs galore. Very well bred bitch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

man nice looking pup you have, if turns out like your other fello then you will have some good shooting next year;) Now this maybe way down the line but will you ever breed her to you other pointer?:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 489 ✭✭patdahat

best of luck with her i see the retrieving is going well so far anyway (gloves pic 1)

Spunk84 wrote: »
    man nice looking pup you have, if turns out like your other fello then you will have some good shooting next year;) Now this maybe way down the line but will you ever breed her to you other pointer?:rolleyes:

If she works out well I will eventually breed them but only if she's good.
    Lot of work ahead first. Would def like a pup out of the dog at some Stage.

If she works out well I will eventually breed them but only if she's good.
    Lot of work ahead first. Would def like a pup out of the dog at some Stage.

look forward to your update lad!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭daithi55

thats a lovely looking dog mate
    had 5 new additions to my house yesterday to
    my little jack russell had 5 gorgeous well marked tricolour pups 3 dogs and two bitches
    going to be a busy few weeks

So far so good with the pup.
    She's indoors for 2 maybe 3 nights whiles I introduce her slowly to the other 2. They are very boisterous & friendly with her but when you see the size difference it's scary so I'm not rushing that process.
    So far all she's doing is sleeping, sh***ing & pulling decorations off the trees.
    She will however retrieve a pair of socks every time so signs there are good. ;)

I am her bed & whenever she gets tired she comes over, climbs the armchair & konks out.

7a3b2faa.jpg
    0dc328a6.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭tfox

I am her bed & whenever she gets tired she comes over, climbs the armchair & konks out.

She has ya well sussed so :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 130 ✭✭dermot218

what a lovely pup you wont go wrong with the sugar loaf strain my friend had a dog a few years ago. from the sugarloaf strain great worker send me a pm sometime i know a great spot for woodcock to get your pup started

steyrman2 wrote: »
    best of luck with pup what sort of breeding is in her i just might get a english pointer soon :cool::cool:

Got the breeding detail. This is the sire;
    oscar.jpg

As said the Dam then is of sugarloaf, darinish etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

best of luck epointer,shes a lovely lookin pup,the sire is a fine dog there.ul have to get the springer a friend now :D

garyc007 wrote: »
    best of luck epointer,shes a lovely lookin pup,the sire is a fine dog there.ul have to get the springer a friend now :D

Ha I've enough now awhile. I put in a lot of hours with them so one new one at a time is plenty. Can't forget the older lads 2 either.
    One of the lads has a well bred young springer bitch looking the business so not short on springer options.

Well lads few updates of how they bitch is settling in.
    So far so good since she was evicted. She is quickly becoming the boss but probably more like being tolerated due to her age. She's settled in nicely & has made herself at home in their boxes as per below. I've seen her eat their food & play with bones in their boxes beside them. Very happy with the 2 boys. Great tolerance & 2 good natured dogs looking after her.
    I'm gonna take plenty of pics & possibly videos of her training over the next few months.

070c0dc0.jpg

84ae76ea.jpg

Said I'd start her young & give her a sniff of a bird

ab173b52.jpg

Videos of the training would be a great idea. It would be great for beginners to see how you go about training a pointer pup and also is bound to give some older hands at the game new tips and tricks. Also will create some good discussion on here about training techniques etc.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 193 ✭✭cyberblade 918c

lovely looking pup there, best of luck with her lad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭pinkyfluff

lovely lookin pup there e pointer her sire is a stury lookin dog nice .regards the woodcock i find with english pointers if introduced to woodcock first can almost make them steadier as the wood cock seem to hold longer before liftin . they will guaranted point pheasants but durin season pheasants can be very jumpy and ya get alot of that runnin mc larky .
    wel worked for my fella who solid on them and snipe

here he is on a reversed point on a snipe which must have ran a little last minute i thought it was an old scent he was locked onDSC00427.jpg

