Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Work Xmas Party :)

• 22-12-2011 9:48pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18

Yes I Realise I have made the multi million dollar mistake!

Seperated for a year and half, went to the Work Xmas party last weekend & a Chap from work made it clear he was 'up for it' He came home with me.

Went to work in the week was mortified & got the doing of my life :(

I live in the Country & everyone know's everyone so I'm expecting it to get around fairly fast. God I had country living at times!!!!! Grrrrrrrr

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭cazzzzz

blue skye wrote: »
    Yes I Realise I have made the multi million dollar mistake!

Seperated for a year and half, went to the Work Xmas party last weekend & a Chap from work made it clear he was 'up for it' He came home with me.

Went to work in the week was mortified & got the doing of my life :(

I live in the Country & everyone know's everyone so I'm expecting it to get around fairly fast. God I had country living at times!!!!! Grrrrrrrr

I know you must feel embarrassed seeing as gossip in the country travels ridiculously fast.
    But, you're perfectly entitled to do this. You're seperated and you're perfectly entitled to enjoy yourself. I've been in a similar situation before where people were gossiping, the best thing to do is make a joke out of it yourself, don't let people see you're bothered by it. People may not even find out about it.

At work, just make a joke out of it-laugh it off, soon it'll be someone else's turn to be talked about and after Christmas it'll be old news :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,239 ✭✭✭✭WindSock

Separated a year and half? Think you are entitled to have some fun at this stage to be honest. What's the harm, do people really give a toss? After they have had their bit of gossip they will move on to something / one else. I'd be more concerned that you feel guilty for it for some reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

These things happen. Let's not forget there were two of you involved in this. The most important thing is not to let people know the ribbing is getting to you. To use tabloid parlance, today's news is tomorrow's fish and chips wrapping. Something else will happen and you'll be old news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 blue skye

I know I'm entitled to have a bit of fun but seriously they all know as he came home in a taxi with about 6 of us from work - Yes I was pi**ed! I know i'm not gonna live it down :( If I can put this into perspective - I went with a chap a few month's ago & it got back to my ex......he was saying he's heard I'm riding all round me!!!!!!!! My sister is on to me to protect my reputation - not that I'm saying I'm with every other man but how do you do that in a country situation as they all know you???????????

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 936 ✭✭✭Fentdog84

Not sure what your asking us or expecting us to say really. Would you rather our approval or disapproval? You met a guy at a work do, something happened or everything happened i should say..you're getting slagged at work about it...i mean surely you can handle that/laugh it off/ rise above it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Starokan

you need to put this into perspective, you are mortified and embarassed because you were drunk! . That's what making you feel bad. Don't waste another minute feeling bad about this, your single, the chap you were with obviously found you good looking and attractive so you should be happy with yourself.

its just banter between workmates, seriously no one thinks any less of you for spending a night with a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,145 ✭✭✭Katgurl

You are a grown woman, you did nothing wrong, ignore your sister and your ex, how dare they? Seriously you get one life so live it for you not out of fear of being gossiped about.

If you are surrounded by such gossipy small minded busy-bodies though, perhaps try online dating to meet some people out of your usual circles.

Forget the work party spectators, they sound like they are just having a bit of craic. Do you like the guy? Are you going to see him again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

I agree, its only a bit of stick/slagging. People don't mean it, just laugh it off.

If anyone judges you screw them! Especially your ex, if he says your riding around say sure you didn't do anything for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭Elmidena

I know I'm entitled to have a bit of fun but seriously they all know as he came home in a taxi with about 6 of us from work - Yes I was pi**ed! I know i'm not gonna live it down :( If I can put this into perspective - I went with a chap a few month's ago & it got back to my ex......he was saying he's heard I'm riding all round me!!!!!!!! My sister is on to me to protect my reputation - not that I'm saying I'm with every other man but how do you do that in a country situation as they all know you???????????
    It's the end of the world now, but trust me they'll find someone new to grill sometime soon....that's the way of the world! You're an adult, you let your hair down, it's not like you hooked up with your boss or emailed around what you really thought about people--they're more damaging examples of Christmas party trouble! And on the plus side the only guy to see your bum was the guy you brought home, you weren't sat up on the photocopier or the like :)

Your ex is jealous, or trying to put you down saying stuff like that. Odds are he heard nothing of the sort but wanted to make sure that you couldn't feel happiness. He's a speck on your past's horizon and his opinion isn't valid. Your sister's looking out for you but you're not doing anything wrong at all, and once you're being "safe" then you should enjoy yourself and to hell with what other people are thinking. Next time someone says anything say that your application to the convent hasn't come back yet, because it seems that's all they want you to do! If you were a man there'd be no problem with you being a bachelor, but as soon as it's a girl if you so much look at a man you're promiscuous. Don't fret about it at all, it will blow over and though you might get a roasting for a little while, take pride that you did something spontaneous which most of them probably can't!

Merry Christmas OP :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 974 ✭✭✭BarackPyjama

I went with a chap a few month's ago & it got back to my ex......he was saying he's heard I'm riding all round me!!!!!!!!

So what? Ask him if he's jealous because he's not getting any and has to tug himself off around the clock.

I appreciate that reputations are more closely interrogated in smaller towns and villages but you're a grown woman and are entitled to have some fun. People who gossip about you behind your back are better off ignored on a permanent basis. Gossip isn't a small town issue - it's a small mind issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,692 ✭✭✭Payton

Just have to agree with the other posters. Once he was single there is no harm done. You had some fun???? So what. Because your separated your meant to stay at home and knit and bake.....Feck the begrudgers.
    As for your ex....none of his business, none of anyone's business. So chin up girl, you had a good nite and probably put a huge smile on your face....don't let anyone wipe it off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭cazzzzz

If your ex is so concerned with your personal life it's obvious he's not over you. Also how do people justify 'riding all round you' but getting with two people months apart? It's completely up to you what you do and who you do it with, don't let the opinions of other concern you. They are just focused on the next piece of gossip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,442 ✭✭✭Firetrap

So what? You're separated and only for the divorce laws in this country, you'd be well on the way to being divorced and technically single again. I'm guessing you feel a bit like a scarlet woman because you're separated? There are plenty of single people who accumulate far more notches on their bedposts than that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Your ex passing any comment on your current love/sex life is out of line and immature. And it does not sound by any stretch that you are "riding around". Its absolutely none of his business. I live in a small town too, I know how every move can be seen by someone and be made public knowledge in no time, but think of it this way, the only people who take such an avid interest in the events of acquaintances lives loose interest easily and move onto the next flavour of the week. Try not to let it upset you too much, hold your head high and it will blow over and be forgotten. Showing your upset will only add fuel to the fire of the gossips.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 16,186 ✭✭✭✭Maple

OP has not been back to this thread in a week, therefore I am closing it.

Maple