Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Brendan O'Carroll's crap

• 26-12-2011 11:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭

Was at a relation's house last night and had to endure a few mins of Brendan O'Carroll's rubbish

During it, he uttered a Bertie-Ahern-esque comment to another character who was depressed about her husband being out on a 3-day week, suggesting that she should maybe go home and top herself.

Apart from a blatant lack of any humour - even black humour - in the above, how the HELL did this manage to get aired ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

The BBC and RTÉ must see something in it to make it again. Personally I don't get it myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,718 ✭✭✭✭JonathanAnon

Liam Byrne wrote: »
    During it, he uttered a Bertie-Ahern-esque comment to another character who was depressed about her husband being out on a 3-day week, suggesting that she should maybe go home and top herself.

yeah I grimaced when I heard that as well Liam.. It wasnt funny at all, and probably a bit unwise given how much trouble Bertie got in for his suicide remark, and how much trouble Vincent Browne got in for his remark about Enda Kenny.. But I guess a remark is taken less seriously when it is said by a man wearing a dress..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 127 ✭✭migozarad

Thread title is spot on;the man is the embodiment of turd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,708 ✭✭✭✭Skerries

you may not agree with him but like Daniel O'Donnell he has his audience and people like him

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Lapin

Was at a relation's house last night and had to endure a few mins of Brendan O'Carroll's rubbish

If my relations put Brendan O'Carroll on, I'd take it as a strong hint that my welcome in their house was over.

Perhaps they were trying to tell you something. ;)

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 27,753 Mod ✭✭✭✭Posy

I'm just embarrassed that this show exists. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Skerries wrote: »
    you may not agree with him but like Daniel O'Donnell he has his audience and people like him

Each to their own and - like lots of so-called "comedy" like Hardy Bucks or Katherine Lynch I'd just change channel.

But that comment was horrendous; no comedy merit and - while I'm far from PC and regularly reckon that people take that concept way too far - that comment was an awful slap in the face to anyone who has lost someone to suicide due to being laid off.

So much so that I'd be tempted to report it to the BAI myself.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,514 ✭✭✭PseudoFamous

Each to their own and - like lots of so-called "comedy" like Hardy Bucks or Katherine Lynch I'd just change channel.
    I suspect you're not in the target audience for Hardy Bucks, but I'm not sure who Brendan O'Carroll's target audience is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 553 ✭✭✭ThePower11

I think Mrs. Browns boys is hilarious and Hardybucks.

Different stroke I guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭MyKeyG

I don't find Irish comedy very good anyway. Katherine Lynch, Hardy Bucks, The Panel etc. Crack an odd smile but not a whole lot there to bring me back for more. And that sh1te with yer man out of naked camera, seriously???

The only program that somewhat restored my faith was Republic of Telly but to be honest that shot it's load as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,318 ✭✭✭Fishooks12

OP seems genuinely surprised that comedy is hugely subjective

OP seems genuinely surprised that 'Mrs Brown's Boys' is such utter tripe.
    The only good Irish acted/written sitcom ever was 'Father Ted' and it was produced by Hat Trick for Channel Four.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

i thought it was pretty good and i liked savage eye n hardy bucks as well, there was more hits than misses

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

so there is something on the telly that people do not like, so they moan on boards.ie, get a life, if every one who did not like something on rte decided to post here there would not be enough bandwith to to host it. should it be suggested to devore to set up a moan about rte section.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,163 ✭✭✭✭Liam Byrne

Fishooks12 wrote: »
    OP seems genuinely surprised that comedy is hugely subjective

Suicide remarks like that aren't funny, no matter how much "subjection" you try to mix in.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 34,567 ✭✭✭✭Biggins

I have never found anything of his to be funny but each to their own.
    Personally I think its pure tripe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Jose1

Posy wrote: »
    I'm just embarrassed that this show exists. :o

Couldn't agree more:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,108 ✭✭✭Technocentral

Its a pity RTE don't give money to people who can make original, funny stuff, the only genuinely funny, Irish episodic tv stuff I have ever seen is Bachelors Walk and Paths To Freedom and when it comes to any other types of comedy (panel shows, sketch shows, whatever) Podge and Rodge and Apres Match, (Halls Pictorial Weekly was good too apparently but only seen highlights so can't really judge) pretty poor considering Irish TV is 50 years old, British probably had around 100 good shows in that time. Would be great if there was an Irish Curb, Peep Show or Black Adder etc. because there are some great comic talents here like Tommy Tiernan and Dylan Moran who usually end up heading abroad. Stuff like Carroll's and Pat Shortts stuff is where ITV comedy was at in the early 70s with the likes of On The Buses and Love Thy Neighbor, time to move on.

