Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you ever feel loyal to a car brand?

• 21-12-2011 11:30am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭

Weird thought this one...

I've been driving on the road coming up to 4 years now (started at 18) and have only ever driven Opel cars.

- First was a mk3 Opel Astra Estate that was horribly slow but had a great laugh with (its still in the family and all)

- Second was a 1.4 Astra mk4 hatchback that I absolutely loved and is the car that got me big into the Opel/Vaux scene (yes there is one in Ireland, hiding under the sea of VAG :p) ... I spent a lot of money getting it how I wanted it to look and was in my opinion a very tidy example.

- Then I decided I wanted more power so ended up selling the 1.4 hatch and buying my current 1.8 Astra mk4 Bertone (is cheaper to insure than the 1.4!). Didn't spend as much money on this car as I feel I've seen the ins and out of mk4 Astra's by now.

So now, the year 2012 is approaching and I can feel the niggling itch rising, wanting to change car. So what are my options. I'll be honest, I'm not into the VAG scene or Jap cars really so that pretty much cuts out 75% of cars on Irish roads.

Im thinking of jumping back in years, maybe to a mint Vauxhall Cavalier SRI (with a redtop ofc), and while many would say just get a "T-diddly-aye", I feel a sense of loyalty to the brand and would find it hard looking at any other brands (although there are many great brands out there, I do have a soft spot for Fords).

So as bizarre as this may all sound, do you have any attachment to car brands and/or feel a sense of loyalty towards any?

Or is it a case of following the sheep with the rest of the country and just pick up the "go-to" cars...

Just curious really, I don't mean any offence to anyone's opinions.

Never :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,975 ✭✭✭W.Shakes-Beer

RoverJames wrote: »
    Never :D

Haha you were the first person that popped into my head when writing that :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

I dont really feel a loyalty although having owned x2 bmws current one is an M3 i probably would be aiming at an E92 next... so that might negate loyalty ( but its not a badge thing its the car itself)

Although i do find an attachment to Opel quite bizarre having driven many of them, they are not what i would exactly call a drivers car imo.

have you driven other marques ??

I had two 2003 ish Opel Astra 1.6 SXi as rentals when I lived in England for work years ago, the rear axle set up was quite condusive to having fun in fairness, 'tis only recently I learned it was the rear axle.

Opel have made grand stuff over the years, the pre 1995 Vectras were great buses, before the Impreza turbo came along they were the cars (in 2.0i form) most robbed for jobs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 203 ✭✭Rob C

I definitely would be towards BMW. On my 5th now since 2002. I just really like the cars and the dealers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

In God and Renault we trust.

listermint wrote: »
    I dont really feel a loyalty although having owned x2 bmws current one is an M3 i probably would be aiming at an E92 next... so that might negate loyalty ( but its not a badge thing its the car itself)

Although i do find an attachment to Opel quite bizarre having driven many of them, they are not what i would exactly call a drivers car imo.

have you driven other marques ??

I've been in BM's and VW's but would have much experience driving cars (although did get to drive a CLS 320)... which was fun :D But even being in BM's and VW's I dont get any sense of attraction towards them.

I never really get this term "drivers car" to be honest, there is always a sense of snobbery when its thrown around I feel (this isn't to you in particular its just my general uptake on it). Surely it depends on the person i.e. if they're into a particular car then thats just the way it is....

Not having a go, just curious as I said. :)

EDit: I guess I know what you mean about Opels and they area car that in this country, its just a wash of paddy spec, battered old 1.4's. Whereas the UK would have absolutely mint, powerful models being more common and as such, bumping the brands credibility up.

I've been in BM's and VW's but would have much experience driving cars (although did get to drive a CLS 320)... which was fun :D But even being in BM's and VW's I dont get any sense of attraction towards them.

I never really get this term "drivers car" to be honest, there is always a sense of snobbery when its thrown around I feel (this isn't to you in particular its just my general uptake on it). Surely it depends on the person i.e. if they're into a particular car then thats just the way it is....

