Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Habitual criminals..

• 15-12-2011 6:24pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭

Just read a story from today's Evening Herald;
    A CAR dealer who has amassed more than 30 convictions for driving without insurance has been jailed for three months.

A court heard that Glen Guerin (22) of Buttercup Park, Darndale, has an 'appalling' record but he is now trying to turn his life around.

He admitted before Swords District Court to driving without insurance.

Garda Michael McCallion said he saw Guerin driving a Fiat Punto on Seatown Road in Swords on December 15, 2010. The garda asked Guerin to produce his insurance documents but he failed to do so.

The court heard Guerin has 180 previous convictions, including 32 for driving without insurance, and is banned from driving for 20 years.

Judge Conal Gibbons fined Guerin €200, banned him from driving for four years and sentenced him to three months in prison.

Surely at some point in time someone has to be considered an habitual criminal and beyond repair.

Failing a bullet to the back of the head, which I would welcome in some cases - what should we do with these bastards?.

I believe some states in the USA have a three strike rule - three felonies and your considered an habitual criminal and jailed for life.

The guy in this story has over 180 convictions at only 25 yrs of age ffs - broken beyond repair?, do we need him reenter society?.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,943 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Trying to turn he's life around my bollix. This is the same waste of life and money who'll be out in 3 months (probably only serve 2) to commit crime to he's hearts content again.

Whats the other 148 convictions and why isn't he being charged for those?

Once again, criminals win - Justice system looses.

P.s waste of money to jail him for life, gunshot to the head is the price of one bullet. Cheaper and more beneficial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,583 ✭✭✭mconigol

He's probably disadvantaged somehow.

Poor bastard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,466 ✭✭✭Snakeblood

Yakult wrote: »

He was, that's part of what makes them convictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,117 ✭✭✭✭MrJoeSoap

Scumbag Top Trumps.

Previous Convictions: 180
    Driving Ban: 20yrs
    Fine: €200
    Jail Sentence: 3 months

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Just read a story from today's Evening Herald;

Surely at some point in time someone has to be considered an habitual criminal and beyond repair.

Failing a bullet to the back of the head, which I would welcome in some cases - what should we do with these bastards?.

I believe some states in the USA have a three strike rule - three felonies and your considered an habitual criminal and jailed for life.

The guy in this story has over 180 convictions at only 25 yrs of age ffs - broken beyond repair?, do we need him reenter society?.
    Those "flower" estates in darndale are seriously bad. Snowdrop buttercup etc. They had to be taking the piss with those names.

I think coming down hard on the few really bad apples and instigating serious social reform on a large scale is needed - and not just ineffective gestures like throwing money into deis schools with teachers who dont give a crap.

Shame on you for reading the herald though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭lar203

im 35 years old and have'nt even got a parking ticket .

i feel sorry for the garda another example of the courts letting them down again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Trying to turn he's life around my bollix. This is the same waste of life and money who'll be out in 3 months (probably only serve 2) to commit crime to he's hearts content again.

Once again, criminals win - Justice system looses.

P.s waste of money to jail him for life, gunshot to the head is the price of one bullet. Cheaper and more beneficial.

They could be convictions for not paying luas/dart fares -

So do we shoot people in the head now for not paying fines?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

lar203 wrote: »
    im 35 years old and have'nt even got a parking ticket .

More or less the same here.

I'd a car crash last week and was told to produce my licence etc within ten days, I've been laid up sick/injured since and here's me stressing that I've only three more days to produce it.

And these cretins treat going to jail like a minor inconvience!.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 670 ✭✭✭Naomi00

If we made our jails like the ones in America they'd at least be scared of going there. The jails in Ireland are far too soft compared to those, it's meant to be a punishment after all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭blatantrereg

Naomi00 wrote: »
    If we made our jails like the ones in America they'd at least be scared of going there. The jails in Ireland are far too soft compared to those, it's meant to be a punishment after all.

severe overcrowding and no toilets. yeah much too soft.
    then again there were piles of rubbish as high as the houses when I was in those flower estates. Suppose when you live in **** and have no prospects anyway prison isnt that big a deal alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,681 ✭✭✭Standman

Something should be done but copying the american system would be a really stupid thing to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 235 ✭✭The Outside Agency

What about making offenders work on farms for free?
    Some of those dudes being retired from the army could supervise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,072 ✭✭✭marcsignal

lar203 wrote: »
    im 35 years old and have'nt even got a parking ticket

same here, I mean it's certainly not difficult to stay on the right side of the law, if you want to.
    I'd a car crash last week and was told to produce my licence etc within ten days, I've been laid up sick/injured since and here's me stressing that I've only three more days to produce it.

Had almost exactly the same experience about 15yrs ago, was late producing my details because I had to get the insurance cert from my job, and ended up being fined £50 in court for my trouble. :mad:

Much and all as i'd like to see them getting an 'O.B.E.' (one behind the ear), i'll begrudgingly accept that's not possible, but surely there should be serious consideration given to this.