...there are some great comic talents here like Tommy Tiernan and Dylan Moran who usually end up heading abroad.

I would have to disagree about Tommy Tiernan some of the time - but thats for another thread. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Mrs Brown's Boys ....is 20 yrs too late

fryup wrote: »
    Mrs Brown's Boys ....is 20 yrs too late

More like 40!

At least!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,281 ✭✭✭RobertFoster

flutered wrote: »
    so there is something on the telly that people do not like, so they moan on boards.ie, get a life, if every one who did not like something on rte decided to post here there would not be enough bandwith to to host it. should it be suggested to devore to set up a moan about rte section.
    Yeah, bloody discussion boards taking up precious Internet space with their words and things. Ban them, I say. It'll make more room for the important stuff, like cat pictures, and dragon porn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,615 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Would be great if there was an Irish Curb, Peep Show or Black Adder etc.

Interesting example is old Blackadder.
    A frankly dire 'shot on location' first series that burned through a massive budget and got critically panned, followed by 3 series cheaply made on cardboard sets which is some of the best comedy the BBC have done.

But the nature of RTE's financial constraints and need for an insta-hit is that if they'd made The Blackadder they wouldn't have been able to make the subsequent 3 series.

The BBC can make a few tweaks and take a punt on a second series (Only Fools and Horses being another example of a first series that bombed and would have had to be pulled by a station with lesser finance) whilst RTE have to go with what works straight away and the simple truth is that as long as the likes of Kilanaskully hit 400,000 viewers then they are the ones RTE have to stick with.

Interesting example is old Blackadder.
    A frankly dire 'shot on location' first series that burned through a massive budget and got critically panned, followed by 3 series cheaply made on cardboard sets which is some of the best comedy the BBC have done.

But the nature of RTE's financial constraints and need for an insta-hit is that if they'd made The Blackadder they wouldn't have been able to make the subsequent 3 series.

The BBC can make a few tweaks and take a punt on a second series (Only Fools and Horses being another example of a first series that bombed and would have had to be pulled by a station with lesser finance) whilst RTE have to go with what works straight away and the simple truth is that as long as the likes of Kilanaskully hit 400,000 viewers then they are the ones RTE have to stick with.

Your right, but still stuff like Bachelors Walk, that isn't aimed at total imbeciles was given a chance, there should be more stuff like that encouraged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,425 ✭✭✭guitarzero

I cant actually think of what Brendan O Carrols demographic is as I've never encountered anyone who likes his stuff.

Dressing up as a woman, Ahahahah!! Imagine that, a man - dressing up as a woman!!!HAHAHA$$HAHA!!!!Its so ridiculous!!! :pac:

Him and Pat Short really come up looking lazy and out dated in comparison to some of the genius wit out there these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭celtictiger32

thers always plenty of ****e on the telly but ususally if theres something i dont like i just dont watch it fairly straight forward, i know the op wasnt at his own place but is the company of your relatives that bad that you have to resort to the telly, maybe next year you can invite them over to your place and then you can decide whats on the gogglebox

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,987 ✭✭✭Auvers

cant even look at O'Carrols little weasel face, I had the misfortune to meet him a few times.

just to say that he is not a pleasant man off camera

• Site Banned Posts: 4,066 ✭✭✭Silvio.Dante

It reminds me of Leave it to Mrs O'Brien with the odd hottish girl in it and an F-word thrown in. Dreadful stuff but the Brits seem to be lapping it up for some reason...

...Which is strange because they are even panning "The Royal Bodyguard" as saying thats crap with usually far better Sir David Jason in it!

HERE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭iceblue

i looked at this thread just to see what the general consesus was on this programme....
    ive never seen it. and never will. i cringe and ff the trailors where possible. im with posy who said she was embarressed by it. so am i. but what im even more embarressed by is it being shown on bbc northern ireland....or all bbc?ive spent 30 years telling people that im nothing like the media portrayal of an irish person...and now this appears on tv....i cant even bring myself to watch it....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭mobby

Watched the first 10mins or so, never even made me smile, and i have a good sense of humor, but this was dire stuff. But i see it was the most watched show on RTE over christmas http://www.rte.ie/ten/2011/1228/ocarrollbrendan.html so i dunno.:confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,991 ✭✭✭mathepac

Listen guys, it's payback time. They send us Constipation St and Rear-enders, Sickly Come Prancing etc and we send them BOC. Good deal I think. Imagine we got paid for bad 40 year old tripe and they love it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

This show was nominated for a BAFTA so it must be good :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,873 ✭✭✭Skid

iceblue wrote: »
    but what im even more embarressed by is it being shown on bbc northern ireland....or all bbc?