Not having a go, just curious as I said. :)

I think drivers car is one that gives you a good sense of what the vehicle is doing, it goes exactly where you point it and had a reasonable amount of poke to get you out of trouble.

Also ill add that the cabin has to be reasonable. Ive found opel use the same dash from their corsa to astra to combi range. That irks me big time and smacks of lack of effort. How can you have the same centre console in a hatch as your van ?

I will add though the focus is a great drive but i dont like the Mondeo it doesnt have the same feel (oh and the mondeo seat pisses me right off)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,223 ✭✭✭Nissan doctor

I've had 7 Nissans over the last 8 years.....although I haven't got one now, so maybe not that loyal:P

your loyalty in name is enough :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,496 ✭✭✭Mr. Presentable

I don't really get the brand loyalty thing myself, except inasmuch as you might find a car reliable and trust the next one to be also.

Have driven in last few years

VW Golf/Polo = solid
    Rav 4 = blah
    Peugeot = nicest seats I've tried, but didn't like the cars (308 3008)
    Honda Accord = nasty, cheap feeling car
    Merc = Lovely, thirsty car

None gave me any reason not to try others.

I think drivers car is one that gives you a good sense of what the vehicle is doing, it goes exactly where you point it and had a reasonable amount of poke to get you out of trouble.

Also ill add that the cabin has to be reasonable. Ive found opel use the same dash from their corsa to astra to combi range. That irks me big time and smacks of lack of effort. How can you have the same centre console in a hatch as your van ?

I know what you mean alright, thats the "Paddy spec" effect taking hold there as higher spec models have nicer interiors than that of a van :)

My current Astra is relatively quick, handles well and has a nice heated leather interior.

I think the problem is that there isn't enough nice specced models about and the brand gets branded as dull for this reason unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,632 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Weird thought this one...

I've been driving on the road coming up to 4 years now (started at 18) and have only ever driven Opel cars.

- First was a mk3 Opel Astra Estate that was horribly slow but had a great laugh with (its still in the family and all)

- Second was a 1.4 Astra mk4 hatchback that I absolutely loved and is the car that got me big into the Opel/Vaux scene (yes there is one in Ireland, hiding under the sea of VAG :p) ... I spent a lot of money getting it how I wanted it to look and was in my opinion a very tidy example.

- Then I decided I wanted more power so ended up selling the 1.4 hatch and buying my current 1.8 Astra mk4 Bertone (is cheaper to insure than the 1.4!). Didn't spend as much money on this car as I feel I've seen the ins and out of mk4 Astra's by now.

So now, the year 2012 is approaching and I can feel the niggling itch rising, wanting to change car. So what are my options. I'll be honest, I'm not into the VAG scene or Jap cars really so that pretty much cuts out 75% of cars on Irish roads.

Im thinking of jumping back in years, maybe to a mint Vauxhall Cavalier SRI (with a redtop ofc), and while many would say just get a "T-diddly-aye", I feel a sense of loyalty to the brand and would find it hard looking at any other brands (although there are many great brands out there, I do have a soft spot for Fords).

So as bizarre as this may all sound, do you have any attachment to car brands and/or feel a sense of loyalty towards any?

Or is it a case of following the sheep with the rest of the country and just pick up the "go-to" cars...

Just curious really, I don't mean any offence to anyone's opinions.

Surely it's time for a Manta or a Vaux/Lotus Carlton!!

Marcusm wrote: »
    Surely it's time for a Manta or a Vaux/Lotus Carlton!!

Would love a Manta if there was a clean one about and if i could justify the tax for a Carlton/Omega I would :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

My first vehicle was an Opel Combo. I've found the interiors very drab until recently hence I've never bought another. I have a soft spot for MG but I really only buy based on economic sense and comfort.

johnos1984 wrote: »
    My first vehicle was an Opel Combo. I've found the interiors very drab until recently hence I've never bought another. I have a soft spot for MG but I really only buy based on economic sense and comfort.