QED, no more little scumbags emanating from that particular source anyway.

marcsignal wrote: »
    same here, I mean it's certainly not difficult to stay on the right side of the law, if you want to.

Had almost exactly the same experience about 15yrs ago, was late producing my details because I had to get the insurance cert from my job, and ended up being fined £50 in court for my trouble. :mad:

Much and all as i'd like to see them getting an 'O.B.E.' (one behind the ear), i'll begrudgingly accept that's not possible, but surely there should be serious consideration given to this.

QED, no more little scumbags emanating from that particular source anyway.

You were convicted of a crime -

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,389 ✭✭✭mattjack

Quick he's sick/injured , rob his Mod Card...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 301 ✭✭HovaBaby

I am hoping that us being part of the EU would allow us to send our criminals to jails in another country in the EU without much fuss.

A couple of years in a Latvian jail would sort out some of the boys alright.

Oranage2 wrote: »
    You were convicted of a crime -

technically yes, but there's a world of difference between failing to produce documents in time, as a result of being left injured in a traffic accident that wasn't your fault, and the antics of the 'model citizens' the OP is talking about.

and do you know how many 'convictions' i've had before or since ??

I'll give you a clue, 0

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,048 ✭✭✭Da Shins Kelly

Bit harsh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

The court heard Guerin has 180 previous convictions, including 32 for driving without insurance, and is banned from driving for 20 years.

Judge Conal Gibbons fined Guerin €200, banned him from driving for four years and sentenced him to three months in prison.

the system is clearly at fault (not necessarily the judge mind)

he has been banned for driving for 20 years prior to this courtcase according to the article in OP

then the judge hands out a 4 year ban (less severe than the previous ban:confused:) for failing to observe the prior 20 year ban....nelson says ha ha

its just more of the same ineffectual sentencing serving as no deterrant.........he probably drove home from the courtcase that evening after serving a token 1 hour in prison

punishments need to be stiff, mandatory and unavoidable if you want recidivist fcukwits to have some respect for the rule of law....and they should escalate into the realm of uncomfortable for the criminal who continues to commit the undesirable actions you would rather he or she did not.

marcsignal wrote: »
    technically yes, but there's a world of difference between failing to produce documents in time, as a result of being left injured in a traffic accident that wasn't your fault, and the antics of the 'model citizens' the OP is talking about.

and do you know how many 'convictions' i've had before or since ??

I'll give you a clue, 0

Thanks for the clue because in your last post you said "same here" to a post that said he "didnt even get a parking ticket" yet you have been convicted in a court of law of a crime.

Now im not saying the guy isnt a scumbag but people can get convictions for small things so I just want to stop people advocating in typical keyboard warrior style a"a bullet to the head".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I say there is a good chance that he signed himself into Mountjoy and was immediately released. The prisons are overcrowded and alot of these types of offenders don't serve time. Although with this man's penchant for re-offending he duly deserves to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,661 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

sentence length shouldnt be tied to nature of the crime, but should also take into account previous convictions.
    example: you are convicted of drink driving (no deaths, injuries, just caught)
    first offence: ban for 2 years, plus fine.
    20th offence: jail for 18 months, ban for 10 years, larger fine.

criminals past histories arent used enough to deter people....its like a clean slate once you get back out from doing time or complete a ban.

Thanks for the clue because in your last post you said "same here" to a post that said he "didnt even get a parking ticket" yet you have been convicted in a court of law of a crime.

now in fairness I think misdemeanor would be a better word, under the particular circumstances, if there is such a thing in Irish law.
    Now im not saying the guy isnt a scumbag but people can get convictions for small things so I just want to stop people advocating in typical keyboard warrior style a"a bullet to the head".

I don't blame anyone advocating a bullet in the head, in the heat of the moment, on reading about some of the madness that goes on out there.

I've said it before on here, that I lived in flatland in the 80's in a lousy job (because there was fa else), with little or no disposable income, and not enough food to feed a fcuking cat on. Never once did it ever cross my mind, to belt some old dear over the head and steal her pension money, or steal from a shop, or someone elses house, to get by.

Maybe it was the way i was brought up ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27 benmad

:confused:and the bankers still walk the streets, along with the corrupt politicians,dearranged developers.:confused:, country wreckers, tratiors:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,007 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

benmad wrote: »
    :confused:and the bankers still walk the streets, along with the corrupt politicians,dearranged developers.:confused:, country wreckers, tratiors:confused:

Yep, when the criminal elite have stolen from the country for so long without much of a penalty, it's no wonder it makes its way through to the bottom of society.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Scumbag Top Trumps.

You just invented a fantastic game for a night in with a few beers. Kudos to you sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,202 ✭✭✭amacca

MrJoeSoap wrote: »
    Scumbag Top Trumps.

you sir are a genius...well played...well played!

(you win this round, ill be back with a new deck soon though)