It's on the full BBC Network. BBC1 showed his first series in a better timeslot than BBC Northern Ireland. And it was nominated for a BAFTA.

Brendan O'Carroll was featured prominently on BBC1's Christmas Trailer.

The British have lapped this up for some reason. I have no idea why.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,332 ✭✭✭desaparecidos

A colleague sent me youtube links of some live Mrs Brown performance he thought was hilarious.

I don't know why he'd send me this crap, he gets all offended and defensive when I say I don't find it funny at all.

I'd say people who enjoy this have a mental deficiency.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,264 ✭✭✭✭Alicat

Skid wrote: »
    It's on the full BBC Network. BBC1 showed his first series in a better timeslot than BBC Northern Ireland. And it was nominated for a BAFTA.

Brendan O'Carroll was featured prominently on BBC1's Christmas Trailer.

The British have lapped this up for some reason. I have no idea why.

I have come to expect this type of shite from RTE, but the BBC? What the flippin' hell were they smoking when they decided to take this on??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,818 ✭✭✭Minstrel27

Smoking the money they are making from it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭iceblue

i nearly got sick yesterday when i saw on my rte teletext that mrs brown was the most watched programme on rte over christmas....400,,000 or something?....
    how do rte calculate these figures. who are the 400,000 who watch and like this? is it going to be repeated endlessly on rte now for ever more cause the bbc show it, like father ted is still being shown?...and is 400,000 actually a high number of people, considering the population of ireland. ....how many people dont have or watch telly?...whats the demographic of people who watch rte....based on my personal survey its only people over 70yrs who live outside dublin.... yet my understanding of mrs brown is that its based on a dublin family, and historically boggers hate people from dublin without exception and vice versa so why would they watch this?...i noted in the top ten list of programmes over christmas the news on christmas eve got the highest rating? the news....thats scraping the barrell a bit isnt it. people with kids turning on to see the ham acting of the newsreader saying santa has left the north pole, when anyone with any sense was tracing him on line and knew he was in russia (or whateverits called now).lol....the news? nothing to be proud of there rte. brendan o carrol and the news the highest ratings?....i wouldnt shout about that if i were you....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 18,661 CMod ✭✭✭✭The Black Oil

The man's about as entertaining as a recycled scrotum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,230 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

shockwave wrote: »
    This show was nominated for a BAFTA so it must be good :p

It was in the small print of the Good-Friday Agreement that at least one Irish comedy programme had to be nominated or the deal was off.:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Don't get the attraction with BOC myself, he was sort of funny in the 1990s in a yellow pack Billy Connolly sort of way, but well passed his sell by date now. Pat Shortt is another I dont get, never ever found him funny. Went to one of his shows in Vicar St a few years ago, it was the wife's job's xmas party....sweet jaysus it was terrible. I was mortified for the guy !!!!

Don't get the attraction with BOC myself, he was sort of funny in the 1990s in a yellow pack Billy Connolly sort of way...

I've seen every possible Billy Connelly video and also live - it has to be said Carroll rips off a LOT of his stuff.
    Sometimes he don't even dress it up or change it, it done sometimes verbatim, word for word!

How he hasn't been sued by Connolly before now, is beyond my understanding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,043 ✭✭✭Ashbourne hoop

Biggins wrote: »
    I've seen every possible Billy Connelly video and also live - it has to be said Carroll rips off a LOT of his stuff.
    Sometimes he don't even dress it up or change it, it done sometimes verbatim, word for word!

How he hasn't been sued by Connolly before now, is beyond my understanding.

There wa a 'multiple orgasm' routine that O'Carroll did that was almost word for word a routine Connolly used to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,438 ✭✭✭TwoShedsJackson

He's about as funny as a burning orphanage.

a lot of the scenes on his shows were going around as text messages one time.

There wa a 'multiple orgasm' routine that O'Carroll did that was almost word for word a routine Connolly used to do.

I'd well believe it. Seen he do similar before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Don't get the attraction with BOC myself, he was sort of funny in the 1990s in a yellow pack Billy Connolly sort of way, but well passed his sell by date now

to be fair his first few appearances on the late late with Gaybo were funny, when he was just being himself talking about his background...but this mrs brown guff is the pits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 Disco George Murphy

For f*** sake if you don't f***ing like the f***ing show, just change the f***ing channel!!!

but then some people would not have anything to bitch about on boards.ie and also raise their post numbers.