luckily it was nt as my peregrine was over head waitin for his prize lol
    anyways best of luck with her .i train pointers full time and found this the best method to get them solid on wood cock .
    and thought i d offer my thoughts but im sure you do fine al the best keep us up dated

pinkyfluff wrote: »
    lovely lookin pup there e pointer her sire is a stury lookin dog nice .regards the woodcock i find with english pointers if introduced to woodcock first can almost make them steadier as the wood cock seem to hold longer before liftin . they will guaranted point pheasants but durin season pheasants can be very jumpy and ya get alot of that runnin mc larky .
    wel worked for my fella who solid on them and snipe

here he is on a reversed point on a snipe which must have ran a little last minute i thought it was an old scent he was locked onDSC00427.jpg

luckily it was nt as my peregrine was over head waitin for his prize lol
    anyways best of luck with her .i train pointers full time and found this the best method to get them solid on wood cock .
    and thought i d offer my thoughts but im sure you do fine al the best keep us up dated

Cheers lad.
    I will bring her to woodcock country next season when she gets going. I'm thinking of training her steadier than my dog. I use him for cover the whole lot & have him the way I want for flushing retrieving etc but I may keep the bitch very steady. Undecided yet but I'll see as she develops.
    I'd love to see a video of the peregrine working with your dog. Sure others here would too.

introduced the pup to a pheasant wing today. 1st time doing this with her & she instantly got the concept & pointed.
    The idea here is that when she creeps or runs in the wing flies away but if she waits it stays.
    Have a video of this also.

bcc9a4f9.jpg

3ec2ae11.jpg

Added a woodcock on a string later tonight & same effect. Happy days :)

ea9706f0.jpg

I no nothing about training pointers but for any gun dog pup experiences like that are hard to beat when they that age. I find a pup just learns so much more the younger they are.

Keep it coming lad, always wondered how to keep a dog hard on a pointer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭Ronnie Beck

cool video EPointer. Very sturdy lookin pup. Have you her started doing a bit of retrieving or do you do that separately to pointing. I know nothing about pointer training so I was wondering whats the plan for the first few months with the pup.

I threw a few balled up socks to see has she it her alright but I'm more interested in getting her pointing for now. Working on recall also with the whistle, getting her to to go to bed on command & to stop jumping up all the time. Nothing serious & all games for now. Letting her enjoy being a pup but instilling some basic manners.
    She's gone grand & confident around the yard so start to bring her few more public places now that she has her booster.
    After the season then she'll be in tow during vermin work whiles I ramble the countryside

PATIENCE OF A SAINT!! This goes on all day & general hours when she's awake! I'm waiting for the Dog to go through the Me Myself & Irene snap someday like the 2nd vid below! (if you've seen the movie you'll catch my drift!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 411 ✭✭garyc007

shes getting big! i have a new edition to my house now too but for how long im not sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 493 ✭✭pheasntstalker

:D she is a beaut lad all the best with her, ep yer nearly converting me to pointers!!! :D:D (i said nearly)lol:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭TriggerPL

:D she is a beaut lad all the best with her, ep yer nearly converting me to pointers!!! :D:D (i said nearly)lol:)

it some of the nicest relaxed and enjoyable hunting you will ever do i use english pointers , with a walk at heal lab for retriving and if you get it going right you can send the lab to beat bits of cover while the pointer is out working so ya pop out some woodcock .

inportant thing is to get the pointer returning the wistle , easly done if you bring the wistle every time you feed them from a pup .

nice pup , big strong and nice markings . what the name of the sire epointer ?

I threw a few balled up socks to see has she it her alright but I'm more interested in getting her pointing for now. Working on recall also with the whistle, getting her to to go to bed on command & to stop jumping up all the time. Nothing serious & all games for now. Letting her enjoy being a pup but instilling some basic manners.
    She's gone grand & confident around the yard so start to bring her few more public places now that she has her booster.
    After the season then she'll be in tow during vermin work whiles I ramble the countryside

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5_GvZpN6Bbw

just trowing this up , u might know it already . but just in case .

it gud for teaching a pup to point as well as not to rush in or flush , and it gud craic to do , takes some of the bordom out of training.