Agreed, the Transit Connect felt like a nice place to be even though it was quite bare...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,096 ✭✭✭johnos1984

johnos1984 wrote: »

Agreed, the Transit Connect felt like a nice place to be even though it was quite bare...

I'm probably alone in wanting Opel to bring back the nice soft velour seats they used to fit into cars. No maker does it any more

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,892 ✭✭✭spank_inferno

Here We've worshiped at the altar of Skoda for many years

I'm on my third, after coming from a family owning several more

Yes... I am that boring! :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,605 ✭✭✭Fizman

I'm only driving 5 years. My first 3 were in a Golf Mk4 1.4, the last 2 were in a Mk5 GTi, so I guess up until now I've been loyal. Could be changing soon mind, and even though I love the GTi to bits, I am looking at other women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,238 ✭✭✭Ardennes1944

Punto astra astra ....next car wont be an Opel unless its an OPC :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 586 ✭✭✭johnf2020

pajo1981 wrote: »

+1:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭barura

I'm a pretty loyal VW head, I suppose. My last 3 cars (in effect) were VW polo's, same engine but three different types:

1: 3 door, 999cc no power steering.
    2: 5 door, 999cc with power steering.
    3: 5 door, 999cc no power steering.

All from 1997. Funny the differences between each one, from little things like the boot lock and the comfort of seats, to the ignition switch problem that's only on certain barrels to my knowlege and even the location of fuses and relays. The one I had originally I sold to a friend and got the second one, which broke my heart a little bit so I gave it to dgt and then got my cheapest one to date, for 350 with no power steering and 5 doors. It probably won't last it's next NCT, but I think I'll be on the lookout for a new car then in a more saloon style since driving long distance is just a little too jarring in it, very white knuckle stuff going past trucks on the M1!

Which way I'll go from here is a little up in the air. I had a Ford Fiesta, which dgt now has as well, but the driving position is a little poxy for me. I had a vectra and drove it a little bit, about 40 miles in total, really nice even though it was a little fecked... A skoda fabia was also on the list, but I'm worried about road noise as well as the Polo. I could also get a Fiat Brava. which is a step up and sideways in some senses, I also like the look of old Carolla's. A Renault Laguna would also be very nice, and then there is another car that is dear to my heart, a Ford Sierra. Old Ford Mondeos as well are quite nice inside. Then there is Pug 406's and Audi A4's to consider, as well as VW Golfs. You can also consider the fact that Seat Altea's are pretty much up there with them.

I'd love an Alfa 155 as well.

So many cars, and what's the point in being loyal if it's just the same stuff day in day out? I guess if I get an exciting car, I'll just put 500euro away for a bangernomics special and live life on the slight edge.

So brand loyalty? Naaaah, that's for saps. :D

EDIT: I do realise the irony that I'm calling brand loyalty for saps, yet I bought 3 of the same car in a row. :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

First car was a 99 Fiesta, then a 04 Focus. Then I changed to a 06 Leon for no other reason bar looks and spec. I changed this time and all I wanted was some poke and a decent spec. Anything was considered but I needed a diesel in the end. Looked at everything from Proceeds to E60's so no brand loyalty. Could be argued that I bought the same car again with just a different engine but it didn't really come into it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

I'm on my 2nd VW (Passat) and had 2 Mitsubishi's (Mirage) before that

I've also had some time with 2 E-classes, a Jag S-type, Honda Jazz, Ford Focus and a Galaxy, and even a Suziki Swift and a Micra! :o

I'm more limited by my requirements than a sense of brand loyalty (must be diesel because of the mileage I do, must be a decent size because I need the space and must be automatic because I haven't driven a manual in years, prefer them anyway and with the mileage I do it makes more sense!)

By default then that limits me to something from the VAG stable if I want it mated to a decently sized engine, unless I had the money for a "premium" brand but the last-gen BMW 520D never appealed to me at all (I just hate it's "love it or hate it" looks - although it's not as bad in black! The new one though is very nice!).

