Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

deer spot light as they call it over the water

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭kakashka

Title says deer spotting,i dont see anything wrong with it myself browning,like the lamp(incidentally you can get a licence to shoot deer at night with lamp here)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,027 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

Aright mate - calm down, calm down,

Scouser.jpg

don't be getting your knickers in a twist!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,590 ✭✭✭Tackleberrywho

kakashka wrote: »
    Title says deer spotting,i dont see anything wrong with it myself browning,like the lamp(incidentally you can get a licence to shoot deer at night with lamp here)

Not allowed under section 42 for past 2 years.
    It's specifically pointed out that you can not use a lamp.

using a lamp on deer is disturbance of game

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 144 ✭✭cushcam

I'll get some new long range video with it soon...it's archery so I don't spot at my farm.

timtelevision 2 years ago

in the comments

Not allowed under section 42 for past 2 years.
    It's specifically pointed out that you can not use a lamp.

using a lamp on deer is disturbance of game
    It is still possible to get lamping licence(my neighbour currently has one )only change AFAIK for last 2 yrs is that the shooter(not necessary the applicant) has to prove competence(actually you can also get permission to lamp from a vehicle although this is a very grey area IMO)..i regularly lamp deer,checking numbers etc,it's only disturbing when they associate it with being shot..

Must be different rules your side of the country so.....
    2 wildlife rangers and Head office told me different.

Must be different rules your side of the country so.....
    2 wildlife rangers and Head office told me different.
    Yip East/west always been different re 42's :D

I may ask Gerry lecky for an update.
    4 of my permissions will be requiring section 42's in 2012.

I may ask Gerry lecky for an update.
    Maby the shooter does not qualify under new competancy rules:D:D:D

May i also ask how you can predict such?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Spunk84

laughing_man_1.gif

May i also ask how you can predict such?

Because they told me such..
    And have planted ceral crops on the land already.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭lar203

Im looking for a dear carcus if anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great

Classic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 961 ✭✭✭Longranger

lar203 wrote: »
    Im looking for a dear carcus if anyone can point me in the right direction that would be great
    Firstly: why???
    Secondly:GOOD LUCK!!!

Because they told me such..
    And have planted ceral crops on the land already.
    Fair play,i would not have the heart to shoot talking deer myself...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,898 ✭✭✭poulo6.5

Fair play,i would not have the heart to shoot talking deer myself...

are you only content to drag this forum down to your level.

and it is against the law to intentionally lamp deer or game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

i think the point has gone away from the sinject lads if yous all look at the video closely instead of commenting wise jokes you will see it is in a wood not on a field hence no need for section 42 in a wood also in a big 4x4 with bullet shells in the dash board im sorry lads but i look at things very closely on here before i comment lads sorry lads if seems smart just something i feel very passionate bout many lads know me on here even th odd gaurd and ranger but again lads just my opinion thanks again for reading

first of all we can see that that video was filmed in the states. so what difference does it make if it was filmed in the woods or in a field as it is in a different country and has nothing to do with our laws.

now if you are referring that it is legal to lamp/shoot deer in as long as it in a wooded area here in Ireland then before you go to far i would suggest you check your facts.

i have read your post a couple of times and i really cant figure out what point you are trying to make
    what is it that you "feel very passionate bout"

what point were you trying to make by posting this video in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

I seen deer myself when i be out lamping foxs and i pulled up to have a look/count,not abit of harm in it

4200fps wrote: »
    I seen deer myself when i be out lamping foxs and i pulled up to have a look/count,not abit of harm in it

as i have my self bin out lamping fox and seen deer, that cant be helped.

but it is not the same thing to go out to intentionally lamp deer

As far as I'm concerned that was all they were doing too, I've often met deer out at night and watched them with the lamp for ages no harm in that.

Nothing to be seen here lads ..... move on.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭4200fps

I wonder while out lamping foxs and I stopped to look at deer what would happen if a ranger or a garda pulled up what could they do? For instance im out of the vehicle rifle in boot,lamp in the paw shining down a field admiring deer what could they do?? I'd say dam all in that situation?

You would be done, people have been done.
    Several in fact down the years, when nothing else can be proved disturbance of game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 392 ✭✭browning 12 bore

sure your grand there lads take a chill pill there i was only seeing what was every ones thaughts on the post also few lads were getting away from point and yes ive been reding few of your posts too what ever that means:rolleyes:
    i know the same lads as you do there paulo and all i was looking for was comments and thaughts to see what people thaught so yes no harm in that there at all
    and no harm looking at deer in lamp seeing is there many around the area of my lease

and yes paulo i would like to claify bout section 42 in the woods as far as i was aware it was for farmers around the wooded area doing damage and so on an hope you accept my apolagy for being so arragant :eek::confused:

you really dont know do you?

i dont know if i should be the one to say this but shooting from a vehicle be it in a field or up a mountain or in your back yard is against the law, also as you described above even not counting the vehicle is not allowed. shooting from a road is a big no no, you must be at least 60y from a road.

i must clarify that it is perfectly fine to lamp from a road just not shoot

as deeks said above, "nothing to see here move on"

it might be best if you stopped digging and checked out the law before posting on a public forum ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,523 ✭✭✭Traumadoc

I honestly did not know that shining a lamp on deer was illegal, not that i have done it.

Nor did I know that shooting from a vehicle on a private road was similarly illegal.

I suppose thats the great thing about this forum that you find out things that you may be blissfully ignorant of.