TriggerPL wrote: »

it gud for teaching a pup to point as well as not to rush in or flush , and it gud craic to do , takes some of the bordom out of training.

That's my video. Go back a few pages of this thread ;)

The sire is pictured there also.

I may be taking you up wrong but I think you may have just advised EP to take his own advice so to speak. That is a video EP made of his pup training her to point.:D

Edit EP beat me to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 853 ✭✭✭Tawny Owl

Lovely Dog was reading your first post and was waiting till you posted more about your new arrival again the Dog has certainly come on the Video is brill onto the other Dog it has the Patience of a Saint so it means good temperament as to your young Dog running to you if I read it right does it jump up at you to greet you if so lift your leg up with your knee pointed out it will hit the young Dog in the chest each time doing no harm but the Dog will get the Message and this stops them jumping towards you and also members of the Family hope I dont cause offence if you new this already again best of luck with the new addition.

Tawny Owl wrote: »
    Lovely Dog was reading your first post and was waiting till you posted more about your new arrival again the Dog has certainly come on the Video is brill onto the other Dog it has the Patience of a Saint so it means good temperament as to your young Dog running to you if I read it right does it jump up at you to greet you if so lift your leg up with your knee pointed out it will hit the young Dog in the chest each time doing no harm but the Dog will get the Message and this stops them jumping towards you and also members of the Family hope I dont cause offence if you new this already again best of luck with the new addition.

She had a dirty habit of jumping but I've it sorted.
    Now when she comes to me generally she sits in front of me & is sitting on voice & hand command. She got plenty of knees believe me!
    She does however forget herself when the other 2 are around which is understandable as she has to fight for position. I'll have those habits sorted in no time.
    I do find pointers like to jump up a lot. Never had springers that way inclined.

She's in the field now going for walks & coming well to whistle & learning directional commands. Short spins checking traps hoppers etc Learning by being out as opposed to specific training. Running mostly & learning all the sights & smells of the field. Prefer this method with my dogs- I am not a yard trainer.
    Enjoying her now as she's getting older

That's my video. Go back a few pages of this thread ;)

The sire is pictured there also.

hahahaha nice one ive was shown this years ago and this is the best example i could find on youtube . nice to see someone ere putting up training videos to help lad starting off .

would like to see the back round at some stage , if ya have time some of the days . cheers

hahahaha nice one ive was shown this years ago and this is the best example i could find on youtube . nice to see someone ere putting up training videos to help lad starting off .

would like to see the back round at some stage , if ya have time some of the days . cheers

Cheers
    As in breeding background?
    Her Sire is Pat Dooleys Dog Oscar. Nice strong dog. Dam is a decent shooting mans dog with good lines. Sugar loaf etc

Cheers
    As in breeding background?
    Her Sire is Pat Dooleys Dog Oscar. Nice strong dog. Dam is a decent shooting mans dog with good lines. Sugar loaf etc

oscar is a fine dog great example , keep up the updates on your pup will be nice to see her at a year old

Just seen the video EP, class pup there bud.

Thought I had a nice chance to walk the pup in on a hare on Saturday. Feckin horses spooked her but helped her stock breaking. Made for a nice video none the less & nice to get the dog out before birds start nesting as he has been cooped up for a bit due to work commits recently.

how old she now ? i tell ya there wont be a pheasant left her first season:D

Spunk84 wrote: »
    how old she now ? i tell ya there wont be a pheasant left her first season:D

4.5 months are so now. Can't beat having a dog out in the field young. Tests the recall & makes them fearless. Makes it enjoyable for me also.:)

nice video didnt the hare hold well , normal they get the gap to go and there gone

Had pup out today with a camcorder instead of the hatcam. Great for zooming etc but hard not to fall into holes whiles looking through it :o
    Got her nose full of pheasant & into a bit of cover which was good for her.