The A4 is tiny for what you're paying and my budget doesn't quite stretch to a "new-er shape" A6 - at least not one without astro-miles - and while the E-class is VERY comfy, it's more like driving a sofa than a car :) Even the E320 diesel I had for a day or two was very unresponsive when you put the foot down.. sure it accelerated but there was no sense of "urgency" (or powwerrrrr as JC might say!) - though I suppose it'd be ideal with the mostly motorway miles I do nowadays.

Actually feck it.. anyone want to trade a 06 2L TDI Passat with DSG and full VW history to care for those 205k km on her for a nice 03+ E220 diesel? (or an equivalent 05+ A6) :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,088 ✭✭✭sean1141

i have had a nissan micra, a toyota avensis, seat leon, vw bora, and i am back in a seat leon again. i would like something new but there is nothing out there that really grabs my attention so i guess ill be staying loyal to the seat for a bit longer lol

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭galwayjohn89

Ive had a 206, 2x focus and a Rover 25. In the market for another car and im leaning towards another Rover. Not sure if that means brand loyalty or not though!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Bigcheeze

pajo1981 wrote: »

Yes, when I had a Laguna I used to say a little prayer when turning the key

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,815 ✭✭✭✭Anan1

Rob C wrote: »
    I definitely would be towards BMW. On my 5th now since 2002. I just really like the cars and the dealers.
    You like BMW dealers? You must be easily pleased.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭jayok

Well, I was/am loyal to Honda's in a 14-year car ownership, I've had

1 x Ford Fiesta
    5 x Honda Civics
    1 x BMW 325
    1 x Honda Accord

So I ventured from Honda reliability to BMW - and did I seriously get burned. Sure the BMW handled better, but the service running costs and the amount of niggly failures drove me back to Honda.

It's nice to have a dashboard with no failure lights on it.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,183 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

• Toyota Starlet (Import)
    • Mitsubishi Mirage (Import)
    • Toyota Levin (Import)
    • Honda Integra (Import)
    • Toyota Avensis

I started on the starlet. then the mirage. The Levin and the Integra were bought to sell on. The avensis and I have been together the longest. About 130k miles over the last three years.

Wife liked the Levin actually. I did too. Not the fastest, but comfortable. Integra was a weapon.

I would lean towards a toyota again. Not the new shape yet though. Too pricey.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭The Tyre Dude

I used to be a big BMW fan back in the day when you only had 3, 5, 6 and 7 series. When the world and BMW went niche mad I kind of lost interest but still have a soft spot for the brilliance that is every 5 series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,178 ✭✭✭pajo1981

Bigcheeze wrote: »
    Yes, when I had a Laguna I used to say a little prayer when turning the key

Yes, God bless Renault.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,712 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

I'd generally always choose the Ford option over the equivalent Opel, even though my Dad had Vauxhall's when I was growing up (Cavalier & Carlton). I've had an Escort, Orion, 2 Mondeo's & an Escort based Kit car. Haven't owned a single Opel/Vauxhall as previous models never appealed.

Would seriously consider an Insignia over a Mondeo now though. Must have look at the 2012 model that arrived this morning with the built in Nav.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Fiesta. Fiesta. Astra. Focus. 320Coupe. Primera GT. Saab 9-3. Astra. Golf GTi. s40. Golf GTd.

I have a low attention span and all the loyalty of a mercenary.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

When I decided to get an estate, I really wanted to stick with an Alfa (it would have been my 3rd), but the 159 SW is too rare and too expensive, and the 156 SW boot is too small.

Out of the other brands I've owned (original Mini, VW, Peugeot & BMW), none of them were particularly high on my list.

In fact, the mad money that VWs seem to command over here because they're seen as so "bullet proof" turned me off them. Similarly, I don't think I'd have gotten much bang for my buck with a BMW touring.

So at this stage, it's been: Mini, Peugeot, VW, Alfa, BMW, BMW, Alfa, Volvo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,680 ✭✭✭mondeo

When I was younger I use to favour the Hondas, had 3 Civics and an integra. I also had 3 Mazdas. I am on my second Volvo. Can't beat the Volvos for comfort I love them!

Oh ye almost forgot 3 Alfa Romeos

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,080 ✭✭✭✭Big Nasty

I've been through quite a few different yokes over the years and currently on my 6th (I think) Bimmer so obviously I lean towards them.

Can't take to the E65 and the E60 is only just starting to grow on me. Might be time for a change to something else until I can afford an F01 / F10.

I'm thinking A6 Avant Quattro at the moment!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 451 ✭✭OldGuysRule

Saab has been my got to brand for the last 10 years, although have had 4 Discoverys over the past 5 years also. Really sad to have moved away from the Saabs after so long this summer (new company BMW 5 series replaced the Saab - no choice).

Reckon you are either a Saab person or not though, same with the LandRovers.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,714 ✭✭✭no1beemerfan

List of brands we've had in family....Ford, Renault, Rover, Citroen, Peugeot, Alfa, MINI, BMW, Nissan, Toyota, Opel and Saab so no not overly loyal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Looking back at all the cars I've owned, I have owned more Toyota's than any other make so I was kind of brand loyal to them. In the last number of years though I've never bought the same make car consecutively, I like to sample a nice variety of different makes and models, after all, variety is the spice of life. I'm currently driving my first BMW for the last 12 months and so far I am very pleased with it. When I do change however I may look elswhere if I find buying something else is an improvement on what I am moving from.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,884 ✭✭✭101sean

30 years of owning Land Rovers apart from a couple short intervals when I was either broke or trying to avoid a divorce (and failing dismally! :D)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,456 ✭✭✭✭Mr Benevolent

I'll never be loyal to a car brand, ever, although I know what brands I'll avoid...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,263 ✭✭✭✭Eoin

Confab wrote: »
    I'll never be loyal to a car brand, ever, although I know what brands I'll avoid...

Personally I wouldn't go that far; I'd try and judge each model and not discount an entire marque off hand. Though there are some brands who don't have a model I'd consider at the moment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,025 ✭✭✭✭-Corkie-

I havd had mostly Toyotas in the past which were loyal to me partially because they were old skool stuff. I am driving cars from the VAG range for the last 8 years but I cant really say if I am loyal to them or vice versa..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,184 ✭✭✭✭L1011

I have had three of the same *model* (not even facelift) of the same car, and its the only brand my parents have ever bought either...

I did have another car (Golf) briefly and nearly another (MG); and have had 5 different brands of company vehicle (VW, Ford, Citroen, Opel, Toyota) but its all been Fiat otherwise for personal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,005 ✭✭✭veetwin

Anan1 wrote: »
    You like BMW dealers? You must be easily pleased.:)

Have to say I've had experience of 2 different BMW dealers in Dublin and one in the UK and found them all to be superior to any other dealers I've had the mispleasure to deal with. Worst of all was Audi but maybe because that was in the middle of the Celtic Tiger years.

I've probably owned about 10 different cars but only twice bought the same marque, 2 Mazdas in the 90's before they got boring and 2 BMWs since then.

Will hopefully buy another BMW again when the time comes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,985 ✭✭✭✭dgt

I've had many other marques over the years, such as Opels, Fords (which after a particular Escrote I said I'd never, ever get another Ford again, look how that turned out :rolleyes:) BMWs, have a VW and the Alfa, also had a Honda, Nissan, Mini, Subaru, Renault and a Seat.

But at the end of the day...
    Fiat_logo.jpg

I feel at home behind the wheel of a Bravo :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,626 ✭✭✭✭vectra

Was loyal to Opel years ago.. Now??
    No, whatever takes my eye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,822 ✭✭✭✭EPM

vectra wrote: »
    Was loyal to Opel years ago.. Now??
    No, whatever takes my eye.

You're kidding, yeah?